DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 6/10/2026 in which claims 1-20 amended, no claims were added, and no claims were cancelled. The drawing objection, claim 11 objection, and USC 112 rejections have overcome. Claims 1-20 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has amended the claims to include that fault detecting is indicated by “patterns”. The Applicant references various portions of the Specification which discuss patterns of charge and amperage data. The Applicant’s arguments do not provide a clear interpretation for how the Applicant believes the term “pattern” should be interpreted, and instead, quote various portions of the Specification, which do not clearly define the term. The claims do not specify what the patterns represent (such as charge or amperage data). Yet the Applicant’s arguments appear to require that the term pattern be interpreted as including charging or power consumption.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “patterns”, consistent with the Specification, is any recurring configuration, collection, sequence, or set of data points, values, or signals within the charging system. Sarkar, Ing, and Tomar disclose the claimed “patterns” as they utilize data sets to identify alert/error/fault states within the system. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant is encouraged to amend the claims to further define the patterns, rather than relying on portions of the Specification which do not set forth a clear definition for the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarkar et al. US 20180236887.
With regards to claim 1 Sarkar discloses, a method for charging a vehicle battery [title “Systems and methods for charging an electric vehicle”] the method comprising:
detecting a connection of an external charging system [Fig 4 and Abstract “determining that an approaching bus is supposed to be charged at the charging station”] to recharge at least one of an electrochemical battery and a supercapacitor [¶43 “In some alternate embodiments, the vehicle energy storage systems may include a combination of lithium titanate batteries and other types of batteries or ultra capacitors”] that includes one or more selectable power sources [¶43 where plural ultra capacitors reads on the selectable power sources];
detecting a fault indicated by patterns regarding at least one of charging or power consumption [¶76 discloses sensor data for alert/error states which reasonably reads on the “patterns” claimed for the reasons provided above in the response to arguments]; and
controlling charging of the supercapacitor based on the patterns indicating the detected fault [¶76 discloses that the system reacts to the data provided by the sensors to stop or alter a parameter of the process which reasonably reads on the “controlling charging…based on patterns indicating the detected fault”].
With regards to claim 2 Sarkar discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein controlling the charging includes determining that the supercapacitor is not to be charged when the fault is detected and that the supercapacitor is to be charged when the fault is not detected [¶72 and ¶76 which both disclose stopping charging when error/fault detection occurs].
With regards to claim 3 Sarkar discloses, the method of claim 1, further comprising measuring power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery during vehicle operation [¶75 discloses that the power provided during vehicle operation is measured and recorded].
With regards to claim 7 Sarkar discloses, the method of claim 1, further comprising:
measuring a current charging rate of the supercapacitor [¶62 discloses system inputs including charging rate]; and
comparing the current charging rate with previous charging rates [¶128 “Alternatively, the desired state of charge may be any value based on historic/predictive data for the vehicle”], wherein detecting the fault is further based on a deviation of the current charging rate from the previous charging rates [¶137 reasonably discloses that the system monitors for deviations in charging (past vs current) in order to detect faults].
With regards to claim 9 Sarkar discloses, the method of claim 7, wherein detecting the fault includes using a rule-based model to identify a deviation from at least a threshold associated with power charging [Figs 6c-f disclose a rule-based model that identifies faults based on a deviation associated with charging].
With regards to claim 12 Sarkar discloses, the method of claim 1, further comprising determining that the fault is associated with at least one of charging and discharging [¶72 and ¶76].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 20180236887 in view of Ing US 20210237578.
With regards to claim 4 Sarkar fails to disclose, the method of claim 1, further comprising retrieving drive data regarding measured power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery during vehicle operation, wherein detecting the fault is based on the patterns associated with the drive data.
However, Ing discloses, retrieving drive data regarding measured power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery during vehicle operation [Fig 11 voltage 1110 and current 1115 sensors and Figs 16 and 17 where the power system is monitored], wherein detecting the fault is based on the patterns associated with the drive data [Figs 16 and 17 where it is determined if a power system fault exists based on the sensor data, whereas mentioned above, sensor data reasonably reads on the claimed patterns].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery systems of Sarkar and Ing to determine faults within the system in order to prevent damage to the system/vehicle and enhance safety for the user.
With regards to claim 6 the combination discloses, the method of claim 4, further comprising using a rule-based model to identify a deviation from at least a threshold associated with power discharging [Ing Fig 16 discloses a rule-based model which identifies a fault based on a deviation associated with discharging].
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, the method of claim 7, wherein controlling the charging of the supercapacitor [Ing ¶141 “The drive power sources 915, 925, 935 may also include one or more high-capacity capacitors”] includes charging a first portion of the selectable power sources for a first interval, and charging a second portion of the selectable power sources for a second interval [Ing ¶153 “The battery balancing system 1050 can balance the cells and/or battery packs by: wasting energy from the most charged cells by connecting them to a load (such as through passive regulators); shuffling energy from the most charged cells to the least charged cells (balancers); reducing the charging current to a sufficiently low level that will not damage fully charged cells, while less charged cells may continue to charge (does not apply to Lithium chemistry cells); and modular charging” and ¶149 “As discussed above, the drive power source may be one or more batteries, capacitors, and/or some other electrical storage system. For clarity purposes, the electrical storage system will be described in terms of batteries”].
With regards to claim 11 the combination discloses, the method of claim 10, wherein the first portion of the selectable power sources does not receive power during a delay period after the first interval expires or when power associated with the first portion of the selectable power sources exceeds a threshold [Sarkar ¶75 “In some embodiments, a total required charge (kWh) may be tailored based on historical knowledge of energy consumption of vehicle. Historical usage, predicted future requirements, and knowledge of electrical charges and rate schedules may be considered and used to adjust both charge rate and vehicle charging frequency in order to minimize or reduce electrical demand charges and make the most efficient use of on-board energy storage” which discloses that the ultra-capacitors may not be charged (claimed delay period) based on the both historical usage and predicted consumption].
With regards to claim 13 the combination discloses, a system for charging a vehicle battery [Ing Fig 2b 100], the system comprising: a plurality of energy storage units including an electrochemical battery and a supercapacitor that includes one or more selectable power sources [Fig 2b 238a-c and ¶48 “power source 238A, 238B, 238C (e.g., battery unit, capacitor unit, etc.)”];
a charger test hardware connected to the power sources of the supercapacitor, wherein the charger test hardware measures power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery [Figs 10-15]; and
a processor that executes instructions stored in memory [Fig 2b charge controller 254, Fig 3a sensor processor 340 and vehicle control system 348, fig 8 processors 814 and 834] to:
detect a connection of an external charging system to recharge at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery [Fig 2b plug/receptacle and ¶59 “Electrical energy in the form of charge can be transferred from the external power source to the charge controller 254. As provided above, the charge controller 254 may regulate the addition of charge to at least one power source 238 of the vehicle 100” disclosing the connection is detected thus allowing charging],
detect a fault indicated by patterns regarding at least one of charging or power consumption [Sarkar ¶76 “In some embodiments, before or during charging, a sensor may provide one or more signal to a charging controller. In some instances, the sensor may provide information about one or more error or alert state”]; and
control the charging of the supercapacitor based on the patterns indicating the detected fault [¶76 above].
With regards to claim 14 the combination discloses, the system of claim 13, wherein the processor controls the charging by determining that the supercapacitor is not to be charged when the fault is detected, and that the supercapacitor is to be charged when the fault is not detected [Sarkar ¶39 “Any action taken by the controller or within a vehicle charging system may be directed by tangible computer readable media, code, instructions, or logic thereof. These may be stored in a memory” and ¶72 and ¶76 above].
With regards to claim 15 the combination discloses, the system of claim 13, further comprising a database in memory that stores data regarding power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery during vehicle operation [Sarkar ¶75 discloses that the power provided during vehicle operation is measured and recorded.
With regards to claim 16 the combination discloses, the system of claim 13, wherein the processor executes further instructions to retrieve drive data regarding measured power [Ing Fig 11 voltage 1110 and current 1115 sensors] provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery [Ing Figs 16 and 17 where the power system is monitored], wherein the processor detects the fault based on the patterns associated with the drive data [Ing Figs 16 and 17 where it is determined if a power system fault exists based on the sensor data].
With regards to claim 18 the combination discloses, the system of claim 16, further comprising a rule- based model that detects the fault based on deviation from at least a threshold associated with power discharging [Ing fig 16 discloses a rule-based model which identifies a fault based on a deviation associated with discharging].
With regards to claim 19 the combination discloses, the system of claim 13, wherein the processor executes further instructions to:
measure a current charging rate of the supercapacitor [Sarkar ¶62 “In some embodiments, one or more charge station control system inputs may be provided. Such inputs may be provided from the vehicle, or from the charging station. Some examples of inputs that may be provided may include, but are not limited to, charge arm up position, charge arm down position, current passing brushes position, neutral brush position, charge head landed on vehicle position, charge head over-temperature, individual (10) brush currents, air supply pressure, RFID Tag ID from RFID reader, ultrasonic linear distance measurement, CAN messages from bus (e.g., bus readiness for charge status, charge arm commands, battery charging requirements), or CAN message from chargers (e.g., charger readiness status, instant charge voltage, current and power, cumulative energy delivered)”]; and
compare the current charging rate with previous charging rates [Sarkar ¶128 “Alternatively, the desired state of charge may be any value based on historic/predictive data for the vehicle”], wherein the processor detects the fault based on a deviation of the current charging rate from the previous charging rates [Sarkar ¶137 “The memory 840 may be similar, if not identical, to working memory 736 and/or 820. In some embodiments, the memory 840 may store instructions used by the BMS master 830 including battery monitor instructions 842, battery balancing instructions 844, battery disconnect instructions 846, and/or other code. The battery monitor instructions 842 allow the BMS master 830 to monitor the status of the drive power source. Monitoring a drive power source may comprise communicating with the BMS slave(s) 810 and/or directly monitoring the BMS sensors 860 to detect power system faults” which reasonably discloses that the system monitors for deviations in charging (past vs current) in order to detect faults].
Claims 5, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 20180236887 in view of Ing US 20210237578 further in view of Tomar et al. US 20200280108.
With regards to claim 5 the combination fails to disclose, the method of claim 4, further comprising using a machine learning model to analyze the drive data.
However, Tomar discloses, further comprising using a machine learning model to analyze the drive data [Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the system of Sarkar and Ing with Tomar to utilize a machine learning model to more accurately determine and predict faults in order to limit damage to the battery system and provide reliable estimation of SOH.
With regards to claim 17 the combination discloses, the system of claim 16, further comprising a machine learning model that detects the fault based on the drive data [Tomar Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events].
With regards to claim 20 the combination discloses, the system of claim 13, further comprising a machine learning model that detects the fault based on current charging rate and previous charging rates [Tomar Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events and ¶47 “the predictive model 116 can be referred to as “attack” and “defense” steps, respectively. For the “attack” step, different imposed conditions are considered for a battery subject to thermal runaway, external puncture, etc. Individual cell parameters such as voltage, current, internal impedance, capacitance, temperature and pressure are monitored during the testing of these attack cases. An ML model can then be trained as part of the “defense” portion of the solution, learning the behavior of these parameters when the battery is in distress”].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 20180236887 in view of Tomar et al. US 20200280108.
With regards to claim 8 Sarkar fails to disclose, the method of claim 7, wherein detecting the fault includes using a machine learning model to analyze the current charging rate and the previous charging rates.
However, Tomar discloses, wherein detecting the fault includes using a machine learning model to analyze the current charging rate and the previous charging rates [Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events and ¶47 “the predictive model 116 can be referred to as “attack” and “defense” steps, respectively. For the “attack” step, different imposed conditions are considered for a battery subject to thermal runaway, external puncture, etc. Individual cell parameters such as voltage, current, internal impedance, capacitance, temperature and pressure are monitored during the testing of these attack cases. An ML model can then be trained as part of the “defense” portion of the solution, learning the behavior of these parameters when the battery is in distress”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of Sarkar and Tomar to utilize a machine learning model to identify faults in order to predict and potentially prevent failures, improve safety, and better determine a state of health.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859