DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “charge test circuit” of claim 13 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11 recites “wherein the first portion of the selectable power sources the first interval” which does not make sense. Is it supposed to read like claim 10 which recites “wherein the first portion of the selectable power sources for the first interval”? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 13 recites “a charge test circuit”, but when referencing the specification it is unclear what constitutes the “charge test circuit” as this term is not recited within the specification. Is it the “Charger Tester Hardware (HDWR) 132”, the “Test Module 116”, the “Test Module 106”, or something else? If it is either the “test module 116” or “test module 106”, neither of those components are referenced within the drawings and would need to be added. Claims 14-20 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 13, from which they depend.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 14-16 and 19-20 each recite “The method of claim 13” and claims 17-18 each recite “The method of claim 16”, but claim 13 recites “A vehicle” which is an apparatus. Because a method cannot depend from an apparatus the claims statutory class is unclear.
For purposes of examination, claims 14-20 will be interpreted as apparatus claims.
In claim 17, the language “determines a fault exists and based on the drive data” is indefinite. It is suggested that “and” be deleted, and the claim will be interpreted as such for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarkar et al. US 20180236887.
Sarkar discloses the following with respect to claim:
1. A method for charging a battery system in a vehicle [title “Systems and methods for charging an electric vehicle”], comprising:
detecting a connection of an external charging system [Fig 4 and Abstract “determining that an approaching bus is supposed to be charged at the charging station”] to recharge at least one of a supercapacitor and an electrochemical battery [¶43 “In some alternate embodiments, the vehicle energy storage systems may include a combination of lithium titanate batteries and other types of batteries or ultra capacitors”], wherein the supercapacitor comprises selectable power sources [¶43 where plural ultra capacitors reads on the selectable power sources];
in response to detecting the connection of the external charging system, determining whether a fault exists and is associated with at least one of charging or discharging [¶76 “In some embodiments, before or during charging, a sensor may provide one or more signal to a charging controller. In some instances, the sensor may provide information about one or more error or alert state”]; and
charging the supercapacitor based on whether the fault exists [¶72 “When an error or fault is detected, the charging may be stopped” which discloses that charging is allowed when no fault exists].
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the supercapacitor is not charged when fault information is stored in [¶39 “Any action taken by the controller or within a vehicle charging system may be directed by tangible computer readable media, code, instructions, or logic thereof. These may be stored in a memory” and ¶76 above], and the supercapacitor is charged when the fault information is not stored in the database [¶72 above].
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery during vehicle operation to propel at least one passenger or object [¶75 “In some embodiments, a total required charge (kWh) may be tailored based on historical knowledge of energy consumption of vehicle. Historical usage, predicted future requirements, and knowledge of electrical charges and rate schedules may be considered and used to adjust both charge rate and vehicle charging frequency in order to minimize or reduce electrical demand charges and make the most efficient use of on-board energy storage” which discloses that the power provided during vehicle operation is measured and recorded].
7. The method of claim 1, wherein charging the supercapacitor comprises: measuring a current charging rate of the supercapacitor [¶62 “In some embodiments, one or more charge station control system inputs may be provided. Such inputs may be provided from the vehicle, or from the charging station. Some examples of inputs that may be provided may include, but are not limited to, charge arm up position, charge arm down position, current passing brushes position, neutral brush position, charge head landed on vehicle position, charge head over-temperature, individual (10) brush currents, air supply pressure, RFID Tag ID from RFID reader, ultrasonic linear distance measurement, CAN messages from bus (e.g., bus readiness for charge status, charge arm commands, battery charging requirements), or CAN message from chargers (e.g., charger readiness status, instant charge voltage, current and power, cumulative energy delivered)”];
comparing the current charging rate with previous charging rates of power storage that occurred at different recharging instances [¶128 “Alternatively, the desired state of charge may be any value based on historic/predictive data for the vehicle”]; and
detecting the fault based on a deviation of the current charging rate with the previous charging rates [¶137 “The memory 840 may be similar, if not identical, to working memory 736 and/or 820. In some embodiments, the memory 840 may store instructions used by the BMS master 830 including battery monitor instructions 842, battery balancing instructions 844, battery disconnect instructions 846, and/or other code. The battery monitor instructions 842 allow the BMS master 830 to monitor the status of the drive power source. Monitoring a drive power source may comprise communicating with the BMS slave(s) 810 and/or directly monitoring the BMS sensors 860 to detect power system faults” which reasonably discloses that the system monitors for deviations in charging (past vs current) in order to detect faults].
9. The method of claim 7, wherein a rule-based model identifies the fault based on deviation from at least a threshold associated with power charging [Primary Figs 6c-f disclose a rule based model that identifies faults based on a deviation associated with charging].
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the fault is associated with at least one of charging and discharging [¶71 “Any other fault or error detection may cause the charging to stop”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 20180236887 in view of Ing US 20210237578.
With regards to claim 4 Sarkar fails to disclose, the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the fault exists comprises: retrieving drive data recorded during vehicle operation, the drive data including measured power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery; determining whether the drive data indicates the fault based on the drive data.
However Ing discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the fault exists comprises: retrieving drive data recorded during vehicle operation, the drive data including measured power [Fig 11 voltage 1110 and current 1115 sensors] provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery [Figs 16 and 17 where the power system is monitored];
determining whether the drive data indicates the fault based on the drive data [Figs 16 and 17 where it is determined if a power system fault exists based on the sensor data].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery systems of Sarkar and Ing to determine faults within the system in order to prevent damage to the system/vehicle and enhance safety for the user.
With regards to claim 6 the combination discloses, the method of claim 4, wherein a rule-based model identifies the fault based on deviation from at least a threshold associated with power discharging [Ing Fig 16 discloses a rule based model which identifies a fault based on a deviation associated with discharging].
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, the method of claim 7, wherein the charging the supercapacitor [Ing ¶141 “The drive power sources 915, 925, 935 may also include one or more high-capacity capacitors”] comprises charging a first portion of the selectable power sources for a first interval, and charging a second portion of the selectable power sources for a second interval [Ing ¶153 “The battery balancing system 1050 can balance the cells and/or battery packs by: wasting energy from the most charged cells by connecting them to a load (such as through passive regulators); shuffling energy from the most charged cells to the least charged cells (balancers); reducing the charging current to a sufficiently low level that will not damage fully charged cells, while less charged cells may continue to charge (does not apply to Lithium chemistry cells); and modular charging” and ¶149 “As discussed above, the drive power source may be one or more batteries, capacitors, and/or some other electrical storage system. For clarity purposes, the electrical storage system will be described in terms of batteries”].
With regards to claim 11 the combination discloses, the method of claim 10, wherein the first portion of the selectable power sources the first interval are configured to not receive power for a delay period after the first interval expires or power associated with the first portion of the selectable power sources exceeds a threshold [Sarkar ¶75 “In some embodiments, a total required charge (kWh) may be tailored based on historical knowledge of energy consumption of vehicle. Historical usage, predicted future requirements, and knowledge of electrical charges and rate schedules may be considered and used to adjust both charge rate and vehicle charging frequency in order to minimize or reduce electrical demand charges and make the most efficient use of on-board energy storage” which discloses that the ultra capacitors may not be charged (claimed delay period) based on the both historical usage and predicted consumption].
With regards to claim 13 Sarkar discloses, a vehicle [Fig 2b 100] comprising:
a processor [Fig 2b charge controller 254, Fig 3a sensor processor 340 and vehicle control system 348, fig 8 processors 814 and 834];
an electric drivetrain configured to propel the vehicle [Fig 2b electric motors 242];
a plurality of energy storage units including a supercapacitor and an electrochemical battery, the supercapacitor comprising a plurality of selectable power sources [Fig 2b 238a-c and ¶48 “power source 238A, 238B, 238C (e.g., battery unit, capacitor unit, etc.)”]; and
a charge test circuit configured to measure the charge of the vehicle during discharge and charge [Figs 10-15], wherein the processor is configured to:
detect a connection of an external charging system to recharge at least one of a supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery [Fig 2b plug/receptacle and ¶59 “Electrical energy in the form of charge can be transferred from the external power source to the charge controller 254. As provided above, the charge controller 254 may regulate the addition of charge to at least one power source 238 of the vehicle 100” disclosing the connection is detected thus allowing charging], wherein the supercapacitor comprises selectable power sources;
in response to detecting the connection of the external charging system, determine whether a fault exists and is associated with at least one of charging [¶76 “In some embodiments, before or during charging, a sensor may provide one or more signal to a charging controller. In some instances, the sensor may provide information about one or more error or alert state”]; and
control the charging the supercapacitor based on whether the fault exists [¶76 above].
Sarkar fails to disclose or discharging.
However, Ing discloses or discharging [Figs 16 and 17 where it is determined if a power system fault exists based on the sensor data during system operation/discharging].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of Sarkar and Ing to determine faults within the system for both charging and discharging functions in order to prevent damage to the system/vehicle and enhance safety for the user.
With regards to claim 14 the combination discloses, the method of claim 13, wherein the supercapacitor is not charged when fault information is stored in a database [Sarkar ¶39 “Any action taken by the controller or within a vehicle charging system may be directed by tangible computer readable media, code, instructions, or logic thereof. These may be stored in a memory” and ¶76 above], and the supercapacitor is charged when the fault information is not stored in the database [Sarkar ¶72 above].
With regards to claim 15 the combination discloses, the method of claim 13, wherein the processor is configured to:
measure power provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery during vehicle operation to propel at least one passenger or object [Sarkar ¶75 “In some embodiments, a total required charge (kWh) may be tailored based on historical knowledge of energy consumption of vehicle. Historical usage, predicted future requirements, and knowledge of electrical charges and rate schedules may be considered and used to adjust both charge rate and vehicle charging frequency in order to minimize or reduce electrical demand charges and make the most efficient use of on-board energy storage” which discloses that the power provided during vehicle operation is measured and recorded].
With regards to claim 16 the combination discloses, the method of claim 13, wherein the processor is configured to:
retrieving drive data recorded during vehicle operation, the drive data including measured power [Ing Fig 11 voltage 1110 and current 1115 sensors] provided by at least one of the supercapacitor and the electrochemical battery [Ing Figs 16 and 17 where the power system is monitored];
determining whether the drive data indicates the fault based on the drive data [Ing Figs 16 and 17 where it is determined if a power system fault exists based on the sensor data].
With regards to claim 18 the combination discloses, the method of claim 16, wherein a rule-based model identifies the fault based on deviation from at least a threshold associated with power discharging [Ing fig 16 discloses a rule based model which identifies a fault based on a deviation associated with discharging].
With regards to claim 19 the combination discloses, the method of claim 13, wherein the processor is configured to: measure a current charging rate of the supercapacitor [Sarkar ¶62 “In some embodiments, one or more charge station control system inputs may be provided. Such inputs may be provided from the vehicle, or from the charging station. Some examples of inputs that may be provided may include, but are not limited to, charge arm up position, charge arm down position, current passing brushes position, neutral brush position, charge head landed on vehicle position, charge head over-temperature, individual (10) brush currents, air supply pressure, RFID Tag ID from RFID reader, ultrasonic linear distance measurement, CAN messages from bus (e.g., bus readiness for charge status, charge arm commands, battery charging requirements), or CAN message from chargers (e.g., charger readiness status, instant charge voltage, current and power, cumulative energy delivered)”];
compare the current charging rate with previous charging rates of power storage that occurred at different recharging instances [Sarkar ¶128 “Alternatively, the desired state of charge may be any value based on historic/predictive data for the vehicle”]; and
detect the fault based on a deviation of the current charging rate with the previous charging rates [Sarkar ¶137 “The memory 840 may be similar, if not identical, to working memory 736 and/or 820. In some embodiments, the memory 840 may store instructions used by the BMS master 830 including battery monitor instructions 842, battery balancing instructions 844, battery disconnect instructions 846, and/or other code. The battery monitor instructions 842 allow the BMS master 830 to monitor the status of the drive power source. Monitoring a drive power source may comprise communicating with the BMS slave(s) 810 and/or directly monitoring the BMS sensors 860 to detect power system faults” which reasonably discloses that the system monitors for deviations in charging (past vs current) in order to detect faults].
Claims 5, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 20180236887 in view of Ing US 20210237578 further in view of Tomar et al. US 20200280108.
With regards to claim 5 Sarkar in view of Ing fail to disclose, the method of claim 4, wherein a machine learning model determines the fault exists and based on the drive data [Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events].
However, Tomar discloses, the method of claim 4, wherein a machine learning model determines the fault exists and based on the drive data [Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the system of Sarkar and Ing with Tomar to utilize a machine learning model to more accurately determine and predict faults in order to limit damage to the battery system and provide reliable estimation of SOH.
With regards to claim 17 the combination discloses, the method of claim 16, wherein a machine learning model determines the fault exists and based on the drive data [Tomar Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events].
With regards to claim 20 the combination discloses, the method of claim 13, wherein a machine learning model identifies the fault based on the current charging rate and the previous charging rates [Tomar Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events and ¶47 “the predictive model 116 can be referred to as “attack” and “defense” steps, respectively. For the “attack” step, different imposed conditions are considered for a battery subject to thermal runaway, external puncture, etc. Individual cell parameters such as voltage, current, internal impedance, capacitance, temperature and pressure are monitored during the testing of these attack cases. An ML model can then be trained as part of the “defense” portion of the solution, learning the behavior of these parameters when the battery is in distress”].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. US 20180236887 in view of Tomar et al. US 20200280108.
With regards to claim 8 Sarkar fails to disclose, the method of claim 7, wherein a machine learning model identifies the fault based on the current charging rate and the previous charging rates.
However, Tomar discloses, the method of claim 7, wherein a machine learning model identifies the fault based on the current charging rate and the previous charging rates [Fig 1 Predictive model 116 and Fig 4 406 Train a Neural Network model based on the data to predict failure events and ¶47 “the predictive model 116 can be referred to as “attack” and “defense” steps, respectively. For the “attack” step, different imposed conditions are considered for a battery subject to thermal runaway, external puncture, etc. Individual cell parameters such as voltage, current, internal impedance, capacitance, temperature and pressure are monitored during the testing of these attack cases. An ML model can then be trained as part of the “defense” portion of the solution, learning the behavior of these parameters when the battery is in distress”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of Sarkar and Tomar to utilize a machine learning model to identify faults in order to predict and potentially prevent failures, improve safety, and better determine a state of health.
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859