Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 12/31/2021 of provisional application No. 63/295,786 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-2, 7, 16 and 20 are amended. Claims 6, 8-9 and 17-18 are cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the at least one strap” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 is earlier reciting “a ratchet strap”. For the purpose of this examination “the at least one strap” is interpreted to be --the ratchet strap--.
Claims 19-20 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heitholt (DE 2714095 A) in view of Ramunas (US 5015003 A).
Claims 1 and 16 recite a device that is used for manipulation of a targeted piping section/pipe section. More limiting the features and relationship between the piping section and the device mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited device. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the device.
Regarding claim 1, Heitholt teaches a device comprising (reproduced and annotated Figs. below): a head member (elastic plate 28) positioned at least partially between the head member and the targeted piping section (lid 47),
wherein the at least one protective member is not secured to the head member (sliding removable dovetail connection); a first coupling positioned at or near the first end of the head member; a second coupling positioned at or near the second end of the head member; at least one strap configured to secure to the first end and the second end of the head member, the at least one strap being sized and configured to extend around the targeted piping section (see strap 44 around lid/object 47 in Fig. 4); wherein the at least one strap is configured to tighten around the targeted piping section (see strap 44 tightened around lid/object 47 in Fig. 4), wherein tightening of the at least one strap around the targeted piping section brings the head member toward an exterior surface of the targeted piping section; and a connector (12) coupled to the head member (connector/part 12 is connected to part 6 of the head member to secure actuator/movable device 34 to the head member), wherein the connector is configured to secure to an actuator or movable device (34) in order to exert desired forces or moments to the device and the targeted piping section to which the device is secured; wherein use of the device eliminates the need for direct contact between a user and the targeted piping section (lid 47).Device of Heitholt is capable of clamping around a pipe of curtain size for assisting manipulation of the pipe. In device of Heitholt the end section (A) of the head member is not curved and the protective member 28 is curved to match a curve of the lid/piping section.
Ramunas teaches a vise jaw with a protective member (quick change replaceable pad 60) useful during changeovers without the need to change the entire jaw (col. 1, lines 9-32). First embodiment of clamping device of Ramunas (shown in annotated Fig. 1 below) the protective member 60 will be between the curve shaped head member 20 and the piping section (clamped object); and the protective member is not secured to the head member. In device of Ramunas both head member and protective member are curve shaped.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the head member of Heitholt curve shaped. Doing would make the device capable of clamping pipes without the need to use protective member if needed. It would also make changing of the protective member easier when damaged and would make use of other size protective members easier.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, Heitholt teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) at least one of the first and second couplings is configured to be moved between open and closed positions to selective release and receive the at least one strap; and wherein the at least one strap comprises a ratchet strap (combination of strap 44 and locking teeth create a ratchet strap).
Regarding claim 7, Heitholt teaches the protective member comprises a rubber or other elastomeric material.
Regarding claim 10, Heitholt teaches the connector is fixedly secured to the head member.
Regarding claim 12, Heitholt teaches the head member comprises a metal.
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Heitholt teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is configured to secure to a rod (34), wherein the rod can be selectively manipulated by a user (via cover 1).
Regarding claim 16, Heitholt teaches a device comprising (reproduced and annotated Figs. below): a head member (elastic plate 28) positioned at least partially between the head member and the pipe section (lid 47),
a ratchet strap (combination of strap 44 and locking teeth create a ratchet strap).
configured to secure to a first end and a second end of the head member, the ratchet strap being sized and configured to extend around the pipe section (see strap 44 around lid/object 47 in Fig. 4); wherein the at least one strap is configured to tighten around the pipe section (see strap 44 tightened around lid/object 47 in Fig. 4), wherein tightening of the ratchet strap around the pipe section brings the head member toward an exterior surface of the pipe section; and a connector (12) coupled to the head member (connector/part 12 is connected to part 6 of the head member to secure actuator/movable device 34 to the head member), wherein the connector is configured to secure to an actuator or movable device (34) in order to exert desired forces or moments to the device and the pipe section to which the device is secured; wherein use of the device eliminates the need for direct contact between a user and the pipe section (lid 47).Device of Heitholt is capable of clamping around a pipe of curtain size for assisting manipulation of the pipe. In device of Heitholt the end section (A) of the head member is not curved and the protective member 28 is curved to match a curve of the lid/piping section.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Heitholt teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is configured to secure to a separate piece of equipment (two halves handle part 1), wherein the separate piece of equipment is configured to exert a desired combination of forces and moments on the device and the targeted piping section (by user’s hand).
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen (US 2689102 A) in view of Ramunas (US 5015003 A).
Regarding claim 1, Whalen teaches a device for assisting manipulation (leveling) of a targeted piping section (clamped section of pipe 13), the device comprising (reproduced and annotated Figs. below): a head member (saddle member 14) having a curved shape (lower curved shape of arcuate base 16), the head member comprising a first end (left side projection 18) and a second end (right side projection 18); a first coupling (first coupling comprises left side slot 19, nut 25 and washer) positioned at or near the first end of the head member; a second coupling (second coupling comprises right side slot 19, nut 25 and washer) positioned at or near the second end of the head member; at least one strap configured to secure to the first end and the second end of the head member,
the at least one strap being sized and configured to extend around the targeted piping section; wherein the at least one strap is configured to tighten around the targeted piping section, wherein tightening of the at least one strap around the targeted piping section brings the head member toward an exterior surface of the targeted piping section;
and a connector (connector comprises collar member 15 and two set screws 34) coupled to the head member (by set screws 34), wherein the connector is configured to secure to an actuator or movable device (support pipe 11 is threaded into the opening 31 in the collar member 15 of the connector) in order to exert desired forces or moments to the device and the targeted piping section to which the device is secured; wherein use of the device eliminates the need for direct contact between a user and the targeted piping section (operator can exert desired forces or moments to the device and the targeted piping section by the actuator/support pipe 11 without directly contacting the targeted pipe section 13). However, Whalen does not have the claimed protective member.
Ramunas teaches a vise jaw with a protective member (quick change replaceable pad 60) useful during changeovers without the need to change the entire jaw (col. 1, lines 9-32). First embodiment of clamping device of Ramunas (shown in annotated Fig. 1 above) the protective member 60 will be between the head member 20 and the piping section (clamped object); and the protective member is not secured to the head member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Blackwell’s protective member removable to save the rest of the device when the protective member is damaged.
Regarding claim 3, Whalen teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) at least one of the first and second couplings is configured to be moved between open (by untightening the nuts 25 of the couplings) and closed (by tightening the nuts 25 of the couplings) positions to selective release and receive the at least one strap.
Regarding claim 11, Whalen teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is removably secured to the head member (by untightening set screws 34 of the connector 15, 34).
Regarding claim 14, Whalen teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is configured to secure to a rod (support pipe 11/rod is threaded into the opening 31 in the collar member 15 of the connector), wherein the rod can be selectively manipulated by a user (operator can move the pipe by moving the rod 11).
Regarding claim 15, Whalen teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is configured to secure to a separate piece of equipment, wherein the separate piece of equipment is configured to exert a desired combination of forces and moments on the device and the targeted piping section (depending on size and weight of the object/piping section, the actuator can be used as a handle to apply pushing/pulling forces and toque or moment to the object/piping section by 11).
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell (US 9232783 B2) in view of Ramunas (US 5015003 A).
Claims 1 and 16 recite a device that is used for manipulation of a targeted piping section. More limiting the features and relationship between the piping section and the device mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited device. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the device.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a device (adjustable platform assembly 10) for assisting manipulation of a targeted piping section (device of Blackwell is secured around a cylindrical object and is also capable being secured around a cylindrical piping section), the device comprising: a head member (tree hugging subassembly 11) having a curved shape, the head member comprising a first end and a second end (respective outer side edges 23, 24); a first coupling (holes of 23 engaging hooks of strap fasteners 21, 22) positioned at or near the first end of the head member; a second coupling (holes of 24 engaging hooks of strap fasteners 21, 22) positioned at or near the second end of the head member; a ratchet strap configured to secure to the first end and the second end of the head member, the ratchet strap (strap fasteners 21, 22) being sized and configured to extend around the targeted piping section; wherein the at least one strap is configured to tighten around the targeted piping section (par. 14: “ratchet mechanism 27 for tightening the straps 21, 22 around the tree 15”), wherein tightening of the ratchet strap around the targeted piping section brings the head member toward an exterior surface of the targeted piping section (see Figures below); and a connector (first frame member 12) coupled to the head member, wherein the connector is configured to secure to an actuator or movable device (actuator comprises second frame member 13 and platform 14) in order to exert desired forces or moments to the device and the targeted piping section to which the device is secured; wherein use of the device eliminates the need for direct contact between a user and the targeted piping section (depending on size and weight of the piping section, the actuator can be used as a handle to move the object/piping section without contacting the object/piping section); at least one protective member positioned at least partially between the head member and the targeted piping section;
In device of Blackwell at least one protective member is connected to the head member. However Blackwell is silent regarding removability of the protective member.
Ramunas teaches a vise jaw with a protective member (quick change replaceable pad 60) useful during changeovers without the need to change the entire jaw (col. 1, lines 9-32). First embodiment of clamping device of Ramunas (shown in annotated Fig. 1 above) the protective member 60 will be between the head member 20 and the piping section (clamped object); and the protective member is not secured to the head member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Blackwell’s protective member removable to save the rest of the device when the protective member is damaged.
Regarding claims 2-3, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) at least one protective member positioned at least partially between the head member and the targeted piping section;
wherein at least one of the first and second couplings is configured to be moved between open and closed positions (open and closed positions by tightening and untightening the strap fasteners 21, 22 around the object by ratchet mechanism 27) to selective release and receive the at least one strap (releasing and receiving hooks of the strap fasteners 21, 22); and wherein the at least one strap comprises a ratchet strap (ratchet mechanism 27).
Regarding claim 4, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the at least one of the first and second couplings comprises a quick connect coupling (quick hook and hole coupling).
Regarding claim 5, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the at least one strap comprises a ratchet strap (ratchet mechanism 27).
Regarding claim 7, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the protective member comprises a rubber or other elastomeric material.
Regarding claim 10, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is fixedly secured to the head member.
Regarding claims 15, 20, Blackwell teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connector is configured to secure to a separate piece of equipment (platform 14), wherein the separate piece of equipment is configured to exert a desired combination of forces and moments on the device and the targeted piping section (depending on size and weight of the object/piping section, the actuator can be used as a handle to apply pushing/pulling forces and toque or moment to the object/piping section by platform 14).
Claims 1 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lue (US 20110233377 A1) in view of Ramunas (US 5015003 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lue teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. 1 below) a device for assisting manipulation of a targeted piping section (this is intended use of the device, depending on the weight of the piping section, operator can hold 32 to move the piping section; Lue teaches all claimed structural limitations of the device and therefore is capable of this intended use), the device comprising: a head member (clamp body 110) having a curved shape,
the head member comprising a first end and a second end (where bolt arm pivots 120 and 122 are connected to); a first coupling (bolt arm pivot 120) positioned at or near the first end of the head member; a second coupling (bolt arm pivot 122) positioned at or near the second end of the head member; at least one strap (par. 21: “strap 20”) configured to secure to the first end and the second end of the head member, the at least one strap being sized and configured to extend around the targeted piping section (see Fig. 1 below); wherein the at least one strap is configured to tighten around the targeted piping section, wherein tightening of the at least one strap around the targeted piping section brings the head member toward an exterior surface of the targeted piping section; and a connector (150) coupled to the head member, wherein the connector is configured to secure to an actuator or movable device (32) in order to exert desired forces or moments to the device and the targeted piping section to which the device is secured (this is intended use of the device, depending on the weight of the piping section, operator can hold 32 to move the piping section); wherein use of the device eliminates the need for direct contact between a user and the targeted piping section.
Regarding claim 11, Lue teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. 1 above) the connector (nut 150) is removably (by threads) secured to the head member.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Lue teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. 1 above) the head member comprises a metal; and the metal comprises steel (par. 16: “the clamp body 110 can be made of 303 stainless steel”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argued Whalen reference “is silent regarding handling a pipe, especially improving safety around handling a pipe by eliminating the need for direct contact between a user and the targeted piping section as expressly recited in claims 1 and 16”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Because handling a pipe is intended use of the device. Device of Whalen can be clamped around a pipe with a certain size and weight to safely move the pipe.
Applicant argued “Blackwell does not contemplate moving the tree” and “is silent regarding any safety features”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Because as stated in rejection of the claims above, handling a pipe is intended use of the device. Blackwell is capable of holding an elongated object (e.g. a pipe) of certain size and weight to safely move that object.
Applicant argued “Luo is not directed to moving the pipe, but for coupling a nondestructive testing device to the pipe. Like the other two cited references, Luo is silent regarding any safety features”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A pipe with a certain size and weight can be safely manipulated by 32 while being claimed by the strap/chain 20.
Applicant’s argument regarding Ramunas reference is fully considered, but is not found persuasive. Because adding a flexible material between clamping jaws and the clamped workpiece is known in the art and is taught by Ramunas to prevent damage to the clamped workpiece.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723