DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Communication received on 06/05/2026 for the above identified application.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/05/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-1 1, and 13-17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander et al. (US 7,669,147 B1 hereinafter Molander) in view of Birch et al. (US 2020/0042567 A1 hereinafter Birch), further in view of Thomas et al. (US 7,945,600 B1 hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding Claim 1, Molander teaches a method for semantically sorting electronic content of an electronic document collaboration service (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view (the UI window with navigation area and view panel represents electronic content of an electronic document collaboration service); column 5, lines 43 to 47 - method of reorienting navigation trees based on semantic grouping of repeating tree node using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure), the method comprising:
causing display of a graphical user interface of a document space (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects), the graphical user interface comprising:
a content panel configured to display page content of a page (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area (i.e., content panel); the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects); and
a navigational panel comprising a hierarchical element tree having a set of tree elements, each tree element of the set of tree elements selectable to cause display of page content of a respective page in the content panel (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., respective page in the content panel));
causing display of the hierarchical element tree in the navigational panel in a first mode in which the set of tree elements is arranged in an order determined by a hierarchical relationship between adjacent tree elements (column 3, lines 42 to 60 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; based on a user's input, switching between displaying the hierarchical structure (i.e., first mode) and displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren);
in response to receiving an input selecting a semantic sort option, obtaining page content for a set of pages within the document space (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., input selecting semantic sort), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, obtaining other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree (i.e., obtaining page content for a set of pages within the document space)); and
causing display of the hierarchical element tree in the navigational panel in a second mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ hierarchical element tree in the second mode), the hierarchical element tree in the second mode comprising:
a respective parent element corresponding to each respective keyword (column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”. See figs. 5 and 6 - it shows the re-rooted navigation tree/ hierarchical element tree with multiple generated section headers/ parent elements corresponding to respective keywords (Alerting, Monitoring, Policy Management, etc.)); and
for each respective parent element, at least one child element corresponding to a respective page of the respective page cluster (column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624) column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”. See figs. 5 and 6 - it shows the section headers/ parent elements with the grouped nodes as children, where the nodes are arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes/ page clusters as the "Monitoring" node).
However, Molander fails to expressly teach wherein computing, at a backend application, a set of vectors, each vector determined using page content of a respective page of the set of pages within the document space; generating, at a backend application, a set of page clusters using the set of vectors, each set of page clusters including at least one respective page of the set of pages; extracting from each respective page cluster of the set of page clusters, a respective keyword satisfying a score criteria.
In the same field of endeavor, Birch teaches wherein computing, at a backend application, a set of vectors, each vector determined using page content of a respective page of the set of pages within the document space ([0005] the server (i.e., backend application) is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0086] the server include a journey-centric task builder; [0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., page content of a respective page of the set of pages/ web pages within the document space/ web browser page); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors - thus, computing a set of vectors); generating, at a backend application, a set of page clusters using the set of vectors, each set of page clusters including at least one respective page of the set of pages ([0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., page clusters); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree (i.e., respective page of the set of pages) using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group (i.e., page clusters including at least one respective page of the set of page); extracting from each respective page cluster of the set of page clusters, a respective keyword satisfying a score criteria ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree; the similarity analyzer accumulate all the keywords in all the web pages in the navigation tree; [0090] the keywords of the cluster group are topically related to one or more keywords of content viewed by the user, such as the keywords of the currently displayed content having a similarity metric above a threshold level (i.e., score criteria) with respect to the keywords of the cluster group (i.e., keywords of the cluster groups of webpages extracted)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein computing, at a backend application, a set of vectors, each vector determined using page content of a respective page of the set of pages within the document space; generating, at a backend application, a set of page clusters using the set of vectors, each set of page clusters including at least one respective page of the set of pages; extracting from each respective page cluster of the set of page clusters, a respective keyword satisfying a score criteria, as taught by Birch into Molander. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the server or the web browser to determine a group of web pages previously rendered by the web browser that are topically related to each other based on a similarity analysis of the data (Birch [0057]), which would subsequently reduce execution time required to re-search or re-find relevant web pages to accomplish the task and increase the efficiency of the web browser itself (Birch [0070]).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein the child element corresponding to a respective page of the respective page cluster from which the corresponding respective keyword was extracted.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein the child element corresponding to a respective page of the respective page cluster from which the corresponding respective keyword was extracted (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases (i.e., keywords) occurring in the electronic documents (i.e., child elements) grouped in a folder (i.e., parent element/ page cluster) may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder - thus, a document/ child element grouped in a folder/ page cluster corresponds to the extracted phrase/ keyword from the document).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the child element corresponding to a respective page of the respective page cluster from which the corresponding respective keyword was extracted, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
As to dependent Claim 2, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Molander further teaches wherein each parent element is a section header, each section header generated from the corresponding respective keyword (column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”. See fig. 6 - it shows each generated parent element (Alerting, Monitoring, Policy Management, etc.) in the re-rooted navigation tree is a section header corresponding to respective keyword (Alerting, Monitoring, Policy Management, etc.)).
As to dependent Claim 3, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Molander further teaches wherein causing display, in the second mode, of a toggle view option and in response to a user selection of the toggle view option, updating display of the navigational panel to the first mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button (i.e., toggle bar) at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., first mode)).
As to dependent Claim 5, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Birch further teaches wherein the graphical user interface of the document space is displayed in a web browser ([0005] the server is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis). Molander further teaches wherein in response to a user selection of a particular tree element in the hierarchical element tree, display the page content in the content panel (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view). Thomas further teaches wherein in response to a user selection within the content panel, the content panel can be transitioned between edit mode and view mode of the page content ([0135] as shown in fig. 7, Wiki page 700 specifically edited in a design mode; a user may check a quite easily done (QED) check box indicating that the Wiki page is being edited (i.e., user selection within the content panel to transition between edit mode and view mode of the page content)).
As to dependent Claim 6, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Birch further teaches wherein each vector of the set of vectors is calculated using a respective title of a respective page of the set of pages ([0005] the server is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0087] the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; [0096] the navigation suggestion identifies the title (or short phrase describing the page) of each of the web pages (i.e., title of the set of pages/ web pages)).
As to dependent Claim 7, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 6. Birch further teaches wherein each vector of the set of vectors is calculated based at least in part on a respective content of a respective page of the set of pages ([0005] the server is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0087] the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., content of a respective page of the set of pages/ web pages); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors).
Regarding Claim 10, Molander teaches a method for semantically reorganizing a page tree within a navigational panel (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 5, lines 43 to 47 - method of reorienting navigation trees based on semantic grouping of repeating tree node using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure), the method comprising:
causing display of a graphical user interface of a space (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects), the graphical user interface comprising:
a navigational panel comprising a page tree (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view), the page tree comprising:
a set of generated page elements (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes (i.e., generated page elements)); and
a set of parent elements configured to hierarchically arrange the set of generated page elements (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents (i.e., parent elements), while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes); and
a content panel configured to display, in response to a user selection of a page element, page content of the selected page element (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., page content of the selected page element));
causing display of the navigational panel in a first mode in which a hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is generated (column 3, lines 42 to 60 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; based on a user's input, switching between displaying the hierarchical structure (i.e., first mode) and displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren);
in response to a user selection of a semantic sort option, querying the set of generated page elements of the space (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., semantic sort option), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, obtaining other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree (i.e., querying the set of generated page elements of the space)); and
causing display of the navigational panel in a second mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree), the navigational panel in the second mode comprising:
a subset of pages, wherein the subset of pages corresponds to a generated cluster (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ hierarchical element tree in the second mode where the nodes/ tree elements are arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes (i.e., subset of pages corresponds to generated cluster similar to "Monitoring").
However, Molander fails to expressly teach wherein the page tree comprising user-generated page elements and the hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is user-generated; calculating, at a backend application, a semantic similarity metric, the semantic similarity metric calculated from page content of each of the set of user-generated page elements; clustering, at a backend application, groups of user-generated pages, each user- generated page of the user-generated pages in each cluster meeting a semantic similarity criteria; generating, at a backend application, a set of key phrases.
In the same field of endeavor, Birch teaches wherein the page tree comprising user-generated page elements and the hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is user-generated ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0084] the navigation tree may be a hierarchical data structure that shows the relationships between navigated web pages of Internet sites by the web browser - thus, the hierarchical arrangement of page tree comprising user-generated page elements); calculating, at a backend application, a semantic similarity metric, the semantic similarity metric calculated from page content of each of the set of user-generated page elements ([0005] the server (i.e., backend application) is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0086] the server include a journey-centric task builder; [0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., page content of the user-generated page elements/user selected web pages); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors (i.e., similarity metric); [0091] similarity analyzer use similarity techniques such as string-based similarity including character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.); clustering, at a backend application, groups of user-generated pages, each user- generated page of the user-generated pages in each cluster meeting a semantic similarity criteria ([0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., page clusters); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level (i.e., semantic similarity criteria of each user generated page), the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group); generating, at a backend application, a set of key phrases ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree), each of the key phrases from the set of key phrases extracted from a respective cluster of the generated clusters and satisfying a score criteria ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree; the similarity analyzer accumulate all the keywords in all the web pages in the navigation tree; [0090] the keywords of the cluster group are topically related to one or more keywords of content viewed by the user, such as the keywords of the currently displayed content having a similarity metric above a threshold level (i.e., score criteria) with respect to the keywords of the cluster group (i.e., keywords of the cluster groups of webpages extracted)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the page tree comprising user-generated page elements and the hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is user-generated; calculating, at a backend application, a semantic similarity metric, the semantic similarity metric calculated from page content of each of the set of user-generated page elements; clustering, at a backend application, groups of user-generated pages, each user- generated page of the user-generated pages in each cluster meeting a semantic similarity criteria; generating, at a backend application, a set of key phrases, each of the key phrases from the set of key phrases extracted from a respective cluster of the generated clusters and satisfying a score criteria, as taught by Birch into Molander. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the server or the web browser to determine a group of web pages previously rendered by the web browser that are topically related to each other based on a similarity analysis of the data (Birch [0057]), which would subsequently reduce execution time required to re-search or re-find relevant web pages to accomplish the task and increase the efficiency of the web browser itself (Birch [0070]).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein a set of section headers corresponding to at least a portion of the set of extracted key phrases.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein a set of section headers corresponding to at least a portion of the set of extracted key phrases (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases (i.e., keywords) occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder (i.e., generated cluster) may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder - thus, the section headers/ folder names corresponds to the set of extracted keywords/ important words and phrases).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein a set of section headers corresponding to at least a portion of the set of extracted key phrases, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
As to dependent Claim 11, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. Thomas further teaches wherein each section header of the set of section headers is displayed as a parent element of the page tree (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder; column 10, lines 30 to 36 - new folder created for each new concept that is determined; the folders are then organized hierarchically based on their conceptual interrelationships so that closely related folders share a common parent folder); and each page of the subset of pages is displayed as a child element of a corresponding section header (column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder; column 10, lines 30 to 36 - new folder created for each new concept that is determined; the folders are then organized hierarchically based on their conceptual interrelationships so that closely related folders (i.e., child element) share a common parent folder).
As to dependent Claim 13, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. Birch further teaches wherein user-generated page element ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0084] the navigation tree may be a hierarchical data structure that shows the relationships between navigated web pages of Internet sites by the web browser - thus, the hierarchical arrangement of page tree comprising user-generated page elements)Molander further teaches wherein in the second mode, in response to a user selection of a particular generated page element, causing display of page content associated with the selected element in the content panel (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., page content associated with the selected element in the content panel)); and in response to a user selection, toggling the navigational panel from the second mode to the first mode, wherein the selected element is caused to display as underlined within the navigational panel (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., toggling the navigational panel from the second mode to the first mode); column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624). See fig. 6 - the selected "monitoring" node displayed on top inline with Navigation tree/ underlined).
Regarding Claim 15, Molander teaches a method for semantically sorting pages in a content collaboration platform in response to a user selection of a semantic sort view (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 5, lines 43 to 47 - method of reorienting navigation trees based on semantic grouping of repeating tree node using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure; (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., user selection of a semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree ), the method comprising:
causing display of a content collaboration platform space (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view (the UI window with navigation area and view panel represents content collaboration platform space)), the content collaboration platform space comprising:
a content panel configured to display page content of a user-selected page (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node (i.e., user-selected page) in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area (i.e., content panel); the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects);
a navigational panel configured to display a page tree, the page tree having an array of generated elements contained within the content collaboration platform space (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes (i.e., generated elements)); and
a sorting menu comprising a selectable semantic sort view (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., sorting menu comprising a selectable semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree);
in response to a user selection of a semantic sort view within the sorting menu, extracting an array of attributes from each user-generated element from the array of user- generated elements within the content collaboration platform space (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, grouping other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree (i.e., extracting attributes from the generated elements/ nodes within the content collaboration platform space)); and
causing display of the semantic sort view of the navigational panel (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together (i.e., semantic sort view); mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ semantic sort view), the semantic sort view of the navigational panel comprising:
at least one grouping of an array of elements corresponding to the at least one generated header (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ semantic sort view where the nodes/ tree elements are arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes (i.e., array of elements corresponding to the generated header similar to "Monitoring").
However, Molander fails to expressly teach wherein the page tree having an array of user-generated elements; obtaining, from the array of attributes, a set of vector representations; forming groupings from the set of vector representations, each vector representation within each grouping meeting a semantic similarity criteria.
In the same field of endeavor, Birch teaches wherein the page tree having an array of user-generated elements ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0084] the navigation tree may be a hierarchical data structure that shows the relationships between navigated web pages of Internet sites by the web browser - thus, the page tree comprising user-generated elements); obtaining, from the array of attributes, a set of vector representations ([0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors (i.e., vector representations from the keywords and probabilities/ attributes); forming groupings from the set of vector representations, each vector representation within each grouping meeting a semantic similarity criteria ([0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., groupings); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0091] similarity analyzer use similarity techniques such as string-based similarity including character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the page tree having an array of user-generated elements; obtaining, from the array of attributes, a set of vector representations; forming groupings from the set of vector representations, each vector representation within each grouping meeting a semantic similarity criteria, as taught by Birch into Molander. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the server or the web browser to determine a group of web pages previously rendered by the web browser that are topically related to each other based on a similarity analysis of the data (Birch [0057]), which would subsequently reduce execution time required to re-search or re-find relevant web pages to accomplish the task and increase the efficiency of the web browser itself (Birch [0070]).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein extracting, from each grouping of the groupings, a respective key phrase and at least one header generated from at least one respective key phrase extracted from a grouping.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein extracting, from each grouping of the groupings, a respective key phrase and at least one header generated from at least one respective key phrase extracted from a grouping (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases (i.e., key phrase) occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder (i.e., grouping) may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder - thus, header/ folder name generated from the set of extracted keywords/ important words and phrases).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein extracting, from each grouping of the groupings, a respective key phrase and at least one header generated from at least one respective key phrase extracted from a grouping, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
As to dependent Claim 16, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Molander further teaches wherein in response to a user selection of a page element in the semantic sort view, causing display of page content corresponding to the selected page element in the content panel (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., page content associated with the selected element in the content panel); column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree); and in response to a user selection of a section header, causing display of a set of page frames in the content panel, each page frame of the set of page frames corresponds to each page element of the grouping under the at least one generated header (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 5, lines 37 to 42 ; column 3, lines 15 to 20 - the non-hierarchical mesh structure is providing indicators and quick-access controls for nodes on a navigation tree which represents all the files or objects which appear one or more times in the hierarchical structure; based on a user's input, it is displaying both the hierarchical structure, and also, displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure in the content area).
As to dependent Claim 17, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Birch further teaches wherein the array of attributes comprises at least each title of each generated element of the array of user-generated elements and page content comprising an image ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0084] the navigation tree may be a hierarchical data structure that shows the relationships between navigated web pages of Internet sites by the web browser - thus, the hierarchical arrangement of page tree comprising user-generated page elements; [0096] the navigation suggestion identifies the title (or short phrase describing the page) of each of the web pages of the first group; the navigation suggestion displays a representative image associated with one or more of the web pages).
As to dependent Claim 19, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Birch further teaches wherein the semantic similarity criteria is calculated based at least on cosine similarity ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; cosine distance between the feature vectors is used as a distance (or similarity) metric in a clustering algorithm; [0091] similarity analyzer similarity techniques such as such as string-based similarity, character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, cosine similarity, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.); and a keyword extraction criteria is calculated at least based on statistical methods ([0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability (i.e., statistical method) with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree; the similarity analyzer represent each web page with a set of keywords, and each of the keywords may represent a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents that web page; the probabilities are determined based on term frequency and/or inverse document frequency techniques).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2009/0144665 A1 hereinafter Bernstein).
As to dependent Claim 4, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 2. Molander further teaches wherein in response to a user selection of a particular tree element, the content panel is configured to display the page content (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node (i.e., selection of a tree element) in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view); and upon toggling to the first mode, the navigational panel comprises: the set of tree elements arranged in the order determined by the hierarchical relationship between the adjacent tree elements (column 3, lines 42 to 60 - the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; based on a user's input, switching between displaying the hierarchical structure (i.e., first mode) and displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., first mode comprising starting hierarchical structure navigational tree). See fig. 5/ starting navigational tree and fig. 6/ re-rooted navigational tree); and the selected element positioned within the hierarchical relationship (column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree - thus, the navigation tree from fig. 6 would re-root back to the default navigational tree in fig. 5 in which the selected element/ "Monitoring" positioned within the hierarchical relationship).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein the selected element is configured to be accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements.
In the same field of endeavor, Bernstein teaches wherein the selected element is configured to be accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements ([0034] user may switch between filters, and between filtered and unfiltered views (i.e., first mode and second mode) of the data; [0035] FIG. 2 illustrates a file hierarchy tree 200 in which the user has selected any nodes in the tree 200 that the user would like to see in a filtered view in accordance with exemplary embodiments. In this example five nodes are selected; FIG. 3 illustrates the file hierarchy tree 200 of FIG. 2 in which the user has selected a “Filter . . . ” command from a menu 300 in accordance with exemplary embodiments; FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary popup dialog 400; in the popup dialog 400, the user can type in a name for the filter and hit “OK”; FIG. 5 illustrates a filtered hierarchy tree 500 that shows only the nodes selected for the filter as root nodes (i.e., selected element accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements); [0037] the user selects the nodes for a filtered view; for each of the sub-group of nodes, the method highlights each of the selected nodes on the display 130).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the selected element is configured to be accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements, as taught by Bernstein into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the user to navigate to the location of interest in the hierarchy more easily (Bernstein [0007]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Meehan et al. (US 2009/0327240 A1 hereinafter Meehan).
As to dependent Claim 8, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Molander further teaches wherein in the second mode, in response to a user input, changing a position of the page element from a first location to a second location within the hierarchical element tree (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected (i.e., user input), the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., changing position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree)).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein change a position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree in response to a user drag input with respect to a page element in the hierarchical element tree.
In the same field of endeavor, Meehan teaches wherein change a position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree in response to a user drag input with respect to a page element in the hierarchical element tree ([0039] the display order of at least two or more nodes in the navigation tree may be customized, meaning that a user may reorder the nodes in any way the user sees fit within that level of the navigation tree. This may be done by dragging a node from one position to another, or by moving an individual node up or down the list of nodes within the same level of in the navigation tree).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein change a position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree in response to a user drag input with respect to a page element in the hierarchical element tree, as taught by Meehan into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide a quick and easy-to-customize system and method for searching and organizing data (Meehan [0008]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Taylor et al. (US 2009/0164947 A1 hereinafter Taylor).
As to dependent Claim 9, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 1. However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user selection, changing the hierarchical relationship of the adjacent tree elements of the first mode to be equal to the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Taylor teaches wherein in response to a user selection, changing the hierarchical relationship of the adjacent tree elements of the first mode to be equal to the second mode [0019] FIG. 1 pictorially depicts a user interface configured for large tree view navigation; the tree view 120 can include a root node 130 and a multiplicity of branches 140A, 140B, 140C extending there from; the branches 140A, 140B, 140C can be expanded to reveal constituent nodes 150A, 150B, 150C or collapsed to obscure the constituent nodes 150A, 150B, 150C; [0020] each of the branches 140A, 140B, 140C can be coupled to a filter control 160; the filter control 160 when activated can permit the entry of filter text; in response to the entry of filter text, a filtered branch 140B can be produced to include only nodes 150B including the filter text. See fig. 1 - it shows when the filter control is activated (i.e., second mode), the hierarchical relationship of the tree elements (140A, 140B, 140C) is equal to when the filter control is not activated (i.e., first mode)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user selection, changing the hierarchical relationship of the adjacent tree elements of the first mode to be equal to the second mode, as taught by Taylor into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for relevant nodes to be located flexibly and efficiently (Taylor, Abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Sung et al. (US 2005/0240572 A1 hereinafter Sung).
As to dependent Claim 12, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein querying, at a backend application, at least one restricted page, each restricted page associated with user view permissions; and suppressing display, at a frontend application, of the at least one restricted page in the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Sung teaches wherein querying, at a backend application, at least one restricted page, each restricted page associated with user view permissions ([0036] the document query system is in communication with a user through a network connection; when a user accesses the document query system, the user either develops or transfers a profile defining the categories and attributes of documents that the user would like to select; the access privileges are appended to the user's profile which is retained by the document query system; [0037] the document query system generates a document category tree based on the attributes and tree level record that match the attributes and levels defined in the user's profile; [0040] the document query system then compares the privilege access from the user's profile to the privilege access record associated with the document type attribute; if the privilege access grants the user access, the privilege is granted and the user may now select one attribute type of the second tree level (i.e., restricted page associated with user view permissions)); and suppressing display, at a frontend application, of the at least one restricted page in the second mode ([0036] the document query system is in communication with a user through a network connection; when a user accesses the document query system, the user either develops or transfers a profile defining the categories and attributes of documents that the user would like to select; the access privileges are appended to the user's profile which is retained by the document query system; [0037] the document query system generates a document category tree based on the attributes and tree level record that match the attributes and levels defined in the user's profile; [0040] the document query system then compares the privilege access from the user's profile to the privilege access record associated with the document type attribute; if the privilege access grants the user access, the privilege is granted and the user may now select one attribute type of the second tree level (i.e., the restricted page/ document access not granted page not displayed to the user)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein querying, at a backend application, at least one restricted page, each restricted page associated with user view permissions; and suppressing display, at a frontend application, of the at least one restricted page in the second mode, as taught by Sung into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would improve the flexibility of the access to the documents and improve the security of the access by having the access privileges controlled within the system (Sung [0046]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Simhadri et al. (US 2022/0358172 A1 hereinafter Simhadri).
As to dependent Claim 14, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. Molander further teaches wherein selecting a key phrase from the group of key phrases as the section header of the cluster and causing display of the section header in the second mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624). See figs. 5 and 6 - it shows the selected key phrase of the cluster/ Monitoring displayed as section header in the second mode). Birch further teaches wherein ranking, at a backend application, a group of extracted key phrases, each ranking based on weighing at least on a frequency of a key phrase with respect to a cluster ([0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability (i.e., ranking) with each of the keywords; the similarity analyzer represent each web page with a set of keywords; the probabilities are determined based on term frequency and/or inverse document frequency techniques (i.e., ranking based on weighing on a frequency of a key phrase/ keywords);[0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., page clusters); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein selecting a lowest ranked key phrase from the group of extracted key phrases as the section header of the cluster.
In the same field of endeavor, Simhadri teaches wherein selecting a lowest ranked key phrase from the group of extracted key phrases as the section header of the cluster ([0052] the keyword with a lowest rank can be chosen as the cluster representative).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein selecting a lowest ranked key phrase from the group of extracted key phrases as the section header of the cluster, as taught by Simhadri into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for utilizing additional text about a product to expand the keywords available for faceted navigation that are more relevant to the website visitor's search (Simhadri [0037]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Asgekar et al. (US 11,620,316 B1 hereinafter Asgekar).
As to dependent Claim 18, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Molander further teaches wherein causing display of an updated navigational panel, the updated navigational panel having the renamed page element under a computed grouping (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree (i.e., updated navigational panel); column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” (i.e., computed grouping); column 5, lines 25 to 32 - the semantic database, rules, and thresholds are configurable by the administrator or an authorized user, they can be updated and added by the users; the user will be able to tag the labels with additional keywords; the semantic matching module will additionally use these tags to determine and match the semantically equivalent labels - thus, when a label is updated with tags/ renamed page element, the navigation panel will display the nodes/ tree elements arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes based on the updated label). Birch further teaches wherein in response to a user input, computing a new vector representation for the page element ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors); grouping the new vector representation in accordance with the semantic similarity criteria of the new vector representation ([0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., page content of the user-generated page elements/user selected web pages); cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., groupings); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors (i.e., similarity metric); if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group;[0091] similarity analyzer use similarity techniques such as string-based similarity including character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user input renaming a page element, computing a new vector representation for the renamed page element.
In the same field of endeavor, Asgekar teaches wherein in response to a user input renaming a page element, computing a new vector representation for the renamed page element (column 28, lines 26 to 35 -the provider device present the one or more labels 280 in one or more user interfaces; user of the provider device use the actionable objects to confirm whether any of the one or more labels are appropriate for the item of media content and optionally select additional labels to assign to the item of media content (i.e., user input renaming a page element); column 25, lines 1 to 22 - the label embeddings of an item of label can be stored in association with the label 280 from which the label embedding was generated; the educational content system can generate a label embedding for each label 280 received from a provider device (i.e., computing new vector representation for the renamed page element); column 26, lines 31 to 43 - the label maintainer can store each label in association with a label embedding 290; a label embedding 290 can be an encoded form of text content, represented as a real-valued vector; the real-valued vector of a label embedding 290 can encode a “meaning” of a word or term in text content (e.g., the label, etc.) such that words that are closer in the vector space are expected to be similar in semantic meaning).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user input renaming a page element, computing a new vector representation for the renamed page element, as taught by Asgekar into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for automatically assigning labels to content based on a semantic representation of the content (Asgekar, column 1, lines 35 to 40).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Meehan et al. (US 2009/0327240 A1 hereinafter Meehan).
As to dependent Claim 20, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Molander further teaches wherein the semantic sort view (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, grouping other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user drag input of a page element, update the navigational panel to display the page element in a user-selected location; and update, at a backend, a user profile to save the user-selected location.
In the same field of endeavor, Meehan teaches wherein in response to a user drag input of a page element, update the navigational panel to display the page element in a user-selected location ([0039] the display order of at least two or more nodes in the navigation tree may be customized; a user may reorder the nodes in any way the user sees fit within that level of the navigation tree; this may be done by dragging a node from one position to another, or by moving an individual node up or down the list of nodes within the same level of in the navigation tree); and update, at a backend, a user profile to save the user-selected location ([0079] if the user's favorite author is Dumas, the user's next favorite author is Shakespeare, and the third favorite author is Miller, the user may order the nodes in the navigation tree so that Dumas always is first, Shakespeare always is second, and Miller always is third; the user can create a personalized search result for information he/she wants to obtain that the user can save; when accessed in the future, Dumas, the user's favorite author, always be on top for this saved navigation tree).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user drag input of a page element, update the navigational panel to display the page element in a user-selected location; and update, at a backend, a user profile to save the user-selected location, as taught by Meehan into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide a quick and easy-to-customize system and method for searching and organizing data (Meehan [0008]).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103: In the remarks, applicant argues that: (a) Molander is silent regarding grouping the nodes under a keyword extracted from a respective group, within a hierarchical tree, that represents the semantically grouped nodes. Birch is silent regarding "extracting from each respective page cluster of the set of page clusters, a respective keyword satisfying a score criteria" within a single hierarchical element tree, and displaying the "hierarchical element tree in the navigational panel in a second mode" including "a respective parent element corresponding to each respective keyword; for each respective parent element, at least one child element corresponding to a respective page of the respective page cluster from which the corresponding keyword was extracted," as recited by amended independent claim 1. Independent claims 10 and 15 have been amended to include limitations similar to those emphasized above with respect to amended independent claim 1. Thomas does not correct the deficiencies of Molander and Birch noted above. (b) Dependent claims are also believed to be allowable over Molander, Birch, and Thomas, in any combination, at least for their dependence from a respective one of allowable base claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
As to point (a), firstly, in response to Applicants’ arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Secondly, the combination of Molander, Birch, and Thomas do teach the features recited by amended independent claim 1. Molander teaches wherein contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” (see column 2, lines 66 to 67; column 3, lines 1 to 6; column 4, lines 42 to 67; column 5, lines 7 to 13). Thus, Molander teaches based on user input, re-orienting a navigation tree/ hierarchical element tree with multiple generated section headers/ parent elements corresponding to respective keywords. Birch teaches wherein the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group; the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree; the similarity analyzer accumulate all the keywords in all the web pages in the navigation tree; the keywords of the cluster group are topically related to one or more keywords of content viewed by the user, such as the keywords of the currently displayed content having a similarity metric above a threshold level with respect to the keywords of the cluster group (see [0087]- [0090]). Thus, Birch teaches generating page clusters using vectors and extracting keyword from the cluster based on a score criteria. Thomas teaches wherein the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder (see column 6, lines 45 to 50; column 13, lines 12 to 24). Thus, Thomas teaches that generating section header/ folder name from extracted phrases/ keywords from documents, with the documents arranged as child elements. See the §103 rejections above for details. According to MPEP 2111, examiner is obliged to give the terms or phrases their broadest interpretation definition awarded by one of an ordinary skill in the art unless applicant has provided some indication of the definition of the claimed terms or phrases. Accordingly, the combination of Molander, Birch, and Thomas is considered to teach the features recited by amended independent claims 1, 10, and 15.
As to point (b), Molander in view of Birch, and Thomas is considered to teach the features recited in independent claims 1,10, and 15 and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 CFR § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Enuka et al. (US 2020/0311414 A1) teaches: associating each of the documents with a cluster 120, determining cluster information, such as important keywords, for each cluster of documents 125, and/or displaying such cluster information for one or more of the document clusters; each cluster may be associated with a cluster feature vector indicative of the documents in that cluster; a feature vector describing and/or generally representative of all the documents in a cluster may be generated and/or used in determining a similarity score between the cluster and a given document feature vector (see [0026], [0062]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REJI KARTHOLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143