DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Communication received on 12/30/2022 for application number 18/092,147.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 10, and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander et al. (US 7,669,147 B1 hereinafter Molander) in view of Birch et al. (US 2020/0042567 A1 hereinafter Birch).
Regarding Claim 1, Molander teaches a method for semantically sorting electronic content of an electronic document collaboration service (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view (the UI window with navigation area and view panel represents electronic content of an electronic document collaboration service); column 5, lines 43 to 47 - method of reorienting navigation trees based on semantic grouping of repeating tree node using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure), the method comprising:
causing display of a graphical user interface of a document space (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects), the graphical user interface comprising:
a content panel configured to display page content of a page (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area (i.e., content panel); the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects); and
a navigational panel comprising a hierarchical element tree having a set of tree elements, each tree element of the set of tree elements selectable to cause display of page content of a respective page in the content panel (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., respective page in the content panel));
causing display of the hierarchical element tree in the navigational panel in a first mode in which the set of tree elements is arranged in an order determined by a hierarchical relationship between adjacent tree elements (column 3, lines 42 to 60 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; based on a user's input, switching between displaying the hierarchical structure (i.e., first mode) and displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren);
in response to receiving an automatic semantic sorting command, obtaining page content for a set of pages within the document space (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., automatic semantic sorting command), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, obtaining other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree (i.e., obtaining page content for a set of pages within the document space));
and causing display of the hierarchical element tree in the navigational panel in a second mode in which the set of tree elements is arranged in a grouping determined by the set of page clusters (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ hierarchical element tree in the second mode where the nodes/ tree elements are arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes/ page clusters as "Monitoring" node).
However, Molander fails to expressly teach wherein computing, at a backend application, a set of vectors, each vector determined using page content of a respective page of the set of pages within the document space; generating, at a backend application, a set of page clusters using the set of vectors; extracting from each page cluster of the set of page clusters, a keyword.
In the same field of endeavor, Birch teaches wherein computing, at a backend application, a set of vectors, each vector determined using page content of a respective page of the set of pages within the document space ([0005] the server (i.e., backend application) is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0086] the server include a journey-centric task builder; [0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., page content of a respective page of the set of pages/ web pages within the document space/ web browser page); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors - thus, computing a set of vectors); generating, at a backend application, a set of page clusters using the set of vectors ([0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., page clusters); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group); extracting from each page cluster of the set of page clusters, a keyword ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree; the similarity analyzer accumulate all the keywords in all the web pages in the navigation tree; [0090] the keywords of the cluster group are topically related to one or more keywords of content viewed by the user (i.e., keywords of the cluster groups of webpages extracted)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein computing, at a backend application, a set of vectors, each vector determined using page content of a respective page of the set of pages within the document space; generating, at a backend application, a set of page clusters using the set of vectors; extracting from each page cluster of the set of page clusters, a keyword, as taught by Birch into Molander. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the server or the web browser to determine a group of web pages previously rendered by the web browser that are topically related to each other based on a similarity analysis of the data (Birch [0057]), which would subsequently reduce execution time required to re-search or re-find relevant web pages to accomplish the task and increase the efficiency of the web browser itself (Birch [0070]).
As to dependent Claim 3, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Molander further teaches wherein causing display, in the second mode, of a toggle view option and in response to a user selection of the toggle view option, updating display of the navigational panel to the first mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button (i.e., toggle bar) at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., first mode)).
As to dependent Claim 6, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Birch further teaches wherein each vector of the set of vectors is calculated using a respective title of a respective page of the set of pages ([0005] the server is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0087] the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; [0096] the navigation suggestion identifies the title (or short phrase describing the page) of each of the web pages (i.e., title of the set of pages/ web pages)).
As to dependent Claim 7, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 6. Birch further teaches wherein each vector of the set of vectors is calculated based at least in part on a respective content of a respective page of the set of pages ([0005] the server is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0087] the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., content of a respective page of the set of pages/ web pages); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors).
Claims 2, 5, 10-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander et al. (US 7,669,147 B1 hereinafter Molander) in view of Birch et al. (US 2020/0042567 A1 hereinafter Birch), further in view of Thomas et al. (US 7,945,600 B1 hereinafter Thomas).
As to dependent Claim 2, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Molander further teaches wherein the second mode comprises: a set of section headers generated, each section header from the set of section headers caused to display as a parent within the hierarchical element tree (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624). See figs. 5 and 6 - it shows the set of section headers generated (Alerting, Monitoring, Policy Management, etc.) and displayed as parent within the hierarchical element tree); and each set of page clusters arranged under a respective section header, each page cluster of the set of page clusters caused to display as a child of the respective section header (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624). See figs. 5 and 6 - it shows the set of page clusters arranged under the section header (for example, Monitoring) and the page clusters/ Monitoring nodes displayed as child of the respective section header/ Monitoring).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein a set of section headers generated from each extracted keyword.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein a set of section headers generated from each extracted keyword (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder - thus, a set of section headers/ folder names generated from each extracted keyword).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein a set of section headers generated from each extracted keyword, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
As to dependent Claim 5, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Birch further teaches wherein the graphical user interface of the document space is displayed in a web browser ([0005] the server is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis). Molander further teaches wherein in response to a user selection of an element in the hierarchical element tree, display the page content in the content panel (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user selection within the content panel, the content panel can be transitioned between edit mode and view mode of the page content.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein in response to a user selection within the content panel, the content panel can be transitioned between edit mode and view mode of the page content ([0135] as shown in fig. 7, Wiki page 700 specifically edited in a design mode; a user may check a quite easily done (QED) check box indicating that the Wiki page is being edited (i.e., user selection within the content panel to transition between edit mode and view mode of the page content)).'
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user selection within the content panel, the content panel can be transitioned between edit mode and view mode of the page content, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
Regarding Claim 10, Molander teaches a method for semantically reorganizing a page tree within a navigational panel (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 5, lines 43 to 47 - method of reorienting navigation trees based on semantic grouping of repeating tree node using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure), the method comprising:
causing display of a graphical user interface of a space (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects), the graphical user interface comprising:
a navigational panel comprising a page tree (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view), the page tree comprising:
a set of generated page elements (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes (i.e., generated page elements)); and
a set of parent elements configured to hierarchically arrange the set of generated page elements (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents (i.e., parent elements), while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes); and
a content panel configured to display, in response to a user selection of a page element, page content of the selected page element (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., page content of the selected page element));
causing display of the navigational panel in a first mode in which a hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is generated (column 3, lines 42 to 60 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; based on a user's input, switching between displaying the hierarchical structure (i.e., first mode) and displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren);
in response to a user selection of a semantic sort option, querying the set of generated page elements of the space (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., semantic sort option), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, obtaining other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree (i.e., querying the set of generated page elements of the space)); and
causing display of the navigational panel in a second mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree), the second mode comprising:
a subset of pages, wherein the subset of pages corresponds to a generated cluster (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ hierarchical element tree in the second mode where the nodes/ tree elements are arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes (i.e., subset of pages corresponds to generated cluster similar to "Monitoring").
However, Molander fails to expressly teach wherein the page tree comprising user-generated page elements and the hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is user-generated; calculating, at a backend application, a semantic similarity metric, the semantic similarity metric calculated from page content of each of the set of user-generated page elements; clustering, at a backend application, groups of user-generated pages, each of the user- generated pages in each cluster meeting a semantic similarity criteria; and generating, at a backend application, a set of key phrases.
In the same field of endeavor, Birch teaches wherein the page tree comprising user-generated page elements and the hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is user-generated([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0084] the navigation tree may be a hierarchical data structure that shows the relationships between navigated web pages of Internet sites by the web browser - thus, the hierarchical arrangement of page tree comprising user-generated page elements); calculating, at a backend application, a semantic similarity metric, the semantic similarity metric calculated from page content of each of the set of user-generated page elements ([0005] the server (i.e., backend application) is configured to acquire, over a network, data from a web browser executing on at least one computing device; the server is configured to process the acquired data to group the plurality of web pages into one or more groups of web pages, where each group includes a respective subset of the plurality of web pages and perform a similarity analysis; [0086] the server include a journey-centric task builder; [0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., page content of the user-generated page elements/user selected web pages); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors (i.e., similarity metric); [0091] similarity analyzer use similarity techniques such as string-based similarity including character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.); clustering, at a backend application, groups of user-generated pages, each of the user- generated pages in each cluster meeting a semantic similarity criteria ([0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., page clusters); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level (i.e., semantic similarity criteria), the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group); and generating, at a backend application, a set of key phrases ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the page tree comprising user-generated page elements and the hierarchical arrangement of the page tree is user-generated; calculating, at a backend application, a semantic similarity metric, the semantic similarity metric calculated from page content of each of the set of user-generated page elements; clustering, at a backend application, groups of user-generated pages, each of the user- generated pages in each cluster meeting a semantic similarity criteria; and generating, at a backend application, a set of key phrases, as taught by Birch into Molander. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the server or the web browser to determine a group of web pages previously rendered by the web browser that are topically related to each other based on a similarity analysis of the data (Birch [0057]), which would subsequently reduce execution time required to re-search or re-find relevant web pages to accomplish the task and increase the efficiency of the web browser itself (Birch [0070]).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein each of the key phrases from the set of key phrases extracted from each of the generated clusters and a section header generated from the set of extracted key phrases.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein each of the key phrases from the set of key phrases extracted from each of the generated clusters and a section header generated from the set of extracted key phrases (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder (i.e., generated cluster) may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder - thus, a section header/ folder name generated from the set of extracted keywords/ important words and phrases).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein each of the key phrases from the set of key phrases extracted from each of the generated clusters and a section header generated from the set of extracted key phrases, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
As to dependent Claim 11, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. Thomas further teaches wherein the section header is displayed as a parent element of the page tree (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder; column 10, lines 30 to 36 - new folder created for each new concept that is determined; the folders are then organized hierarchically based on their conceptual interrelationships so that closely related folders share a common parent folder); and each page of a subset of pages is displayed as a child element of a corresponding section header column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder; column 10, lines 30 to 36 - new folder created for each new concept that is determined; the folders are then organized hierarchically based on their conceptual interrelationships so that closely related folders (i.e., child element) share a common parent folder).
As to dependent Claim 13, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. Molander further teaches wherein in the second mode, in response to a user selection of an element, cause display of page content associated with the selected element in the content panel (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., page content associated with the selected element in the content panel)); and in response to a user selection, toggling the navigational panel from the second mode to the first mode, wherein the selected element is caused to display as underlined within the navigational panel (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., toggling the navigational panel from the second mode to the first mode); column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624). See fig. 6 - the selected "monitoring" node displayed on top inline with Navigation tree/ underlined).
Regarding Claim 15, Molander teaches a method for semantically sorting pages in a content collaboration platform in response to a user selection of a semantic sort view (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 5, lines 43 to 47 - method of reorienting navigation trees based on semantic grouping of repeating tree node using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure; (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., user selection of a semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree ), the method comprising:
causing display of a content collaboration platform space (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view (the UI window with navigation area and view panel represents content collaboration platform space)), the content collaboration platform space comprising:
a content panel configured to display page content of a user-selected page (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node (i.e., user-selected page) in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area (i.e., content panel); the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects);
a navigational panel configured to display a page tree, the page tree having an array of generated elements contained within the content collaboration platform space (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area (i.e., navigational panel); the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view; column 6, lines 27 to 30 - hierarchy or tree structure has a root, branches, nodes, and leaves; the nodes at higher levels are called parents, or grandparents, while the nodes at lower levels are called children or grandchildren; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes (i.e., generated elements); and
a sorting menu comprising a selectable semantic sort view (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., sorting menu comprising a selectable semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree);
in response to a user selection of a semantic sort view within the sorting menu, extracting an array of attributes from each generated element from the array of generated elements within the content collaboration platform space (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, grouping other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree (i.e., extracting attributes from the generated elements/ nodes within the content collaboration platform space));
causing display of the semantic sort view of the navigational panel (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together (i.e., semantic sort view); mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ semantic sort view), the semantic sort view comprising:
at least one grouping of an array of elements corresponding to the at least one generated header (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” - thus, displaying the re-rooted navigation tree/ semantic sort view where the nodes/ tree elements are arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes (i.e., array of elements corresponding to the generated header similar to "Monitoring").
However, Molander fails to expressly teach wherein the page tree having an array of user-generated elements; obtaining, from the array of attributes, a set of vector representations; forming groupings from the set of vector representations, each vector representation within each grouping meeting a semantic similarity criteria.
In the same field of endeavor, Birch teaches wherein the page tree having an array of user-generated elements ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0084] the navigation tree may be a hierarchical data structure that shows the relationships between navigated web pages of Internet sites by the web browser - thus, the page tree comprising user-generated elements); obtaining, from the array of attributes, a set of vector representations ([0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors (i.e., vector representations from the keywords and probabilities/ attributes); forming groupings from the set of vector representations, each vector representation within each grouping meeting a semantic similarity criteria ([0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., groupings); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group; [0091] similarity analyzer use similarity techniques such as string-based similarity including character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the page tree having an array of user-generated elements; obtaining, from the array of attributes, a set of vector representations; forming groupings from the set of vector representations, each vector representation within each grouping meeting a semantic similarity criteria, as taught by Birch into Molander. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the server or the web browser to determine a group of web pages previously rendered by the web browser that are topically related to each other based on a similarity analysis of the data (Birch [0057]), which would subsequently reduce execution time required to re-search or re-find relevant web pages to accomplish the task and increase the efficiency of the web browser itself (Birch [0070]).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein extracting, from each of the groupings, a key phrase and at least one header generated from at least one key phrase extracted from a grouping.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas teaches wherein extracting, from each of the groupings, a key phrase and at least one header generated from at least one key phrase extracted from a grouping (column 6, lines 45 to 50 - the electronic documents are parsed to extract contents of the electronic documents and to determine metadata associated with the electronic documents in the collection of electronic documents; column 13, lines 12 to 24 - a combination of important words and phrases occurring in the electronic documents grouped in a folder (i.e., grouping) may be used to determine a name for the folder; each folder in the hierarchical collection of folders is named based upon the concept represented by the folder - thus, header/ folder name generated from the set of extracted keywords/ important words and phrases).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein extracting, from each of the groupings, a key phrase and at least one header generated from at least one key phrase extracted from a grouping, as taught by Thomas into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would facilitate efficient review and analysis of the electronic documents by the user (Thomas, column 8, lines 29 to 31).
As to dependent Claim 16, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Molander further teaches wherein in response to a user selection of a page element in the semantic sort view, causing display of page content corresponding to the selected page element in the content panel (column 3, lines 42 to 50 - method of using navigation area controls and indicators for non-hierarchies for a user-interface structure: displaying a navigation area; displaying a content area; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree navigates a user to a related panel or view (i.e., page content associated with the selected element in the content panel); column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree); and in response to a user selection of a section header, causing display of a set of page frames in the content panel, each page of the set of page frames corresponds to each page element of the grouping under the at least one generated header (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 5, lines 37 to 42 ; column 3, lines 15 to 20 - the non-hierarchical mesh structure is providing indicators and quick-access controls for nodes on a navigation tree which represents all the files or objects which appear one or more times in the hierarchical structure; based on a user's input, it is displaying both the hierarchical structure, and also, displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure in the content area).
As to dependent Claim 17, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Birch further teaches wherein the array of attributes comprises at least each title of each of the array of user-generated elements and page content comprising an image ([0096] the navigation suggestion identifies the title (or short phrase describing the page) of each of the web pages of the first group; the navigation suggestion displays a representative image associated with one or more of the web pages).
As to dependent Claim 19, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Birch further teaches wherein the semantic similarity criteria is calculated based at least on cosine similarity ([0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; cosine distance between the feature vectors is used as a distance (or similarity) metric in a clustering algorithm; [0091] similarity analyzer similarity techniques such as such as string-based similarity, character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, cosine similarity, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.); and a keyword extraction criteria is calculated at least based on statistical methods ([0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability (i.e., statistical method) with each of the keywords indicating a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents its navigation tree; the similarity analyzer represent each web page with a set of keywords, and each of the keywords may represent a relative likelihood that a particular keyword represents that web page; the probabilities are determined based on term frequency and/or inverse document frequency techniques).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch, further in view of Bernstein et al. (US 2009/0144665 A1 hereinafter Bernstein).
As to dependent Claim 4, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 3. Molander further teaches wherein in response to a user selection of an element, the content panel is configured to display the page content (column 1, lines 15 to 22 - navigation areas in UI structures presented in a major left-side area of a window, and as a pure hierarchy of selectable nodes; clicking an end node in a navigation tree typically navigates a user to a related panel or view); and upon toggling to the first mode, the navigational panel comprises: the set of tree elements arranged in the order determined by the hierarchical relationship between the adjacent tree elements (column 3, lines 42 to 60 - the navigation area displaying a hierarchical structure and a non-hierarchical mesh structure; the content area displaying detailed information about files or objects; based on a user's input, switching between displaying the hierarchical structure (i.e., first mode) and displaying the non-hierarchical mesh structure; column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., first mode comprising starting hierarchical structure navigational tree). See fig. 5/ starting navigational tree and fig. 6/ re-rooted navigational tree); and the selected element positioned within the hierarchical relationship (column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624); column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected, the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree - thus, the navigation tree from fig. 6 would re-root back to the default navigational tree in fig. 5 in which the selected element/ "Monitoring" positioned within the hierarchical relationship).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein the selected element is configured to be accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements.
In the same field of endeavor, Bernstein teaches wherein the selected element is configured to be accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements ([0034] user may switch between filters, and between filtered and unfiltered views (i.e., first mode and second mode) of the data; [0035] FIG. 2 illustrates a file hierarchy tree 200 in which the user has selected any nodes in the tree 200 that the user would like to see in a filtered view in accordance with exemplary embodiments. In this example five nodes are selected; FIG. 3 illustrates the file hierarchy tree 200 of FIG. 2 in which the user has selected a “Filter . . . ” command from a menu 300 in accordance with exemplary embodiments; FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary popup dialog 400; in the popup dialog 400, the user can type in a name for the filter and hit “OK”; FIG. 5 illustrates a filtered hierarchy tree 500 that shows only the nodes selected for the filter as root nodes (i.e., selected element accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements); [0037] the user selects the nodes for a filtered view; for each of the sub-group of nodes, the method highlights each of the selected nodes on the display 130).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the selected element is configured to be accentuated with respect to the set of tree elements, as taught by Bernstein into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the user to navigate to the location of interest in the hierarchy more easily (Bernstein [0007]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch, further in view of Meehan et al. (US 2009/0327240 A1 hereinafter Meehan).
As to dependent Claim 8, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Molander further teaches wherein in the second mode, in response to a user input, change a position of the page element from a first location to a second location within the hierarchical element tree (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 37 to 42 - allows the user to conveniently break the navigational tree re-rooting via a surfaced control within the navigational tree; when a “Close” button at the corner of most Window interfaces within the navigational tree title bar is selected (i.e., user input), the navigation tree would re-root back to the default navigational tree or starting navigational tree (i.e., changing position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree)).
However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein change a position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree in response to a user drag input with respect to a page element in the hierarchical element tree.
In the same field of endeavor, Meehan teaches wherein change a position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree in response to a user drag input with respect to a page element in the hierarchical element tree ([0039] the display order of at least two or more nodes in the navigation tree may be customized, meaning that a user may reorder the nodes in any way the user sees fit within that level of the navigation tree. This may be done by dragging a node from one position to another, or by moving an individual node up or down the list of nodes within the same level of in the navigation tree).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein change a position of the page element within the hierarchical element tree in response to a user drag input with respect to a page element in the hierarchical element tree, as taught by Meehan into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide a quick and easy-to-customize system and method for searching and organizing data (Meehan [0008]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch, further in view of Taylor et al. (US 2009/0164947 A1 hereinafter Taylor).
As to dependent Claim 9, Molander and Birch teach all the limitations of Claim 1. However, Molander and Birch fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user selection, change the hierarchical relationship of the adjacent tree elements of the first mode to be equal to the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Taylor teaches wherein in response to a user selection, change the hierarchical relationship of the adjacent tree elements of the first mode to be equal to the second mode [0019] FIG. 1 pictorially depicts a user interface configured for large tree view navigation; the tree view 120 can include a root node 130 and a multiplicity of branches 140A, 140B, 140C extending there from; the branches 140A, 140B, 140C can be expanded to reveal constituent nodes 150A, 150B, 150C or collapsed to obscure the constituent nodes 150A, 150B, 150C; [0020] each of the branches 140A, 140B, 140C can be coupled to a filter control 160; the filter control 160 when activated can permit the entry of filter text; in response to the entry of filter text, a filtered branch 140B can be produced to include only nodes 150B including the filter text. See fig. 1 - it shows when the filter control is activated (i.e., second mode), the hierarchical relationship of the tree elements (140A, 140B, 140C) is equal to when the filter control is not activated (i.e., first mode)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user selection, change the hierarchical relationship of the adjacent tree elements of the first mode to be equal to the second mode, as taught by Taylor into Molander and Birch. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for relevant nodes to be located flexibly and efficiently (Taylor, Abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Sung et al. (US 2005/0240572 A1 hereinafter Sung).
As to dependent Claim 12, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein querying, at a backend application, at least one restricted page, each restricted page associated with user view permissions; and suppressing display, at a frontend application, of the at least one restricted page in the second mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Sung teaches wherein querying, at a backend application, at least one restricted page, each restricted page associated with user view permissions ([0036] the document query system is in communication with a user through a network connection; when a user accesses the document query system, the user either develops or transfers a profile defining the categories and attributes of documents that the user would like to select; the access privileges are appended to the user's profile which is retained by the document query system; [0037] the document query system generates a document category tree based on the attributes and tree level record that match the attributes and levels defined in the user's profile; [0040] the document query system then compares the privilege access from the user's profile to the privilege access record associated with the document type attribute; if the privilege access grants the user access, the privilege is granted and the user may now select one attribute type of the second tree level (i.e., restricted page associated with user view permissions)); and suppressing display, at a frontend application, of the at least one restricted page in the second mode ([0036] the document query system is in communication with a user through a network connection; when a user accesses the document query system, the user either develops or transfers a profile defining the categories and attributes of documents that the user would like to select; the access privileges are appended to the user's profile which is retained by the document query system; [0037] the document query system generates a document category tree based on the attributes and tree level record that match the attributes and levels defined in the user's profile; [0040] the document query system then compares the privilege access from the user's profile to the privilege access record associated with the document type attribute; if the privilege access grants the user access, the privilege is granted and the user may now select one attribute type of the second tree level (i.e., the restricted page/ document access not granted page not displayed to the user)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein querying, at a backend application, at least one restricted page, each restricted page associated with user view permissions; and suppressing display, at a frontend application, of the at least one restricted page in the second mode, as taught by Sung into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would improve the flexibility of the access to the documents and improve the security of the access by having the access privileges controlled within the system (Sung [0046]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Simhadri et al. (US 2022/0358172 A1 hereinafter Simhadri).
As to dependent Claim 14, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 10. Molander further teaches wherein selecting a key phrase from the group of key phrases as the section header of the cluster and causing display of the section header in the second mode (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree (i.e., second mode), with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree; column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status”; column 2, lines 66 to 67 and column 3, lines 1 to 6 - contextually and inline with the navigation tree, the user could quickly re-orient the tree to group all the repeating nodes together; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node in FIG. 5, the tree filters and re-orients to look like the image in FIG. 6, with all the “Monitoring” (612) nodes grouped together (614, 616, 618, 620, 622, and 624). See figs. 5 and 6 - it shows the selected key phrase of the cluster/ Monitoring displayed as section header in the second mode). Birch further teaches wherein ranking, at a backend application, a group of extracted key phrases, each ranking based on weighing at least on a frequency of a key phrase with respect to a cluster ([0088] the similarity analyzer represent each navigation tree with keywords and associate a probability (i.e., ranking) with each of the keywords; the similarity analyzer represent each web page with a set of keywords; the probabilities are determined based on term frequency and/or inverse document frequency techniques (i.e., ranking based on weighing on a frequency of a key phrase/ keywords);[0087] cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., page clusters); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors; if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein selecting a lowest ranked key phrase from the group of extracted key phrases as the section header of the cluster.
In the same field of endeavor, Simhadri teaches wherein selecting a lowest ranked key phrase from the group of extracted key phrases as the section header of the cluster ([0052] the keyword with a lowest rank can be chosen as the cluster representative).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein selecting a lowest ranked key phrase from the group of extracted key phrases as the section header of the cluster, as taught by Simhadri into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for utilizing additional text about a product to expand the keywords available for faceted navigation that are more relevant to the website visitor's search (Simhadri [0037]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Asgekar et al. (US 11,620,316 B1 hereinafter Asgekar).
As to dependent Claim 18, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Molander further teaches wherein causing display of an updated navigational panel, the updated navigational panel having the renamed page element under a computed grouping (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view, a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; mesh icon is displayed next to “Monitoring”, in the navigation tree title bar, to indicate that the navigation tree is re-rooted; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree (i.e., updated navigational panel); column 5, lines 7 to 13 - a node might say “Resource Monitoring” or “View Status”, which are semantically the same, but syntactically different; determine the semantically equivalent category labels using a semantic matching module in order to group these labels and display all the semantically equivalent names in the UI, such as, “Monitoring/Resource Monitoring/View Status” (i.e., computed grouping); column 5, lines 25 to 32 - the semantic database, rules, and thresholds are configurable by the administrator or an authorized user, they can be updated and added by the users; the user will be able to tag the labels with additional keywords; the semantic matching module will additionally use these tags to determine and match the semantically equivalent labels - thus, when a label is updated with tags/ renamed page element, the navigation panel will display the nodes/ tree elements arranged in a grouping determined by the semantically same group of nodes based on the updated label). Birch further teaches wherein in response to a user input, computing a new vector representation for the page element ([0083] a navigation tree builder configured to generate navigation trees based on the data 101; [0063] the data 101 includes search terms entered, contextual information (e.g., history of navigation of users or for other users, time spent, trends), user profile information, information from prior browser instances/sessions, and/or information from a different browser; the user may be provided with controls allowing the user to make an election as to both if and when the web browser enable the collection of the data 101 and/or whether one or more types of the data 101 can be used in the similarity analysis to determine whether the user is carrying out a particular task; [0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other; [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors); grouping the new vector representation in accordance with the semantic similarity criteria of the new vector representation ([0087] the journey-centric task builder include a similarity analyzer; the similarity analyzer configured to determine the first group of web pages from the web pages previously rendered by the web browser based on a similarity analysis of the navigation trees such that the first group of web pages includes two or more web pages having content topically related to each other (i.e., page content of the user-generated page elements/user selected web pages); cluster a first subset of the navigation trees into a first cluster group based on the similarity analysis, and cluster a second subset of the navigation trees into a second cluster group (i.e., groupings); [0089] the similarity analyzer create a feature vector for each navigation tree using the keywords and probabilities, and determine distance (or similarity) vectors based on comparisons of the feature vectors (i.e., similarity metric); if the value of the distance metric is above a threshold level, the similarity analyzer server determine that the corresponding navigation trees are similarly related to the same topic, and include these navigation trees within the cluster group;[0091] similarity analyzer use similarity techniques such as string-based similarity including character-based similarity measures, term-based similarity measures, Latent Semantic Analysis, etc.).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user input renaming a page element, computing a new vector representation for the renamed page element.
In the same field of endeavor, Asgekar teaches wherein in response to a user input renaming a page element, computing a new vector representation for the renamed page element (column 28, lines 26 to 35 -the provider device present the one or more labels 280 in one or more user interfaces; user of the provider device use the actionable objects to confirm whether any of the one or more labels are appropriate for the item of media content and optionally select additional labels to assign to the item of media content (i.e., user input renaming a page element); column 25, lines 1 to 22 - the label embeddings of an item of label can be stored in association with the label 280 from which the label embedding was generated; the educational content system can generate a label embedding for each label 280 received from a provider device (i.e., computing new vector representation for the renamed page element); column 26, lines 31 to 43 - the label maintainer can store each label in association with a label embedding 290; a label embedding 290 can be an encoded form of text content, represented as a real-valued vector; the real-valued vector of a label embedding 290 can encode a “meaning” of a word or term in text content (e.g., the label, etc.) such that words that are closer in the vector space are expected to be similar in semantic meaning).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user input renaming a page element, computing a new vector representation for the renamed page element, as taught by Asgekar into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for automatically assigning labels to content based on a semantic representation of the content (Asgekar, column 1, lines 35 to 40).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molander in view of Birch and Thomas, further in view of Meehan et al. (US 2009/0327240 A1 hereinafter Meehan).
As to dependent Claim 20, Molander, Birch, and Thomas teach all the limitations of Claim 15. Molander further teaches wherein the semantic sort view (column 4, lines 42 to 46 and lines 61 to 67 - if the user clicks on the mesh icon just to the left of the word “Monitoring” or clicks “Monitoring” to toggle from hierarchy to mesh view (i.e., semantic sort view), a wider meshing of all the instances of “Monitoring” is displayed; if the user chooses the mesh button next to a “Monitoring” node, the tree filters and re-orients the tree, with all the “Monitoring” nodes grouped together; other nodes whether non-repeating or semantically repeating also appear in the re-rooted navigation tree - thus, grouping other nodes that are semantically repeating in the navigation tree).
However, Molander, Birch, and Thomas fail to expressly teach wherein in response to a user drag input of a page element, update the navigational panel to display the page element in a user-selected location; and update, at a backend, a user profile to save the user-selected location.
In the same field of endeavor, Meehan teaches wherein in response to a user drag input of a page element, update the navigational panel to display the page element in a user-selected location ([0039] the display order of at least two or more nodes in the navigation tree may be customized; a user may reorder the nodes in any way the user sees fit within that level of the navigation tree; this may be done by dragging a node from one position to another, or by moving an individual node up or down the list of nodes within the same level of in the navigation tree); and update, at a backend, a user profile to save the user-selected location ([0079] if the user's favorite author is Dumas, the user's next favorite author is Shakespeare, and the third favorite author is Miller, the user may order the nodes in the navigation tree so that Dumas always is first, Shakespeare always is second, and Miller always is third; the user can create a personalized search result for information he/she wants to obtain that the user can save; when accessed in the future, Dumas, the user's favorite author, always be on top for this saved navigation tree).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein in response to a user drag input of a page element, update the navigational panel to display the page element in a user-selected location; and update, at a backend, a user profile to save the user-selected location, as taught by Meehan into Molander, Birch, and Thomas. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide a quick and easy-to-customize system and method for searching and organizing data (Meehan [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 CFR § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Vangala et al. (US 2023/0274214 A1) teaches: [0017] The embeddings are generally implemented in a relatively low dimension vector space or feature space, for example, as a vector having ten, twenty, one hundred elements, or another suitable number of elements to allow for more efficient processing as compared to graph walks; [0018] the embeddings are implemented as vectors having a same number of elements so that processing (e.g., comparing) of different entity types or same entity types is readily performed, for example, using a distance metric between the embeddings; [0039] The node processor 112 may be configured to generate multiple embeddings for a same node at different times, for example, to maintain accuracy as new relationships are created or modified. For example, the node processor 112 may update an embedding for a node at every day, every week, or other suitable interval to include new nodes and/or edges (e.g., new emails, topics, interactions, relationships). As another example, the node processor 112 may generate the embeddings in response to one or more triggers, such as changing a job title associated with a user node, changing a department, adding one or more new contacts, or other changes to the data graph 200.
/REJI KARTHOLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143
/JENNIFER N WELCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143