DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/25 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, starting on page 7, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7 and 10-19 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad do not disclose all the features of the instant claim because the scheme in Ying would require 13 bits instead of 12 as in the instant claim, and because Ghanbarinejad does not disclose the signalling is 12 bits. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ying discloses in paragraph 93 that the number of bits may be flexible, and thus it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to decrease the range in order to fit the sign indicator within 12 bits. However, even assuming arguendo that that would not be obvious, Ghanbarinejad does disclose signalling a value with a sign indicator through 12 bits in paragraph 333 and would be obvious to combine with Ying to increase flexibility. Thus, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad do disclose all the features of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 20210345279 A1) in view of Ghanbarinejad (US 20230309032 A1, wherein all cited portions are supported by provisional 63027257).
Regarding claim 1, Ying discloses:
“A method for timing offset value indication, performed by a first communications device, comprising: receiving first signaling from a second communications device,” ([¶ 0059]: “At operation 505, the IAB node 410 may exchange signaling with the IAB donor 405.”)
“wherein the first signaling comprises Media Access Control… signaling, wherein 12 bits of information in the MAC … signaling” ([¶ 0086]: “In some embodiments, a TA Command in MAC Random Access Response (RAR) may be used. This is the case that during initial access, the base station estimates the initial TA from Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) and sends TA Command 805 in RAR 800. The payload of MAC RAR is shown in FIG. 8. The size of the TA Command field is 12 bits.”)
“indicates a timing offset value in an interval range of [K1, K2], wherein K1 is negative and K2 is positive;” ([¶ 0092]: “Note that since (N.sub.TA−N.sub.TA,Δ) values can be negative, Rel-15 TA command of MAC RAR can be extended to signal negative TA value.”; [¶ 0093]: “Other ranges of N.sub.TA,Δ may also be possible and the exact number of bits in MAC RAR and MAC CE may depend on one or more factors, including but not limited to a range of N.sub.TA,Δ.”)
“obtaining an initial timing offset value based on Random Access Response (RAR) information;” ([¶ 0081]: “In 5G new radio (NR) current Release 15 specifications, TA command transmitted from a base station is defined in MAC RAR during initial access and in MAC CE during connected mode. This TA command can indicate an N.sub.TA value (initial value and updated value) for UL Tx timing calculation.”)
“and adjusting timing of the first communications device based on the timing offset value indicated by the 12 bits of information in the MAC … signaling and one of the initial timing offset value or a last determined timing offset value.” ([¶ 0087]: “For a subcarrier spacing of 2.sup.μ*15 kHz, with a current N.sub.TA value, N.sub.TA_old, the new N.sub.TA value, N.sub.TA_new, can be calculated as N.sub.TA_new=N.sub.TA_old+(T.sub.A−31)*16*64/2.sup.μ.”)
Ying does not explicitly disclose the MAC signalling is MAC CE.
However, Ghanbarinejad discloses the missing features the MAC signalling is MAC CE ([¶ 0333]: “FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating an example of additional timing advance command. The additional timing advance command may be a MAC-CE message. In this example, the MAC-CE message comprises two octets from which 12 bits are used for a value of N.sub.ATA and 4 bits are reserved (“R”). The standard may specify a number of octets, a number of bits for N.sub.ATA, a number of reserved bits, a multiplicative factor and/or an additive term to calculate an ATA value, and/or how to apply the ATA value according to Embodiment A, Embodiment B, or Embodiment C as described earlier. The value of N.sub.ATA may be represent a signed integer to allow negative values for an ATA.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Ying and Ghanbarinejad, to modify the technique as disclosed by Ying, to utilize a 12 bit MAC CE that can indicate negative values as disclosed by Ghanbarinejad. The motivation for doing so is that it increases flexibility, thus allowing for better optimization to the specific network context, thus improving service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ying with Ghanbarinejad to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the first signaling is used to indicate a first value, wherein an interval range of the first value is [−A, +B], or the interval range of the first value is [−A, −(a+1)] and [b+1, +B], or the interval range of the first value is [−C, −(a+1)]; and second signaling is used to indicate a second value, and an interval range of the second value is [−a, +b], wherein A>a, C>a, B>b, and b>−a.” ([¶ 0093]: “Other ranges of N.sub.TA,Δ may also be possible and the exact number of bits in MAC RAR and MAC CE may depend on one or more factors, including but not limited to a range of N.sub.TA,Δ.”)
Regarding claim 7, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the first signaling further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate whether the timing offset value is a positive or negative value, or whether the timing offset value is reversed.” ([¶ 0092]: “Note that since (N.sub.TA−N.sub.TA,Δ) values can be negative, Rel-15 TA command of MAC RAR can be extended to signal negative TA value. A simple way is to add a “sign” indicator in the TA command of MAC RAR.”)
Regarding claim 10, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the first signaling is used to indicate a timing offset value of the first communications device in a timing offset value group or a timing offset value of the first communications device in a cell.” ([¶ 0022]: “In some embodiments, one or more operations, methods and/or techniques (such as those described herein) may be practiced by a base station component (and/or other component), including but not limited to a gNB 105, an eNB 104, a serving cell, a transmit receive point (TRP) and/or other.”)
Regarding claim 11, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the first signaling is used to indicate a first value, and the obtaining a timing offset value based on the first signaling comprises: determining the timing offset value based on the first value and at least one of the following: a time domain unit offset value, or subcarrier spacing (SCS).” ([¶ 0087]: “For subcarrier spacing of it indicates an index value of T.sub.A=0, 1, 2, . . . , 3846. For a subcarrier spacing of 2.sup.μ*15 kHz, with a current N.sub.TA value, N.sub.TA_old, the new N.sub.TA value, N.sub.TA_new, can be calculated as N.sub.TA_new=N.sub.TA_old+(T.sub.A−31)*16*64/2.sup.μ.”)
Regarding claim 12, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “receiving third signaling, wherein the third signaling is used to indicate or configure the time domain unit offset value.” ([¶ 0077]: “In some embodiments, the signaling from the IAB node 410 may include: 1) an RAR message that indicates the first and second TA offsets, or 2) a first RAR message that indicates the first TA offset and a second RAR message that indicates the second TA offset.”)
Regarding claim 14, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the obtaining a timing offset value based on the first signaling comprises: obtaining the timing offset value by superposing or combining first values separately indicated by a plurality of pieces of the first signaling.” ([¶ 0092]: “Note that since (N.sub.TA−N.sub.TA,Δ) values can be negative, Rel-15 TA command of MAC RAR can be extended to signal negative TA value. A simple way is to add a “sign” indicator in the TA command of MAC RAR.”)
Regarding claim 17, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the first signaling is dynamic scheduling signaling, and the dynamic scheduling signaling is used to: indicate a timing offset value of corresponding uplink UL information; or schedule an RAR, and the dynamic scheduling signaling is further used to indicate whether TA is negative or positive, wherein the TA is obtained based on the RAR.” ([¶ 0092]: “Note that since (N.sub.TA−N.sub.TA,Δ) values can be negative, Rel-15 TA command of MAC RAR can be extended to signal negative TA value. A simple way is to add a “sign” indicator in the TA command of MAC RAR.”)
Regarding claim 18, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying further discloses “wherein the timing offset value is TA, and TA is positive or negative.” ([¶ 0092]: “Note that since (N.sub.TA−N.sub.TA,Δ) values can be negative, Rel-15 TA command of MAC RAR can be extended to signal negative TA value. A simple way is to add a “sign” indicator in the TA command of MAC RAR.”)
Claims 19, and 20 are substantially similar to claims 1 and 2 with the differences amounting to that claims 1, and 2 are method claims while claims 19, 20, and 21 are apparatus claims containing generic hardware. Such hardware is taught by Ying in paragraph 32. Thus claims 19 and 20 are rejected for substantially similar reasons to claims 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 20210345279 A1) in view of Ghanbarinejad (US 20230309032 A1) and further in view of Nam (US 20200059879 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying does not explicitly disclose “wherein the receiving first signaling from a second communications device comprises at least one of the following: receiving the first signaling from the second communications device based on configuration information; or receiving the first signaling from the second communications device based on capability information of the first communications device.”
However, Nam discloses the missing feature “wherein the receiving first signaling from a second communications device comprises at least one of the following: receiving the first signaling from the second communications device based on configuration information; or receiving the first signaling from the second communications device based on capability information of the first communications device.” ([¶ 0074]: “Features of the present disclosure provide techniques for the IAB node 150 signaling to one or more child nodes 420 the mode selection (e.g., when the IAB node 150 may change the operating mode), in addition to the timing advance value associated with each mode. Specifically, the IAB node 150 may provide a timing offset value (T.sub.offset) that may affect the T.sub.TA value for the child node 420 based on the adjustment of operational mode at the IAB node 150.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Ying and Nam, to modify the technique as disclosed by Ying, to be based on configuration information as disclosed by Nam. The motivation for doing so is that it allows for better optimization to the specific network context, thus improving service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ying with Nam to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 20210345279 A1) in view of Ghanbarinejad (US 20230309032 A1) and further in view of Islam (US 20200322976 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying does not explicitly disclose “wherein the SCS is indicated or configured by a received fourth signaling; the SCS is predefined; or the SCS is obtained based on a predefined rule.”
However, Islam discloses the missing feature “wherein the SCS is indicated or configured by a received fourth signaling; the SCS is predefined; or the SCS is obtained based on a predefined rule.” ([¶ 0069]: “As shown by reference number 545, node 510 may determine a transmission (Tx) timing accuracy parameter based at least in part on an SCS of a synchronization signal block (SSB) received from parent node 505, and based at least in part on the DL SCS of the link with child node 515.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Ying and Islam, to modify the SCS as disclosed by Ying, to be configured through signalling as disclosed by Islam. The motivation for doing so is that it allows for more flexibility thus allowing for improved optimization, thus improving service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ying with Islam to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 20210345279 A1) in view of Ghanbarinejad (US 20230309032 A1) and further in view of Kim (US 20200351957 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first signaling is used to separately indicate a timing offset value of at least one cell.”
However, Kim discloses the missing feature “wherein the first signaling is used to separately indicate a timing offset value of at least one cell.” ([¶ 0079]: “In the case that the common TA is base station-specific or cell-specific, one or more information units each of which is (common TA), (base station ID, common TA), (cell ID, common TA), or (base station ID, cell ID, common TA) may be signaled to the terminal by at least one of the aforementioned signaling schemes.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Ying and Kim, to modify the technique as disclosed by Ying, to be cell specific as disclosed by Kim. The motivation for doing so is that it allows for the technique to be performed in a more efficient manner, thus improving service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ying with Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Ying in view of Ghanbarinejad discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Ying does not explicitly disclose “an identity of the cell; or SCS information, wherein the SCS information is used to obtain SCS, and the SCS is used to obtain the timing offset value.”
However, Kim discloses the missing feature “an identity of the cell; or SCS information, wherein the SCS information is used to obtain SCS, and the SCS is used to obtain the timing offset value.” ([¶ 0079]: “In the case that the common TA is base station-specific or cell-specific, one or more information units each of which is (common TA), (base station ID, common TA), (cell ID, common TA), or (base station ID, cell ID, common TA) may be signaled to the terminal by at least one of the aforementioned signaling schemes.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Ying and Kim, to modify the technique as disclosed by Ying, to be cell specific as disclosed by Kim. The motivation for doing so is that it allows for the technique to be performed in a more efficient manner, thus improving service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ying with Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412