DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application, filed on or after 3/16/2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This action is in reply to the Remarks and Amendments filed 04/27/2026.
Claim 11 remains canceled.
Claims 1, 6, 12, 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 have been examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements filed by applicant on 04/27/2026.
(AIA ) Examiner Note
Examiner’s Note
Adhering to the guidelines of MPEP 2173.06(II), the Examiner acknowledges that all words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of a claim against the prior art. In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 165 USPQ 494 (CCPA 1970). The fact that terms may be indefinite does not make the claim obvious over the prior art. However, when the terms of a claim are considered to be indefinite, at least two approaches to the examination of an indefinite claim relative to the prior art are possible.
First, where the degree of uncertainty is not great, and where the claim is subject to more than one interpretation and at least one interpretation would render the claim unpatentable over the prior art, an appropriate course of action would be for the examiner to enter two rejections: (A) a rejection based on indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph; and (B) a rejection over the prior art based on the interpretation of the claims which renders the prior art applicable. See, e.g., Ex parte Ionescu, 222 USPQ 537 (Bd. App. 1984). When making a rejection over prior art in these circumstances, it is important for the examiner to point out how the claim is being interpreted.
Second, where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
In the present set of claims (filed 12/22/2024), a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of dependent claims 6 and 12 exists (and therefore also dependent claim 8, which depends from claim 6). Therefore, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not made regarding these claims (claims 6, 8, and 12), because, as shown in the 35 USC § 112 rejections, speculation and conjecture must be utilized by the Office and the artisan inasmuch as claims 6 and 12 do not adequately reflect what the disclosed invention is under the second paragraph of 35 USC § 112. Again, see In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 862 (CCPA 1962) (A prior art rejection cannot be sustained if the hypothetical person of ordinary skill in the art would have to make speculative assumptions concerning the meaning of claim language.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 6, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or (for pre-AIA ) 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, a joint inventor, or (for pre-AIA ) the applicant regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 6 recites in part the following: “score= (a) relevance score*wieghtage1 + (b)… +(c)… , whereby, the relevance score is a sum of: (i) agent feedback score, (ii)…, (iii)…; and (iv)…; wherein the agent feedback score is calculated by formula II: (II) agent feedback score = number of votes / max_votes * agent feedback weightage, whereby: … the max_votes is a maximum number of votes among a preconfigured number of top calculated score RTIS entries in the batch.” – underlines added for emphasis.
Respectfully, it is not clear what is meant by “a maximum number of votes among a preconfigured number of top calculated score RTIS entries in the batch.”
Perhaps applicant is using a colloquial expression to imply a meaning for the term “maximum” but which is not readily apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner acknowledges the term “maximum” per Webster and Oxford dictionaries conveys the idea of a threshold such as a highest achievable number; e.g. a maximum possible number. However, such interpretation does not help clarify the current feature. Perhaps applicant intends to convey the idea of ‘greatest number of votes’? e.g. a greatest number of votes for a particular RTIS entry from among a preconfigured set of RTIS entries? If this is the idea which the applicant wishes to convey, then the Examiner respectfully suggests applicant amend to distinctly claim this different idea.
On its face, the current claim language is unclear. For example, it is not clear if applicant intends the phrase in question to mean “max votes” is also preconfigured or the voting has reached some preconfigured threshold, etc…? If applicant intends for “max votes” to mean ‘largest number of votes’ or ‘greatest number of votes’ then Applicant is advised to clearly and distinctly recite such meaning. However, the limitation as recited is unclear.
It is also not clear how to interpret the “max interactions in a department in the batch is a maximum of the counts across the departments in the batch” feature. There remains confusion as to the proper interpretation of these features which renders the claim indefinite.
Additionally, claim 6 recites in part the following: “…(IV) interaction keyword score= number of words in the stored RTIS entry which matches a subcategory of the interaction / total number of words in the subcategory of the interaction * interaction keyword weightage,…”; respectfully, neither the claims nor the specification appear to clearly set forth how to perform a “match” of words to a subcategory of interaction. For example, can a word such as “the” be a match to a subcategory of an interaction? No algorithm is provided for determining how to perform the match and therefore it is not clear what the scope of this feature encompasses nor is it clear how to infringe the claim feature. The claim is considered indefinite.
Additionally, claim 6 recites in part the following: “…the recency score is calculated by summing the recency entry score and a duration score whereby: the recency entry score is calculated by formula V: (V) recency entry score = preconfigured number of recent entries / (recency weightage* 100), etc…” Respectfully, it is not clear what set of values are contemplated as being within the range of the recited “weightages”; the scope is not clear. Furthermore, the term “recent” is a relative term and takes on different meanings to different people. Therefore, regardless of the “preconfigured number” it is still unclear what entries are to be considered “recent” so as to understand from which set of entries the preconfigured number applies, thus also rendering the claims indefinite.
Additionally, claim 12 recites in part the following: “…creating a how-to article from the determined preconfigured percentage of the RTIS entries, by invoking an Application Programming Interface (API), wherein invoking the API comprises: (a) sending a first API call to create a page including a category, a subcategory, and a title, receiving a page identifier in response, and (b) sending a second API call to post content including a problem and a resolution using the page identifier”; Respectfully, the original disclosure is silent regarding any particular method/algorithm by which to accomplish this “creating” step; i.e. actual creation of a “how-to-article” is not accomplished by the invoking an API step as currently claimed and the entire original disclosure is silent in regards to how this is actually accomplished. This appears to be a wish for such creation to occur but applicant has not provided the necessary steps to accomplish this task. It is wholly unclear how this step is intended to be accomplished. The specification does not provide the necessary detail for a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand how the steps of (a) sending a first API call to create a page including a category, a subcategory, and a title, receiving a page identifier in response, and (b) sending a second API call to post content including a problem and a resolution using the page identifier actually results in the creation of a “how-to-article”. The claim is simply not clear. For these reasons, the claim is considered indefinite.
Dependent claims 8 and 12 inherit the deficiencies of their respective parent claims and are also further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or (for pre-AIA ) 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, a joint inventor, or (for pre-AIA ) the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 depends from claim 1 and wholly reiterates a feature amended into independent claim 1. As such, there is no further limitation placed upon the invention of claim 1 by the features recited in claim 7. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (i.e. a judicial exception) without significantly more.
Per step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the claims are directed towards a process, machine, or manufacture.
Per step 2A Prong One, the claims recite specific limitations which fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG, as follows:
Per Independent claims 1 and 13, exemplified per limitations of method claim 13:
calculate a score for each RTIS entry in the batch, based on the one or more parameters of the RTIS entry and the one or more parameters of the second interaction, wherein the score indicates relevance, recency and line of business of information in the RTIS entry, and displaying a preconfigured number of RTIS entries based on the calculated score of the RTIS entries upon receiving a request for display
As noted supra, these limitations fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG. Specifically, these limitations fall within the group Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity (e.g. fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); the calculation of a score may be considered Mathematical Concepts.
That is, the step as drafted, is a business decision to retrieve data regarding previous interactions between customers and customer service agents to find interactions which are similar which may be used as a helpful aid for the customer service agent; the interaction data is scored based on an undisclosed scoring function (which is a business decision to use some undisclosed calculation and not technical in nature) and which is intended to represent relevance, recency, and type of business of a prior customer interaction with a current customer interaction; thus the claims fall at least into Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. There is no technical problem being solved here and not technical solution to a technical problem. This is purely a business decision. Furthermore, the mere nominal recitation of a generic computer components which are used to facilitate the business decision does not take the claim limitation out of the enumerated grouping. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Per step 2A Prong 2, the Examiner finds that the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Although there are additional elements, other than those noted supra, recited in the claims, none of these additional element(s) or a combination of elements as recited in the claims apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. As drafted, the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the aforementioned concepts and link them to a field of use (i.e. in this case customer service management) or serve as insignificant extra-solution activity. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to implement the idea but are not technical in nature. Simply implementing the abstract idea on or with generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
These additional limitations, exemplified per limitations of method claim 13, are as follows:
However, these elements do not present a technical solution to a technical problem; i.e. Applicant’s invention is not a technique nor technical solution for “detecting termination” of a customer interaction (e.g. customer hanging up phone or navigating away from a merchant web-portal, etc…) nor is it a technique of “receiving” data such as customer responses to “mark an RTIS entry”, nor is it a technique for “displaying” data on a customer service representative’s GUI, device, or screen. Furthermore, a processor which enables a user to interact with the system via the display appears to be insignificant extra-solution activity such as data-collection. A similar finding is made in regards to the presenting step – i.e. presenting data which is described as an option to pin RTIS entries. This is at such a high level of generality that such a display option may simply be just presenting the RTIS entry in a browser window or an I-frame which the user decides to not close thereby keeping it pinned to the screen / display. The step regarding “update a relevance score… every preconfigured time-interval” is so generic as to read on screen refresh rates; i.e. the RTIS score may not change during the preconfigured time interval and there it is not clear what “update” is required to be made except that it is refreshed along with the other visual elements on a screen. Or perhaps the preconfigured time interval is merely the screen refresh rate? Regardless, the additional elements do not recite a specific manner of performing any of the steps core to the already identified abstract idea. Instead, these features merely serve to generally “apply” the aforementioned concepts using generic computer hardware and link them to a field of use (i.e. in this case customer service management business), or are insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e. mere data-gathering, transmittal, display, and storage) as relates to the already identified abstract idea and these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application thereof.
Per Step 2B, the Examiner does not find that the claims provide an inventive concept, i.e., the claims do not recite additional element(s) or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception recited in the claim. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the independent claims were considered as merely serving to generally “apply” the aforementioned concepts via generically described computer components (e.g. by one or more processors, etc…) and “link” them to a field of use (i.e. customer service management), or as insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering, collection, transmittal, and display). For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept; i.e. the same analysis applies here in 2B. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component and conventional data gathering cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. So, upon revaluating here in step 2B, these elements are determined to amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and/or gather and transmit data which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field; i.e. note the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll) indicate that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, alone and in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, as found supra, nor provide an inventive concept, and thus the claims are not patent eligible.
As for the dependent claims, the dependent claims do recite a combination of additional elements. However, these claims as a whole, considered either independently or in combination with the parent claims, do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application thereof nor do they provide an inventive concept.
For example, dependent claim 2 recites the following: “…wherein each RTIS entry includes information that has been provided to a customer during the first interaction, wherein the information is not included in a static knowledge base.” However, descriptions of data and where data has been stored is not applicant’s invention nor is it significantly more than the already identified abstract idea.
As another example, dependent claims 3 recites: “…wherein the RTIS entries are displayed based on creation date, subject and line of business…” However, displaying select data is not applicant’s invention and is nothing more than insignificant pre-solution or insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, the Examiner does not find that these additional claim limitations integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor provide an inventive concept. Instead, these limitations, as a whole and in combination with the already recited claim elements of the parent claims, are not significantly more than the already identified abstract idea. A similar finding is found for the remaining dependent claims.
For these reasons, the claims are not found to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are therefore patent ineligible.
Please see the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019 (found at http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claims 1-5, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Adrian et al. (U.S. 2017/0178145 A1; hereinafter, "Adrian") in view of Billigmeier (U.S. 2021/0065203 A1; hereinafter, "Billigmeier") and Ayers et al. (U.S. 2022/0027020 A1; hereinafter, "Ayers ").
Claims 1, 7, 13 (currently amended)
Pertaining to claims 1 and 13 exemplified in the limitations of method claim 13, Adrian who is directed towards resolving customer service issues, as shown teaches the following:
A computerized-method for maintaining a dynamic knowledge base via a Real-Time Information Sharing (RTIS) platform (Adrian, see at least Figs. 1-3 and [0049], e.g.: “…customer service agent input interface/ticket display area (agent interface) 210 and a results area 220. In the system 100, the UI 200 can be configured to receive input [RTIS entry] from an IT customer service professional in the agent interface 210 and also configured to receive a selection of a resource of the results 160 from a relevance-based search that is performed by the relevance-based search engine 140, where that search is based on a given multi-factor context. In this example, the result 160 [dynamic knowledge] can be displayed in the results area 220 of the UI 200. In response to such a resource selection, the system 100 can be configured to access and display the selected resource (e.g., in the agent interface 210)…”), said computerized-method comprising:
(i) for each interaction between a customer and a user[,] detecting termination of a first interaction of a first user, wherein said interaction has one or more parameters (Adrian, see at least [0022]-[0024] e.g. “closed support tickets” and [0028] teaching: “resolved customer support tickets” which are detections of termination of interactions between a customer and a customer service agent [user]; note each interaction to close/resolve a support ticket has multiple attributes which are captured by the system; e.g. see at least [0021] e.g.: “…a multi-factor context [one or more parameters] can be dynamically updated throughout the process of resolving the associated IT customer service issue. As the multi-factor context is updated (e.g., modified, etc.) [RTIS entries], the relevant resources identified can change as well by conducting additional (iterative) searches of the set of available resources….”; See also at least [0052]);
(ii) displaying via a Graphical User Interface (GUI) that is presented on a display unit, an option to mark information as to a resolution to a problem that has been provided during the first interaction for entering the resolution to a RTIS entry (Adrian, see at least citations noted supra, including e.g. Fig. 3 “Create Ticket” is an option displayed in customer service agent’s user interface and this option allows the customer service agent to open a customer ticket and provide information regarding resolution to a problem [entering the resolution to an RTIS entry] such as depicted per Fig. 4; Also see at least [0022]-[0023]: “…By way of example, a multi-factor context associated with a given IT customer service issue can include information from a number of different sources, such as a description of the issue in a customer service ticket, a status of the ticket (e.g., new, in-process, partially resolved [information as to a resolution to a problem that has been provided], etc.) … the description that the agent enters for the issue, and so forth, may be included in the multifactor context that is used to identify relevant resources when searching across a wide variety of content and return a set of resources that are relevant to resolving the given customer service issue being addressed.” And per [0044]: “…an output of an executed IT customer service tool can be added to the multi-factor context for the IT customer service issue, which can help refine the relevancy of the results 160 (e.g., by performing an updated (iterative) search based on the modified multi-factor context using the relevance-based search engine 140)…”);
(iii) receiving a marked RTIS entry via the GUI from the first user and storing the marked RTIS entry in the RTI database with the one or more parameters and, wherein the display unit is associated to a computerized-device in the plurality of computerized-devices (Adrian, see at least Fig. 4, lower right side of drawing, depicting recommended knowledge resources as having already been marked as helpful by other users, e.g. other IT customer service agents. Therefore, it is implied the system has received some type of knowledge resource [RTIS entry] which is marked, i.e. as helpful, and the system has stored the marked knowledge resource [marked RTIS entry] in an accessible and searchable database and therefore with associated parameters enabling the searching of such relevant knowledge resources. Furthermore, Adrian per at least [0033], teaches: “…the context generation engine 120 can be configured to receive the input associated with the IT customer service issue from the user interface…” and as shown per citations noted supra, e.g. per at least [0022]-[0023]: “…By way of example, a multi-factor context associated with a given IT customer service issue can include information [one or more parameters] from a number of different sources, such as a description of the issue in a customer service ticket, a status of the ticket (e.g., new, in-process, partially resolved [another type of marked RTIS entry], etc.)…”; therefore, whether explicitly stated by Adrian, Examiner nonetheless finds there is motivation to receive Adrian’s IT customer service agent’s mark of a knowledge resource, e.g. as being helpful, and store this as part of the information which Adrian stores as part of his “multi-factor context” input by his IT customer service agents, such that this information is accessible and searchable to enable the feature or recommending such resources to other IT customer service agents based upon the information they are inputting to the customer ticket(s) which they are creating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the limitation in question for the reason noted supra because per MPEP 2143(I) (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention is obvious. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. Id. at 1366, 80 USPQ2d at 1649.);
(iv) for each interaction between a customer and a user detecting when a second interaction of a second user starts, wherein said second interaction has one or more associated parameters (Adrian, see at least Fig. 3 “Create New”; i.e. create new defines a new start to an interaction from the perspective of the system and [0009]-[0013]; see also citations noted supra, e.g. again per at least [0021]: “…a multi-factor context [one or more parameters] can be dynamically updated throughout the process of resolving the associated IT customer service issue [e.g. the second interaction]. As the multi-factor context is updated (e.g., modified, etc.), the relevant resources identified can change as well by conducting additional (iterative) searches of the set of available resources….”):
(a) retrieving a batch of RTIS entries from the RTI database (Adrian, see citations noted supra, including again at least Fig. 5 #530, and respective disclosure, and at least [0009]-[0014] and [0041] regarding retrieval of a “subset of plurality of resources” [batch of RTIS entries from the RTI database];)
(b) calculate a score for each RTIS entry in the batch, based on the one or more parameters of the RTIS entry and the one or more associated parameters of the second interaction, (Adrian, see citations noted supra, e.g. again per [0041]: “…The relevance-based search engine 140 can also be configured to assign, based on the multi-factor context, a respective relevancy score to each of the plurality of resources [RTIS entry] that are searched in the search content 150 and provide the results 160 (which can be a ranked list of a subset of the plurality of resources that is determined to be relevant to the particular IT customer service issue associated with the multi-factor context) to the UI 110 for display and/or selection…”)
Wherein the score indicates relevance, […] in the RTIS entry (Adrian, see citations noted supra, e.g. again per [0041]: “…The relevance-based search engine 140 can also be configured to assign, based on the multi-factor context, a respective relevancy score to each of the plurality of resources that are searched in the search content 150 and provide the results 160 (which can be a ranked list of a subset of the plurality of resources that is determined to be relevant to the particular IT customer service issue associated with the multi-factor context) to the UI 110 for display and/or selection…”)
[…]; and
(c) displaying a preconfigured number of RTIS entries via the GUI based on the calculated score of the RTIS entries upon receiving a request for display. (Adrian, see again citations noted supra, e.g. at least Figs. 3-5, [0041], [0056]-[0057], and [0073] : “…the method 500 includes displaying, in a UI, such as the Uls 200, 300 and 400, a ranked list of a subset of the plurality of resources (e.g., the results 160) [RTIS entries]. As described herein, the results 160 can being ordered based on the respective relevancy scores [calculated score] of the subset of the resources [RTIS entries]. Further, the number of resources of a particular type included in the results 160 can be limited to a given number [preconfigured number] of resources [RTIS entries].”; e.g. 15 recommended knowledge resources of which two [a preconfigured number] are displayed – bottom right of Fig. 4.
)
(v) enable a user to vote up or vote down via the GUI for each displayed RTIS entry (Adrian, see again Fig. 4, e.g. users have been enabled to vote that the knowledge resource is helpful [vote up] for each displayed knowledge resource. This implies the IT customer service agent viewing the recommended knowledge resources is also enabled to vote whether on each recommended knowledge resource. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided this feature as implied is available because per MPEP 2143(I) (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention is obvious. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. Id. at 1366, 80 USPQ2d at 1649.)
[…]
wherein said one or more processors are further configured to update a relevance score of the RTIS entries every preconfigured time-interval (Adrian, see again Fig. 4 and citations noted supra, e.g. Fig. 4 depicts the recommended knowledge resources have been updated and per [0010]: “…searching, based on the second multi-factor context, the plurality of resources; modifying, based on the second multi-factor context, at least one respective relevancy score of the plurality of resources; and displaying, in a graphical user interface, a ranked list of a second subset of the plurality of resources. The ranked list of the second subset of the plurality of resources can be ordered based on the modified respective relevancy scores of the second subset of the plurality of resources…”; see also again at least [0041]-[0044])
Although Adrian teaches the above limitations, and he teaches his score indicates relevance, he may not explicitly teach that his score also indicates recency and line of business of information. However, regarding this nuance, Adrian in view of Billigmeier teaches the following:
wherein the score indicates relevance, recency and line of business1 of information in the RTIS entry (Billigmeier, see at least Figs. 7, 9, 10 and associated disclosure e.g. [0021], [0055] and [0076]-[0078] regarding a customer similarity model which calculates a “similarity rating” also called a “similarity score” [RTIS scoring] between customer interaction information [RTIS entries] for the purpose of determining supplemental data for a customer service representative to use when interacting with a particular customer. Billigmeier’s customer “similarity score” [RTIS score] indicates relevance, recency, and type of business of a prior customer interaction as compared to a current customer interaction. For example, the Similarity [relevancy] Score of 86% indicates the relevancy of a particular customer interaction with John Smith relative to the current customer interaction with Betty Jones, and is an indication of the recency of interactions with John Smith which make John’s interaction relevant to Betty’s, e.g. visits per past 3x months [recency], and is an indication of the related line of business of each of the customers’ respective interactions; e.g. in Billigmeier’s example of Fig. 7 the service of Doctor House Call [line of business] and Medication Prescription being relevant to both customers)
Therefore, the Examiner understands that the limitation in question is merely applying a known technique of Billigmeier (directed towards a particular technique of scoring customer interaction information (RTIS entries]) which is applicable to a known base device/method of Adrian (already directed towards scoring relevancy of other customer interactions with a customer service agent) to yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the techniques of Billigmeier to the device/method of Adrian in order to realize Adrian’s score may also be performed such that it is an indication of recency and line of business2 of information in addition to relevancy of his resources which are resources “helpful for resolving a specific IT customer service issue” obtained from knowledge articles written by customer service agents regarding past encounters with customers with similar issues and because Adrian and Billigmeier are analogous art in the same field of endeavor (at least G06Q30/02) and because according to MPEP 2143(I) (C) and/or (D), the use of known technique to improve a known device, methods, or products in the same way (or which is ready for improvement) is obvious.
Although Adrian/Billigmeier teach the limitations upon which this claim depends, including providing a ranked list of recommended results/resources [RTIS entries] according to a relevancy score, they may not explicitly teach their customer service agent is enable to “pin” a resource to their UI regardless of the score of such resource [RTIS entry]. However, regarding this feature Adrian/Billigmeier in view of Ayers teaches the following: wherein said one or more processors are further configured to display via the GUI that is presented on a display unit, an option to pin RTIS entries to be included in the preconfigured number ofRTIS entries regardless of the score of the RTIS entry (Ayers, see at least [0076], teaching, e.g.: “…The user can pin the recommendation [RTIS entry], so that it remains on the toolbar and the like.”) Therefore, the Examiner understands that the limitation in question is merely applying a known technique of Ayers which is applicable to a known base device/method of Adrian/Billigmeier to yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the techniques of Ayers to the device/method of Adrian/Billigmeier in order to realize limitation as claimed because Adrian/Billigmeier and Ayers are analogous art in the same field of endeavor (at least G06Q30/02) and because according to MPEP 2143(I) (C) and/or (D), the use of known technique to improve a known device, methods, or products in the same way (or which is ready for improvement) is obvious.
Claim 2 (Original)
Adrian/Billigmeier/Ayers teach the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Adrian teaches the following: The RTIS platform of claim 1, wherein each RTIS entry includes information that has been provided to a customer during the first interaction, wherein the information is not included in a static knowledge base (Adrian, see citations noted supra, including again [0034]: “…Context information included a given multi-factor context can be obtained from different sources. For instance,
such context information can be obtained from information input by an IT customer service professional. Context information can also be obtained from information included in the system 100, or included in other systems or devices that are operationally coupled with the system 100 (e.g., such as a customer information database 151 included in the search content 150 in the system 100)…”)
Claim 3 (previously presented)
Adrian/Billigmeier/Ayers teach the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Adrian teaches the following: The RTIS platform of claim 1, wherein the RTIS entries are displayed based on creation date, subject and line of business. (Adrian, see citations noted supra, including again Fig. 4: the recommended knowledge resources, lower right corner of the user interface, are displayed and include dates when each were updated [creation date for that particular resource], an identifier: KBA00005 [subject], and name “automation companies” [line of business])
Claim 4 (Original)
Adrian/Billigmeier/Ayers teach the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Adrian teaches the following: The RTIS platform of claim 3, wherein the RTIS entries are displayed from recent date to old date, and wherein the subject and the line of business are selected by the second
user. (Adrian, see citations noted supra, including again Fig. 4: the recommended knowledge resources, lower right corner of the user interface, are displayed and include dates when each were updated [creation date for that particular resource] and these dates are displayed from most recent to older updates in a descending order; applicant’s description of an action taken by a user is interpreted as non-functional descriptive material.)
Claim 5 (Original)
Adrian/Billigmeier/Ayers teach the limitations upon which this claim depends. Furthermore, Adrian teaches the following: The RTIS platform of claim 1, wherein the displayed RTIS entries are RTIS entries having highest scores (Adrian, see at least Fig. 5 #540 and [0004] regarding “displayed ranked list of relevant resources” where “the ranked list being ordered based on the respective relevancy scores of the subset of the resources….”, etc…)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Adrian in view of Billigmeier further in view of in view of Klein et al. (U.S. 2018/0007102 A1; hereinafter, "Klein ").
Claim 9 (Original)
Although Adrian/Billigmeier/Ayers teach the limitations upon which this claim depends, including providing an option to “create ticket” [option to mark information provided during the interaction for conversion to a RTIS entry], e.g. per Adrian Fig. 3, they may not explicitly teach the below nuance. However, regarding this feature Adrian/Billigmeier in view of Klein teaches the following: The RTIS platform of claim 1, wherein the option to mark information provided during the interaction for conversion to a RTIS entry is displayed based on duration of the interaction and context thereof. (Klein, see citations noted supra, including Fig. 2 #10 “After action: Agent stores session metadata in knowledge base”, etc… in view of at least [0060]-[0061], teaching, e.g.: “…. the virtual agent 212 can assess communication exchanges by any of the one or more various contact modes to determine whether the customer is dissatisfied [a context], whether the agent is not making sufficient or timely progress [based on duration],…” and per [0083]: “…one or more customer care resources can be brought into the session at different times [based on duration of interaction], as necessary…” Therefore, the Examiner understands that Klein provides motivation to solicit and input feedback, from a customer service agent, into a Knowledge Base according to duration of time of interaction; e.g. after agent is not making sufficient or timely progress [based on duration] as this is a basis to introduce noted “customer care resources” which may be deemed “as necessary” at different time [again based on duration]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Adrian/Billigmeier customer service agent user interface such that the option “to create a ticket”, per Adrian Fig. 3 [i.e. to mark information provided during the interaction for conversion to a RTIS entry] is displayed based on duration of the interaction and context thereof because per MPEP 2143(I) (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention is obvious. The motivation may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. Id. at 1366, 80 USPQ2d at 1649.)
Claim 10 (previously presented)
Although Adrian/Billigmeier/Ayers teach the limitations upon which this claim depends, including providing an option to “create ticket” [option to mark information provided during the interaction for conversion to a RTIS entry], e.g. per Adrian Fig. 3, they may not explicitly teach the below nuance. However, regarding this feature Adrian/Billigmeier in view of Klein teaches the following: The RTIS platform of claim 1, wherein one or more process are further configured to receive a supervisor approval before the receiving of the RTIS entry via the GUI from the first user. (Klein, see citation noted supra, in view of at least [0105] teaching: “…Escalation can include joining a supervisor, a manager and/or another subject matter expert to the existing session. To the extent escalations occur, the process can repeat, e.g., from step 620….”; customer feedback may be solicited only after Supervisor joins a session, where joining a session is a form of approval.) Therefore, the Examiner understands that Klein provides motivation to seek supervisor approval before storage of information regarding a customer interaction with a customer service agent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Adrian/Billigmeier customer service agent user interface such that Adrian’s customer service agent is required to seek supervisor approval before allowing the customer service agent to store information in the system which may be used as a future resource [before the system receives the RTIS entry via the GUI from the user] for other customer service agents, e.g. including before creating resources, e.g. as noted per Adrian at [0024] (“knowledge articles, other incidents (e.g., open and/or closed support tickets), change requests for relevant computing resources, tasks in process by other customer service agents, work orders, etc. etc…) because per MPEP 2143(I) (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention is obvious. The motivation may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. Id. at 1366, 80 USPQ2d at 1649.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 1, 6, 12, 13 on 04/27/2026; claim 11 remains canceled. Applicant's arguments (hereinafter “Remarks”) also filed 04/27/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments. Note the updated 112(b) rejection of claims 6, 8, 12 in view of applicant’s amendments as well as the new 112(d) rejection of claim 7 and the updated 101 and 103 rejections with Adrian in view of Billigmeier in view of Ayers teaching the claim features of independent claims 1 and 13.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL J SITTNER whose telephone number is (571)270-3984. The examiner can normally be reached M-F; ~9:30-6:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Waseem Ashraf can be reached on (571) 270-3948. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Michael J Sittner/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
1 Specification [0055]: “The terms "line of business" as used herein refers to a company line of business, such as
banking, infrastructure, insurance etc.”
2 Specification [0055]: “The terms "line of business" as used herein refers to a company line of business, such as
banking, infrastructure, insurance etc.”