DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. Examiner will address each argument according to Applicant’s numbering in the filed response.
RE arguments I though VI, directed to claims 1-9 and 11, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument presented. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiners position remains the same as convey in the interview held prior to this response. Both references contain a variety of motivations to combine. Especially since Ansley provides multiple explicit recitations that alternate solutions for various functions can be used. Namely that the cited passages of Ansley well establish that there is no single required geo-location method and explicitly states any method can be used and further lists multiple types and scenarios. It does not, however, state RFID/NFC tag based systems but also does not explicitly discount any method either. Soliman is relied upon as teaching an RFID/NFC tag based method for location determination in at least a user equipment. It being in range of a device to be read indicates that the tag is ‘adjacent” to the device. Soliman as cited also provides motivation to combine as it explicitly states the tag based system is intended for situations in which GPS is weak or fully blocked due to various types of obstructions, such as being indoors.
Given no persuasive evidence that this companion is improper or non-obvious, Examiner maintains the rejection of these claims.
RE arguments VII through XI, directed to claims 10 and 12-18 and 21, Applicants remarks and amendments overcome any respective rejections. The rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley et al. (US 2020/0367020, Ansley hereafter) in view of Soliman et al. (WO 2006/119412, Soliman hereafter).
RE claim 1, Ansley discloses a method comprising: a transceiver device having a high power mode and a low power mode (Paragraph 69 discloses an adaptive movable access point system that operates in a low power mode and a high/normal power mode); making location information available, over a network, of the transceiver device to a database containing locations of active incumbent devices (Paragraphs 69 further discloses “The AP 505 may connect to a mobile application (e.g., application running at the external device 510), and the AP 505 may receive location information (e.g., GPS data/coordinates) from the external device 510. The AP 505 may output an AFC request to an AFC system 515, wherein the AFC request includes the location information. The AP 505 may receive an AFC response from the AFC system 515, wherein the response either approves or denies the AP request to operate within the 6 GHz band at high/normal power. “); obtaining, from the database, approval for the transceiver device to operate in the high power mode, based on the location information and the locations of the active incumbent devices (Paragraphs 69 further discloses “The AP 505 may connect to a mobile application (e.g., application running at the external device 510), and the AP 505 may receive location information (e.g., GPS data/coordinates) from the external device 510. The AP 505 may output an AFC request to an AFC system 515, wherein the AFC request includes the location information. The AP 505 may receive an AFC response from the AFC system 515, wherein the response either approves or denies the AP request to operate within the 6 GHz band at high/normal power. “. At least paragraph 34 further discloses “The AFC system 115 may include a database that contains pre-calculated exclusion zone data for one or more microwave paths. It should be understood that spectrum availability may be calculated upon request. The exclusion zone data may be updated at the database periodically (e.g., hourly, daily, etc.) or in response to an addition or deletion of data associated with a microwave path. Communications between a device and the AFC system 115 may be over wired or wireless links not in the 6 GHz band. The AFC system 115 and its database may be connected to a packet-based wide area network (e.g., wide area network (WAN) 120), including but not limited to the Internet. Each of one or more devices (e.g., AP 105) may register with the database. Initial registration and query may be made outside of the 6 GHz bands. In embodiments, each device (e.g., APs 105) may also register devices that are associated with the device (e.g., STAs (stations) 110, clients, etc.). Each device may query the database with location information (e.g., location information associated with a current location of the device), an identification of the device type, identifying information (e.g., unique identifiers), and/or other information associated with the device. Based upon the query received from each respective one device, the database may determine a proximity of the respective device to one or more exclusion zones.” Though the term “incumbent” is not use, this is a description of a database of existing devise and their locations, where a new device is authorized to operate in a high/normal power mode based on the devices already in the database which establish exclusion zones for said high/normal power operation due the likelihood of interference.); and operating the transceiver device in the high power mode based on the reading of the location information from the transceiver device adjacent the tag device, and responsive to obtaining the approval (Paragraph 69 further discloses “If the AFC response approves the AP's use of the 6 GHz band, the AP 505 may switch to operating within the 6 GHz band at high/normal power levels (e.g., 1 W).”).
Ansley does not explicitly disclose storing geographic location information in a memory portion of a tag device; affixing the tag device on a fixed surface; and reading the location information with a reader portion of a front end chip of a transceiver device adjacent the tag device.
However, Soliman teaches storing geographic location information in a memory portion of a tag device (Paragraphs 59-60 teaches a geolocation system, in this case utilized by a user equipment, based upon RFID tags spread throughout an office building wherein “location information stored in the tags may include latitude and longitude (lat/long), street address, floor, or room location, or any combination of these”.); affixing the tag device on a fixed surface (Paragraph 60 teaches the tags are pre-surveyed and placed in a fixed location); and reading the location information with a reader portion of a front end chip of a transceiver device adjacent the tag device (Paragraph 61 teaches “As user equipment 420 comes within range of the tags 410, 412, 414, and 416, because the tags have been surveyed in and their confidence level is high, the user equipment may update its location.” Paragraph 50 further teaches a reader within the UE having an RF transponder, antenna, memory and a processor. The reader interacts with the tags as they come in proximity with one another.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley with the teachings of Soliman in order to provide for accurate geolocation for devices where GPS is inaccurate or unusable. Ansley explicitly states in paragraph 74 “a device might use an available service to determine its location in lieu of having the ability to determine its location through access to a GPS or through the use of cellular location services.” The teachings of Soliman teaches an alternative “available service” for geolocation since in some cases, as taught by Soliman in paragraph 6, GPS while extremely accurate, may be blocked by structures, foliage and other obstacles rendering it inaccurate in some cases for indoor use.
RE claim 2, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Ansley further discloses further comprising: after a predetermined time, repeating making the location information available, over the network, from the transceiver device to the database containing the locations of the incumbent devices; obtaining, from the database, disapproval for the transceiver device to operate in the high power mode, based on the repeated location information and updated locations of the active incumbent devices; and operating the transceiver device in the low power mode, responsive to obtaining the disapproval (Paragraphs 52-54 discloses the AP may send heartbeat messages in order to ensure the exclusion zone data is current and to confirm the device is active. It may also deregister, and therefore may need to register, if moved a threshold distance or in response to other triggering event. As such, it is a disclosure that the AP periodically renews its permission to operate in the high/normal power mode for a given location and if disapproved for any reason, such as the new location being within an exclusion zone or the current location now being within a newly established exclusion zone, it will not operate in the high/normal power mode. Otherwise, it remains operating in the high/normal power mode).
Ansley does not explicitly disclose reading the location information with a reader portion of a front end chip of a transceiver device adjacent the tag device.
However, Soliman teaches reading the location information with a reader portion of a front end chip of a transceiver device adjacent the tag device (Paragraph 61 teaches “As user equipment 420 comes within range of the tags 410, 412, 414, and 416, because the tags have been surveyed in and their confidence level is high, the user equipment may update its location.” Paragraph 50 further teaches a reader within the UE having an RF transponder, antenna, memory and a processor. The reader interacts with the tags as they come in proximity with one another.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley with the teachings of Soliman in order to provide for accurate geolocation for devices where GPS is inaccurate or unusable. Ansley explicitly states in paragraph 74 “a device might use an available service to determine its location in lieu of having the ability to determine its location through access to a GPS or through the use of cellular location services.” The teachings of Soliman teaches an alternative “available service” for geolocation since in some cases, as taught by Soliman in paragraph 6, GPS while extremely accurate, may be blocked by structures, foliage and other obstacles rendering it inaccurate in some cases for indoor use.
RE claim 6, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Ansley further discloses further comprising: after a predetermined time, repeating making the location information available, over the network, from the transceiver device to the database; obtaining, from the database, reapproval for the transceiver device to operate in the high power mode, based on the location information and updated locations of the active incumbent devices; and continuing to operate the transceiver device in the high power mode, responsive to obtaining the reapproval (Paragraphs 52-54 discloses the AP may send heartbeat messages in order to ensure the exclusion zone data is current and to confirm the device is active. It may also deregister, and therefore may need to register, if moved a threshold distance or in response to other triggering event. As such, it is a disclosure that the AP periodically renews its permission to operate in the high/normal power mode for a given location and if disapproved for any reason, such as the new location being within an exclusion zone or the current location now being within a newly established exclusion zone, it will not operate in the high/normal power mode. Otherwise, it remains operating in the high/normal power mode).
Ansley does not explicitly disclose reading the location information with a reader portion of a front end chip of a transceiver device adjacent the tag device.
However, Soliman teaches reading the location information with a reader portion of a front end chip of a transceiver device adjacent the tag device (Paragraph 61 teaches “As user equipment 420 comes within range of the tags 410, 412, 414, and 416, because the tags have been surveyed in and their confidence level is high, the user equipment may update its location.” Paragraph 50 further teaches a reader within the UE having an RF transponder, antenna, memory and a processor. The reader interacts with the tags as they come in proximity with one another.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley with the teachings of Soliman in order to provide for accurate geolocation for devices where GPS is inaccurate or unusable. Ansley explicitly states in paragraph 74 “a device might use an available service to determine its location in lieu of having the ability to determine its location through access to a GPS or through the use of cellular location services.” The teachings of Soliman teaches an alternative “available service” for geolocation since in some cases, as taught by Soliman in paragraph 6, GPS while extremely accurate, may be blocked by structures, foliage and other obstacles rendering it inaccurate in some cases for indoor use.
RE claim 8, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Soliman further teaches wherein reading the location information with the reader portion of the front end chip of the transceiver device adjacent the tag device comprises the reader portion of the front end chip of the transceiver device wirelessly interrogating the tag device via near field communications (Paragraphs 59-60 teaches a geolocation system, in this case utilized by a user equipment, based upon RFID tags spread throughout an office building wherein “location information stored in the tags may include latitude and longitude (lat/long), street address, floor, or room location, or any combination of these”. Paragraph 61 teaches “As user equipment 420 comes within range of the tags 410, 412, 414, and 416, because the tags have been surveyed in and their confidence level is high, the user equipment may update its location.” Paragraph 50 further teaches a reader within the UE having an RF transponder, antenna, memory and a processor. The reader interacts with the tags as they come in proximity with one another.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley with the teachings of Soliman in order to provide for accurate geolocation for devices where GPS is inaccurate or unusable. Ansley explicitly states in paragraph 74 “a device might use an available service to determine its location in lieu of having the ability to determine its location through access to a GPS or through the use of cellular location services.” The teachings of Soliman teaches an alternative “available service” for geolocation since in some cases, as taught by Soliman in paragraph 6, GPS while extremely accurate, may be blocked by structures, foliage and other obstacles rendering it inaccurate in some cases for indoor use.
RE claim 11, Ansley discloses a kit of parts comprising: a transceiver device having a high power mode and a low power mode (Paragraph 69 discloses an adaptive movable access point system that operates in a low power mode and a high/normal power mode), a network interface configured to communicate over a network with a database containing locations of incumbent devices, (Paragraphs 69 further discloses “The AP 505 may connect to a mobile application (e.g., application running at the external device 510), and the AP 505 may receive location information (e.g., GPS data/coordinates) from the external device 510. The AP 505 may output an AFC request to an AFC system 515, wherein the AFC request includes the location information. The AP 505 may receive an AFC response from the AFC system 515, wherein the response either approves or denies the AP request to operate within the 6 GHz band at high/normal power. “. At least paragraph 34 further discloses “The AFC system 115 may include a database that contains pre-calculated exclusion zone data for one or more microwave paths. It should be understood that spectrum availability may be calculated upon request. The exclusion zone data may be updated at the database periodically (e.g., hourly, daily, etc.) or in response to an addition or deletion of data associated with a microwave path. Communications between a device and the AFC system 115 may be over wired or wireless links not in the 6 GHz band. The AFC system 115 and its database may be connected to a packet-based wide area network (e.g., wide area network (WAN) 120), including but not limited to the Internet. Each of one or more devices (e.g., AP 105) may register with the database. Initial registration and query may be made outside of the 6 GHz bands. In embodiments, each device (e.g., APs 105) may also register devices that are associated with the device (e.g., STAs (stations) 110, clients, etc.). Each device may query the database with location information (e.g., location information associated with a current location of the device), an identification of the device type, identifying information (e.g., unique identifiers), and/or other information associated with the device. Based upon the query received from each respective one device, the database may determine a proximity of the respective device to one or more exclusion zones.” Though the term “incumbent” is not use, this is a description of a database of existing devise and their locations, where a new device is authorized to operate in a high/normal power mode based on the devices already in the database which establish exclusion zones for said high/normal power operation due the likelihood of interference.).
Ansley does explicitly disclose a tag device having a memory portion configured to store geographic location information and an adhesive portion configured to be affixed to a fixed surface; and the transceiver device having a front end chip with a reader portion configured to read the location information, wherein the transceiver device is configured to operate in the high power mode based on a reading of the geographic location information from the tag device.
However, Soliman teaches a tag device having a memory portion configured to store geographic location information (Paragraphs 59-60 teaches a geolocation system, in this case utilized by a user equipment, based upon RFID tags spread throughout an office building wherein “location information stored in the tags may include latitude and longitude (lat/long), street address, floor, or room location, or any combination of these”.) and an adhesive portion configured to be affixed to a fixed surface (Paragraph 60 teaches the tags are pre-surveyed and placed in a fixed location); and a front end chip with a reader portion configured to read the location information. (Paragraph 61 teaches “As user equipment 420 comes within range of the tags 410, 412, 414, and 416, because the tags have been surveyed in and their confidence level is high, the user equipment may update its location.” Paragraph 50 further teaches a reader within the UE having an RF transponder, antenna, memory and a processor. The reader interacts with the tags as they come in proximity with one another.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the kit of Ansley with the teachings of Soliman in order to provide for accurate geolocation for devices where GPS is inaccurate or unusable. Ansley explicitly states in paragraph 74 “a device might use an available service to determine its location in lieu of having the ability to determine its location through access to a GPS or through the use of cellular location services.” The teachings of Soliman teaches an alternative “available service” for geolocation since in some cases, as taught by Soliman in paragraph 6, GPS while extremely accurate, may be blocked by structures, foliage and other obstacles rendering it inaccurate in some cases for indoor use.
Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing wherein the transceiver device is configured to operate in the high power mode based on a reading of the geographic location information from the tag device.
However, this feature is the obvious result of the combination of the teachings of Soliman with the system of Ansley. Both references contain a variety of motivations to combine. Especially since Ansley provides multiple explicit recitations that alternate solutions for various functions can be used. Namely that the cited passages of Ansley well establish that there is no single required geo-location method and explicitly states any method can be used and further lists multiple types and scenarios. It does not, however, state RFID/NFC tag based systems but also does not explicitly discount any method either. Soliman is relied upon as teaching an RFID/NFC tag based method for location determination in at least a user equipment. It being in range of a device to be read indicates that the tag is ‘adjacent” to the device. Soliman as cited also provides motivation to combine as it explicitly states the tag based system is intended for situations in which GPS is weak or fully blocked due to various types of obstructions, such as being indoors.
Accordingly, Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results; absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d at 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at1396.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Gong et al. (CN 213903776, Gong hereafter, citing the attached machine generated English translation).
RE claim 3, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 2 as set forth above. Ansley in view of Soliman does not explicitly disclose designating the stored geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device as read only.
However, Gong teaches designating the stored geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device as read only (Paragraph 24 teaches RFID tags storing location data within read-only memory).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman with the teachings of Gong in order prevent RFID tag data tampering.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Demule et al. (WO 2022/269155, Demule hereafter, citing the attached machine generated English translation).
RE claim 4, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 3 as set forth above. Ansley in view of Soliman does not explicitly disclose wherein storing the geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device comprises storing by a technician using a mobile device with a technician application.
However, Demule teaches wherein storing the geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device comprises storing by a technician using a mobile device with a technician application (As set forth above, Ansley already discloses the location information stored in a tag is “pre-surveyed”. Demule provides a teaching that an installer/technician can write information to NFC/RFID tags using a software application on their mobile terminal. See paragraph 23 of the WIPO publication, corresponding to sections under the bolded “[0030]” of the machine translation document which teaches “The installation technician 5 can then bring the mobile terminal 4 close to the NFC tag of the hose clamp 2 to record any information entered in step 120 in the NFC tag 3, via the NFC read /write means of the mobile terminal 4 (view (c) and step 130 of figure 2)”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman with the teachings of Demule since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Maman et al. (US 2018/0061277, Maman hereafter).
RE claim 5, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 3 as set forth above. Ansley in view of Soliman does not explicitly disclose wherein storing the geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device comprises storing by a customer using a customer device with a customer application.
However, Maman teaches wherein storing the geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device comprises storing by a customer using a customer device with a customer application (As set forth above, Ansley already discloses the location information stored in a tag is “pre-surveyed”. Maman provides a teaching that a customer can write information to NFC/RFID tags using a software application on their mobile terminal. Paragraph 67 teaches “According to embodiments where the tag 100 is an NFC tag, a customer may change the communication information stored in the tag 100 with an NFC writing application that is available for download, for example READ, NFC TOOLS, and the like.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman with the teachings of Maman since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Roisen et al. (US 2016/0379179, Roisen hereafter) and further in view of Kiukkonen et al. (US 2014/0068719, Kiukkonen hereafter).
RE claim 7, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Ansley further discloses wherein, in the step of storing the geographic location information in the memory portion of the tag device, the geographic location information comprises longitude information and latitude information (Paragraph 10).
Ansley in view of Soliman does not explicitly disclose the geographic location information comprises elevation information, and a router identification.
However, Roisen teaches the geographic location information comprises elevation information (Paragraph 3, an asset tracking NFC tag stores barometric elevation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman with the teachings of Roisen since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Roisen does not explicitly disclose the geographic location information comprises a router identification.
However, Kiukkonen teaches the geographic location information comprises a router identification (Paragraph 290 teaches a guest wireless device B can read an NFC tag having a field “providing the MAC address of the access point”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Roisen with the teachings of Kiukkonen since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley in view of Soliman, in view of Demule and further in view of Maman.
RE claim 9, Ansley in view of Soliman discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ansley in view of Soliman does not explicitly disclose advising at least one of a technician or a consumer using at least one of a web site, a mobile device with a technician application; or a customer device with a customer application.
However, Demule teaches a mobile device with a technician application (As set forth above, Ansley already discloses the location information stored in a tag is “pre-surveyed”. Demule provides a teaching that an installer/technician can write information to NFC/RFID tags using a software application on their mobile terminal. See paragraph 23 of the WIPO publication, corresponding to sections under the bolded “[0030]” of the machine translation document which teaches “The installation technician 5 can then bring the mobile terminal 4 close to the NFC tag of the hose clamp 2 to record any information entered in step 120 in the NFC tag 3, via the NFC read /write means of the mobile terminal 4 (view (c) and step 130 of figure 2)”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman with the teachings of Demule since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Demule does not explicitly disclose advising at least one of a technician or a consumer using at least one of a web site or
However, Maman teaches a customer device with a customer application (As set forth above, Ansley already discloses the location information stored in a tag is “pre-surveyed”. Maman provides a teaching that a customer can write information to NFC/RFID tags using a software application on their mobile terminal. Paragraph 67 teaches “According to embodiments where the tag 100 is an NFC tag, a customer may change the communication information stored in the tag 100 with an NFC writing application that is available for download, for example READ, NFC TOOLS, and the like.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Ansley in view of Soliman and further in view of Demule with the teachings of Maman since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12-18 and 20-21 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
RE claim 10, prior arts do not explicitly disclose, teach or suggest responsive to failure of the attempting to repeat the reading of the location information with the reader portion of the front end chip of the transceiver device, operating the transceiver device in the low power mode.
The closest prior art to this limitation may be found in the Non-Patent Literature filed alongside the Information Disclosure Statement filed December 26, 2025 for the instant application titled “FCC FACT SHEET Unlicensed Use of the 6 GHz Band Report and Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking”, item 22 of the IDS under Non-Patent Literature.
On page 19, items 46 and 47 are directed to the requirement by the FCC for a device to periodically verify frequency and power mode availability with the AFC system once per day. A device that fails to do so is required to cease operation. The exception to this is if the AFC system itself becomes temporality unavailable. In that case, the device may continue to use its allocation until 11:59pm the following day. This fails to explicitly disclose, teach or suggest the claimed failure scenario. This reference at best supports a device ceasing operation or maintaining its current allocation, which may include remaining at a previously permitted high/normal power, when it fails to contact the AFC system.
RE claims 12 and 21, prior arts do not explicitly disclose, teach or suggest wherein associating the transceiver device with the geographic location includes: identifying a first group of service locations from the internet service provider database that fall within building outlines from the geographic information system; and discarding a second group of service locations from the internet service provider database that fall outside of building outlines from the geographic information system; wherein the transceiver device is associated with the first group of service locations
RE claims 13-18 and 20, the claims depend upon claim 12 and thereby includes the allowable features above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461