DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection(s) of the claims have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant contends that the prior art of Faul fails to limit the number of treatment sessions. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Faul teaches the technique of applying a plurality of treatment sessions in order to determine the most effective stimulation regimen, based on the patient’s response. Based on that response, the transmission fo electrical impulse is limited to a specific number of the plurality of potential doses – based on the response that the patient’s appetite is suppressed (drawing a parallel to “content in the storage medium”). The examiner relies on the teachings of Faul, to teach that limiting transmission of the electrical impulse to a specific number of a plurality of doses is known in the art. Applicant further asserts that Faul explicitly continues stimulation until a suitable combination of parameters is identified. The examiner does not disagree with this assessment – the claims do not require that the “limit” is a predetermined number or value. In this case, the examiner believes the cited sections show that there is potential for a plurality of doses, but the transmission of the electrical impulse is “limited” to a specific number of those plurality of doses, based on the patient’s appetite being suppressed. If the appetite is not suppressed, the transmission of electrical impulses would continue and not be limited. Faul is not relied upon for software or content, as the primary references is relied upon for those purposes, and the rejection does not imply or discuss the reference of Faul obviating those limitations. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huston et al. (US 2009/0143831; hereinafter “Huston”) in view of Faul (US 2005/0075678; hereinafter “Faul”), further in view of Goodall et al. (US 2018/0168905; hereinafter “Goodall”), further in view of Rezai et al. (US 2014/0067021).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Huston discloses a device for treating a patient, the device comprising: a transcutaneous stimulation element placed at an outer skin surface of the patient and comprising one or more electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 16, 20, etc.); and an energy source coupled to the electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 46-48, etc.), wherein the energy source comprises a signal generator (e.g. ¶¶ 50 – driver #18) configured to generate at least one electrical impulse to the electrodes such that the electrodes transmit the electrical impulse transcutaneously through the outer skin surface of the patient to a selected nerve in the patient (e.g. ¶¶ 13-14, 16, 20, etc.) according to a stimulation protocol that includes a plurality of doses, with at least one doses administered each day for a plurality of days, wherein the dose has a duration of about sixty seconds to about 5 minutes (e.g. ¶¶ 15-20); a storage medium storing a content (e.g. ¶¶ 48 – where if the controller can be programmed, it necessarily employs some sort of storage medium with content including the programmed stimulation parameters); and a controller coupled to the signal generator to limit transmission of the electrical impulse to a specific intensity based on the content in the storage medium (e.g. ¶¶ 48 – “controller 16 may also limit the stimulation, so that it does not exceed a maximum level for intensity (e.g., voltage) or frequency (including on and/or off time, etc.”, ¶¶ 95, etc.).
Huston fails to expressly disclose limiting transmission of the electrical impulse to a specific number of the plurality of doses as claimed. In the same field of endeavor, Faul teaches the transcutaneous stimulation where the treatment limits transmission of the electrical impulse to a specific number of the doses (e.g. ¶¶ 29 – “two separate treatment sessions”; e.g. ¶¶ 31 – “number of treatment sessions per day may vary”; and further e.g. ¶¶ 41 – where the number of treatment sessions is refined and set based on the response of the patient to different stimulus) in order to ensure the stimulation therapy is effective. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the known technique of limiting electrical impulses to a specific number of the plurality of doses, as taught by Faul, to the programmed therapy stimulation regimen of Huston, to improve the device by ensuring the appropriate stimulation doses are applied to the patient for the appropriate therapeutic response.
Huston fails to expressly disclose that the transcutaneous stimulation element is a patch having an adhesive surface for adhering to an outer skin surface as claimed. In the same field of endeavor, Goodall discloses transcutaneous stimulation to cranial nerves including the vagus nerve via an adhesive patch at the neck of an individual in order to provide effective non invasive stimulation (e.g. ¶¶ 62-63). In addition, Faul also teaches the use of adhesive skin electrodes for different nerve stimulation including vagal stimulation (e.g. ¶¶ 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to apply the known technique of using an adhesive patch for vagal stimulation, as it would have simply been “obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified and predictable solutions for transcutaneous vagal stimulation as discussed in Goodall to yield the predictable results of providing an effective stimulation.
Huston fails to expressly disclose an energy source wirelessly coupled to the electrodes configured to wirelessly transmit at least one electrical impulse to the electrodes. In the same field of endeavor, Rezai discloses an embodiment where an energy source wirelessly coupled to the electrodes is configured to wirelessly transmit at least one electrical impulse to the electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 39, 50 – “It will be appreciated that the electrode(s) 12 can alternatively be powered by a wireless power source”) in order to delivery a particular signal to a particular region as necessary. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the known technique of wirelessly transmitting an electrical impulse to an electrode from a wirelessly coupled energy source as taught by Rezai, to improve the similar device of Huston by allowing targeted stimulation in specific regions as needed.
Regarding claim 2, Huston discloses the selected nerve is a vagus nerve (e.g. ¶¶ 13).
Regarding claim 3, Huston discloses the patch is configured for attachment to the outer skin surface of a neck of the patient (e.g. ¶¶ 16, 20, etc.)
Regarding claim 4, Huston discloses a controller coupled to the energy source and configured to transmit parameters for the stimulation protocol to the energy source (e.g. ¶¶ 48).
Regarding claim 5, Huston discloses the stimulation protocol includes at least two doses administered each day (e.g. ¶¶ 15 – off time of 2 hours)
Regarding claim 6, Huston discloses each of the doses are separated by a time frame of about 1 hour to about 12 hour (e.g. ¶¶ 15-20).
Regarding claim 7, Huston discloses the stimulation protocol comprises 2 to 12 treatments/day (e.g. ¶¶ 15-20).
Regarding claim 8, Huston discloses the electrical impulse is sufficient to modify post- operative symptoms of a patient (e.g. ¶¶ 78).
Regarding claim 9, Huston discloses at least one of the doses is administered to the patient prior to a surgery (e.g. ¶¶ 79).
Regarding claim 10, Huston discloses at least of the doses is administered to the patient after the surgery (e.g. ¶¶ 79).
Regarding claim 14, Huston discloses the electrical impulse is sufficient to reduce intraperitoneal or retroperitoneal inflammation (e.g. ¶¶ 77-79).
Regarding claim 15, Huston discloses the electrical impulse is sufficient to inhibit a release of a pro-inflammatory cytokine (e.g. ¶¶ 71-73).
Regarding claim 16, Huston discloses the electrical impulse is sufficient to reduce post- operative pain (e.g. ¶¶ 78-79).
Regarding claim 17, Huston discloses the electrical impulse is sufficient to modify the vagus nerve such that the symptoms of post-operative ileus are reduced (e.g. ¶¶ 78-79).
Regarding claims 19-20, Huston discloses the energy source is housed within the mobile device (e.g. ¶¶ 46-48)
Regarding claim 20, Huston discloses the energy source is remote from, and coupled to, the mobile device (e.g. ¶¶ 48-52).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huston, in view of Faul, further in view of Goodall, further in view of Rezai, further in view of Simon et al. (US 2011/0152967).
Regarding claim 11, Huston does indicate a plurality of frequencies (e.g. 30 Hz) which may be adjusted (e.g. ¶¶ 15-20), but fails to expressly disclose the electrical impulse comprises pulses having a frequency of 1 - 20 kHz. In the same field of endeavor, Simon discloses vagal stimulation at the outer skin surface of a neck of a patient at a frequency within the claimed 1-20 kHz range (e.g. ¶¶ 35) in order to provide an effective electrical impulse. It would have been obvious to apply the same stimulation parameters as taught by Simon within the claimed 1-20 Khz range, to treat patients suffering from different disorders, because the teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art of Simon would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the frequency to a higher frequency between 1-20kHz, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 12-13, Huston fails to expressly disclose the electrical impulse comprises bursts of pulses, with each burst having a frequency of about 2 to 20 bursts per second and each pulse has a duration of about 50 to about 1000 microseconds in duration (e.g. ¶¶ 15-20). In the same field of endeavor, Simon teaches the electrical impulse comprises bursts of about 2-20 pulses (e.g. ¶¶ 34 – “1 to 20 pulses per burst”) and each of the pulses has a duration of about 50 to 100 microseconds (e.g. ¶¶ 35 – “duration of 10-1000 microseconds”) in order to provide an effective electrical impulse. It would have been obvious to apply the same stimulation parameters as taught by Simon with a plurality of 2-20 pulse bursts with a duration of about 50 to 100 microseconds, to treat patients suffering from different disorders, because the teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art of Simon would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the parameters to have a plurality of 2-20 pulse bursts with a duration of about 50 to 100 microseconds, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796