DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species II in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10,13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/09/2025.
Claims 1-9,11-12,15-19 and 24 are now pending in the application for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/06/2023, 06/26/2023, 03/20/2024, 09/15/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(e), acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for priority based on US provisional applications #63/297,210, filed on 01/06/2022.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-9,11-12,15-19 and 24 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-9,11-12,15-19 and 24 of copending Application No. 18/272,181 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9,11-12 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-9,11-12 of copending Application No. 18093,325 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/092,461
18/272,181
18/093,325
Claim 1: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device, which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 1: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device, which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 1: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device, which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected.
Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected.
Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected.
Claim 5: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 5: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 5: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 7: The apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle.
Claim 7: The apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle.
Claim 7: The apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle.
Claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle.
Claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle.
Claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle.
Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 15: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: at least one receiving coil operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device for charging of an electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil; and a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle.
Claim 15: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: at least one receiving coil operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device for charging of an electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil; and a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle.
Claim 16: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device is maintained by a receptacle mounted to a structure, wherein the charge transmitting device is moveable and directable from the receptacle to the charging coil sticker including the at least one receiving coil for the charging of the electric vehicle when the charging coil sticker comes into electrical contact with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 16: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device is maintained by a receptacle mounted to a structure, wherein the charge transmitting device is moveable and directable from the receptacle to the charging coil sticker including the at least one receiving coil for the charging of the electric vehicle when the charging coil sticker comes into electrical contact with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 17: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the charging coil sticker that includes the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 17: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the charging coil sticker that includes the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 18: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a ceiling.
Claim 18: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a ceiling.
Claim 19: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 19: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 24: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure configured to deploy an electromagnetic power transmitting device above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains the electromagnetic power transmitting device, which is electromechanically and/or pneumatically movable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device mounted on a surface of the electric vehicle for charging the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device is placed near and/or in contact with at least one of the target area and the electromagnetic power receiving device.
Claim 24: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure configured to deploy an electromagnetic power transmitting device above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains the electromagnetic power transmitting device, which is electromechanically and/or pneumatically movable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device mounted on a surface of the electric vehicle for charging the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device is placed near and/or in contact with at least one of the target area and the electromagnetic power receiving device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-9,11-12, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hui US 2020/0094700.
Regarding claim 1: Hui at least discloses and shows in Fig. 8D:An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle(see Figs. 8A-8D), comprising: a receptacle(construed as frame 800D; see Fig. 8D) mountable to a structure(see ceiling above vehicle in Fig. 8D) above an electric vehicle(see Fig. 8D),wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device(804D), which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle(via automatic feedback see [0107]) toward a target area on the electric vehicle(see [0098]) associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle(see [0100]) for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle(see [0128],[0134]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 24: Hui at least discloses and shows in Figs. 8A-8D: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle(construed as frame 800D; see Fig. 8D) mountable to a structure(see ceiling above vehicle in Fig. 8D) configured to deploy an electromagnetic power transmitting device(804D) above an electric vehicle(see Fig. 8D), wherein the receptacle(800D) maintains the electromagnetic power transmitting device(804D), which is electromechanically and/or pneumatically movable and directable(via automatic feedback see [0107]) from the receptacle(800D) toward a target area([0098]) on the electric vehicle associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device(receiver coil in Fig. 8D) mounted on a surface of the electric vehicle(see [0100]) for charging the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device is placed near and/or in contact with at least one of the target area(see target marker [0100],[0111]) and the electromagnetic power receiving device(see [0128],[0134]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 3, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target(see target marker [0100],[0111]).
Regarding claim 4, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the at least one receiving coil() is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device(804D) for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil(see receiver coil in Fig. 8D for simplicity but discloses in Fig. 4 as element (404); see [0098],[0106] and [0128]) is connected.
Regarding claim 5, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the charge transmitting device(804D) includes a charging plate([0100]) that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil(receiver coil of Fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 6, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle(see receiver coil of Fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 7, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 6. Hui further discloses, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle(see receiver coil of Fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 8, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle(note-receiver coil of Fig. 8D with all components of said vehicle of Fig. 8D are integrated to form a complete and operable vehicle in order to provide an efficient wireless charging system).
Regarding claim 9, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows(see Fig. 3 noting expected plurality of windows associated with typical vehicle), wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window([0039]) among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device(804D), wherein the structure comprises the carport(see Fig. 8D and [0132]).
Regarding claim 12, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses, wherein the structure comprises a boom(construed as mechanical arm 802a ([0129]); see Figs. 8A-8C and [0057],[0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui US 2020/0094700 in view of Sarkar et al., (Sarkar) US 2020/0391595.
Regarding claim 2, Hui discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Hui further discloses a robotic mechanical arm(802A) with automatic control (see [0105],[0107],[0129]). Hui fails to expressly disclose, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
However, Sarkar discloses factual evidence of, wherein a charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete (see [0080]).
Hui and Sarkar are electric vehicles charging analogous art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the automatic retraction means as taught by Sarkar into the system of Hui in order to provide desirable retraction function to have space and remove hazard when said charger/robotic arm is not in use noting that said device is located above a vehicle where a driver and passenger would be walking making retraction of said robotic arm at least desirable is not required based on how much clearance is available in the installation.
Accordingly, claim 2 would have been obvious.
Claim(s) 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui US 2020/0094700 in view of Salter et al., (Salter) US 2017/0274787
Regarding claim 15: Hui at least discloses and shows in Fig. 8D: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle(see Figs. 8A-8D), comprising: at least one receiving coil(see receiver coil in Fig. 8D for simplicity but discloses in Fig. 4 as element (404); see [0098],[0106] and [0128]) operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device(804D) for charging of an electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil(receiver coil of Fig. 8D)(see [0027],[0141]).
Hui does not expressly teach the limitations of:
and a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely inductive chargers for electric vehicles, Salter discloses factual evidence, a charging coil sticker(construed as inductive receiving coil 20 of the inductive charger) comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle(see [0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the inductive receiver sticker as taught by Salter in the wireless power transfer system of Hui in order to provide a system with improved flexibility of coil placement along with decreased cost and increased simplicity of replacement if the coil is damaged by using a sticker coil to attach the receiving coil to an electric vehicle for use with the inductive charging system, as per the teachings of Salter ([0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Hui in view of Sarker discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 15. Hui further discloses, wherein the charging device(804D) is maintained by a receptacle(construed as frame 800D; see Fig. 8D) mounted to a structure(see ceiling above vehicle in Fig. 8D), wherein the charge transmitting device(804D) is moveable and directable from the receptacle(frame 800D)(see [0057]) to the charging coil sticker(as taught by Salter; see [0034]) including the at least one receiving coil for the charging of the electric vehicle when the charging coil sticker comes into electrical contact with the charge transmitting device(804D) when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle(see [0107],[0109],[0111]).
Regarding claim 17, Hui in view of Sarker discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 15. Hui further discloses, wherein the charging device includes a charging plate(see [0100]) that magnetically engages with the charging coil sticker(as taught by Sarker) that includes the at least one receiving coil.
Regarding claim 18, Hui in view of Sarker discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 15. Hui further discloses, wherein the structure comprises a ceiling(see ceiling above vehicle in Fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 19, Hui in view of Sarker discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 15. Hui further discloses, wherein the structure comprises a boom(construed as mechanical arm 802A [0129]; see Figs. 8A-8C and [0057],[0107]).
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 January 5, 2026