DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 07/07/2026 in which claims 1-24 have been canceled while claims 25-54 have been newly added. By this amendment, claims 25-54 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Furthermore, claims 1-24 have been canceled and thus arguments pertaining to claims 1-24 are moot.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of, “ wherein the plurality of electromagnetic power receiving devices are respectively associated with different robotic devices”, and the limitations of, “wherein the common structure is configured to accommodate a plurality of robotic devices” as recited in claims 37 and 54 respectively must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The underlined limitations of, “...a positioning assembly operatively coupled between the receptacle and the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device…” and that of, “selectively return the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device toward the receptacle”, as recited in independent claims 25,35 and 45, was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor. Upon performing a text search in the entire specification as originally filed, Examiner could not find the limitations of, “ a positioning assembly operatively coupled between the receptacle and the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device” and that of, “selectively return the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device toward the receptacle”.
Claims 25-54 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations of, “a positioning assembly operatively coupled between the receptacle and the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device” and the limitations of, “selectively return the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device toward the receptacle” as recited in claims 25,35 and 45 are undefined and it is unclear as to what the positioning assembly represents. At best, a charging device 114 including a flexible charging rod 113 and a charging member 115 are disclosed and shown in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0080]. Upon performing a text search in the entire specification as originally filed, Examiner could not find the limitations of, “a positioning assembly operatively coupled between the receptacle and the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device” and that of, “selectively return the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device toward the receptacle”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-28,30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang US 2018/0339600 A1.
Regarding claim 25: Kang at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3: A charging infrastructure(wireless charger 11)(see Fig. 2)(see ¶[0040]) comprising: a receptacle(construed as element 160 as robot arm with receptacles items 163,164,165 interpreted as a transfer module) configured to support at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(feeder module 130. Note-the feeder module 130 transfers power to a collector module, within an electric vehicle, to provide charge to the vehicle battery [0044]) and configured to be supported by a stationary support structure(support arm 161)(see [0041]-[0043]); the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) selectively maintainable by the receptacle(robot arm 160 with receptacle items 163,164,165); and a positioning assembly(not given any patentable weight absent a showing of proof in the original disclosure)(construed as (164,165)) operatively coupled between the receptacle and the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130)(see Fig. 2), the positioning assembly being configured to selectively deploy the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) from the receptacle, position the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) adjacent a selected target area at a desired charging location associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device(collector 210 of vehicle 1) for electromagnetic power transfer thereto(see Figs. 3-5), and selectively return(since elements 163 (movement in x- and y-planes, ¶[0044]),164(provides movement in z direction, ¶[0045]) and 165(provides rotation rotates the feeder module 130 so as to align the feeder module 130 and the collector module 210 at correct positions in forward direction ¶[0055]) the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) toward the receptacle following completion of an electromagnetic power transfer operation(note- Fig. 2 shows a robot arm allows for automatic movement of the receptacle in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (construed as collector module 210) mounted on the vehicle 1).
Accordingly claim 25 is anticipated.
Regarding claim 26, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 25. Kang further discloses, wherein the receptacle(combo 163,164,165) maintains the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) when the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device is not deployed(see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 27, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 25. Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly(not given any patentable weight absent a showing of proof in the original disclosure)(construed as (164,165)) automatically selectively deploys the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) from the receptacle and automatically selectively returns the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device toward the receptacle(note- Fig. 2 shows a robot arm which allows for automatic movement of the receptacle in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (construed as collector module 210) mounted on the vehicle 1; see ¶[0044]-¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 28, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 25. Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly(not given any patentable weight absent a showing of proof in the original disclosure)(construed as (164,165)) automatically directs the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device toward the selected target area(note-the horizontal transfer member 163 is disposed to enable horizontal movement on x and y-axes in a horizontal direction from the top end portion of the support part 161 and the vertical transfer member 164 transfers the feeder module 130 back and forth on the horizontal transfer member 163 in a top-bottom direction corresponding to the z-axis, thereby transferring the feeder module to be adjacent to the collector module 210,¶[0044]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 30, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 25. Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly robotically(via robot arm 160; see abstract, ¶[0040]-¶[0041],¶[0047]) manipulates the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130).
Regarding claim 31, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 30. Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly moves the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) in x-(via 163), y-(via 163), and z-(via 164) directions relative to the receptacle(see ¶[0043]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 32, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 31. Kang further discloses, wherein movement in the z-direction(via 164) selectively positions the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) into closer proximity to the electromagnetic power receiving device(210)(note- the vertical transfer member 164 transfers the feeder module 130 back and forth on the horizontal transfer member 163 in a top-bottom direction corresponding to the z-axis, thereby transferring the feeder module to be adjacent to the collector module 210,¶[0044]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 33, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 32. Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly positions(via 163 and 164)(see ¶[0044]-¶[0045]) the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) near the electromagnetic power receiving device(210).
Regarding claim 34, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 25. Kang further discloses, wherein the stationary support structure comprises at least one of a ceiling, garage ceiling, carport, service bay, boom, or post(support part 161 is a post by inspection of Fig. 2)(¶[0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29,35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang US 2018/0339600 A1 in view of Hunter et al., (Hunter) US 2013/0088194 A1.
Regarding claim 29, Kang discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 28. Kang does not expressly disclose the limitations of:
wherein the selected target area comprises an optically recognizable target.
Hunter teaches factual evidence of, wherein the selected target area comprises an optically recognizable target(via optical sensors 222)(note- Controller 220 is programmed to use drive motor 226 to move the carriage along the track from one charging position to another[…]. After achieving initial alignment with the receiver coil in the first vehicle, controller 220 with the aid of sensing circuits 222, that might include various optical and/or mechanical sensors, uses the coil positioning mechanism 228 to more precisely align transmitter coil 120 with receiver coil 240. The sensing circuits are used to optically or electrically detect the precise position of the receiver coil and to cause coil positioning mechanism 228 to physically and electrically align the two coils for optimum power transfer; see Hunter ¶[0015]).
Kang and Hunter are overhead power transfer system analogous art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kang and Hunter, by having, wherein the selected target area comprises an optically recognizable target, as recited, in order to physically and electrically align the two coils for optimum power transfer, as per the teachings of Hunter ([0015]).
Accordingly claim 29 would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 35 and 45: Kang at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3: A charging infrastructure(wireless charger 11)(see Fig. 2)(see ¶[0040]), comprising: a receptacle(construed as element 160 as robot arm with receptacles items 163,164,165 interpreted as a transfer module) configured to support at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) and configured to be supported by a stationary support structure(support arm 161)(see ¶[0041]-[0043]);the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) selectively maintainable by the receptacle(via elements 164,165)(¶[0044]-¶[0045]); and a positioning assembly(not given any patentable weight absent a showing of proof in the original disclosure)(construed as (163,164,165)) operatively coupled between the receptacle and the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130)(see Fig. 2), the positioning assembly(163,164,165)(see ¶[0043]-¶[0046]) being configured to selectively deploy the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) from the receptacle to any selected one of a plurality of desired charging locations respectively associated with a plurality of electromagnetic power receiving devices(210)(see ¶[0055]), position the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) adjacent the selected desired charging location for electromagnetic power transfer to the associated electromagnetic power receiving device(collector module 210 of associated vehicle), selectively return the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) toward the receptacle following completion of an electromagnetic power transfer operation(note-the horizontal transfer member 163 is disposed to enable horizontal movement on x and y-axes in a horizontal direction from the top end portion of the support part 161 and the vertical transfer member 164 transfers the feeder module 130 back and forth on the horizontal transfer member 163 in a top-bottom direction corresponding to the z-axis, thereby transferring the feeder module to be adjacent to the collector module 210,¶[0044]-[0045]),
Kang does not expressly disclose:
wherein the positioning assembly is configured to repeatedly deploy and recover the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device between successive electromagnetic power transfer operations performed at different desired charging locations, and wherein the positioning assembly is configured to repeatedly deploy the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device from the receptacle to different desired charging locations respectively associated with different electromagnetic power receiving devices.
However, Hunter discloses and shows in Fig. 1, factual evidence of, a plurality of vehicles (104) with a plurality of receiving wherein the positioning assembly(228)(see ¶[0015]) is configured to repeatedly deploy and recover the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(120) between successive electromagnetic power transfer operations performed at different desired charging locations, and wherein the positioning assembly(228) is configured to repeatedly(see ¶[0019]) deploy the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(120) from the receptacle to different desired charging locations(see ¶[0017]-¶[0019]).
Kang and Hunter are overhead power transfer system analogous art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kang and Hunter, by having, wherein the positioning assembly is configured to repeatedly deploy and recover the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device between successive electromagnetic power transfer operations performed at different desired charging locations, and wherein the positioning assembly is configured to repeatedly deploy the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device from the receptacle to different desired charging locations respectively associated with different electromagnetic power receiving devices, as recited, for the advantages of providing sequentially full charge to all the vehicles in the charging station, as per the teachings of Hunter (¶[0017]).
Accordingly claims 35 and 45 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 36, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 35. Hunter further teaches, wherein the plurality of electromagnetic power receiving devices(240) are respectively associated with different electric vehicles(104)([0014]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 37, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 35. Hunter further teaches, wherein the plurality of electromagnetic power receiving devices(240) are respectively associated with different robotic devices(not given any patentable weight absent a showing in the specification and/or drawings the limitations of, “ wherein the plurality of electromagnetic power receiving devices are respectively associated with different robotic devices different robotic devices”).
Regarding claim 38, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 35. Hunter further teaches, wherein the positioning assembly(228)(see Hunter ¶[0015]) selectively positions the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(120) adjacent different selected target areas corresponding to the different desired charging locations.
Regarding claim 39, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 38. Hunter further teaches, wherein the positioning assembly(228) successively services(by aligning the coils and thus maximizing the power transfer for a full charge; see ¶[0017]) the plurality of electromagnetic power receiving devices(240).
Regarding claim 40, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 35. Modified Kang further discloses, wherein the receptacle remains supported by the stationary support structure(161) while the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(feeding module 130) is deployed toward the selected desired charging location.
Regarding claim 41, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 35. Modified Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly(162,163,1624) automatically selectively deploys(via robot arm 160)(note- Fig. 2 shows a robot arm which allows for automatic movement of the receptacle in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (construed as collector module 210) mounted on the vehicle 1; see ¶[0044]-¶[0047]) the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) from the receptacle toward the selected desired charging location(via robot arm 160; see abstract, ¶[0040]-¶[0041],¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 42, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 41. Modified Kang further discloses, wherein the positioning assembly automatically selectively returns(via robot arm 160)(note- Fig. 2 shows a robot arm which allows for automatic movement of the receptacle in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (construed as collector module 210) mounted on the vehicle 1; see ¶[0044]-¶[0047]) the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) toward the receptacle following completion of an electromagnetic power transfer operation(see ¶[0044]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 43, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 35. Modified Kang further discloses, wherein different ones of the plurality of desired charging locations are located within a common structure(parking lot charging station)(see Kang; abstract, [0023],[0054],[0057],[0059]).
Regarding claim 44, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 43. Modified Kang further discloses, wherein the common structure is configured to accommodate a plurality of vehicles(obviously, the parking lot is necessarily can accommodate a plurality of vehicles, although one vehicle 1 is only shown). However Hunter shows in Fig. 1, wherein the common structure is configured to accommodate a plurality of vehicles (104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kang and Hunter to have, wherein the common structure is configured to accommodate a plurality of vehicles, for the advantages of providing fast charging power to multiple vehicles. The faster charging enables one to use a single charging unit to sequentially recharge each vehicle in the fleet of vehicles and still complete the job within a reasonable amount of time, e.g. while the vehicles are parked overnight. Rather than having to install a separate, individual charging station for each vehicle, this design enables the fleet owner to install one charging station that is moved from one vehicle to the next in an automated way, as per the teachings of Hunter ([0009]).
Regarding claim 46, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 45. Kang further teaches, wherein selectively deploying comprises automatically selectively deploying the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(120) (note-the horizontal transfer member 163 is disposed to enable horizontal movement on x and y-axes in a horizontal direction from the top end portion of the support part 161 and the vertical transfer member 164 transfers the feeder module 130 back and forth on the horizontal transfer member 163 in a top-bottom direction corresponding to the z-axis, thereby transferring the feeder module to be adjacent to the collector module 210 and Fig. 2 shows a robot arm which allows for automatic movement of the receptacle in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (construed as collector module 210) mounted on the vehicle 1,¶[0044]-¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 47, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 45. Modified Kang further teaches, wherein positioning comprises robotically(via robot arm 160; see abstract, ¶[0040]-¶[0041],¶[0047]) manipulating the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) into proximity of electromagnetic power receiving devices(210)(240 as modified by Hunter)(note- the vertical transfer member 164 transfers the feeder module 130 back and forth on the horizontal transfer member 163 in a top-bottom direction corresponding to the z-axis, thereby transferring the feeder module to be adjacent to the collector module 210,¶[0044]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 48, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 47. Modified Kang further teaches, wherein robotically manipulating comprises moving the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) in x-, y-, and z-directions (x-(via 163), y-(via 163), and z-(via 164); see ¶[0043]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 49, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 47. Modified Kang further teaches, wherein moving in the z-direction (via 164) positions the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) into closer proximity to the at least one electromagnetic power receiving device(210)(note- the vertical transfer member 164 transfers the feeder module 130 back and forth on the horizontal transfer member 163 in a top-bottom direction corresponding to the z-axis, thereby transferring the feeder module to be adjacent to the collector module 210,¶[0044]-¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 50, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 47. Modified Kang further teaches, further comprising positioning(via 163 and 164)(see ¶[0044]-¶[0045]) the at least one electromagnetic power transmitting device(130) near the at least one electromagnetic power receiving device(210).
Regarding claim 51, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 45. Hunter further discloses, wherein the selected target area comprises an optically recognizable target(via optical sensors 222)(note- Controller 220 is programmed to use drive motor 226 to move the carriage along the track from one charging position to another[…]. After achieving initial alignment with the receiver coil in the first vehicle, controller 220 with the aid of sensing circuits 222, that might include various optical and/or mechanical sensors, uses the coil positioning mechanism 228 to more precisely align transmitter coil 120 with receiver coil 240. The sensing circuits are used to optically or electrically detect the precise position of the receiver coil and to cause coil positioning mechanism 228 to physically and electrically align the two coils for optimum power transfer; see Hunter ¶[0015]).
Regarding claim 52, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 45. Modified Kang further discloses, wherein the different desired charging locations are located within a common structure(parking lot charging station)(see Kang; abstract, [0023],[0054],[0057],[0059]).
Regarding claim 53, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 52. Hunter further discloses, wherein the common structure is configured to accommodate a plurality of electric vehicles(104)(see Hunter; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 54, Kang in view of Hunter discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 52. Hunter further discloses, wherein the common structure is configured to accommodate a plurality of robotic devices(not given any patentable features absent of showing a plurality of robotic devices in any of the specification and drawings).
(note- Fig. 2 shows a robot arm which allows for automatic movement of the receptacle in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (construed as collector module 210) mounted on the vehicle 1. Furthermore, since the Kang reference is directed to a parking lot of a charging station(see [0054]), inherently there is a plurality of other vehicles although not shown).
Citation of Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2018/204964 A1 to Smolenaers discloses a vehicle charging station.
USPAT 9,167,732 B2 to Iwanaga et al., (Iwanaga) discloses a vehicle-mounting charging apparatus and vehicle mounted therewith.
USPAT 8,975,864 to Kim discloses a wireless charging system for an electric vehicle and charging method for same.
US 2019/0001830 A1 to Cao et al., (Cao) discloses method and system for auto-charging.
US 2016/0339791 A1 to Sim discloses an autonomous charging for electric vehicles.
USPAT 10,532,663 B2 to Ricci discloses general state of the art regarding electric vehicle overhead charging system and method of use.
GB 2586652 A to Freeling-Wilkinson discloses electric vehicle charging system and methods.
USPAT 9,902,276 B2 to Bianco et al., (Bianco) discloses an overhead electric vehicle charging system adapted for use in a parking garage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 July 29, 2026