DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16, 18-20, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2021 to Scherich et al. (Scherich).
Regarding claim 1, Scherich teaches a vascular access system (36, Fig. 1C) comprising an adapter (adapter of 38), a body (body of 38 between 40 and 42) having first (42) and second (40) ends, a primary lumen (extending downward from 48), a primary lumen port (at the end of tubing opposite 54), a secondary lumen (housing 16), a secondary lumen port (14), and a mid-line lumen (22) with a retracted position (Fig. 2A) and an extended position (Figs. 1C-1D). Regarding claim 15, Scherich teaches a flow path (through 12 to adapter 54 which is open to the primary catheter) through the secondary lumen through the primary catheter is open in a retracted position of the mid-line catheter (Fig. 1A) and closed (by 58) in the retracted position (Fig. 1E).
Regarding claim 4, Scherich teaches a side port (52) and a joining connector (small diameter portion of port 52 in contact with tubing 50).
Regarding claim 5, Scherich teaches intermediate tubing (50).
Regarding claim 7, Scherich teaches that the joining connector may be permanently connected to the first and second lumens.
Regarding claim 8, Scherich teaches that the joining connector may be permanently connected to the first and second lumens and the secondary lumen (16) are joined to the joining connector (50) by a connector (54).
Regarding claim 9, Scherich teaches that the joining connector (small diameter portion of 52 in contact with tubing 50) is needleless.
Regarding claim 10, as shown in Fig. 1C, Sherich teaches that the longitudinal axis of the secondary lumen (16) is configured to be coaxially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the intermediate tubing (50) and the side port (52).
Regarding claim 11, Scherich teaches that the joining connector (small diameter portion of 52 in contact with tubing 50) is needleless, as is a second connector (14).
Regarding claim 12, Scherich teaches a blood collection device (32, see paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 13, in an alternate interpretation, Scherich teaches a joining connector (54) and a connector (50).
Regarding claim 14, inasmuch as the first catheter is a flexible element, the first catheter is configured to be at least partially aligned in parallel with the secondary lumen (16)
Regarding claim 16, Scherich teaches that the primary lumen and the secondary lumen are in fluid communication via a joining connector (12) comprising a seal (inner diameter 56 of the distal connector 12).
Regarding claim 18, Scherich teaches a tapered portion (58 may be wedge shaped, see paragraph 50) engaging the seal.
Regarding claim 19, Scherich teaches a joining connector (12) and a seal (58).
Regarding claim 20, Scherich teaches a connector (12) with the seal actuator (58) therein which moves to close a path through the secondary lumen to the primary catheter.
Regarding claim 22, Scherich teaches an opening (into 54) at the distal end of the primary catheter.
Regarding claim 24, Scherich teaches attaching a fluid source (32, see paragraph 47), moving the mid-line lumen to the extended position (as shown in Fig. 1C), and delivering the fluid through the mid-line lumen (see again paragraph 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherich.
Regarding claim 6, Scherich teaches the limitations of claim 4 from which claim 6 depends as discussed above but does not teach an integrally formed joining connector. It has been held that merely making elements integral does not confer a patentable distinction on the claimed invention relative to prior art which is separate. See MPEP 2144.04 V. B. Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time of the effective filing date of the application to provide the joining connector integrally with the adapter body of Scherich.
Regarding claim 23, Scherich teaches attaching a blood collection device (32) and moving the mid-line lumen to the extended position (as shown in Fig. 1C). Those of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that collected blood would be removed for testing in a medical environment. Thus, one of ordinary skill would understand Scherich to imply removing the collection device from the secondary lumen port.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherich in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0316346 to Burkholz et al. (Burkholz).
Regarding claim 2, Scherich teaches the limitations of claim 1 from which claim 2 depends, as discussed above. Scherich does not teach an advancement member. Burkholz teaches another catheter apparatus generally, and particularly teaches an advancement member (outer section of 107, see Figs. 6A-6B) graspable to move a mid-line lumen (102) to an extended position (paragraph 109). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use an advancement member as taught by Burkholz with the mid-line lumen of Scherich in order to allow a user to move the mid-line lumen manually.
Regarding claim 21, Scherich teaches the limitations of claim 1 from which claim 21 depends, as discussed above. Scherich does not teach a slit. Burkholz teaches a slit (124) having an open position and a closed position depending on the curvature of the catheter which allows for fluid passage depending on the curvature of the catheter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a slit as taught by Burkholz to the catheter of Scherich in order to allow fluid passage depending on a current curvature of the catheter.
Regarding claim 3, Burkholz teaches that the graspable portion of the advancement member is entirely outside the secondary lumen (see Fig. 6A, noting that the portion of 107 referred to as the advancement member is simply the graspable tabs at the outer end thereof).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherich in view of Cao et al. (Cao).
Regarding claim 17, Scherich teaches the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, as well as first and second portions of the mid-line lumen (arbitrarily chosen). Scherich does not teach that the material and stiffness differ between the first and second dportions. Cao teaches another vascular access system generally, and particularly teaches that a lumen (10) with a first material (12, paragraph 19) and a second portion with a second material (10, see paragraphs 18-19) which is stiffer than the first. Cao teaches that this provides varying degrees of flexibility and kink resistance. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use distinct materials as taught by Cao in the access system of Scherich in order to provide varying flexibility and kink resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 3 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated over Burkholz have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the ground(s) of rejection made in view of Scherich is clarified and expanded.
With respect to applicant’s arguments regarding the Burkholz reference, the examiner is no longer relying on this reference as anticipatory. The argued limitations are taught instead by Scherich as discussed below.
With respect to applicant’s argument that an open and closed passage is not shown by Scherich, the examiner disagrees. In Fig. 1C, a connector (12) is shown attached to the adapter (54) so as to be in fluid communication therewith. In the configuration shown in Fig. 1E then, the mid-line lumen is extended, and the terminal flange (58) thereof blocks fluid communication between the secondary lumen (16) and the primary catheter by closing the concentric passage surrounding the mid-line lumen. As such, fluid communication of the secondary lumen with the primary is closed. Prior to advancement however, such as is shown in Fig. 1A, the flange (58) is not closing the passage and the interior of the secondary lumen (16) may communicate via the adapter (54) with the interior of the primary catheter, keeping in mind that the connector 12 is attached to the adapter 54. Accordingly, the examiner holds that claim 1 is anticipated by Scherich.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 12 March 2026