Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of an invention in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walder et al. (US Patent No. 5064415 A, herein, Walder) in view of Bickoff et al. (US Pub No. 20090275815 A1, herein, Bickoff).
Regarding claim 1, Walder discloses an obturator assembly comprising:
a hub (12 – Fig.1) forming a central passage (44 – Fig.1); and
an obturator (32 – Fig.1) movably positionable within a lumen (46 – Fig.1) of a device operatively coupled to the hub (Fig.1), the obturator movable within the lumen (“manipulating and feeding the obturator rod to and through the lumen in catheter in order to occlude completely lumen” – Col. 4, lines 59-63) between a first position (Fig.1) and a second position (Fig.2), the obturator comprising:
a distal end having a tip portion and an opposing proximal end (See Annotated Fig.1 below); and wherein, with the obturator in the first position, the distal end limits fluid flow through the lumen (Fig.2, “obturator rod in its in-place position occluding the lumen of the catheter” – Col.4, lines 2-3) and, with the obturator in the second position, the distal end provides fluid flow through the lumen (Fig.1, “withdrawal of the obturator rod, as desired, for feeding fluid through the catheter” – Col.3, lines 66-67).
However, Walder does not expressly disclose wherein the obturator comprises a sensor at the distal end of the obturator.
Bickoff teaches a sensor (60 – Fig.4) at the distal end of an obturator (40a – Fig.3).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the obturator of Walder to comprise a sensor at the distal end of the obturator as taught by Bickoff to provide the obturator of Walder with an analyte sensor for optimal treatment of the patient.
Regarding claim 2, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, but Walder does not expressly disclose the obturator further comprising a locking collar operatively coupled to the hub, the locking collar configurable in a locked configuration to prevent movement of the obturator within the lumen and in an unlocked configuration to allow movement of the obturator within the lumen.
However, Walder teaches another embodiment of an obturator assembly comprising a locking collar (108 – Fig.8), the locking collar configurable in a locked configuration to prevent movement of the obturator within the lumen and in an unlocked configuration to allow movement of the obturator within the lumen (“allow moving the distal end of rod forward to occlude, or rearward to allow fluid passage” – Col.6, lines 47-48).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the obturator of Walder to comprise a locking collar as taught by the second embodiment of Walder and to couple it directly to the hub of the first embodiment of Walder to allow controlled movement of the obturator within the lumen for optimal control of the obturator.
Regarding claim 3, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein, in the locked configuration, the locking collar is configured to prevent movement of the obturator within the lumen with the obturator in the first position or the second position (“allow moving the distal end of rod forward to occlude, or rearward to allow fluid passage” – Col.6, lines 47-48).
Regarding claim 4, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein the locking collar comprises a tab (112 – Fig.10) configured to interfere with a depression formed in the obturator with the locking collar in the locked configuration (Figs.10-11, Col. 6, lines 31-48).
Regarding claim 5, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, but Walder, as modified, does not expressly disclose the obturator further comprising electronic circuitry in the locking collar, the electronic circuitry coupled in signal communication with the sensor.
Bickoff teaches an electronic circuitry (50 – Fig.9) in a hub, the electronic circuitry coupled in signal communication with a sensor (“sensor cable transmit electrical signals generated by the sensor assembly” – Para [0075]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the locking collar of Walder, as modified, to comprise an electronic circuitry and have it coupled in signal communication with the sensor as taught by Bickoff since electronic circuitry coupled with sensors is well-known for processing signals.
Regarding claim 6, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, but Walder, as modified, does not expressly disclose the obturator further comprising an electrical contact positioned within the obturator, the electrical contact electrically coupled to the sensor; and
an electrical lead wire extending through the obturator electrically coupling the electrical contact with the electronic circuitry.
Bickoff teaches an electrical contact positioned within a hub (65 – Fig.9), the electrical contact electrically coupled to a sensor (Para [0080]); and
an electrical lead wire (62 – Para [0080]) extending through the obturator electrically coupling the electrical contact with an electronic circuitry (50 – Fig.9)(“facilitating connection to a single-sided sensor cable” – Para [0080]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the obturator of Walder, as modified, to comprise an electrical contact position within coupled to the sensor and an electrical wire coupling the electrical contact with the electronic circuitry as taught by Bickoff in order to transmit signals generated by the sensor to the circuitry for processing, as sensors inherently require electrical connections to communicate sensed data.
Regarding claim 8, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, but Walder, as modified, does not expressly disclose wherein the electronic circuitry comprises a connection port for connecting the electronic circuitry with remote reception circuitry.
Bickoff teaches electronic circuitry comprising (171 – Fig.18) a connection port (172, 176 – Fig.18) for connecting the electronic circuitry with remote reception circuitry (Para [0090]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the electronic circuitry of Walder, as modified, to comprise a connection port as taught by Bickoff since connection ports are well-known to be routinely used to facilitate electrical data between devices.
Regarding claim 9, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein the sensor is configured to measure one or more of the following: a temperature within a body lumen (“temperature sensor” – Para [0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein obturator has a central axis extending between the distal end and the proximal end of the obturator, at least a portion of the distal end having one of a symmetrical profile with respect to the central axis or an asymmetrical profile with respect to the central axis (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein the hub comprises a small-bore connector configured to couple the hub to a tube (42 – Fig.1, Col. 4, lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 12, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein, with the obturator in the first position, the tip portion is positioned within the lumen to prevent fluid flow into the lumen (Fig.2, “manipulating and feeding the obturator rod to and through the lumen in catheter in order to occlude completely lumen” – Col. 4, lines 59-63) and, with the obturator in the second position, the tip portion extends from the lumen in a distal direction to allow fluid flow into the lumen (Fig.1, “withdrawal of the obturator rod, as desired, for feeding fluid through the catheter” – Col.3, lines 66-67).
Regarding claim 13, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein the device comprises a small-bore connector (42 – Fig.1) and the proximal end of the obturator forms a channel (49 – Fig.1) in fluid communication with the lumen (Col.4, lines 47-54), the obturator assembly further comprising a seal positioned about an outer periphery of the proximal end of the obturator and contacting an inner surface of the small-bore connector at a proximal end of the device (48, 52, 54 – Fig.1, Col.4, lines 47-56).
Regarding claim 14, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, wherein the seal is positioned within an annular slot formed in the inner surface of the small-bore connector (12 – Fig.6).
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walder in view of Bickoff as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Spotnitz at al. (US Pub No. 20120097174 A1, herein, Spotnitz) .
Regarding claim 7, Walder, as modified, discloses an obturator assembly as set forth above, but Walder, as modified, does not expressly disclose the assembly further comprising communication circuitry in the locking collar, the communication circuitry coupled in signal communication with the electronic circuitry for wireless communication with remote reception circuitry.
Spotnitz teaches an assembly comprising communication circuitry (632, Fig.6A) in a hub, the communication circuitry coupled in signal communication with the electronic circuitry (380 – Fig.3A, “One or more sensor wires traverse the stem from the sensor suite to a device end of the obturator to communicate measurements from the sensor” – Para [0096]) for wireless communication with remote reception circuitry (“wireless data transmission is use” – Para [0096]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the locking collar of Walder, as modified, to comprise communication circuitry coupled in signal communication with the electronic circuitry for wireless communication with remote reception circuitry as taught by Spotnitz since this is a well-known process for being used to transmit data from local circuitry to remote devices.
Conclusion
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783