This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/29/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-16 & 18-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2022107518904, filed on 6/29/2022.
Response to Amendment
Claims 3, 11 & 17 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 6, 9, 14, 15 & 20 have been amended.
Rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 16 & 18 under 35 USC 102 based on Zhi et al. (US 7791534)(herein after “Zhi”) have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 9 & 15. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson et al. (US 2007/0024437)(herein after “Nelson”) have been introduced.
Rejections of claims 5, 13, 19 under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Rischar et al. (US 7656751)(herein after “Rischar”) have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 9 & 15. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson and further in view of Rischar have been introduced.
Rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Lin et al. (CN 116647297)(herein after “Lin”) have been withdrawn based on amendments to claim 1. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson and further in view of Lin have been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/29/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10, 12, 15, 16 & 18 under 35 USC 102 and claims 5, 13 & 19 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made to these claims under 35 USC 103 in view of Nelson.
Regarding claims 1, 9 & 15, amendments to these claims now incorporate limitations from claims 3, 11 & 17 which have been cancelled but were previously rejected under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson. Therefore, rejections of claims 1, 9 & 15 under 35 USC 102 based on Zhi are withdrawn, but rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson are introduced.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 16 & 18, these claims are dependent on claims 1, 9 or 15 which are now rejected under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson. Therefore, rejections of claims 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 16 & 18 under 35 USC 102 based on Zhi are withdrawn, but rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson are introduced.
Regarding claims 5, 13 & 19, these claims are dependent on claims 1, 9 or 15 which are now rejected under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson. Therefore, rejections of claims 5, 13 & 19 under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Rischar are withdrawn, but rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson and further in view of Rischar are introduced.
Regarding claim 7, this claim is dependent on claims 1 which is now rejected under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson. Therefore, rejection of claims 7 under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Lin are withdrawn, but rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson and further in view of Lin are introduced.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits that claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-16 & 18-20 are patentable based on amendments to claims 1, 9 & 15 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 15 or 19. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claims 1, 9 & 15, applicant argues that Zhi does not disclose the calculation of the difference between the first RTC time and the first GPS time, as well as the difference between the second RTC time and the second GPS time, and that Zhi does not disclose the method of determining the unit drift per second of the system to be calibrated. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner first notes that the claim language of amended claims 1, 9 & 15 does not recite that the method, electronic device implementing the method, or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium implementing the method, consist of calculating a difference between a first RTC time and a first GPS time or a difference between a second RTC time and a second GPS time, but merely recites limitations wherein the method, an electronic device implementing the method, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium implementing the method, comprise determining a first observation error between a first reference time and a first system time and determining a second observation error between a second reference time and a second system time, and constructing a first expression and a second expression and solving the first expression and the second expression to obtain a unit drift per second. Zhi discloses a method, an electronic device implementing the method, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium implementing the method, comprising a means for determining a first and second observation and constructing first and second expressions that can be used to solve for and obtain a drift per second. Zhi discloses comparing differences between an RTC time difference and a GPS time difference (see Fig 10 & col 12, lines 41-46), and comparing these time differences comprises a means for determining first and second observation errors. Fig 3 & col 7, lines 37-39 of Zhi disclose that a time drift estimator multiplies the RTC drift rate by an elapsed time to determine a time drift. Col 6, lines 4-21 of Zhi disclose that an RTC time fraction, the RTC time data and the RTC time drift may be used for calibrating the RTC time data at turn on of a GPS receiver (i.e. at the second RTC time). Examiner has shown in the mappings for amended claims 1, 9 & 15 how the above information discloses a method, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium implementing the method, comprising a means for constructing first and second expressions that can be solved and used to obtain a unit drift per second, as claimed in amended claims 1, 9 & 15.
Applicant argues that Nelson cannot be relied upon to remedy the deficiencies of Zhi because the focus of Nelson is on an RF tracking system and not on time calibration or drift correction and Nelson does not disclose any specific methods for observing or correcting for drift, nor does Nelson describe the process of constructing mathematical expressions to determine the drift rate per second or mention how to determine or calibrate the drift rate of the RTC based on observed errors, or provide specific technical steps to observe or measure drift, or explain how to combine drift with fixed variables and observation errors to formulate mathematical expressions to solve for a drift rate per second. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that Nelson is only relied on to teach that a drift per second may be introduced by a clock crystal oscillator, while Zhi is used to disclose of time calibration and drift correction and methods for observing and correcting for drift, and describing a process of constructing mathematical expressions to determine the drift rate per second or mention how to determine or calibrate the drift rate of the RTC based on observed errors, and to provide specific technical steps to observe or measure drift, explain how to combine this drift with fixed variables and observation errors to formulate mathematical expressions to solve for a drift rate per second. Nelson teaches that a drift per second can be introduced by a clock crystal oscillator (see [0186] of Nelson) which is the only deficiency of Zhi in disclosing all the claim limitations of claims 1, 9 & 15. Nelson provides analogous art (see MPEP §2141.01(a)) that is reasonably pertinent to the limitation deficiency of Zhi in amended claims 1, 9 & 15 and thus combining Zhi and Nelson disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 9 & 15.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejections of claims 1, 9 & 15 under 35 USC 102 base on Zhi, but introduces rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 16 & 18, applicant argues that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made above to claims 1, 9 and 15 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 9 or 15. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above withdraws rejections of claims 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 16 & 18 under 35 USC 102 based on Zhi, but introduces rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson.
Regarding claims 5, 13 & 19, applicant argues that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made above to claims 1, 9 and 15 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 9 or 15. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above withdraws rejections of claims 5, 13 & 19 under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Rischar, but introduces rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson, and further in view of Rischar.
Regarding claim 7, applicant argues that this claim is patentable based on amendments and arguments made above to claim 1 and due to its dependency on claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above withdraws rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Lin, but introduces rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 based on Zhi in view of Nelson, and further in view of Lin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16, 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhi et al. (US 7791534)(herein after “Zhi”) in view of Nelson et al. (US 2007/0024437)(herein after “Nelson”).
Regarding claims 1, 9 & 15, Zhi discloses a time calibration method (Col 3, lines 31-38 discloses a method for calibrating a real time clock (RTC).) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (Fig 1 & col 4, lines 33-43, col 7, lines 52-57 and col 11, lines 57-63 disclose a signal navigation processor that has memory for storing codes of instructions for executing error estimation.), and an electronic device (Fig 1 & col 4, lines 33-43 disclose a GPS receiver.), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig 1 & col 4, lines 33-43 disclose a signal navigation processor.); and
a memory in communication connection with the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor, the instructions when executed by the at least one processor (Fig 1 & col 4, lines 33-43 disclose hot start memory in communication connection with the signal navigation processor. Col 7, lines 52-57 and col 11, lines 57-63 disclose that the signal navigation processor also has memory for storing codes of instructions for executing error estimation.), cause the at least one processor to implement a method, or wherein the computer instructions of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium cause a computer to implement a method, or wherein the time calibration method is, comprising:
determining a first reference time point and a first system time point, wherein the first reference time point and the first system time point are obtained by respectively observing time values of a reference time point system and a system to be calibrated at a first moment (Fig 3 & col 7, lines 6-16 disclose a drift rate calculator 42 that determines a first RTC time (i.e. a first system time point) and a first corresponding GPS time (i.e. a first reference time point) obtained by observing the first RTC time and the first corresponding GPS time at an RTC time tick (i.e. at a first moment). Col 3, lines 12-20 disclose that the observing of the first RTC time may be for a signal navigation processor including an always-on RTC clock (i.e. a system to be calibrated). Col 4, lines 22-32 disclose that the observing of the first corresponding GPS time may be for global navigation satellite system (i.e. a reference time point system).);
determining a second reference time point and a second system time point, wherein the second reference time point and the second system time point are obtained by respectively observing time values of the reference time point system and the system to be calibrated at a second moment (Fig 3 & col 7, lines 6-16 disclose a drift rate calculator 42 that determines a second RTC time (i.e. a second system time point) and a second corresponding GPS time (i.e. a second reference time point) obtained by observing the second RTC time and the second corresponding GPS time at a later RTC time tick (i.e. at a second moment). Col 3, lines 12-20 disclose that the observing of the second RTC time may be for a signal navigation processor including an always-on RTC clock (i.e. a system to be calibrated). Col 4, lines 22-32 disclose that the observing of the second corresponding GPS time may be for global navigation satellite system (i.e. a reference time point system).);
determining a first observation error between the first reference time point and the first system time point, and a second observation error between the second reference time point and the second system time point (Col 7, lines 18-22 disclose that the drift calculator calculates a difference between the first and second RTC times and a difference between the first and second corresponding GPS times and uses the two differences for determining an RTC drift rate. Fig 10 & col 12, lines 41-46 disclose that that the first and second RTC times and first and second corresponding GPS times are compared to compute the RTC drift rate. By comparing the difference in the first and second RTC times to the difference in the first and second corresponding GPS times, a first observation error between the first RTC time and the first corresponding GPS time and a second observation error between the second RTC time and the second corresponding GPS time are determined and used to calculate the RTC drift rate based on the first RTC time, the second RTC time, the first observation error, and the second observation error. To demonstrate, let TR1 = the first RTC time, TR2 = the second RTC time, TDR = (TR1 – TR2) (this represents a time difference for the RTC clock between the first and second time ticks), TG1 = the first corresponding GPS time, TG2 = the second corresponding GPS time and TGG = TG1 – TG2 (this represents time difference for the GPS signal between the first and second time ticks). Comparing these differences (i.e. taking the difference between the RTC time difference and the GPS time difference) results in:
TDR – TDG = (TR1 – TR2) – (TG1 – TG2) = (TR1 – TG1) – (TR2 – TG2) = OBE1 – OBE2
where OBE1 represents a first observation error between the first RTC time and the first corresponding GPS time and OBE2 represents a second observation error between the second RTC time and the second corresponding GPS time. Thus disclosed is determining a first observation error between the first reference time point and the first system time point, and a second observation error between the second reference time point and the second system time point which is used to calculate a drift rate.);
constructing a first expression based on the first system time point, a first drift variable, a fixed variable, and the first observation error, wherein the first drift variable is a drift per second introduced by the system to be calibrated in a positioning process (Col 7, lines 18-22 disclose the RTC drift rate calculator calculates the drift rate based on the difference between the first and second RTC times and the difference between the first and second corresponding GPS times. Fig 10 & col 12, lines 41-46 disclose that that the first and second RTC times and first and second corresponding GPS times are compared to compute the RTC drift rate. Fig 3 & col 7, lines 37-39 disclose that a time drift estimator multiplies the RTC drift rate by an elapsed time to determine a time drift. Col 6, lines 4-21 disclose that an RTC time fraction, the RTC time data and the RTC time drift may be used for calibrating the RTC time data at turn on of a GPS receiver (i.e. at the second RTC time). Based on the variable definitions discussed in claim 1, a first expression based on the first RTC time (i.e. first system time point), a first drift rate variable (DR), a RTC time fraction (i.e. a fixed variable that will be denoted as TF) and the first observation error can be written as DR*TR1 + TF = OBE1. Col 1, lines 13-17 discloses that the RTC represents a Real Time Clock that is calibrated for determining of fix of GPS positioning. Col 2, lines 41-45 discloses that real time clocks have large time drift rates. Thus the RTC clock drift rate variable DR represents a drift per second introduced by the real time clock of the system to be calibrated in a positioning process.);
constructing a second expression based on the second system time point, the first drift variable, the fixed variable, and the second observation error (Col 7, lines 18-22 disclose the RTC drift rate calculator calculates the drift rate based on the difference between the first and second RTC times and the difference between the first and second corresponding GPS times. Fig 10 & col 12, lines 41-46 disclose that that the first and second RTC times and first and second corresponding GPS times are compared to compute the RTC drift rate. Fig 3 & col 7, lines 37-39 disclose that a time drift estimator multiplies the RTC drift rate by an elapsed time to determine a time drift. Col 6, lines 4-21 disclose that an RTC time fraction, the RTC time data and the RTC time drift may be used for calibrating the RTC time data at turn on of a GPS receiver (i.e. at the second RTC time). Based on the variable definitions discussed in claim 1, a second expression based on the second RTC time (i.e. second system time point), the first drift rate variable, the RTC time fraction TF (i.e. the fixed variable) and the second observation error can be written as DR*TR2 + TF = OBE2.); and
solving the first expression and the second expression to obtain the unit drift per second (Fig 10 & col 12, lines 41-46 disclose that that the first and second RTC times and first and second corresponding GPS times are compared to compute the RTC drift rate. Claim 1 demonstrates that taking the difference between the RTC time differences and the corresponding GPS time differences is equivalent to taking the difference between the first and second expressions above to solve for the drift rate DR:
(DR*TR1 + TF = OBE1) – (DR*TR2 + TF = OBE2) [Wingdings font/0xE0] DR*( TR1 - TR2) = OBE1 – OBE2
[Wingdings font/0xE0] DR = (OBE1 – OBE2)/( TR1 - TR2).
Thus, solving the first and second expressions obtains the RTC Drift rate DR.); and
calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the unit drift per second (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 5-10 discloses that the RTC time drift is used to calibrate the RTC time.).
Zhi fails to disclose wherein the drift per second is introduced by a clock crystal oscillator.
However, Nelson teaches wherein the drift per second is introduced by a clock crystal oscillator ([0186] discloses a real time clock driven by a crystal oscillator that introduces some degree of drift.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time calibration method, or an electronic device implementing a method, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with instructions to cause a computer to implement a method, for calibrating a real time clock creating drift, as disclosed by Zhi, wherein the drift is introduced by a clock crystal oscillator, as taught by Nelson. The motivation to do so would be to have a method, or an electronic device implementing a method, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with instructions to cause a computer to implement a method, for determining and calibrating for drift in a real time clock that is driven by a crystal oscillator in order to insure that electronic tags incorporating such real time clocks remain synchronized with a network and transmit within required receiving windows at the network.
Regarding claim 2, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 1.
Zhi discloses wherein calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the unit drift per second comprises: acquiring a target duration between historical system time point and current system time point, wherein the historical system time point is system time point corresponding to historical calibration of the system to be calibrated (Fig 2, Fig 10 & col 12, lines 47-67 and col 13, lines 1-10 disclose determining an elapsed power down time between a last RTC time before a GPS receiver was turned off (i.e. a historical system time point) and a current RTC time (i.e. a current system time point), wherein the last RTC time before the GPS receiver was turned off represents an RTC time that was previously calibrated (i.e. historically calibrated) in step 208.);
determining target compensation time based on the unit drift per second and the target duration (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 3-5 disclose determining a time drift (i.e. a target compensation time) based on the RTC drift rate and the power down time.); and
calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the target compensation time (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 5-8 disclose calibrating the RTC time based on the RTC drift time.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 2.
Zhi discloses wherein determining the target compensation time based on the unit drift per second and the target duration comprises: determining the target compensation time based on a product of the unit drift per second and the target duration (Fig 3 & col 7, lines 37-39 disclose that a time drift estimator multiplies the RTC drift rate by an elapsed time (i.e. a target duration) to determine a time drift (i.e. a target compensation time).).
Regarding claim 6, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 1.
Zhi discloses wherein the fixed variable is used for expressing a time overhead introduced during observation of the time of the reference time point system or the time value of the system to be calibrated (Fig 2B & col 6, lines 52-64 disclose that the RTC time fraction (i.e. the fixed variable) is used as a time difference (i.e. a time overhead) between the GPS time (i.e. reference time point) at an RTC tick time and a modulo GPS time.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 1.
Zhi discloses wherein the first moment and the second moment are moments separated by preset time (Fig 2B & col 6, lines 52-55 disclose that the RTC time ticks (i.e. the first and second moments) are separated by preset intervals of 1 ms. Col 3, lines 31-34 disclose that the RTC time has increments of a certain time period based on the on/off time of the GNSS receiver. Thus, the first RTC time and second RTC time would be separated by a preset multiple of 1ms based on the on/off time of the GNSS receiver.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 9.
Zhi discloses wherein the method comprises: acquiring a target duration between historical system time point and current system time point, wherein the historical system time point is system time point corresponding to historical calibration of the system to be calibrated (Fig 2, Fig 10 & col 12, lines 47-67 and col 13, lines 1-10 disclose determining an elapsed power down time between a last RTC time before a GPS receiver was turned off (i.e. a historical system time point) and a current RTC time (i.e. a current system time point), wherein the last RTC time before the GPS receiver was turned off represents an RTC time that was previously calibrated (i.e. historically calibrated) in step 208.);
determining target compensation time based on the unit drift per second and the target duration (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 3-5 disclose determining a time drift (i.e. a target compensation time) based on the RTC drift rate and the power down time.); and
calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the target compensation time (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 5-8 disclose calibrating the RTC time based on the RTC drift time.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 10.
Zhi discloses wherein the method comprises: determining the target compensation time based on a product of the unit drift per second and the target duration (Fig 3 & col 7, lines 37-39 disclose that a time drift estimator multiplies the RTC drift rate by an elapsed time (i.e. a target duration) to determine a time drift (i.e. a target compensation time).).
Regarding claim 14, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the electronic device as claimed in claim 9.
Zhi discloses wherein the fixed variable is used for expressing a time overhead introduced during observation of the time of a reference time point system or the time value of the system to be calibrated (Fig 2B & col 6, lines 52-64 disclose that the RTC time fraction (i.e. the fixed variable) is used as a time difference (i.e. a time overhead) between the GPS time (i.e. reference time point) at an RTC tick time and a modulo GPS time.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as claimed in claim 15.
Zhi discloses wherein the method comprises: acquiring a target duration between historical system time point and current system time point, wherein the historical system time point is system time point corresponding to historical calibration of the system to be calibrated (Fig 2, Fig 10 & col 12, lines 47-67 and col 13, lines 1-10 disclose determining an elapsed power down time between a last RTC time before a GPS receiver was turned off (i.e. a historical system time point) and a current RTC time (i.e. a current system time point), wherein the last RTC time before the GPS receiver was turned off represents an RTC time that was previously calibrated (i.e. historically calibrated) in step 208.);
determining target compensation time based on the unit drift per second and the target duration (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 3-5 disclose determining a time drift (i.e. a target compensation time) based on the RTC drift rate and the power down time.); and
calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the target compensation time (Fig 10 & col 13, lines 5-8 disclose calibrating the RTC time based on the RTC drift time.).
Regarding claim 18, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as claimed in claim 16.
Zhi discloses wherein the method comprises: determining the target compensation time based on a product of the unit drift per second and the target duration (Fig 3 & col 7, lines 37-39 disclose that a time drift estimator multiplies the RTC drift rate by an elapsed time (i.e. a target duration) to determine a time drift (i.e. a target compensation time).).
Regarding claim 20, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as claimed in claim 15.
Zhi discloses wherein the fixed variable is used for expressing a time overhead introduced during observation of the time of the reference time point system or the time value of the system to be calibrated (Fig 2B & col 6, lines 52-64 disclose that the RTC time fraction (i.e. the fixed variable) is used as a time difference (i.e. a time overhead) between the GPS time (i.e. reference time point) at an RTC tick time and a modulo GPS time.).
Claims 5, 13 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhi et al. (US 7791534)(herein after “Zhi”) in view of Nelson et al. (US 2007/0024437)(herein after “Nelson”), as applied to claims 2, 10 & 16 respectively, and further in view of Rischar et al. (US 7656751)(herein after “Rischar”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 2.
Zhi fails to disclose wherein calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the target compensation time comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated.
However, Rischar further teaches wherein calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the target compensation time comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated (Fig 12 & col 16, lines 42-60 disclose performing calibration of the timestamp for a local clock to provide a compensated timestamp by summing a received timestamp (i.e. the time value of the system to be calibrated) with an offset term (DestOffset – DestLastOffset) – (SourceOffset – SourceLastOffset) (i.e. a target compensation time).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 2, as disclosed by Zhi in view of Nelson, wherein calibrating the time value of the system to be calibrated based on the target compensation time comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated, as further taught by Rischar. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for performing calibration of a real time clock by summing an RTC drift compensation time estimate with a latest RTC time of the real time clock in order to insure that electronic tags incorporating such real time clocks remain synchronized with the network and transmit within required receiving windows at the network.
Regarding claim 13, Zhi in view of Nelson disclose the method as claimed in claim 10.
Zhi fails to disclose wherein the method comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated.
However, Rischar further teaches wherein the method comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated (Fig 12 & col 16, lines 42-60 disclose performing calibration of the timestamp for a local clock to provide a compensated timestamp by summing a received timestamp (i.e. the time value of the system to be calibrated) with an offset term (DestOffset – DestLastOffset) – (SourceOffset – SourceLastOffset) (i.e. a target compensation time).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 10, as disclosed by Zhi in view of Nelson, wherein the method comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated, as further taught by Rischar. The motivation to do so would be to have a device that can perform calibration of a real time clock by summing an RTC drift compensation time estimate with a latest RTC time of the real time clock in order to insure that the device incorporating such a real time clock remains synchronized with a network and transmits within required receiving windows at the network.
Regarding claim 19, Zhi in view of Nelson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as claimed in claim 16.
Zhi fails to disclose wherein the method comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated.
However, Rischar further teaches wherein the method comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated (Fig 12 & col 16, lines 42-60 disclose performing calibration of the timestamp for a local clock to provide a compensated timestamp by summing a received timestamp (i.e. the time value of the system to be calibrated) with an offset term (DestOffset – DestLastOffset) – (SourceOffset – SourceLastOffset) (i.e. a target compensation time).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, as disclosed by Zhi in view of Nelson, wherein the method comprises: performing calibration based on a sum value of the target compensation time and the time value of the system to be calibrated, as further taught by Rischar. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in a device with instructions that when executed by the device cause the device to perform calibration of a real time clock by summing an RTC drift compensation time estimate with a latest RTC time of the real time clock in order to insure that the device incorporating such a real time clock remains synchronized with a network and transmits within required receiving windows at the network.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhi et al. (US 7791534)(herein after “Zhi”) in view of Nelson et al. (US 2007/0024437)(herein after “Nelson”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (CN 116647297)(herein after “Lin”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhi in view of Nelson discloses the method as claimed in claim 1.
Zhi fails to disclose wherein the reference time point of the reference time system and the first system time point of the system to be calibrated are invoked using an invoking interface.
However, Lin further teaches wherein the reference time point of the reference time system and the first system time point of the system to be calibrated are invoked using an invoking interface ([n0044] discloses an internal timing module that can call a navigation controller’s time interface (i.e. invoke a navigation controller’s invoking interface) to obtain a reference time that adjusts a system time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Zhi in view of Nelson, wherein the reference time point of the reference time system and the first system time point of the system to be calibrated are invoked using an invoking interface, as further taught by Lin. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for invoking a time interface of a GPS reference clock and RTC real time clock to obtain a reference time and a system time used for calibrating for drift in the real time clock in order to insure that electronic tags incorporating such real time clocks remain synchronized with the network and transmit within required receiving windows at the network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419