Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2006/0213821), in view of Menon (US 4992170), and Palanisamy et al. (US 2024/0209560A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a water purifier filter cartridge of simple structure, comprising:
a filter cartridge cylinder (57),
a central tube (59) coaxial with the filter cartridge cylinder (57) being disposed in the filter cartridge cylinder (refer fig. 3);
a first cavity being formed in the central tube (permeate is collected in the central tube 59);
a filter cartridge body (56) and being disposed outside the central tube;
the filter cartridge body comprising an RO membrane (56);
the RO membrane being placed around the central tube (refer fig. 3);
several water holes communicating the first cavity with the RO membrane being formed on side wall of the central tube (permeate is collected in the tube 59 from the membrane, refer [0051]-[0052]; the tube 59 having holes is suggested and well known in the art because the tube 59 collets permeate from surrounding RO membrane);
a second cavity being formed between the RO membrane and the filter cartridge cylinder (Refer flow path 74 in fig. 3);
an upper end cover (63) being disposed at the top of the filter cartridge body, and a third cavity being formed between the upper end cover and the filter cartridge body (the cavity between 63 and filter cartridge collects concentrate); a first water gap (permeate outlet 52), a second water gap (feed water inlet 50) and a third water gap (concentrate outlet) being formed in the top of the filter cartridge cylinder (refer fig. 3); the first water gap communicating with the first cavity (for collection of permeate); the second water gap communicating with the second cavity (for supplying feed water); and the third water gap communicating with the third cavity (for collecting concentrate).
Choi does not teach providing a pre-filter around the RO filter.
Menon teaches a RO filter cartridge comprising: a filter cartridge cylinder (12), a central tube (72) coaxial with the filter cartridge cylinder (12) being disposed in the filter cartridge cylinder; RO membrane (32) arranged around the central tube (75), and a pre-filter (36) arranged around the RO membrane (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the cartridge of Choi to include a pre-filter wound outside of RO membrane to provide pre-filtration as taught by Menon. Menon also teaches a lower end cover (refer support ring 38).
Modified Choi does not teach that a sealing cover is disposed at the bottom of the filter cartridge cylinder, the sealing cover being integrally provided with a lifting handle projecting outwardly from the sealing cover.
Palanisamy teaches a filter unit (200) comprising a cylindrical filter chamber (201) having a first end (201a) and second end (201b), a sealing cover (206a) provided at the second end, the sealing cover (206a) being integrally provided with a lifting handle (206b) projecting outwardly from the sealing cover (206a) (refer fig. 2a, fig. 2b).
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the cartridge of modified Choi to provide a sealing cover disposed at the bottom of the filter cartridge cylinder, wherein the sealing cover being integrally provided with a lifting handle projecting outwardly from the sealing cover to facilitate removal of the filter as taught by Palanisamy.
Regarding claim 2, modified Choi teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Choi further teaches that a boss is disposed at the top of the filter cartridge cylinder, and the first water gap. the second water gap and the third water gap are formed in the boss (cap 63 in combination with connector 55 provides fluid pathways for water inlet, permeate outlet, and concentrate outlet).
Regarding claim 3, modified Choi teaches limitations of claim 2 as set forth above. Choi further teaches that a first annular wall and a second annular wall coaxial with the filter cartridge cylinder are disposed in the boss (refer permeate outlet bore, feed inlet bore, and concentrate outlet bore in fig. 3), the upper portion of the central tube is inserted into the first annular wall, and a sealing ring is disposed between the first annular wall and the central tube (refer Fig.3 suggesting O-rings between central tube and permeate collector).
Regarding claim 4, modified Choi teaches limitations of claim 3 as set forth above. Choi further teaches that the upper end cover comprises a third annular wall inserted into the second annular wall, and a sealing ring is disposed between the second annular wall and the third annular wall (fig. 3 of Choi suggest providing sealing rings between flow path 61 and cap 82, also suggest providing sealing ring between flow path 82a and 60).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2006/0213821), in view of Menon (US 4992170) and Palanisamy et al. (US 2024/0209560A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fritze (US 2011/0303543).
Regarding claim 6, modified Choi teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Modified Choi does not teach that a welding cover is disposed at the top of the filter cartridge cylinder, and openings corresponding to the first water gap, the second water gap and the third water gap respectively are formed in the welding cover.
Fritze teaches filter cartridge comprising a body (201), a filter members (210 and 211) arranged inside the cartridge body, and a manifold receiver (300) providing fluid connections. Fritze teaches that connection of the manifold receiver 300 to fluid conduits is shown as a semi-permanent in this embodiment, but can be integral, welded, fused, pressed, or other quick-disconnectable or permanent means as desired (Refer [0084]).
Selection of type of cover to be welding cover in the cartridge of modified Choi would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art because Fritze discloses that selection of known connection type would have been obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that the limitation “wherein a sealing cover is disposed at the bottom of the filter cartridge cylinder, the sealing cover being integrally provided with a lifting handle projecting outwardly from the sealing cover” of instant claim 1 is not taught by Fritze (US 2011/0303543). However, the current rejection does not use Fritze for teaching of the challenged limitation of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2005/0092673 A1 discloses a cartridge assembly having a cylindrical housing (18) having a handle 158 formed at the bottom of the housing body to assist in applying rotational force to the cartridge assembly.
US 2009/0200217 A1 discloses a water purification filtration assembly comprising a handle 321 for rotation of the filter cartridge 300 provided under the lower surface of the filter part 320, which is concave, thus making it easy for the user to rotate the filter cartridge using the handle 321.
/PRANAV N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779