DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 19, 11-16, 19-20 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et. al US 20170082892 (hereinafter “Chung”) of record in view of Shin US 20160064448 (hereinafter “Shin”) of record, Wang et. al US 20080198454 (hereinafter “Wang”) of record, and Yokogawa US 20120057055 (hereinafter “Yokogawa”) of record.
Examiner’s note: claims 12 and 14 have multiple rejections based on overlapping ranges of sufficient specificity (MPEP §2131.03) and overlapping ranges being prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches an image sensor comprising:
a sensor substrate (Chung figs. 4-5 – 10 and 11 which contain PX1, PX2, PX3) comprising a plurality of first pixels (Chung figs. 4-5 - PX3) and a plurality of second pixels (Chung figs. 4-5 - PX2); and
a color filter array (Chung fig. 4 and 5 - 20a-c, 30, and 40) comprising a plurality of first color filters (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20c between 30 and 40 for PX 3) respectively corresponding to the plurality of first pixels (PX3) and a plurality of second color filters (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20b between 30 and 40 for PX2) respectively corresponding to the plurality of second pixels (PX2),
wherein each of the plurality of first color filters (20c, 30, 40 for PX3) and the plurality of second color filters (20b, 30, 40 for PX2) comprises:
an absorption-type filter layer (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20b-c) comprising a pigment (Chung para. 0075 and 0077); and
a resonator comprising a first reflective film (Chung figs. 4-5 - 40, see also para. 0094) provided on a lower surface of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) and a second reflective film (Chung figs. 4-5 - 30, see also para. 0065 and 0101) provided on an upper surface of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c), to allow light to resonate in the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c; Chung para. 0101), and
wherein the lower surface and the upper surface of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) oppose each other (Chung figs. 4-5 - 30 and 40 are disposed on opposite surfaces of absorption layer 20b-c).
Chung does not specifically teach an image sensor. However Chung’s device, though a display, utilizes a color filter to filter light as it enters/exits the device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin teaches an image sensor (Shin fig. 1 - 100) with a sensor substrate (Shin fig. 1 - 120a-d) for the purpose of generating electrical signals by detecting light (Shin para. 0060), and Shin also teaches that both color displays and color image sensors use color filters in order to display or detect colors in incident light (Shin para. 0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an image sensor with a sensor substrate utilizing either the same or a very similar color filter as a color display, in order to display or detect colors in incident light (Shin para. 0005 and 0060).
Chung and Shin do not specify that the pigmented absorption-type filter layer is polymer-based.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches an absorption-type filter layer comprising a polymer-based pigment (Wang fig. 2 – 140R, 140G, 140B, see also para. 0002 and para. 0017) for the purpose of filtering out a specific frequency band (Wang para. 0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an absorption-type filter layer with a polymer-based pigment in order to filter out a specific frequency band (Wang para. 0017).
Chung, Shin, and Wang do not specify wherein each of the first reflective film and the second reflective film comprises a plurality of recesses filled with a material different from the materials of parts of the first reflective film and the second reflective film excluding the plurality of recesses, however Chung does teach that the second reflective film 30 has a plurality of transparent bodies 20a forming a blue filter (Chung fig. 5 – PX1, see also para. 0121).
In the same field of endeavor, Yokogawa teaches wherein each of the first reflective film (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-2) and the second reflective film (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-1) comprises a plurality of recesses (Yokogawa fig. 6a-9c – recesses shown in each layer, see also para. 0067) filled with a material different from the materials of parts of the first reflective film (61D-2) and the second reflective film (61D-2) excluding the plurality of recesses (Yokogawa abstract and para. 0059 – plasmon resonator is a conductive metal structure, and holes are filled with a dielectric material) for the purpose of achieving a high function with a simple structure (Yokogawa para. 0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recesses filled with a material different than the material of the first and second reflective films as taught by Yokogawa in the image sensor of Chung, Shin, and Wang in order to achieve a high function with a simple structure (Yokogawa para. 0018).
Regarding claim 2, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches wherein the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) of each the plurality of first color filters (20c) comprises a first pigment configured to transmit light in a first wavelength band and absorbs light in other wavelength bands (Chung para. 0077), and the absorption-type filter layer of each of the plurality of second color filters (20b) comprises a second pigment configured to transmit light in a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band and absorbs light in other wavelength bands (Chung para. 0075).
Regarding claim 6, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches wherein the resonator has a Fabry-Perot resonant structure in which the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) is disposed inside the resonator (Chung figs. 4-5 – 20 is disposed between 30 and 40, which is the resonator).
Regarding claim 7, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches wherein an arithmetic sum of a reflectance of the first reflective film and a reflectance of the second reflective film is 50% to 150% (Chung para. 0094 – 40 may have a reflectance greater than or equal to 60% or 80%, and para. 0135 – 30 may have a half mirror structure, giving a maximum of 50% reflectance for 30, therefore the arithmetic sum of the reflectance of the films at 60% or 80% or greater for 40 and 50% for 30 would equate to between 110% and 130% or greater, which falls within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 7, and Chung further teaches wherein the reflectance of the first reflective film (40) and the reflectance of the second reflective film (60) are set such that a transmission spectrum of each of the plurality of first color filters and the plurality of second color filters has a full width at half maximum within a range of 50 nm to 250 nm (Chung para. 0080 – FWHM from about 40 nm to 60 nm, which is an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)).
Regarding claim 9, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and they further teach wherein each of the first reflective film (Chung 40) and the second reflective film (Chung 30), and the second reflective film (Chung 30) has a one-dimensional periodic structure in which periodic structures are arranged in one direction, or two-dimensional periodic structure in which the periodic structures are arranged in two directions (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-1 and 61D-2 for a 2-layer plasmon resonator having a hole array structure, though the resonator can be multi-layered).
Regarding claim 11, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches wherein each of the first reflective film (40) and the second reflective film (30) comprise at least one metal or metalloid material selected from polysilicon (poly-Si), gold (Au), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag), tungsten (W), and titanium (Ti) (Chung para. 0021-0022 – the metal may be aluminum or silver).
Regarding claim 12, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 11, and Chung further teaches wherein each of the first reflective film (40) and the second reflective film (30) has a thickness of 1 nm to 30 nm (Chung para. 0063 and 0093 – both have a range between 3nm and 10,000 nm, which fully encompasses the claimed range – thus making it a range of sufficient specificity, see MPEP §2131.03; this also makes the range an overlapping range made prima facie obvious, see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 13, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches wherein the first reflective film (40) and the second reflective film (30) comprise at least one dielectric material selected from poly-Si, TiN,
S
i
O
2
,
T
i
O
2
,
H
f
O
2
,
T
a
2
O
5
, SiC, and SiN (Chung para. 0060 – 31 is part of 30).
Regarding claim 14, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 13, and Chung further teaches wherein each of the first reflective film (40) and the second reflective film (30) has a thickness of 30 nm to 600 nm (Chung para. 0063 and 0093 – both have a range between 3nm and 10,000 nm, which fully encompasses the claimed range – thus making it a range of sufficient specificity, see MPEP §2131.03; this also makes the range an overlapping range made prima facie obvious, see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 15, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches wherein the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) of each of the plurality of first color filters (20c) has a thickness equal to a thickness of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) of each of the plurality of second color filters (20b – Chung figs. 4-5 shows 20c and 20b having the same thickness).
Regarding claim 16, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 15, and Chung further teaches wherein in the plurality of first color filters (20c, 30, 40, in PX3) and the plurality of second color filters (20b, 30, 40, in PX2), the first reflective films cause different phase delays, or the second reflective films (30) cause different phase delays (Chung para. 0113).
Regarding claim 19, Chung teaches an electronic apparatus (Chung figs. 4-5 - 100) comprising:
a substrate comprising a plurality of first pixels (Chung figs. 4-5 - PX3) and a plurality of second pixels (Chung figs. 4-5 - PX2); and
a color filter array (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20a-c, 30, and 40) comprising a plurality of first color filters (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20c between 30 and 40 for PX 3) respectively corresponding to the plurality of first pixels (PX3) and a plurality of second color filters (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20b between 30 and 40 for PX2) respectively corresponding to the plurality of second pixels (PX2),
wherein each of the plurality of first color filters (20c, 30, 40 for PX3) and the plurality of second color filters (20b, 30, 40 for PX2) comprises:
an absorption-type filter layer (Chung figs. 4-5 - 20b-c) comprising a pigment (Chung para. 0075 and 0077); and
a resonator comprising a first reflective film (Chung figs. 4-5 - 40, see also para. 0094) provided on a lower surface of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) and a second reflective film (Chung figs. 4-5 - 30, see also para. 0065) provided on an upper surface of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c), to allow light to resonate in the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c), and
wherein the lower surface and the upper surface of the absorption-type filter layer (20b-c) oppose each other (Chung figs. 4-5 - 30 and 40 are disposed on opposite surfaces of absorption layer 20b-c).
Chung does not specifically teach an image sensor. However Chung’s device, though a display, utilizes a color filter to filter light as it enters/exits the device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin teaches an image sensor (Shin fig. 1 – 1400 corresponding to sensor 100 in fig. 1, see also para. 0131) configured to convert an optical image into an electrical signal (Shin para. 0132); and a processor (Shin fig. 21 – 1600, see also para. 0132) configured to control the image sensor (Shin para. 0132); wherein the image sensor (1400, 100) includes a sensor substrate (Shin fig. 1 - 120) for the purpose of generating electrical signals by detecting light (Shin para. 0060), and Shin also teaches that both color displays and color image sensors use color filters in order to display or detect colors in incident light (Shin para. 0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an image sensor with a sensor substrate utilizing either the same or a very similar color filter as a color display, in order to display or detect colors in incident light (Shin para. 0005 and 0060).
Chung and Shin do not specify that the pigmented absorption-type filter layer is polymer-based.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches an absorption-type filter layer comprising a polymer-based pigment (Wang fig. 2 – 140R, 140G, 140B, see also para. 0002 and para. 0017) for the purpose of filtering out a specific frequency band (Wang para. 0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an absorption-type filter layer with a polymer-based pigment in order to filter out a specific frequency band (Wang para. 0017).
Chung, Shin, and Wang do not specify wherein each of the first reflective film and the second reflective film comprises a plurality of recesses filled with a material different from the materials of parts of the first reflective film and the second reflective film excluding the plurality of recesses, however Chung does teach that the second reflective film 30 has a plurality of transparent bodies 20a forming a blue filter (Chung fig. 5 – PX1, see also para. 0121).
In the same field of endeavor, Yokogawa teaches wherein each of the first reflective film (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-2) and the second reflective film (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-1) comprises a plurality of recesses (Yokogawa fig. 6a-9c – recesses shown in each layer, see also para. 0067) filled with a material different from the materials of parts of the first reflective film (61D-2) and the second reflective film (61D-2) excluding the plurality of recesses (Yokogawa abstract and para. 0059 – plasmon resonator is a conductive metal structure, and holes are filled with a dielectric material) for the purpose of achieving a high function with a simple structure (Yokogawa para. 0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recesses filled with a material different than the material of the first and second reflective films as taught by Yokogawa in the image sensor of Chung, Shin, and Wang in order to achieve a high function with a simple structure (Yokogawa para. 0018).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et. al US 20170082892 (hereinafter “Chung”) of record, Shin US 20160064448 (hereinafter “Shin”) of record, Wang et. al US 20080198454 (hereinafter “Wang”) of record, and Yokogawa US 20120057055 (hereinafter “Yokogawa”) of record as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wang et. al US 20220149098 (hereinafter “Wang1”) of record.
Regarding claim 3, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches the resonator (20b-c, 30, 40).
Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa do not teach wherein the resonator has a quality factor (Q-factor) of 1.5 to 20.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang1 teaches wherein the resonator has a quality factor (Q-factor) of 1.5 to 20 (Wang para. 0185 – teaches a quality factor ranging from 5 to 50 for a resonator with microstructure holes, thus becoming an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)) for the purpose of reducing reflection and enhancing absorption (Wang1 para. 0185). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quality factor within the claimed range in order to reduce reflection and enhance absorption.
Regarding claim 4, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches the resonator (20b-c, 30, 40).
Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa do not teach wherein the resonator has a Q-factor of 2 to 10.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang1 teaches wherein the resonator has a Q-factor of 2 to 10 (Wang para. 0185 – teaches a quality factor ranging from 5 to 50 for a resonator with microstructure holes, thus becoming an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)) for the purpose of reducing reflection and enhancing absorption (Wang1 para. 0185). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quality factor within the claimed range in order to reduce reflection and enhance absorption.
Regarding claim 5, Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa teach the image sensor of claim 1, and Chung further teaches the resonator (20b-c, 30, 40).
Chung, Shin, Wang, and Yokogawa do not teach wherein the resonator has a Q-factor of 2 to 5.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang1 teaches wherein the resonator has a Q-factor of 2 to 5 (Wang para. 0185 – teaches a quality factor ranging from 5 to 50 for a resonator with microstructure holes, thus becoming an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)) for the purpose of reducing reflection and enhancing absorption (Wang1 para. 0185). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quality factor within the claimed range in order to reduce reflection and enhance absorption.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et. al US 20200264355 (hereinafter “Shin1”) of record, in view of Wang et. al US 20220149098 (hereinafter “Wang1”) of record, and Yokogawa US 20120057055 (hereinafter “Yokogawa”) of record.
Regarding claim 20, Shin1 teaches an image sensor comprising:
a color filter layer (Shin1 fig. 2 – 210, 220, 230) configured to pass a transmission wavelength band and absorb other wavelength bands except for the transmission wavelength band via a polymer material included in the color filter layer (Shin1 para. 0012 and 0059 – 220 may include polymer materials); and
a resonator comprising a first reflective film (Shin fig. 2 - 210) provided on a light incident surface of the color filter layer (Shin fig. 1 – light incident on 210), and a second reflective film (Shin1 fig. 2 - 230) provided on a light exiting surface of the color filter layer (Shin fig. 1 – light exits from 230) which opposes the light incident surface (Shin1 fig. 1 – 210 and 230 are on opposite sides of 220).
Shin1 does not teach an image sensor wherein the resonator has a quality factor of 1.5 to 20 and causes light to resonate within the color filter layer provided between the first reflective film and the second reflective film.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang1 teaches an image sensor (see Wang1 abstract) wherein the resonator has a Q-factor of 2 to 10 (Wang para. 0185 – teaches a quality factor ranging from 5 to 50 for a resonator with microstructure holes, thus becoming an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)) for the purpose of reducing reflection and enhancing absorption (Wang1 para. 0185). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quality factor within the claimed range in order to reduce reflection and enhance absorption.
Shin1 and Wang1 do not specify wherein each of the first reflective film and the second reflective film comprises a plurality of recesses filled with a material different from the materials of parts of the first reflective film and the second reflective film excluding the plurality of recesses, however Chung does teach that the second reflective film 30 has a plurality of transparent bodies 20a forming a blue filter (Chung fig. 5 – PX1, see also para. 0121).
In the same field of endeavor, Yokogawa teaches wherein each of the first reflective film (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-2) and the second reflective film (Yokogawa fig. 7 – 61D-1) comprises a plurality of recesses (Yokogawa fig. 6a-9c – recesses shown in each layer, see also para. 0067) filled with a material different from the materials of parts of the first reflective film (61D-2) and the second reflective film (61D-2) excluding the plurality of recesses (Yokogawa abstract and para. 0059 – plasmon resonator is a conductive metal structure, and holes are filled with a dielectric material) for the purpose of achieving a high function with a simple structure (Yokogawa para. 0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recesses filled with a material different than the material of the first and second reflective films as taught by Yokogawa in the image sensor of Shin1 and Wang1 in order to achieve a high function with a simple structure (Yokogawa para. 0018).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokogawa US Patent 8,866,950, patent of Yokogawa US 20120057055.
Kim et. al US 20060209413 and Roh et. al US 20160018262, teach metal layers with a plurality of recesses.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872