DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 3/26/26 have been received. Claims 1, 15, and 18 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “second sense signal changes form a first voltage level” in line 11 includes a drafting error. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “second sense signal changes from a first voltage level”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation “(i) receive one or more sense signals” in lines 13-14. It is not clear whether it is the same or difference one or more sense signals as recited in line 10. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “(i) receive the one or more sense signals”.
7. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the one or more sense signals" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " one or more sense signals".
8. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected as depending from claim 18.
9. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites the limitation “(ii) a pressure relief sensor configured to sense a pressure release event caused by a pressure relief device” in lines 3-4. It is not clear whether it is the same or different pressure relief sensor and pressure relief device recited in claim 18 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “(ii) the pressure relief sensor configured to sense a pressure release event caused by the pressure relief device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Engle discloses a battery assembly (Figs. 3 and 9) comprising:
an enclosure(thermal runaway detection system 100 resides within the battery enclosure [0025], Fig. 3); an outgas sensor within the enclosure(gas sensor 110, Fig. 9, [0025]-[0027]), the outgas sensor configured to sense an outgas event of one or more battery cells within the enclosure and output a first sense signal([0027], [0033]); a pressure relief device within the enclosure([0024]), the pressure relief device configured to release gas pressure from the enclosure, in response to pressure within the enclosure exceeding a threshold value([0024]); a pressure relief sensor within the enclosure(pressure sensor 112, Fig. 9, [0025]), the pressure relief sensor configured to sense a pressure release event caused by the pressure relief device and output a second sense signal([0029], [0033]); and a processor within the enclosure(microprocessor 118, Fig. 9, [0026]), the processor configured to receive the first sense signal and the second sense signal([0026], [0033]), and to transmit information associated with the first and second sense signals to a system that is external to the enclosure([0026], [0033]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressure relief sensor is integrated with the pressure relief device, and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas.
Hore teaches a battery cell with a cell housing surrounding the battery cell, wherein at least a part of the cell housing is designed to deform in the event of a pressure increase within the cell housing([0001]). Hore teaches the pressure relief sensor (strain gauge 8, Figs. 1-3, [0015], [0032]-[0034]) is integrated with the pressure relief device(bursting disc 7, Figs. 1-3, [0031]-[0032]), and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas([0009], [0032]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of Engle with the pressure relief sensor is integrated with the pressure relief device, and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas as taught by Hore as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle discloses the pressure relief device is a burst disc(Hore [0031]), wherein the pressure release event is a burst disc event in which a disc of the burst disc bursts(Hore [0031]), and wherein the pressure relief sensor is a burst disc sensor configured to provide indication of the burst disc event within the second sense signal(Hore, [0015], [0032]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the processor is further configured to forward the first and second sense signals to the external system(Engle, [0026], [0033]), in addition to transmitting the information associated with the first and second sense signals to the external system(Engle, [0026], [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the information associated with the first sense signal comprises an indication of the outgas event(Engle [0027], [0033]), and the information associated with the second sense signal comprises an indication of the pressure release event(Engle [0024], [0029], [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the information associated with the first sense signal comprises a sensed concentration of the outgas and a time stamp of the outgas event(Engle [0027], [0035]-[0036]), [0038], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the outgas sensor is to sense the outgas event, in response to detecting at least a threshold level of one or more gases emitted by the one or more battery cells(Engle [0027]-[0028], [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the one or more gases include vapor of lithium ion battery electrolyte solvent(Engle [0008], [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the one or more battery cells include one or more lithium-ion battery cells(Engle [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Engle discloses a method of operating a battery assembly([0046], Figs. 3 and 9), the method comprising: outputting, by an outgas sensor that is within an enclosure (thermal runaway detection system 100 with gas sensor 110 resides within the battery enclosure [0025]-[0027], Figs. 3 and 9), a first sense signal, in response to monitoring concentration of one or more gases from one or more battery cells that are within the enclosure ([0027], [0033], [0035]-[0036]); outputting, by a pressure relief sensor that is within the enclosure (pressure sensor 112, Fig. 9, [0025]), a second sense signal, in response to monitoring operations of a pressure relief device within the enclosure ([0024], [0029], [0033]); and transmitting, by a processor that is within the enclosure (microprocessor 118, Fig. 9, [0026]), information associated with the first and second sense signals to a system that is external to the enclosure ([0026], [0033]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressure relief sensor is integrated with the pressure relief device, and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas.
Hore teaches a battery cell with a cell housing surrounding the battery cell, wherein at least a part of the cell housing is designed to deform in the event of a pressure increase within the cell housing([0001]). Hore teaches the pressure relief sensor (strain gauge 8, Figs. 1-3, [0015], [0032]-[0034]) is integrated with the pressure relief device(bursting disc 7, Figs. 1-3, [0031]-[0032]), and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas([0009], [0032]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Engle with the pressure relief sensor is integrated with the pressure relief device, and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas as taught by Hore as applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
13. Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richmond et al. (US 2021/0408823) as cited in IDS dated 5/8/24.
Regarding claim 3, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle discloses further comprising: a plurality of battery cells within the enclosure including the one or more battery cells(Engle [0023], Fig. 3); but does not explicitly disclose a switch within the enclosure, wherein the plurality of battery cells is coupled via the switch to a circuit external to the enclosure; wherein responsive to receiving a control signal generated in response to the first sense signal indicating the outgas event and/or the second sense signal indicating the pressure release event, the switch is configured to disconnect the plurality of battery cells from the circuit external to the enclosure.
Richmond teaches a system for providing a rapid threshold amount of power to a customer load during transfer between a primary power supply and a secondary power supply([0011]). Richmond teaches a switch within the enclosure, wherein the plurality of battery cells is coupled via the switch to a circuit external to the enclosure([0030]); wherein responsive to receiving a control signal generated in response to the first sense signal indicating the outgas event and/or the second sense signal indicating the pressure release event, the switch is configured to disconnect the plurality of battery cells from the circuit external to the enclosure([0039], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Engle with a switch within the enclosure, wherein the plurality of battery cells is coupled via the switch to a circuit external to the enclosure; wherein responsive to receiving a control signal generated in response to the first sense signal indicating the outgas event and/or the second sense signal indicating the pressure release event, the switch is configured to disconnect the plurality of battery cells from the circuit external to the enclosure as taught by Richmond in order to provide a system for providing a rapid threshold amount of power to a customer load during transfer between a primary power supply and a secondary power supply.
Regarding claim 4, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the control signal is generated by the processor(Richmond [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the control signal is generated by the system external to the enclosure(Richmond [0049]), and is transmitted to the switch through the processor(Richmond [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the control signal is generated by the system external to the enclosure, and is transmitted to the switch bypassing the processor (Richmond [0049]).
14. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Fleischer et al. (US 2018/0196107) as cited in IDS dated 5/8/24.
Regarding claim 8, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle discloses the information associated with the first and second sense signals transmitted by the processor to the external system comprises a digital signal(Engle [0033]) but does not explicitly disclose the first and second sense signals forwarded by the processor to the external system are analog discrete signals.
Fleischer teaches method and system for monitoring the safety of a rechargeable Li-ion battery (LIB) (abstract). Fleischer teaches the diagnostic method determines the likelihood of a forthcoming short circuit in the LIB cell at an early stage of its development, and thus identifies in real-time a consequent possible incidence of LIB combustion, allowing for the implementation of at least one preventative measure to ensure user safety([0033]). Fleischer teaches the first and second sense signals forwarded by the processor to the external system are analog discrete signals([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Engle with the first and second sense signals forwarded by the processor to the external system are analog discrete signals as taught by Fleischer in order to determine the likelihood of a forthcoming short circuit in the LIB cell at an early stage of its development, and thus identifies in real-time a consequent possible incidence of LIB combustion, allowing for the implementation of at least one preventative measure to ensure user safety.
15. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fleischer et al. (US 2018/0196107) as cited in IDS dated 5/8/24.
Regarding claim 14, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle discloses the enclosure has a first wall and an opposing second wall(Engle Fig. 3); the processor is on the first wall(Engle [0034], Fig. 9); and the pressure relief device is mounted on the second wall, such that during the pressure release event, pressure is released through an opening of the pressure relief device(Engle [0024]) but does not explicitly disclose the processor is on a printed circuit board (PCB) that is mounted on the first wall.
Fleischer teaches method and system for monitoring the safety of a rechargeable Li-ion battery (LIB) (abstract). Fleischer teaches the diagnostic method determines the likelihood of a forthcoming short circuit in the LIB cell at an early stage of its development, and thus identifies in real-time a consequent possible incidence of LIB combustion, allowing for the implementation of at least one preventative measure to ensure user safety([0033]). Fleischer teaches the processor is on a printed circuit board (PCB) that is mounted on the first wall([0035], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Engle with the processor is on a printed circuit board (PCB) that is mounted on the first wall as taught by Fleischer in order to determine the likelihood of a forthcoming short circuit in the LIB cell at an early stage of its development, and thus identifies in real-time a consequent possible incidence of LIB combustion, allowing for the implementation of at least one preventative measure to ensure user safety.
16. Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Richmond et al. (US 2021/0408823) as cited in IDS dated 5/8/24.
Regarding claim 16, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle discloses a plurality of battery cells within the enclosure and including the one or more battery cells(Engle [0023], Fig. 3) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: connecting, through a switch that is within the enclosure, a plurality of battery cells to a load that is external to the enclosure, the plurality of battery cells within the enclosure and including the one or more battery cells; and disconnecting, by the switch, the plurality of battery cells from the load, responsive to receiving a control signal generated in response to the first sense signal indicating an outgas event and/or the second sense signal indicating a pressure release event.
Richmond teaches a system for providing a rapid threshold amount of power to a customer load during transfer between a primary power supply and a secondary power supply([0011]). Richmond teaches further comprising: connecting, through a switch that is within the enclosure, a plurality of battery cells to a load that is external to the enclosure, the plurality of battery cells within the enclosure and including the one or more battery cells([0030]); and disconnecting, by the switch, the plurality of battery cells from the load, responsive to receiving a control signal generated in response to the first sense signal indicating an outgas event and/or the second sense signal indicating a pressure release event([0039], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of modified Engle with connecting, through a switch that is within the enclosure, a plurality of battery cells to a load that is external to the enclosure, the plurality of battery cells within the enclosure and including the one or more battery cells; and disconnecting, by the switch, the plurality of battery cells from the load, responsive to receiving a control signal generated in response to the first sense signal indicating an outgas event and/or the second sense signal indicating a pressure release event as taught by Richmond in order to provide a system for providing a rapid threshold amount of power to a customer load during transfer between a primary power supply and a secondary power supply.
Regarding claim 17, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses further comprising: generating, by the system that is external to the enclosure and/or by the processor system that is within the enclosure, the control signal, based on monitoring the first and second signals and/or the information associated with the first and second sense signals(Richmond [0049]).
17. Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action, further in view of Nagao (US 2023/0066399).
Regarding claim 18, Engle discloses a battery assembly (Figs. 3 and 9) comprising:
an enclosure(thermal runaway detection system 100 resides with the battery enclosure [0025], Fig. 3); a plurality of battery cells within the enclosure([0023], Fig. 3); one or more sensors configured to monitor for one or more events associated with the plurality of battery cells ([0025], Fig. 9); the one or more sensor comprising a pressure relief sensor within the enclosure (pressure sensor 112, Fig. 9, [0025]), a pressure relief device within the enclosure ([0024]), the pressure relief device configured to release gas from the enclosure, in response to pressure within the enclosure exceeding a threshold value ([0024]), the pressure relief sensor configured to sense a pressure release event caused by the pressure relief device and output at least one sense signal of one or more sense signals ([0029], [0033]), but does not explicitly disclose the pressure relief sensor integrated with a pressure relief device, wherein the at least one sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas pressure from the enclosure.
Hore teaches a battery cell with a cell housing surrounding the battery cell, wherein at least a part of the cell housing is designed to deform in the event of a pressure increase within the cell housing([0001]). Hore teaches the pressure relief sensor (strain gauge 8, Figs. 1-3, [0015], [0032]-[0034]) is integrated with the pressure relief device(bursting disc 7, Figs. 1-3, [0031]-[0032]), and wherein the second sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level, in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas([0009], [0032]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of Engle with the pressure relief sensor is integrated with the pressure relief device, and wherein the at least one sense signal changes from a first voltage level to a second voltage level in response to the pressure relief device releasing gas as taught by Hore as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 18, modified Engle discloses a processor within the enclosure(Engle, microprocessor 118, Fig. 9, [0026]), the processor configured to (i) receive the one or more sense signals from the one or more sensors(Engle [0026], [0033]), (ii) transmit, over a first communication link, information associated with the one or more sense signals to a system that is external to the enclosure(Engle [0026], [0033]), and (iii) forward, over a second communication link (Engle, CAN transceiver 122, Fig. 9) the one or more sense signals to the system that is external to the enclosure(Engle [0026], [0033]), but does not explicitly disclose a second communication link comprising a harness that is physically separate from the first communication link.
Nagao teaches an MCU (microcontroller unit) 45 and a CAN (controller area network) transceiver 40 are arranged outside the LED driving device 30(Fig. 1, [0077]). Nagao teaches the CAN transceivers 40A to 40C can transmit and receive data to and from the MCU 45 mounted on a printed circuit board P4 across a wire harness 50(Fig. 2B, [0096]). Nagao teaches the CAN bus CB (FIG. 1 ) is included in the wire harness 50([0096]). Nagao teaches a second communication link comprising a harness that is physically separate from the first communication link (see CAN transceiver 40 and wire harness 50 in Fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery assembly of modified Engle with a second communication link comprising a harness that is physically separate from the first communication link as taught by Nagao as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 19, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle further discloses the one or more sensors comprise (i) an outgas sensor configured to sense an outgas event of one or more battery cells of the plurality of battery cells(Engle, gas sensor 110, Fig. 9, [0025]-[0027]), and (ii) the pressure relief sensor configured to sense a pressure release event caused by the pressure relief device that is within the enclosure(Engle, pressure sensor 112, Fig. 9, [0024]-[0025], Hore, strain gauge 8, Figs. 1-3, [0015], [0032]-[0034] ).
18. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engle et al. (US 2022/0085428) as cited in IDS dated 1/4/23 in view of Hore et al. (DE102013216076A1) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action, further in view of Nagao (US 2023/0066399) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Fleischer et al. (US 2018/0196107) as cited in IDS dated 5/8/24.
Regarding claim 20, modified Engle discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Engle does not explicitly disclose the information associated with the one or more sense signals comprises a digital signal transmitted over a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus to the system; and the one or more sense signals forwarded to the system comprises analog discrete signals transmitted over a bus that is different from the CAN bus.
Fleischer teaches method and system for monitoring the safety of a rechargeable Li-ion battery (LIB) (abstract). Fleischer teaches the diagnostic method determines the likelihood of a forthcoming short circuit in the LIB cell at an early stage of its development, and thus identifies in real-time a consequent possible incidence of LIB combustion, allowing for the implementation of at least one preventative measure to ensure user safety([0033]). Fleischer teaches the information associated with the one or more sense signals comprises a digital signal transmitted over a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus to the system([0048]); and the one or more sense signals forwarded to the system comprises analog discrete signals transmitted over a bus that is different from the CAN bus([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery assembly of modified Engle with the information associated with the one or more sense signals comprises a digital signal transmitted over a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus to the system; and the one or more sense signals forwarded to the system comprises analog discrete signals transmitted over a bus that is different from the CAN bus as taught by Fleischer in order to determine the likelihood of a forthcoming short circuit in the LIB cell at an early stage of its development, and thus identifies in real-time a consequent possible incidence of LIB combustion, allowing for the implementation of at least one preventative measure to ensure user safety.
Response to Arguments
19. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724