DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 1-14, 23-26, and 28-30 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Regarding the rejection made under 35 USC 102, the Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 18 of the remarks that Fowe relates to determining when the turn signal was turned on and turned off and does not relate to where the turn signal was turned on and off and by not teaching where the turn signal was turned on and off, Fowe also does not teach “aggregate the turn signal activation information…to generate a refined location of a turn signal activation location associated with the road segment,” as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fowe teaches “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors…The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.” (see at least Fig. 8 and [0024]). Additionally, Fowe teaches “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.” (see at least Fig. 8 and [0072]). Furthermore, Fowe teaches “The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations.” (see at least 0034]). Thus, Fowe teaches receiving drive information including a location where the detected change in state of the turn signal of the vehicle occurred. Broadly interpreted, probe data including road segment ID and lane are locations of where the detected change in state of turn signal happened. The Applicant fails to provide a clear distinction between the claim language and the prior art and therefore, the prior art meets the claim limitations.
Applicant argues on page 19 of the remarks that Fowe fails to teach “modify[ing] the refined location based on an environmental condition or an operational factor” as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fowe teaches “A lane level maneuver delay is calculated from a plurality of probe reports from vehicles on a road segment…The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).” (see at least [0046]). Fowe further states “At act A140, the mapping system 121 aggregates the lane maneuver delay with other similar lane maneuver delays for the location…The mapping system 121 may also aggregate lane maneuver delays using other factors such as weather, type of vehicle, region, speed, traffic flow, or other factors.” (see at least [0063]). Thus, Fowe teaches calculating and aggregating lane level maneuver delays from probe reports and factors such as weather and speed.
Therefore, the prior art meets the claim limitations, and the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-10, 12-14, 23-26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)/(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fowe et al. (US 20200386560, hereinafter Fowe).
Regarding claim 1, Fowe teaches a server-based system for generating a map for storing a turn signal activation location along a road segment (see at least Figs. 1, 7, 8, and [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0025]: “The mapping system 121 may include one or more servers 125.”), the system comprising:
at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to (see at least Fig. 7 and [0068]: “The server 125 includes a processor 301 that is connected to a communications interface 305 and a memory 303. The processor 301 is also connected to the geographic database 123. The communications interface 305 is configured to receive vehicle data from a vehicle. The memory is configured to store vehicle data and lane maneuver delay data. The processor 301 is configured to calculate a lane maneuver delay value from the vehicle data. The processor 301 is configured to aggregate lane maneuver delay values for a road segment and a time period to determine a predicted lane maneuver delay value. The processor 301 is configured to generate lane level maneuver instructions based on the predicted lane maneuver delay value.”):
receive drive information from each of a plurality of vehicles that traversed a road segment, wherein the drive information includes turn signal activation information indicating a detected change in state of a turn signal of at least one target vehicle and a location where the detected change in state of the turn signal of the target vehicle occurred (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “FIG. 8 depicts an example method of generating spatiotemporal patterns of lane maneuver delay for navigational guidance using the server 125 of FIG. 7. The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”);
aggregate the turn signal activation information from two or more of the plurality of vehicles to generate a refined location of a turn signal activation location associated with the road segment (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122…The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver. The mapping system 121 is configured to calculate a lane maneuver delay value. The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations. The mapping system 121 is configured to generate lane level routing instructions based on a predicted lane maneuver delay that is generated from the aggregated lane maneuver delay values.”; [0084]: “At act A320, the controller 201 receives a route from a mapping system 121 or mapping service. The route may include one or more instructions or commands for a vehicle to perform to efficiently traverse a roadway network from the starting point to the destination. The instructions may include lane level maneuver instructions that detail when and how to change lanes while traversing the route. The lane level maneuver instructions may be generated as a function of stores historical lane level delay averages for road segments and lane maneuvers in the route.”);
store an indicator of the refined location of the turn signal activation location in a map (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”); and
distribute the map to one or more vehicles that later traverse the road segment (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The term autonomous vehicle may refer to a self-driving or driverless mode in which no passengers are required to be on board to operate the vehicle…The autonomous vehicle may steer, brake, or accelerate the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle in order to avoid or comply with a routing or driving instruction from the device 122 or mapping system 121.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc.”; [0048]: “Probe reports may be transmitted in real time or may be stored and batched for later transmission.”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix. The lane maneuver matrix includes data that describes an average delay for performing a lane change. The average delay may assist the processor 301 in determining an accurate and efficient route to the destination (e.g. by taking into account the delay for lane maneuvers).”),
wherein the one or more vehicles (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. “) are configured to:
access the map (see at least [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may include multiple servers 125, workstations, databases, and other machines connected together and maintained by a map developer. The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver.”);
modify the refined location based on an environmental condition or an operational factor (see at least [0046]: “FIG. 4 illustrates an example flow chart for providing lane level routing instructions. A lane level maneuver delay is calculated from a plurality of probe reports from vehicles on a road segment. The lane level maneuver delay is used to generate lane level guidance in terms of lane transition and maneuvers. The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”; [0052]: “Drivers and vehicles may perform one or more actions when a driver or vehicle desires to make a lane maneuver. For example, a driver may speed up or slow down, accelerate, make a slight course change or other action. GPS and vehicular data may be collected for multiple lane maneuvers. Pattern recognition, for example using a machine learnt network, may be applied to the data to identify the actions that indicate an intent to change lanes. The actions may be detected by a device 122. The device 122 may use a time stamp of the actions as the start of the intent to change lanes. The delay calculated below at A130 may be determined from this time to when the lane change is complete.”; [0063]: “At act A140, the mapping system 121 aggregates the lane maneuver delay with other similar lane maneuver delays for the location…The mapping system 121 may also aggregate lane maneuver delays using other factors such as weather, type of vehicle, region, speed, traffic flow, or other factors.”); and
automatically activate a turn signal when traversing the modified refined location associated with the road segment (see at least [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix.”; [0087]: “In an embodiment, the controller 201 performs the instructions automatically. The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The device 122 may be configured as a navigation system for an autonomous vehicle or a HAD. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may take route instruction based on the road segment and node information provided to the navigation device 122. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may be configured to receive instructions from a mapping system 121 or the controller 201 and automatically perform an action.”).
Regarding claim 2, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the detected change in state of the turn signal is at least one of a left turn signal activation or a right turn signal activation (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever)…Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”).
Regarding claim 3, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the detected change in state of the turn signal includes a change from an OFF state to an ON state (see at least [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”).
Regarding claim 4, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the detected change in state of the turn signal includes a change from an ON state to an OFF state (see at least [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”; [0073]: “Each of the time delays of the plurality of time delays may be calculated from an initial detection of a turn signal of a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles to a subsequent detection that the turn signal is off for a maneuver from the first lane to the second lane.”).
Regarding claim 5, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the turn signal activation information includes: an indication that a driver of at least one of the plurality of vehicles activated a turn signal associated with the at least one of the plurality of vehicles (see at least Figs. 1, 8, and [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever) …Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”); and
a location where the driver of the at least one of the plurality of vehicles activated the turn signal (see at least [0026]: “The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions. The device 122 may be a navigation system built into the vehicle and configured to monitor the vehicle. The devices 122 may also be integrated in or with a vehicle. The devices 122 may include mobile phones running specialized applications that collect location data as the devices 122 are carried by persons or things traveling the roadway system. The devices 122 may be configured to collect and transmit data including the location of a vehicle. The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off.”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”; [0073]: “Each of the time delays of the plurality of time delays may be calculated from an initial detection of a turn signal of a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles to a subsequent detection that the turn signal is off for a maneuver from the first lane to the second lane.”).
Regarding claim 6, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the turn signal activation information includes an indication of a lane of a road segment where the detected change in state of the turn signal occurred (see at least Figs. 1, 8, and [0026]: “The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever) …Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”; [0073]: “Each of the time delays of the plurality of time delays may be calculated from an initial detection of a turn signal of a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles to a subsequent detection that the turn signal is off for a maneuver from the first lane to the second lane.”).
Regarding claim 7, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 6. Fowe further teaches wherein the turn signal activation information is collected and separately aggregated for each of a plurality of lanes of the road segment (see at least Figs. 1, 8, and [0021]: “Sensor data is obtained from vehicle sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane maneuver delay value is calculated from the time period a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a vehicle completed a lane maneuver. The lane maneuver delay values are aggregated to generate a predicted lane maneuver delay that may be used in lane level routing instructions.”; [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0073]: “At act A210, the processor 301 determines a plurality of time delays for a plurality of lane maneuvers by a plurality of vehicles from a first lane to a second lane at a location. Each of the time delays of the plurality of time delays may be calculated from an initial detection of a turn signal of a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles to a subsequent detection that the turn signal is off for a maneuver from the first lane to the second lane.”).
Regarding claim 8, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 6. Fowe further teaches wherein the at least one target vehicle is in a lane different from one of the plurality of vehicles from which the change in state of the turn signal of the at least one target vehicle was detected (see at least Figs. 1, 8, and [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The devices 122 may be configured to collect and transmit data including the location of a vehicle. The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0034]: “The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations. The mapping system 121 is configured to generate lane level routing instructions based on a predicted lane maneuver delay that is generated from the aggregated lane maneuver delay values. Each possible lane transitions for different road segments may be calculated from data from a device 122. The modal lane transitions and a corresponding average lane maneuver delay may be stored in the geographic database 123 as a lane maneuver delay prediction for different road segments.”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”; [0073]: “At act A210, the processor 301 determines a plurality of time delays for a plurality of lane maneuvers by a plurality of vehicles from a first lane to a second lane at a location.”).
Regarding claim 9, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 6. Fowe further teaches wherein the at least one target vehicle is in a common lane with one of the plurality of vehicles from which the change in state of the turn signal of the at least one target vehicle was detected (see at least Figs. 1, 8, and [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The devices 122 may be configured to collect and transmit data including the location of a vehicle. The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0034]: “The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations. The mapping system 121 is configured to generate lane level routing instructions based on a predicted lane maneuver delay that is generated from the aggregated lane maneuver delay values. Each possible lane transitions for different road segments may be calculated from data from a device 122. The modal lane transitions and a corresponding average lane maneuver delay may be stored in the geographic database 123 as a lane maneuver delay prediction for different road segments.”; [0064]: “FIG. 6 depicts an example of different lane transistions. FIG. 6 depicts two road segments 611 and 612. Road segment 611 includes 4 lanes. Road segment 612 includes 2 lanes. Vehicles travering both road segment 611 and road segment 612 may manuever between the lanes. For example, a vehicle 621 may manuever from lane 4 to lane 1; a vehicle 623 may manuever from lane 3 to lane 1; a vehicle 625 from manuever from lane 1 to lane 2 on road segment 612; and so forth. Lane maneuver delay values may be calculated for each individual manuever and aggregated. In addition to lane changes, merging may also be tracked and recored. For example, a vehicle merging may turn on a blinker to indicate the merge. The first probe report may indicate that the first lane is a first road segment and a first lane while the second probe report may indicate that the second lane is a second road segment and a first lane of the second road segment 1 (or a different road segment since the intersection may be considered a node). The sequence may be identified as a lane change manuever/merge and may be recorded as such. However, a vehicle that began on a lane and continues on what logically is the same lane may not be considered a “merging” vehicle as the vehicle does not change lanes in the road segments strand. The system may identify this manuever as a merge or change of lanes regardless by identifying that there is a node with a merging intersection.”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”; [0073]: “At act A210, the processor 301 determines a plurality of time delays for a plurality of lane maneuvers by a plurality of vehicles from a first lane to a second lane at a location.”).
Regarding claim 10, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the aggregation of the turn signal activation information includes averaging of locations of two or more detected changes in turn signal state (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0046]: “The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”).
Regarding claim 12, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein a turn signal type is stored in the map together with the indicator of the refined location of the turn signal activation location (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0025]: “The mapping system 121 may include or may be connected to a database 123 (also referred to as a geographic database or map database). The mapping system 121 may include one or more servers 125.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off.”; [0072]: “The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”).
Regarding claim 13, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 12. Fowe further teaches wherein the turn signal type indicates a left turn signal (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever)…Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”).
Regarding claim 14, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 12. Fowe further teaches wherein the turn signal type indicates a right turn signal (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever)…Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”).
Regarding claim 23, Fowe teaches a server-based system for generating a map for storing a turn signal activation location along a road segment (see at least Figs. 1, 7, 8, and [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0025]: “The mapping system 121 may include one or more servers 125.”), the system comprising:
at least one processor comprising circuitry and a memory, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the circuitry cause the at least one processor to (see at least Fig. 7 and [0068]: “The server 125 includes a processor 301 that is connected to a communications interface 305 and a memory 303. The processor 301 is also connected to the geographic database 123. The communications interface 305 is configured to receive vehicle data from a vehicle. The memory is configured to store vehicle data and lane maneuver delay data. The processor 301 is configured to calculate a lane maneuver delay value from the vehicle data. The processor 301 is configured to aggregate lane maneuver delay values for a road segment and a time period to determine a predicted lane maneuver delay value. The processor 301 is configured to generate lane level maneuver instructions based on the predicted lane maneuver delay value.”):
receive drive information from each of a plurality of host vehicles that traversed a road segment, wherein the drive information includes a first indication that a host vehicle activated a turn signal and a second indication of a location where the activation of the turn signal occurred (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “FIG. 8 depicts an example method of generating spatiotemporal patterns of lane maneuver delay for navigational guidance using the server 125 of FIG. 7. The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”);
aggregate the drive information to generate a refined location of a turn signal activation location associated with the road segment (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122…The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver. The mapping system 121 is configured to calculate a lane maneuver delay value. The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations. The mapping system 121 is configured to generate lane level routing instructions based on a predicted lane maneuver delay that is generated from the aggregated lane maneuver delay values.”; [0084]: “At act A320, the controller 201 receives a route from a mapping system 121 or mapping service. The route may include one or more instructions or commands for a vehicle to perform to efficiently traverse a roadway network from the starting point to the destination. The instructions may include lane level maneuver instructions that detail when and how to change lanes while traversing the route. The lane level maneuver instructions may be generated as a function of stores historical lane level delay averages for road segments and lane maneuvers in the route.”);
store an indicator of the refined location of the turn signal activation location in a map (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”); and
distribute the map to one or more vehicles that later traverse the road segment (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The term autonomous vehicle may refer to a self-driving or driverless mode in which no passengers are required to be on board to operate the vehicle…The autonomous vehicle may steer, brake, or accelerate the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle in order to avoid or comply with a routing or driving instruction from the device 122 or mapping system 121.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc.”; [0048]: “Probe reports may be transmitted in real time or may be stored and batched for later transmission.”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix. The lane maneuver matrix includes data that describes an average delay for performing a lane change. The average delay may assist the processor 301 in determining an accurate and efficient route to the destination (e.g. by taking into account the delay for lane maneuvers).”),
wherein the one or more vehicles are (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. “) configured to :
access the map (see at least [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may include multiple servers 125, workstations, databases, and other machines connected together and maintained by a map developer. The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver.”);
modify the refined location based on an environmental condition or an operational factor (see at least [0046]: “FIG. 4 illustrates an example flow chart for providing lane level routing instructions. A lane level maneuver delay is calculated from a plurality of probe reports from vehicles on a road segment. The lane level maneuver delay is used to generate lane level guidance in terms of lane transition and maneuvers. The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”; [0052]: “Drivers and vehicles may perform one or more actions when a driver or vehicle desires to make a lane maneuver. For example, a driver may speed up or slow down, accelerate, make a slight course change or other action. GPS and vehicular data may be collected for multiple lane maneuvers. Pattern recognition, for example using a machine learnt network, may be applied to the data to identify the actions that indicate an intent to change lanes. The actions may be detected by a device 122. The device 122 may use a time stamp of the actions as the start of the intent to change lanes. The delay calculated below at A130 may be determined from this time to when the lane change is complete.”; [0063]: “At act A140, the mapping system 121 aggregates the lane maneuver delay with other similar lane maneuver delays for the location…The mapping system 121 may also aggregate lane maneuver delays using other factors such as weather, type of vehicle, region, speed, traffic flow, or other factors.”); and
automatically activate a turn signal when traversing the modified refined location associated with the road segment (see at least [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix.”; [0087]: “In an embodiment, the controller 201 performs the instructions automatically. The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The device 122 may be configured as a navigation system for an autonomous vehicle or a HAD. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may take route instruction based on the road segment and node information provided to the navigation device 122. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may be configured to receive instructions from a mapping system 121 or the controller 201 and automatically perform an action.”).
Regarding claim 24, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 23. Fowe further teaches wherein the drive information includes an indicator of a type of the turn signal that was activated (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever)…Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”).
Regarding claim 25, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 24. Fowe further teaches wherein the type of the turn signal is a left turn signal or a right turn signal (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever)…Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”).
Regarding claim 26, Fowe teaches a method for generating a map for storing a turn signal activation location along a road segment (see at least Figs. 1, 7, 8, and [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0025]: “The mapping system 121 may include one or more servers 125.”), the method comprising:
receiving drive information from each of a plurality of vehicles that traversed a road segment, wherein the drive information includes turn signal activation information indicating a detected change in state of a turn signal of at least one target vehicle and a location where the detected change in state of the turn signal of the target vehicle occurred (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “FIG. 8 depicts an example method of generating spatiotemporal patterns of lane maneuver delay for navigational guidance using the server 125 of FIG. 7. The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”);
aggregating the turn signal activation information from two or more of the plurality of vehicles to generate a refined location of a turn signal activation location associated with the road segment (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122…The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver. The mapping system 121 is configured to calculate a lane maneuver delay value. The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations. The mapping system 121 is configured to generate lane level routing instructions based on a predicted lane maneuver delay that is generated from the aggregated lane maneuver delay values.”; [0084]: “At act A320, the controller 201 receives a route from a mapping system 121 or mapping service. The route may include one or more instructions or commands for a vehicle to perform to efficiently traverse a roadway network from the starting point to the destination. The instructions may include lane level maneuver instructions that detail when and how to change lanes while traversing the route. The lane level maneuver instructions may be generated as a function of stores historical lane level delay averages for road segments and lane maneuvers in the route.”);
storing an indicator of the refined location of the turn signal activation location in a map (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”); and
distributing the map to one or more vehicles that later traverse the road segment (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The term autonomous vehicle may refer to a self-driving or driverless mode in which no passengers are required to be on board to operate the vehicle…The autonomous vehicle may steer, brake, or accelerate the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle in order to avoid or comply with a routing or driving instruction from the device 122 or mapping system 121.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc.”; [0048]: “Probe reports may be transmitted in real time or may be stored and batched for later transmission.”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix. The lane maneuver matrix includes data that describes an average delay for performing a lane change. The average delay may assist the processor 301 in determining an accurate and efficient route to the destination (e.g. by taking into account the delay for lane maneuvers).”),
wherein the one or more vehicles (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. “) are configured to:
access the map (see at least [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may include multiple servers 125, workstations, databases, and other machines connected together and maintained by a map developer. The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver.”);
modify the refined location based on an environmental condition or an operational factor (see at least [0046]: “FIG. 4 illustrates an example flow chart for providing lane level routing instructions. A lane level maneuver delay is calculated from a plurality of probe reports from vehicles on a road segment. The lane level maneuver delay is used to generate lane level guidance in terms of lane transition and maneuvers. The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”; [0052]: “Drivers and vehicles may perform one or more actions when a driver or vehicle desires to make a lane maneuver. For example, a driver may speed up or slow down, accelerate, make a slight course change or other action. GPS and vehicular data may be collected for multiple lane maneuvers. Pattern recognition, for example using a machine learnt network, may be applied to the data to identify the actions that indicate an intent to change lanes. The actions may be detected by a device 122. The device 122 may use a time stamp of the actions as the start of the intent to change lanes. The delay calculated below at A130 may be determined from this time to when the lane change is complete.”; [0063]: “At act A140, the mapping system 121 aggregates the lane maneuver delay with other similar lane maneuver delays for the location…The mapping system 121 may also aggregate lane maneuver delays using other factors such as weather, type of vehicle, region, speed, traffic flow, or other factors.”); and
automatically activate a turn signal when traversing the modified refined location associated with the road segment (see at least [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix.”; [0087]: “In an embodiment, the controller 201 performs the instructions automatically. The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The device 122 may be configured as a navigation system for an autonomous vehicle or a HAD. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may take route instruction based on the road segment and node information provided to the navigation device 122. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may be configured to receive instructions from a mapping system 121 or the controller 201 and automatically perform an action.”).
Regarding claim 28, Fowe teaches a method for generating a map for storing a turn signal activation location along a road segment (see at least Figs. 1, 7, 8, and [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0025]: “The mapping system 121 may include one or more servers 125.”), the method comprising:
receiving drive information from each of a plurality of host vehicles that traversed a road segment, wherein the drive information includes a first indication that a host vehicle activated a turn signal and a second indication of a location where the activation of the turn signal occurred (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0072]: “FIG. 8 depicts an example method of generating spatiotemporal patterns of lane maneuver delay for navigational guidance using the server 125 of FIG. 7. The method uses probe data (i.e. vehicle sensor data) including location (road segment id, lane) of a vehicle, status of the vehicle's turn signal (i.e. on or off) and timestamp.”);
aggregating the drive information to generate a refined location of a turn signal activation location associated with the road segment (see at least [0024]: “Data for calculating the lane maneuver delay value may be obtained from automotive sensors using the left-turn and right-turn signal lights sensor. A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122…The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver. The mapping system 121 is configured to calculate a lane maneuver delay value. The mapping system 121 is configured to aggregate multiple lane maneuver delay values for certain times and locations. The mapping system 121 is configured to generate lane level routing instructions based on a predicted lane maneuver delay that is generated from the aggregated lane maneuver delay values.”; [0084]: “At act A320, the controller 201 receives a route from a mapping system 121 or mapping service. The route may include one or more instructions or commands for a vehicle to perform to efficiently traverse a roadway network from the starting point to the destination. The instructions may include lane level maneuver instructions that detail when and how to change lanes while traversing the route. The lane level maneuver instructions may be generated as a function of stores historical lane level delay averages for road segments and lane maneuvers in the route.”);
storing an indicator of the refined location of the turn signal activation location in a map (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The device 122 may be configured to provide lane leveling positioning of the vehicle on the roadway network. The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”); and
distributing the map to one or more vehicles that later traverse the road segment (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The term autonomous vehicle may refer to a self-driving or driverless mode in which no passengers are required to be on board to operate the vehicle…The autonomous vehicle may steer, brake, or accelerate the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle in order to avoid or comply with a routing or driving instruction from the device 122 or mapping system 121.”; [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc.”; [0048]: “Probe reports may be transmitted in real time or may be stored and batched for later transmission.”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix. The lane maneuver matrix includes data that describes an average delay for performing a lane change. The average delay may assist the processor 301 in determining an accurate and efficient route to the destination (e.g. by taking into account the delay for lane maneuvers).”),
wherein the one or more vehicles (see at least [0027]: “The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. “) are configured to:
access the map (see at least [0034]: “The mapping system 121 may include multiple servers 125, workstations, databases, and other machines connected together and maintained by a map developer. The mapping system 121 may be configured to receive probe reports from the device 122 that include data relating to a lane maneuver.”);
modify the refined location based on an environmental condition or an operational factor (see at least [0046]: “FIG. 4 illustrates an example flow chart for providing lane level routing instructions. A lane level maneuver delay is calculated from a plurality of probe reports from vehicles on a road segment. The lane level maneuver delay is used to generate lane level guidance in terms of lane transition and maneuvers. The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”; [0052]: “Drivers and vehicles may perform one or more actions when a driver or vehicle desires to make a lane maneuver. For example, a driver may speed up or slow down, accelerate, make a slight course change or other action. GPS and vehicular data may be collected for multiple lane maneuvers. Pattern recognition, for example using a machine learnt network, may be applied to the data to identify the actions that indicate an intent to change lanes. The actions may be detected by a device 122. The device 122 may use a time stamp of the actions as the start of the intent to change lanes. The delay calculated below at A130 may be determined from this time to when the lane change is complete.”; [0063]: “At act A140, the mapping system 121 aggregates the lane maneuver delay with other similar lane maneuver delays for the location…The mapping system 121 may also aggregate lane maneuver delays using other factors such as weather, type of vehicle, region, speed, traffic flow, or other factors.”); and
automatically activate a turn signal when traversing the modified refined location associated with the road segment (see at least [0032]: “The device 122 is configured to monitor a turn signal mechanism. It is typical for a driver or vehicle to indicate an intention to transition lanes by turning a turn signal on (e.g. activating a blinker by pushing a button or moving a lever). Autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicles may automatically activate a turn signal in response to a routing instruction. Vehicles may have different indications, e.g. left and right blinkers, arrows, flashing lights, etc. The device 122 may monitor the physical mechanism or may receive signals from the vehicle or the turn signals that a turn signal has been turned on (active) or off (inactive).”; [0077]: “At act A230, the processor 301 generates lane level routing commands as a function of the lane maneuver matrix. The processor 301 may transmit the lane level routing commands a part of a routing instruction to a vehicle or navigation device 122. In an example, a navigation device 122 may request a route from a starting point to a destination. The processor 301 may generate routing instructions including road segments, turns, and lane level maneuver instructions based on traffic reports and other data, for example, included in the lane maneuver matrix.”; [0087]: “In an embodiment, the controller 201 performs the instructions automatically. The device 122 may be integrated into an autonomous vehicle or a highly-assisted or highly-automated driving (HAD) vehicle. The device 122 may be configured as a navigation system for an autonomous vehicle or a HAD. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may take route instruction based on the road segment and node information provided to the navigation device 122. An autonomous vehicle or HAD may be configured to receive instructions from a mapping system 121 or the controller 201 and automatically perform an action.”).
Regarding claim 29, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the environmental condition includes a weather condition, a visibility condition, or a time of day condition (see at least [0046]: “FIG. 4 illustrates an example flow chart for providing lane level routing instructions. A lane level maneuver delay is calculated from a plurality of probe reports from vehicles on a road segment. The lane level maneuver delay is used to generate lane level guidance in terms of lane transition and maneuvers. The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”.
Regarding claim 30, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the operational factor includes a following distance of another vehicle relative to the one or more vehicles, a speed of the one or more vehicles, a speed of the one or more vehicles relative to a host vehicle, or whether the vehicle is operating in an autonomous mode (see at least [0052]: “Drivers and vehicles may perform one or more actions when a driver or vehicle desires to make a lane maneuver. For example, a driver may speed up or slow down, accelerate, make a slight course change or other action. GPS and vehicular data may be collected for multiple lane maneuvers. Pattern recognition, for example using a machine learnt network, may be applied to the data to identify the actions that indicate an intent to change lanes. The actions may be detected by a device 122. The device 122 may use a time stamp of the actions as the start of the intent to change lanes. The delay calculated below at A130 may be determined from this time to when the lane change is complete.”; [0063]: “At act A140, the mapping system 121 aggregates the lane maneuver delay with other similar lane maneuver delays for the location…The mapping system 121 may also aggregate lane maneuver delays using other factors such as weather, type of vehicle, region, speed, traffic flow, or other factors.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowe et al. (US 20200386560, hereinafter Fowe) in view of Garcia et al. (US 20210094558, hereinafter Garcia).
Regarding claim 11, Fowe teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fowe further teaches wherein the aggregation of the turn signal activation information includes an analysis of locations of two or more detected changes in turn signal state (see at least [0024]: “A lane-level map-matcher (LLMM) identifies a lane a car is driving on using GPS sensors. The total time period that a left-turn or right-turn signaling light was kept on before a driver completed his/her lane maneuver is measured. The duration of time the signaling light was on is taken as the lane maneuver delay for transitioning from the previous lane to the current lane. The data can be obtained from multiple vehicles for a roadway segment and stored as historical average for different times of the day.”; [0026]: “The system includes one or more devices 122. The one or more devices may include probe devices, probe sensors, or other devices 122 such as personal navigation devices 122 or connected vehicles. The mapping system 121 may communicate with the devices 122 through the network 127. The mapping system 121 may also receive data from one or more systems or services that may be used to identify the location of a vehicle or roadway conditions…The devices 122 may be configured to monitor a turn signal of the vehicle and detect when the turn signal is turned on or turned off. The devices 122 may be configured to provide guidance for a user or vehicle.”; [0046]: “The flowchart provides a method for calculating a measure of the level of difficulty for drivers to make maneuvers or lane transitions at different times of the day. The measure of the level of difficulty may be directly related to the lane level maneuver delay values (and averages of multiple values taken under similar circumstances, e.g. time, location, traffic conditions, weather, etc.).”).
Fowe fails to explicitly teach a statistical analysis of aggregated information.
However, Garcia teaches a method and system for predicting object behavior proximate to a navigating autonomous vehicle that comprises a statistical analysis of aggregated information (see at least [0080]: “Historical data 206, for example, can be included within the map described by the map database by associating historical probabilities to an index of observed paths of objects (from the positions of the objects within an originating lane to a new lane). A statistical analysis of the historical information by statistical service 204 can determine a prediction of a lane change of the new object based on the index of observed object paths.”; [0081]: “In some embodiments, the map data can be created from an aggregation of sensor data received from a fleet of vehicles. The aggregation of the sensor data can be used to track positions of objects over time over a greater area and across a greater range of circumstances, such that the statistical analysis is applied over a larger database of historical data 206. This can provide more accurate probabilities to probable object paths the bigger the set of historical data 206 becomes.”; [0083]: “The predictions associated with each path and/or behavior can enable the autonomous vehicle 102 to react to the object proximate to the autonomous vehicle 102 in the lane. For example, the object detector 202 can detect (804) a position of a specific object in a lane. This can be done through receiving sensor data (e.g., LIDAR, cameras, etc.) describing a specific position of the specific object at a first time, and a specific position of the specific object at a second time. The sensor data can be aggregated to track the specific positions of the specific object at the first time and the second time. The sensor data descriptive of attributes of the specific object can be analyzed (806) by the statistical service 204. In some embodiments, at least one attribute can be a signaling status (e.g., whether the object is signaling that it intends to turn or change lanes through an active or inactive turn signal).”; [0084]: “For example, one of the paths may predict that the specific object will change lanes even though the signaling status indicates that no turn signal is active at a probability greater than 70%.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fowe to incorporate the teachings of Garcia and provide a statistical analysis of locations of two or more detected changes in turn signal state, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track objects over time over a greater area and across a greater range of circumstances and can provide more accurate probabilities the bigger a set of historical data becomes [0081].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Landschaft et al. (US 20080082259 A1) teaches a method and system for turn signals in a vehicle that automatically activates the turn signals on a route.
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656