DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/09/2025.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12145461. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are covered by the reference claims.
Current Application: 18/093,325
US Patent: 12145461
Claim 1:
An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle,
wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device,
which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 1:
An apparatus for charging electric vehicles, comprising: an x-y-z manipulable receptacle mounted to a structure located above more than one parking space,
wherein the structure comprises a ceiling and wherein the x-y-z manipulable receptacle includes robotics mounted to the ceiling;
a charge transmitting device coupled to the x-y-z manipulable receptable,
wherein the charge transmitting device is automatically moveable and directable by the x-y-z manipulable receptacle toward a target area on a surface of at least one electric vehicle parked underneath the structure within one of more than one parking space served by the charge transmitting device,
wherein at least one receiving coil is mounted thereon or therein within the surface of the at least one electric vehicle for electromagnetic charging of the at least one electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil is engaged by the charge transmitting device when the at least one electric vehicle is located in at least one of the more than one parking space below the structure and the x-y-z manipulable receptacle, and wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the x-y-z manipulable receptacle for movement underneath the structure to charge another electric vehicle amongst the electric vehicles parked under the structure after charging of the at least one electric vehicle among the electric vehicles; a controller operable to: manage data flow between the charge transmitting device and the at least one electric vehicle to control operations of the charge transmitting device, manage communications between the charge transmitting device and the at least one vehicle among the electric vehicles, manage the x-y-z manipulable receptacle, and locate and recognize the at least one vehicle among the electric vehicles parked under the structure; and at least one sensor operable to: assist the controller to locate, recognize, identify target areas, and direct the charge transmitting device to the at least one receiving coil by operation of the x-y-z manipulable receptacle.
Claim 2:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 1:
… and wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the x-y-z manipulable receptacle…
Claim 3:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target
Claim 9:
The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one sensor comprises an electro-optical sensor.
Claim 4:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected
Claim 3:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one receiving coil mounted on or in a surface of the at least one electric vehicle among the electric vehicles and operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device associated with the x-y-z manipulable receptacle mounted to a structure located above the at least one electric vehicle for charging of the at least one electric vehicle; and a battery management system associated with the at least one electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil, wherein the at least one charging coil is operable to interact electromagnetically with the charge transmitting device for charging of the at least one electric vehicle
Claim 5:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil
Claim 1:
…wherein at least one receiving coil is mounted thereon or therein within the surface of the at least one electric vehicle for electromagnetic charging of the at least one electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil is engaged by the charge transmitting device when the at least one electric vehicle is located in at least one of the more than one parking space below the structure...
Claim 6:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 3:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one receiving coil mounted on or in a surface of the at least one electric vehicle among the electric vehicles and operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device associated with the x-y-z manipulable receptacle mounted to a structure located above the at least one electric vehicle for charging of the at least one electric vehicle; and a battery management system associated with the at least one electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil, wherein the at least one charging coil is operable to interact electromagnetically with the charge transmitting device for charging of the at least one electric vehicle.
Claim 9:
The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle
Claim 7:
The apparatus of claim 3 wherein the surface comprises a glass window, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the glass window at the surface
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang (US 20180339600).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches an apparatus for charging an electric vehicle (figure 2 item 11 defined in paragraph [0040] as a wireless charger for charging an electric vehicle item 1),
comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle (Figure 2 item 160 defined in paragraph [0040] as a robot arm with receptacle items 163, 164, and 165 interpreted as a transfer module),
wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device (figure 2 item 130 defined as a feeder module. Paragraph [0044] teaches wherein the feeder module transfers power to a collector module, within an electric vehicle, to provide charge to the vehicle battery),
which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle (interpreted as a collector module) for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle (figure 2 shows and paragraphs [0041] –[0045] wherein a robot arm allows for automatic movement of the receptacle (feeder module 130) in a vertical, horizontal or rotational direction to provide charge to a receiving coil (collector module 210 ) mounted on the vehicle).
Kang Figure 2 shows an overhead charging station for charging electric vehicles
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected (shown in figure 1 wherein at least one receiving coil, interpreted as a collector module 210, receives current from charge transmitting device, interpreted as a feeder module 130, when connected).
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle (figure 2 shows wherein the coil, collector module item 210, is mounted on electric vehicle item 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle (figure 2 shows wherein the coil, collector module item 210, is mounted on the roof of electric vehicle item 1). .
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle (figure 2 shows wherein the coil, collector module item 210, is integrated with electric vehicle item 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom (figure 2 shows a boom item 160 interpreted as robot arm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 20180339600) in view of Cao (US 20190001830).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Cao discloses wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete (defined in paragraph [0055] wherein once the charging is completed, auto-charging assembly 10 may automatically de-energize charger 1310, disengage charger port 22, retract the charging device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Cao reference so that the vehicle is properly charged in a timely manner.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Cao reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the vehicle is properly charged in a timely manner.
Cao Figure 3A shows an electric vehicle charging device in a retracted state after a completion of charging
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Cao teaches wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target (defined in paragraphs [0029] and [0037] wherein the target is optically recognized by image recognition software to determine the location of the charging target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Cao reference so that charging device is more precisely aligned to provide optimum charging.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Cao reference in paragraph [0037] wherein the optimum alignment is determined.
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 20180339600) in view of Hui (US 20200094700).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Hui teaches wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil (figure 8B and defined in paragraph [0100] wherein the transmitter pad includes a magnetic part to magnetically engage and assist in alignment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Hui reference so that charging device is more securely aligned to provide optimum charging.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Hui reference in paragraph [0100] wherein the optimum alignment is disclosed.
Hui Figure 8 shows an overhead charging system with magnetic alignment
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows (figure 1 item 1 vehicle), but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Hui teaches wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle (defined in paragraph [0095] wherein the receiver coil may be arranged on a glass or the windshield of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Hui reference so as to provide a more accessible location to charge the vehicle, or to provide additional convenient locations to charge the vehicle.
The suggestion/motivation for combination is suggested in the Cao reference in paragraph [0095] wherein a variety of locations for charging are disclosed.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 20180339600) in view of Chander (US 20100102775).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the receptacle comprises a garage door opener that includes a garage door opener mounted to the structure with the receptacle, the structure comprising a ceiling structure.
Chnader teaches wherein the receptacle comprises a garage door opener that includes a garage door opener mounted to the structure with the receptacle, the structure comprising a ceiling structure (defined in paragraph [0018] wherein the charging device, interpreted as the dispenser 1 may be attached to or incorporated into a garage door opener. Figure 4 shows wherein the structure comprises a ceiling structure 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Chander reference to provide a safe and convenient charging process for the user.
The suggestion/motivation for the combination can be found in the Chander reference in paragraph [0002] wherein safety and convenience are optimized for charging.
Changer figure 4 shows an overhead charging system within a carport or garage.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Chander teaches wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport (shown in figure 4 wherein the charger, interpreted as a dispenser item 1 is mounted to carport and electric vehicles item 36 park under the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Chander reference to provide a safe and convenient charging process for the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Chander reference in paragraph [0002] wherein safety and convenience is optimized for charging.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 20180339600) in view of Ricci (US 20170140349)
Regarding claim 13, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the boom is associated with a service vehicle.
Ricci teaches wherein the boom is associated with a service vehicle (figure 11 shows wherein a boom item 1150 is associated with a service vehicle item 270. Figure 20 shows wherein a boom item 922 is associated with a service vehicle item 921).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Ricci reference to provide a safe and convenient charging process for the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ricci reference in paragraph [0002] wherein safety and convenience is optimized for charging.
Ricci Figure 11 shows a service vehicle providing charge via boom
Regarding claim 14, Kang teaches the apparatus of claim 13 but does not explicitly teach wherein the service vehicle is an autonomous vehicle.
Ricci teaches wherein the service vehicle is an autonomous vehicle (paragraph [0059] discloses wherein a vehicle may operate autonomously to provide charge to a device. Figure 10 shows an autonomous Unmanned Aerial vehicle providing charge to a vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kang reference with the charging system of the Ricci reference to provide a safe and convenient charging process for the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ricci reference in paragraph [0002] wherein safety and convenience is optimized for charging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20120048983 A1 Overhead Power Cable Management System Bianco; James S. Et Al.
Us 20220001761 A1 Systems And Methods For Electric Vehicle Charging Using Image Capturing Devices Cole; Gregory A. Et Al.
Us 20130076902 A1 Robotically Operated Vehicle Charging Station Gao; Dalong Et Al.
Us 20120013300 A1 Overhead Mobile Charger System For Reaching And Charging Electric Vehicles Parked In A Pair Of Adjacent Rows Of Side-By-Side Parking Spaces Prosser; Ronald Et Al.
Us 20170140603 A1 Multi-Vehicle Communications And Control System Ricci; Christopher P.
Us 20170158072 A1 Ceiling Mounted Charging Station And Parking Structure For Charging Electric Vehicles Sychov; Artur
Us 20140354229 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Zhao; Xiang Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859