DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 – 43, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ricci (US 20170136893 ).
Regarding claim 21, Ricci teaches a mobile electromagnetic charging service platform (figure 20 shows a mobile electromagnetic charging service platform item 2000 defined in paragraph [0156] as a system), comprising:
a mobile platform (figure 20 item 921 defined in paragraph [0156] as charging vehicle); a support structure supported by the mobile platform (figure 20 shows a support structure item 923 item 923 supporting a charging arm item 922) a positioning assembly operatively coupled to the support structure (paragraph [0156] discloses wherein the controller controls the positioning of the charging arm);
one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices supported by the positioning assembly (figure 20 item 520 defined in paragraph [0156] as a charging plate);
a controller in communication with the positioning assembly and configured to selectively position the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices adjacent a selected target area associated with an electromagnetic power receiving device of a selected electric vehicle (paragraphs [0080]-[0081] discloses a controller item 622 which controls the robotic unit to maneuver or operate the robotic vehicle. Paragraphs [0154] and [0156] wherein the charging plate may be controlled by a controller and a positioning sensor to position the charging plate to a receiving charging panel item 608 of a selected electric vehicle);
wherein the mobile platform is configured to transport the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices among a plurality of vehicle charging locations to provide wireless charging services (figure 2 paragraph [0065] shows a plurality of electromagnetic power transmitting devices providing charge to a plurality of charging services. Figure 3 shows a database of a plurality vehicles receiving charging services. Figures 4B and 9 show a plurality or a fleet of vehicles receiving charging services).
Ricci figure 20 shows a mobile platform item 921 providing charge to a vehicle
Regarding claim 22, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 21, wherein the mobile platform comprises a service vehicle (paragraph [0065] discloses a service vehicle or an emergency vehicle).
Regarding claim 23, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 22, wherein the service vehicle comprises an autonomous vehicle (paragraph [0070] and figure 4B shows wherein the vehicles may operate autonomously)
Regarding claim 24, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 23, wherein the autonomous vehicle utilizes one or more sensing systems selected from one or more cameras, one or more optical sensors, one or more LIDAR systems, RFID, NFC, Bluetooth, magnetic sensors, wireless sensors, or combinations thereof, to locate and identify a selected electric vehicle (paragraphs [0139]-[0140] discloses using Bluetooth, NFC. Paragraphs [0156] discloses a sensor to identify or determine a distance of a selected vehicle)
Regarding claim 25, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 21, wherein the support structure comprises a boom (figure 20 shows a boom item 922 defined as a charging arm).
Regarding claim 26, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 25, wherein the positioning assembly is configured to selectively deploy and return the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices relative to the mobile platform (paragraph [0156] discloses wherein the charging arm is extendable and positionable. Paragraph [0086] discloses retraction and extension of the electromagnetic power transmitting device).
Regarding claim 27, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 21, wherein the controller automatically positions the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices adjacent the selected target area (paragraph [0156] discloses wherein the charging arm is extendable and positionable on a target area of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 28, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 21, wherein the mobile platform includes an onboard electrical energy source (figure 20 shows an onboard energy source item 516 defined in paragraph [0078] as a battery. Figure 16 shows an onboard energy source as a generator item 1604)..
Regarding claim 29, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 28, wherein the onboard electrical energy source comprises one or more batteries, an electrical generator, or combinations thereof (figure 20 shows an energy source item 516 defined in paragraph [0078] as a battery. Figure 16 shows an energy source as a generator item 1604).
Regarding claim 30, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 21, wherein the mobile platform is configured to provide wireless charging services throughout one or more parking complexes (figure 5 shows wireless charging within a parking complex item 540).
Regarding claim 31, Ricci teaches a mobile electromagnetic charging service platform (figure 20 shows a mobile electromagnetic charging service platform item 2000 defined in paragraph [0156] as a system), comprising:
a mobile platform carrying one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices (figure 20 item 921 defined in paragraph [0156] as charging vehicle);
a communication system configured to communicate with one or more remote computing systems (Paragraph [0070] discloses remote computing and operations. paragraphs [0154] and [0156] wherein the charging plate may be controlled by a controller and a positioning sensor to position the charging plate to a receiving charging panel item 608 of a selected electric vehicle. Figure 30 shows a remote base charging station providing communications);
a controller configured to identify a selected electric vehicle for charging (paragraphs [0080]-[0081] discloses a controller item 622 which controls the robotic unit to maneuver or operate the robotic vehicle);
the controller further configured to direct positioning of the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices adjacent an electromagnetic power receiving device associated with the selected electric vehicle paragraphs [0154] and [0156] wherein the charging plate may be controlled by a controller and a positioning sensor to position the charging plate to a receiving charging panel item 608 of a selected electric vehicle);
wherein electromagnetic power is wirelessly transferred from the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices to the selected electric vehicle (paragraph [0156] discloses wherein the electromagnetic power is transmitted to the vehicle and the vehicle is charged).
Regarding claim 32, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 31, wherein the communication system receives a charging request from a mobile software application (paragraphs [0150], [0151] and [0162] discloses wherein the vehicle can request a charge via mobile software application or app).
Regarding claim 333, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 31, wherein the controller identifies the selected electric vehicle using one or more of: optical recognition of a license plate, RFID, NFC, Bluetooth, or another wireless vehicle identification signal associated with the selected electric vehicle (Paragraph [0108] discloses recognition of a unique identifier. Paragraphs [0139]-[0140] discloses using Bluetooth, NFC. Paragraphs [0156] discloses a sensor to position and determine a distance of a selected vehicle).
Regarding claim 34, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 31, wherein positioning of the one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices is assisted by one or more sensors (paragraphs [0139]-[0140] discloses using Bluetooth, NFC. Paragraphs [0156] discloses a sensor to position and determine a distance of a selected vehicle).
Regarding claim 35, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 34, wherein the one or more sensors comprise optical sensors, wireless sensors, magnetic sensors, or combinations thereof (paragraphs [0139]-[0140] discloses using Bluetooth, NFC. Paragraphs [0156] discloses a sensor to identify or determine a distance of a selected vehicle).
Regarding claim 36, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 31, wherein the controller communicates with one or more remote servers through a wireless communication network (paragraph [0237] discloses remote server communication).
Regarding claim 37, Ricci teaches a method of providing mobile electromagnetic charging services (figure 20 shows a mobile electromagnetic charging service platform item 2000 defined in paragraph [0156] as a system), comprising:
transporting a mobile electromagnetic charging service platform toward a selected electric vehicle (figure 20 item 921 defined in paragraph [0156] as charging vehicle);
identifying a selected target area associated with an electromagnetic power receiving device of the selected electric vehicle (paragraph [0170] discloses identifying a selected vehicle for electromagnetic power receiving);
positioning one or more electromagnetic power transmitting devices carried by the mobile electromagnetic charging service platform adjacent the selected target area (paragraph [0156] discloses wherein the controller controls the positioning of the charging arm);
wirelessly transferring electromagnetic power to the selected electric vehicle; and transporting the mobile electromagnetic charging service platform toward another vehicle charging location (figure 2 paragraph [0065] shows a plurality of electromagnetic power transmitting devices providing charge to a plurality of charging services. Figure 3 shows a database of a plurality vehicles receiving charging services. Figures 4B and 9 show a plurality or a fleet of vehicles receiving charging services).
Regarding claim 38, Ricci teaches the method of claim 37, wherein identifying the selected electric vehicle comprises one or more of: optically recognizing a license plate, receiving RFID information, receiving NFC information, receiving Bluetooth information, or receiving another wireless vehicle identification signal associated with the selected electric vehicle (Paragraph [0108] discloses recognition of a unique identifier. Paragraphs [0139]-[0140] discloses using Bluetooth, NFC. Paragraphs [0156] discloses a sensor to position and determine a distance of a selected vehicle).
Regarding claim 39, Ricci teaches the method of claim 37, wherein transporting comprises autonomously navigating the mobile electromagnetic charging service platform toward the selected electric vehicle (paragraph [0070] and figure 4B shows wherein the vehicles may operate autonomously).
Regarding claim 40, Ricci teaches the method of claim 37, further comprising receiving a charging request through a mobile software application (paragraphs [0150], [0151] and [0162] discloses wherein the vehicle can request a charge via mobile software application or app).
Regarding claim 41, Ricci teaches the method of claim 37, further comprising communicating with one or more remote servers during the charging process (paragraph [0237] discloses remote server communication).
Regarding claim 42, Ricci teaches the method of claim 41, further comprising maintaining service information associated with charging operations (paragraph [0215] discloses wherein historical data is stored within a database).
Regarding claim 43, Ricci teaches the method of claim 42, wherein the service information comprises one or more of charging records, customer accounts, service contracts, or service schedules (paragraph [0215] discloses wherein historical data is stored within a database).
Regarding claim 45, Ricci teaches the platform of claim 37, wherein the controller is configured to confirm that the identified selected electric vehicle corresponds to a charging request before initiating wireless transfer of electromagnetic power (paragraph [0150] discloses wherein a request is provide to receive charge. Paragraph [0162] discloses wherein the controller determines whether or not a charge has been requested).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci (US 20170136893 ) in view of Cox (US 20190107406).
Regarding claim 44, Ricci teaches the method of claim 43, but does not explicitly teach wherein maintaining the service information includes utilizing artificial intelligence, distributed ledger technology, or combinations thereof.
Cox teaches wherein maintaining the service information includes utilizing artificial intelligence, distributed ledger technology, or combinations thereof (defined in paragraph [0214] wherein artificial intelligence, interpreted as machine learning is used to maintain the service information of the vehicles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ricci reference with the charging system of the Cox reference so routes and charging schedules may be more accurately planned.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Cox reference in paragraph [0182] wherein routes and charging times are optimized.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 21 - 45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20190135133 A1 Mobile Charging For Electric Vehicles Miller; Kenneth James
Us 20230014378 A1 EV Mobile Charging Station Ciesco; Thomas Et Al.
Us 20120005031 A1 Recharging Electric Vehicles In Transit Jammer; Daniel
Us 20180126858 A1 Energy Supply Vehicle Blum; André Et Al.
Us 20180354383 A1 Vehicle Architectures Namou; Andrew J. Et Al.
Us 20120299531 A1 Charging Service Vehicles Prosser; Ronald D. Et Al.
Us 11444338 B1 Smart Battery System Dhawan; Kyra Et Al.
Us 20230168684 A1 Battery Support Service Vehicle Braunstein; Michael Dennis
Us 11813947 B1 Dense Vehicle Charging Station Pathipati; Vamsi Krishna
Us 20230032979 A1 Power Supply Vehicles Neligan; Maurice Et Al.
Us 20200180448 A1 Charge Coupler Boecker; Moritz Et Al.
Us 20190126768 A1 Movable Body Rescue System Niwa; Toshiaki Et Al.
Us 9592742 B1 Charging Electric Vehicles Sosinov; Arcady Et Al.
Us 20170140349 A1 Vehicle Group Charging System Ricci; Christopher P.
Us 20170136891 A1 Vehicle Charge Exchange System Ricci; Christopher P.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859