CTNF 18/093,339 CTNF 86104 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 5, 2023 has been considered by the Examiner. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Par. 31 and 32 should be moved to Detailed Description of the Embodiment section. See MPEP 608.01(f) and 37 CFR 1.74 Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “downwards extends” in line 8 should be changed to “extends downwardly” Claim 8 recites “connected to a wall” in line 3 should be changed to “configured to be connected to a wall” Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an elastic resetting member” in claim 1. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 215016503) (new cited) . Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a seasoning box, comprising a box body (120), wherein the box body (120) is provided with a first accommodating cavity used for placing seasoning (Par. 18); a mounting cavity (opening for base 300 and via base 300) is arranged on a lower side of the first accommodating cavity (Fig. 4); an elastic resetting member (spring 310) and a baffle plate (200, 400 and 500) are arranged in the mounting cavity; a first discharging hole (111) is formed in the lower side of the first accommodating cavity; a baffle plate (200, 400 and 500) is provided with a second discharging hole (Par. 47, “A through hole is provided on the baffle plate 200”) corresponding to the first discharging hole (111); furthermore, the elastic resetting member (310) is in driving connection (connecting rod 500) with the baffle plate (200, 400 and 500); the baffle plate (200, 400 and 500) is arranged in the mounting cavity (300) in a back and forth reciprocating movement manner, and the baffle plate downward extends to form a push plate (Fig. 1-4; Par. 40-50) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 215016503) in view of Ophardt et al. (US Pub. 2012/0325857) (new cited) . Regarding claims 2-3, Chen discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the elastic resetting member (310) is a spring and one end of the spring (310) is fixedly connected to the box body (300) (Fig. 4; Par. 49) except a mounting pillar is arranged at a rear end of the baffle plate; the spring sleeves the mounting pillar; and one end of the spring far from the baffle plate is fixedly to the box body; and wherein the two mounting pillars are arranged on a rear side of the baffle plate along a left-right direction. Ophardt et al. discloses a mounting pillar (33) is arranged at a rear end of the baffle plate (32); the spring (34) sleeves the mounting pillar (33); and one end of the spring far from the baffle plate (32) is fixedly connected to the box body; and wherein the two mounting pillars (33) are arranged on a rear side of the baffle plate (32) along a left-right direction (Fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Chen, a mounting pillar is arranged at a rear end of the baffle plate; the spring sleeves the mounting pillar; and one end of the spring far from the baffle plate is fixedly to the box body; and wherein the two mounting pillars are arranged on a rear side of the baffle plate along a left-right direction, as taught by Ophardt et al., for the purpose of providing the rod/pillar for the springs thereby stabilize the baffle/actuator plate in the extended and retracted position. Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses an upper end of the first accommodating cavity of the box body (120) is provided with an upper cover (130) (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses a lower end of an inner side wall of the first accommodating cavity is provided with a guide slope (via at 110) (Fig. 1-4) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 215016503) in view of Comstock et al. (US Pat. 5,183,182) and Schmidt (US Pub. 2023/0121064) (both new cited) . Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a seasoning box with a mounting assembly (700) (Fig. 2 and 4), comprising a seasoning box and a wall-mounted member (700) (Par. 43), wherein the seasoning box is the seasoning box according to claim 1. Chen does not disclose the wall-mounted member is provided with a mounting hole connected to the wall; a groove matched with the wall-mounted member is arranged on a rear side of the box body; a fixing slot is arranged in the groove; and the wall-mounted member is provided with a fixing clip matched with a fixing slot. Comstock et al. discloses the wall-mounted member is provided with a mounting hole (48) connected to the wall (Fig. 4; Col. 3, Lines 26-30). Schmidt discloses a groove (21) matched with the wall-mounted member is arranged on a rear side of the box body (1); a fixing slot (5) is arranged in the groove (21); and the wall-mounted member is provided with a fixing clip (3) matched with a fixing slot (5) (Fig. 1, 3-4, 7 and 9-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Chen, the wall-mounted member is provided with a mounting hole connected to the wall, for the purpose of securing the wall-mounted member to the wall; and a groove matched with the wall-mounted member is arranged on a rear side of the box body; a fixing slot is arranged in the groove; and the wall-mounted member is provided with a fixing clip matched with a fixing slot, as taught by Schmidt, for the purpose of securing the box body to the wall mount bracket . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 215016503) in view of Comstock et al. (US Pat. 5,183,182), Schmidt (US Pub. 2023/0121064) and further view of Gerenraich (US Pat. 7,290,683) (both new cited) . Regarding claim 9, Chen/Comstock/Schmidt disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Schmidt, the fixing slot (5) and the fixing clip (3) except a width of the fixing slot gradually increases from top to bottom, and correspondingly, a width of the fixing clip gradually increases from top to bottom. Gerenraich discloses a width of the fixing slot (98/100) gradually increases from top to bottom, and correspondingly, a width of the fixing clip (94) gradually increases from top to bottom (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Chen/Comstock/Schmidt, a width of the fixing slot gradually increases from top to bottom, and correspondingly, a width of the fixing clip gradually increases from top to bottom, as taught by Gerenraich, for the purpose of inhibiting unauthorized removal of the bottle from the wall surface by lifting of the bottle . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUNG D NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7828. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 9AM - 9PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Edward Landrum can be reached at (571)272-5567. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 12/12/2025 HUNG D. NGUYEN Primary Examiner Art Unit 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/093,339 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761