DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 12, in the reply filed on November 7, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 7, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 5, 2023, March 24, 2023, August 1, 2023, and October 14, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites that “the silicon oxide pretreated with a metal includes 40 to 95 wt% of a metal silicate with respect to a total weight” in lines 3-4 of the claim, however, the wording is unclear as it doesn’t clearly state what the total weight includes. Based on the claim stating that the silicon oxide pretreated with a metal includes 40 to 95 wt% of a metal silicate, and based on paragraph [0059] of the instant specification specifying the content of Li4SiO4 included with respect to the total weight of the silicon oxide, it is interpreted that claim 5 is limiting the content of a metal silicate with respect to the total weight of the silicon oxide pretreated with a metal. It is recommended to amend the claim to clarify the total weight.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kizaki, et al. (US 2018/0309160 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-7, Kizaki teaches a powder for a negative electrode of a lithium ion secondary battery including a silicon oxide powder containing lithium (silicon-based active material particles) (¶ [0013]-[0014]. To produce the negative electrode, a slurry containing the powder (negative electrode active material layer) is applied to a copper current collector (¶ [0069], Ln. 1-6).
While it is acknowledged that the claimed values of A, B, and C, and the claimed relationships between the values, such that 0.01≤A-B≤0.81, 0.01≤A-C≤0.65, 0.3≤A≤8.50, 0.3≤B≤7.71, and 0.3≤C≤7.91, are not expressly recited by Kizaki, the claimed relations would be inherent to the material taught by the reference. A negative electrode satisfying the claimed relations would be implicitly achieved by silicon-based negative electrode active material with substantially the same composition formed by substantially the same process. The instant specification has not provided adequate teachings that the claimed property is only obtainable with the claimed material.
As evidence that the claimed relations are inherent to the powder taught by Kizaki, the reference teaches a silicon-based negative electrode active material with substantially the same composition formed by substantially the same process. Paragraphs [0041] and [0046] of the instant specification teach that the claimed relations indicate that the plurality of silicon-based particles have uniform crystallinity. Paragraph [0069] of the instant specification explains that the formation of crystalline-silicon seeds and the growth of crystalline-silicon are suppressed during the production of the silicon compound particles to produce an amorphous or microcrystalline silicon-based compound, teaching that this is achieved by heat treatment at a low temperature range. Specifically, paragraphs [0081]-[0084] teach that a preliminary heat treatment is performed at a temperature of 100-500 °C in order to uniformly mix the metal precursor, and a subsequent heat treatment is performed at 500-800 °C in order to suppress crystalline-silicon growth and uniformly distribute particles. Examples 1-11 of the instant specification include silicon-based active materials formed by mixing silicon oxide and lithium hydride at a mole ratio of Li/Si of 0.5 to 1.0, performing the preliminary heat treatment at a temperature of 300-400 °C, and performing the subsequent heat treatment at 600-750 °C.
With respect to the composition and processing of the silicon-based active material, Kizaki teaches that the negative electrode active material powder of Example 1 is formed by mixing silicon oxide with lithium hydride powder at a Li/O molar ratio of 0.5, performing a preliminary calcination step at 350 °C, and performing a main calcination step at 700 °C (¶ [0065], Ln. 1-2; Table 1). Kizaki teaches that the molar ratio of O/Si is 0.5-1.5 (¶ [0035], Ln. 1-10), thus the ratio of Li/Si taught by Kizaki ranges from 0.25-0.75. Further, Kizaki teaches that the production method suppresses the formation of crystalline silicon, increasing the initial efficiency and the capacity retention rate over a long-term cycle (¶ [0024], Ln. 1-6). Therefore, Kizaki teaches a silicon-based negative electrode active material with substantially the same composition and formed by substantially the same process, and thus would achieve the claimed relations 0.01≤A-B≤0.81, 0.01≤A-C≤0.65, 0.3≤A≤8.50, 0.3≤B≤7.71, and 0.3≤C≤7.91.
In the alternative, if the reference is not considered to anticipate the claimed property, then the property would be considered obvious because the reference discloses all of the limitations of the claim except a property or function of the claimed article. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP 2112-2112.02). In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claims 2-3, Kizaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the powder for the negative electrode is a silicon oxide containing lithium (¶ [0013]-[0014]), further teaching that the silicon oxide powder and lithium compound powder are mixed to obtain a first mixed powder prior to heating (pretreated with a metal) (¶ [0019], Ln. 1-4). Kizaki teaches that the average composition of the silicon oxide powder is SiOx, wherein 0.5≤x≤1.5 (¶ [0029], Ln. 7-8).
Regarding claim 4, Kizaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above and further teaches that when the silicon oxide powder containing lithium is heat-treated, lithium silicates including Li2Si2O5, Li2SiO3, and Li4SiO4 may be formed (MaSibOc, wherein M is Li, a is 2-4, b is 1-2, and c is 3-5) (¶ [0028], Ln. 1-6). These silicates are formed on at least part of the silicon oxide particles. Kizaki teaches that the average composition of the silicon oxide powder is SiOx, wherein 0.5≤x≤1.5 (¶ [0029], Ln. 7-8).
Regarding claim 8, Kizaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that in the negative electrode using the powder of Example 1 (silicon-based active material particles), the negative electrode active material layer includes the powder of Example 1, acetylene black, SBR, and carboxymethyl cellulose in a mass ratio of 96.5:1:1.5:1.5 (10 wt% or more of the silicon-based active material particles) (¶ [0069], Ln. 8-15).
Regarding claim 12, Kizaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that batteries were manufactured using the negative electrode meeting the limitations of claim 1 above (¶ [0070], Ln. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kizaki, et al. (US 2018/0309160 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Park, et al. (US 2024/0266509 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kizaki teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above and further teaches that when the silicon oxide powder containing lithium is heat-treated, lithium silicates including Li2Si2O5, Li2SiO3, and Li4SiO4 may be formed (¶ [0028], Ln. 1-6). Although Kizaki teaches lithium silicates, the reference is silent to teach the weight percent of lithium silicate relative to a total weight of the silicon oxide powder including lithium, and thus does not expressly teach that the silicon oxide powder including lithium includes 40-95 wt% lithium silicate with respect to a total weight of the silicon oxide powder including lithium.
Park teaches negative electrode active materials including silicon-containing oxide particles as well as lithium (¶ [0013], Ln. 1-5). Park teaches that the lithium may be present as a compound phase, including lithium silicates such as Li2SiO3, Li2Si2O5, Li3SiO3, and Li4SiO4 (¶ [0042]-[0043]). Park further teaches that these lithium silicates may be included in an amount of 40 wt% or more, 60 wt% or more, or 80 wt% or more, based on 100 wt% of the lithium compound phase (¶ [0045], Ln. 1-5). Park teaches that the lithium compound is distributed on the surface and/or inside the silicon-containing oxide particle, and may control the volume expansion and contraction of the silicon-containing oxide particle and may prevent damage to the active material (¶ [0046], Ln. 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the silicon oxide powder including lithium of Kizaki to include lithium silicate in an amount of 40-80 wt% based on a total weight of the silicon oxide powder including lithium, based on the teachings of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include the lithium silicate in an amount within this range in order to control the volume expansion and contraction of the silicon oxide particle and prevent damage to the active material.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785