DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been considered but are not persuasive as Cunningham (as set forth in the rejection below) clearly reads on the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 3,908,992 to Cunningham et al. (hereinafter “Cunningham”) in view of US Patent 11,433,286 to Beye et al. (“Beye”) and US Patent 4,437,661 to Chavez.
Regarding claims 1-12, Cunningham discloses a portable football goal post having right and left vertical members (17) with end caps (18), a horizontal cross bar (13) connected to the vertical members with elbows (16 – connected with fitting fasteners as they are a fluid tight friction fit, see col. 1, ll. 48-51) and to the neck (24) with a T-fitting (14) and then to the base (19,20,21); wherein the crossbars are configured to be set manually (the components of Cunningham are all manually assembled – see Figures).
Cunningham discloses a two-neck post construction and split rail base, but fails to disclose a single base with a cross-construction.
However, as taught by Beye, this construction for a portable goal is well-known and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the single post and cross base of Beye for the split rail base of Cunningham since it would have been a simple substitution of one design (single post, cross base) for another (split rail, two post) that would have provided predictable results (properly supporting the goal of the portable device).
Cunningham, as modified by Beye, still fails to disclose a gooseneck post.
However, Chavez teaches a portable football goal having a gooseneck post (14/16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to provide the goal of Cunningham and Beye with a gooseneck post, as taught by Chavez, in order to carry the uprights at a point horizontally offset from the vertical axis of the post as well as to simulate the appearance of a traditional football goal post (see Chavez, col. 3, ll. 31-38 and common knowledge).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Nicholas J. Weiss
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/NICHOLAS J. WEISS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711