DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 17, and 23 and their respective dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US-20180308609-A1), in view of Lim et al. (US-20210383959-A1), hereinafter Shinohara and Lim respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Shinohara teaches a coil component (1), comprising:
a body having a first surface (18; Fig. 5, 7; Par [0027]) and a second surface (top (or front) surface 17) opposing each other, and a first side surface (bottom surface 19) and a second side surface (upper surface 20) connecting the first surface to the second surface and opposing each other;
a wound coil (3) disposed in the body, and including a wound portion wound around a winding axis perpendicular to the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2-3), and first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27) extending from the wound portion and spaced apart from each other on the first side surface of the body; and
wherein the body includes a mold portion (8, which includes base portion 16 and protrusion 11) on which the wound portion is disposed and a cover portion (9) covering the mold portion and the wound coil, and
wherein the first and second lead-out portions extend in a space between the mold portion and the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2-4), and a portion of the cover portion is disposed in said space (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5).
Shinohara does not explicitly teach first and second external electrodes spaced apart from each other on the first surface of the body, extending only onto the first side surface of the body and connected to the first and second lead-out portions.
Lim teaches first and second external electrodes (400 and 500) spaced apart from each other on the first surface (106) of the body, extending only onto the first side surface (102) of the body and connected to the first and second lead-out portions (231 and 232) respectively (Par [0074]; Fig. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lim and apply it to the coil component of Shinohara by extending the electrodes to multiple surfaces, of the device in order to increase contact area for combining with other electrical components.
Regarding Claim 2, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein the mold portion (8) comprises a base portion (16) and a core (11) protruding from a center of a first surface of the base portion in a direction away from the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2-3), and the cover portion (9) is disposed on the first surface of the base portion (Fig. 2), and
wherein the wound portion (3) is disposed between the mold portion and the cover portion and is wound around the core (Par [0024]; Fig. 2-3; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 3, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein the wound coil (3) further includes first and second extension portions (24 and 25) connecting both ends of the wound portion to the first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27), respectively, and wherein the first and second extension portions extend along the first surface and a side surface of the base portion (Par [0024]; Fig. 2-4; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 4, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein the first and second lead-out portions (24 and 25) are spaced apart from each other on a second surface of the base portion opposing the first surface of the base portion and are in contact with the first side surface of the body (Par [0024]; Fig. 2; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 5, Shinohara teaches the coil component of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first external electrode includes a first connection portion disposed on the first side surface of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion, and a first pad portion extending from the first connection portion and disposed on the first surface of the body, and wherein the second external electrode includes a second connection portion disposed on the first side surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion, and a second pad portion extending from the second connection portion and disposed on the first surface of the body.
Lim teaches the first external electrode 400 includes a first connection portion disposed 410 on the first side surface 102 of the body and connected to the first lead-out portion 231,
and a first pad portion 420 extending from the first connection portion and disposed on the first surface 106 of the body,
and wherein the second external electrode 500 includes a second connection portion 510 disposed on the first side surface 101 of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion 232, and a second pad portion 520 extending from the second connection portion 510 and disposed on the first surface 106 of the body (Paragraph [0074]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lim and apply it to the coil component of Shinohara by extending the electrodes to multiple surfaces with pad portions, in this case two surfaces forming and ‘L’ shape, of the device in order to increase contact area for combining with other electrical components.
Regarding Claim 6, Shinohara teaches the coil component of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein a recess is formed in a space between the first and second external electrodes on the first surface of the body.
Lim teaches a recess (R1) that is formed in a space between the first and second external electrodes on the first surface of the body (Paragraph [0057]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coil of Shinohara with the teachings of Lim by including a recess portion in order to expose portions of components such as lead or connection portions and provide means of connection with or devices (Par [0010; 0065]; Lim).
Regarding Claim 7, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein a cross-sectional area of the recess (R1) decreases from the first surface of the body toward an inner side of the body on a cross- section parallel to the first surface of the body (Paragraph [0057]).
Regarding Claim 8, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 7, wherein the recess (R1) has a trapezoidal shape on a cross-section parallel to the first side surface of the body (Paragraph [0057]).
Regarding Claim 9, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 7, wherein the recess (R1) has an arcuate shape on a cross-section parallel to the first side surface (101) of the body (Paragraph [0057]). Lim states “the first recess R1 may be formed to have the inner surface having a curved shape,” which one of ordinary skill in the art could include an arcuate shape.
It should be noted that changes in shape to the recess would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. An arcuate shape instead of a trapezoidal shape would not change the composition or function of the recess and therefore lacks criticality. See MPEP 2144.04 IV B below for further explanation.
B. Changes in Shape
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding Claim 10, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 3, wherein the mold portion includes first and second groove portions (14 and 15) spaced apart from each other on the side surface of the base portion and accommodating the first and second extension portions (26 and 27), respectively (Par [0027]; Fig. 2, 5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 11, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 10, wherein the first and second groove portions (14 and 15) extend from the side surface of the base portion onto a second surface of the base portion opposing the first surface of the base portion and accommodate the first and second lead-out portions, respectively (Par [0027]; Fig. 2, 5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 12, Shinohara teaches the coil component of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second external electrodes include a first metal layer disposed on the body and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer.
Lim teaches wherein the first and second external electrodes (400 and 500) include a first metal layer disposed on the body and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer (Par [0077]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electrodes of Shinohara with the teachings of Lim to have multiple layers in order to improve solderability.
Regarding Claim 13, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 12, wherein the first and second external electrodes (400 and 500) further include a third metal layer disposed on the second metal layer (Par [0077]; Lim).
Regarding Claim 14, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising: an insulating layer (6) covering the second side surface of the body (Paragraph [0027]; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 15, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the body further has a first end surface and a second end surface (not numbered; end surfaces opposed in the length direction) opposing each other and connecting the first surface to the second surface of the body, connecting the first side surface to the second surface of the body, and wherein the insulating layer (6) extends to the first end surface and the second end surface of the body, and covers a region in which the first or second external electrode (4 and 5) is not disposed among the first surface and the first side surface of the body (Par [0024]; Fig. 2-3; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 16, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the wound coil (3) includes a conductive metal, and a surface of a portion other than a portion in contact with the first and second external electrodes (4 and 5) is coated with an insulating coating layer (‘insulating coating substance’; Par [100]), (Par [0024]; Fig. 2-3; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 17, Shinohara teaches a coil component, comprising: a body having a first surface (18, Fig. 5, 7; Par [0027]) and a second surface (17; Fig. 5,7) opposing each other, and a first side surface (19) and a second side surface (20) connecting the first surface to the second surface and opposing each other; a wound coil (3) disposed in the body, and including a wound portion wound around a winding axis perpendicular to the first side surface of the body (Par [0024]; Fig. 2-3), and first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27) extending from the wound portion and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2-3); and first and second external electrodes (4 and 5) spaced apart from each other, the first and second external electrodes being connected to the first and second lead-out portions, respectively, wherein the body includes a mold portion (8) on which the wound portion is disposed and a cover portion (9) covering the mold portion and the wound coil, and wherein the first and second lead-out portions extend in a space between the mold portion and the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2), and a portion of the cover portion is disposed in said space (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5).
Shinohara does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the electrodes each having an 'L' shape, are disposed on the first surface and the first side surface of the body.
Lim teaches wherein the electrodes each having an 'L' shape, are disposed on the first surface and the first side surface of the body.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lim and apply it to the coil component of Shinohara by extending the electrodes to multiple surfaces, in this case two surfaces forming and ‘L’ shape, of the device in order to increase contact area for combining with other electrical components.
Regarding Claim 18, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches coil component of claim 17, wherein the mold portion (8) comprises a base portion (16) and a core (11) protruding from a center of a first surface of the base portion in a direction away from the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2), and the cover portion (9) is disposed on the first surface of the base portion, and wherein the wound portion is disposed between the mold portion and the cover portion and is wound around the core (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 19, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 18, wherein the first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27) are spaced apart from each other on a second surface of the base portion (16) opposing the first surface of the base portion and are in contact with the first side surface of the body (Par [0024]; Fig. 2; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 20, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 19, wherein the wound coil (3) further includes first and second extension portions (24 and 25) connecting both ends of the wound portion to the first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27), respectively, and wherein the first and second extension portions extend along the first surface (18) of the base portion and a side surface (19) of the base portion, which connects the first and second surfaces of the base portion (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 21, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 20, wherein the wound portion include a plurality of turns (see Fig. 2-3) extending from an end of the second extension portion (25), wound around the core towards an end of the core in a direction in which the core (11) protrudes from the first surface of the base portion, wound around the core towards back to the first surface of the base portion in an opposite direction to said direction, and connected to an end of the first extension portion (24), (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 22, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 20, wherein portions of the first and second extension portions (24 and 25) extend from both ends of the wound portion (Fig. 3), respectively, along the first surface of the base portion at the substantially same distance level from the first surface of the base portion (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 23, Shinohara teaches a coil component (1), comprising; a body having a first surface (18; Fig. 5,7; Par [0027]) and a second surface (117; Fig. 5,7; Par [0027]) opposing each other, and a first side surface (bottom surface 19) and a second side surface (upper surface 20) connecting the first surface to the second surface and opposing each other; a wound coil (3) disposed in the body, and including a wound portion wound around a winding axis perpendicular to the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2-3), and first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27) extending from the wound portion and spaced apart from each other on the first side surface (18) of the body (Fig. 2-3); and connected to the first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27), respectively, wherein the body includes a mold portion (8, which includes base portion 16 and protrusion 11) on which the wound portion is disposed and a cover portion (9) covering the mold portion and the wound coil, and wherein the first and second lead-out portions extend in a space between the mold portion and the first side surface of the body (Fig. 2-4), and a portion of the cover portion is disposed in said space (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5).
Shinohara does not explicitly teach first and second external electrodes spaced apart from each other, disposed on the first surface and the first side surface of the body.
Lim teaches first and second external electrodes (400 and 500) spaced apart from each other, disposed on the first surface (106) and the first side surface (102) of the body (Par [0074]; Fig. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lim and apply it to the coil component of Shinohara by extending the electrodes to multiple surfaces of the device in order to increase contact area for combining with other electrical components.
Regarding Claim 24, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 23, wherein the mold portion comprises a base portion (16) and a core (11) protruding from a center of a first surface of the base portion in a direction away from the first side surface (19) of the body, and the cover portion (9) is disposed on the first surface of the base portion, and wherein the wound portion (3; Fig. 3) is disposed between the mold portion and the cover portion and is wound around the core (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5).
Regarding Claim 25, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 24, wherein the first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27) are spaced apart from each other on a second surface of the base portion opposing the first surface of the base portion and are in contact with the first side surface (19) of the body (Par [0024, 0027-0030]; Fig. 2-5; Shinohara).
Regarding Claim 26, Shinohara in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 25, wherein the wound coil (3) further includes first and second extension portions (24 and 25) connecting both ends of the wound portion to the first and second lead-out portions (26 and 27), respectively, and wherein the first and second extension portions are disposed along the first surface of the base portion and a side surface of the base portion, which connects the first and second surfaces of the base portion (Par [0024]; Fig. 2-4; Shinohara).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it teaches similar coil and electrode structures to the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837