Examiner’s Comments
‘Sensor’ as recited in applicant’s claims is drawn to a haptic transducer device that receives/senses audio signals from a mobile device.
The 112 rejections to claims 1 and 13 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-8,11-13,15-19,23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 20180084362 A1).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method comprising, one or more applications/pieces of software running on at least one processor of a mobile device for providing,
receiving a mono audio file (output of step 230, fig. 2);
receiving a stereo audio file (stereophonic content 205 fig. 2);
applying digital signal processing to the mono audio file, wherein the signal processing converts the mono audio file into a processed format suitable for transmission using a first communications protocol (the system of fig. 2 can be implemented in a host slave configuration where the electronic device/mobile phone receives the stereo audio signal/retrieve an audio waveform, which can be stereo as noted above, then processes the signals to produce haptic waveform per para. 78, where said process includes stage 230 and 235 which output and receive the mono audio file in order to produce the haptic wave per para. 78 via the indirect conversion; where said electronic device/phone requires digital signal processing in order to convert the mono file into a haptic signal that can be wirelessly transmitted to the slave devices 510, 515, 520, 525 per para. 78, where the communication between host device 505 and slave devices 510, 515, 520, 525 is wireless per para. 76, where said wireless communication requires digital processing in order to convert the haptic signals into a format capable of being transmitted wirelessly as per para. 76) ;
synchronizing transmission of the processed mono audio file and the stereo audio file (para. 79: For example, host device 505 may synchronize outputting of an audio waveform with outputting of haptic waveforms by slave devices 510, 515, 520, 525);
transmitting the processed mono audio file to at least one remote sensor in the processed format using the first communications protocol (the haptic files are transmitted as per para. 78: Host device 505 may further be adapted to process the waveform to generate other waveforms, and send the other waveforms to slave devices); and
transmitting the stereo audio file through an audio output of the mobile device (outputs to 265 and 280) using a second communications protocol (protocols defined by 260 and 275 and also as required by the speakers 265 and 280).
As per claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the first communications protocol comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol (para. 26).
As per claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronizing comprises computing a latency in transmitting the processed mono audio file (the digital processor based system must determine and account for the latency in transmitted each of the mono and stereo files in order for the synchronized transmission in para. 6 to occur because synchronization requires knowledge of the latency of each element being synchronized)
As per claim 5, the method of claim 4, wherein the latency is caused by a plurality of factors, wherein the plurality of factors includes data transmission time of the processed mono audio file (the latency required to be determined in order to synchronize the transmission includes data transmission time of each element being synchronized, including the mono audio file).
As per claim 6, the method of claim 5, wherein the plurality of factors comprises time for applying the digital signal processing (because the latency comprises by definition, the time for all processes and transmission of each signal for each element being synchronized).
As per claim 7, the method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of factors includes anticipated buffering of the at least one sensor (because the latency comprises by definition, the time for all processes and transmission of each signal for each element being synchronized, noting that each cited stage within the digital processor requires respective buffering as each process needs to be synchronized with each other process in order for the digital processor to function ).
As per claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein the digital signal processing applies a low pass filtering of the mono audio file configured to 500Hz to convert the mono audio file to a first format (the filtering engine per para. 46).
As per claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein the second communications protocol comprises Bluetooth Classic (para. 75, Mobile device 105 may be transmitting an audio waveform (e.g., a song) to headphones 110. Headphones 110 may be outputting the audio waveform to user 100; where the headphones are wireless per fig. 1 and the wireless communications protocols include Bluetooth/Bluetooth classic per para. 82).
As per claim 12, the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a haptic transducer (per the claim 1 rejection).
As per claim 13, Zhang discloses a system comprising, one or more applications running on one or more processors of a mobile device for providing,
receiving a mono audio file;
receiving a stereo audio file;
applying a first digital signal processing to the processed mono audio file, wherein the signal processing converts the mono audio file into a processed audio format suitable for transmission using a first communications protocol;
synchronizing transmission of the processed mono audio file and the stereo audio file;
transmitting the processed mono audio file to at least one remote sensor in the processed format using the first communications protocol;
transmitting the stereo audio file through an audio output of the mobile device using a second communications protocol;
(per the claim 1 rejection)
at least one application running on a processor of at least one corresponding remote sensor (each electronic device requires a respective processor and software/application in order to implement the disclosed steps and elements) for providing,
receiving the transmitted mono audio file (received as per the transmitting from the electronic device/phone per the claim 1 rejection);
buffering the received mono audio file (the received mono/haptic audio filed must be buffered in order to be synchronized with the other functions on the sensor device, such as the recovery from the Bluetooth wireless transmission) ;
playing the received mono audio file through the at least one sensor, the playing the received mono audio file comprising applying a second digital signal processing to the received mono audio file (the haptic signals are processed with second digital signal processing 245, which occurs on the haptic sensors after receiving the mono/haptic signal per the configuration described in the claim 1 rejection).
As per claim 15, the method of claim 13, wherein the first communications protocol comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol (per claim 3 rejection).
As per claim 16, the method of claim 13, wherein the synchronizing comprises computing a latency in transmitting the processed mono audio file (per claim 4 rejection).
As per claim 17, the method of claim 16, wherein the latency is caused by a plurality of factors, wherein the plurality of factors includes data transmission time of the processed mono audio file (per the claim 5 rejection).
As per claim 18, the method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of factors comprises time for applying the first digital signal processing (per claim 6 rejection).
As per claim 19, the method of claim 18, wherein the plurality of factors includes anticipated buffering of the at least one sensor (per the claim 7 rejection).
As per claim 23, the method of claim 13, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a haptic transducer (per the claim 12 rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,9,10,14,20,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180084362 A1) as applied to claims 1,13.
As per claim 2, the processor based method of the claim 1 rejection requires an operating system in order to run the applications/software.
However Zhang does not specify which particular operating system is used.
The examiner takes official notice it is well known in the art to use well known standards and protocols for the purpose of compatibility with known standards and protocols. Where ios is a very well known operating system. Further, the examiner notes that Zhang was filed by by Apple, who created the ios operating system.
As per claims 9,10, the method of claim 8, wherein the first format can comprise an mp3 per the mp3 player cited in para. 98 being the slave haptic device).
However, Zhang does not disclose that the mp3 player and its associated format comprises 44.1 kHz 192kbps MP3, or a 1kHz16bit PCM.
The examiner takes official notice that a 44.1KHz 192Kbps mp3 is a well known audio format and it is well known in the art to resample and reencode audio signals to use well known standards and protocols for the purpose of compatibility with known standards and protocols. Where 44.1KHz 192Kbps mp3 and 1KHz16bitPCM are very well known standards. Further noting resampling and reencoding is requires to convert audio from one format to another format such as PCM.
As per claim 14, it is rejected as per the claim 2 rejection.
As per claim 20, the method of claim 13, wherein the first digital signal processing applies a low pass filtering of the mono audio file configured to 500Hz to convert the mono audio file to a first format (per the claim 8 rejection), wherein the first format comprises 44.1 kHz 192kbps MP3 (per the claim 9 rejection and in view of the parent claim 13 rejection).
As per claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as the claim 9,10 rejections in view of parent claim 13 rejection.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180084362 A1) as applied to claim 13 and further in view of Peng et al (US 20220021479 A1).
As per claim 22, Zheng discloses the method of claim 13, but does not specify wherein the buffering comprises use of a 512 sample circular ring buffer.
Peng teaches that devices in a wireless network can use circular buffers/circular ring buffer at 512 bits as per para. 107, and teaches that this allows polar coding to be used in the transmissions of well known standards such as 5G (para. 3) in order to enable ultra reliable low latency communication (para. 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement the 512 bit ring/circular buffer in the networked devices of Zhang for the purpose of performing buffering in order to implement well known communication standards in order to produce ultra reliable low latency communications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As per applicant’s argument that the cited prior art Zhang does not disclose receiving the mono audio signal, processing it, then synchronizing the transmitted processed mono audio signal with a stereo audio file, the examiner notes the above cited elements are all cited and mapped in the previous filed non-final rejection. The Mono signal is received from the cited stereo to mono converter stage 230.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can usually be reached on m-f 7:30-4:00 est.
The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are 571-273-8300 for regular communications and 571-273-8300 for After Final communications.
/ALEXANDER KRZYSTAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2653
Examiner Alexander Krzystan
October 24, 2025