DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5 January 2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, and 12-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakakibara et al (US 20110012560 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakakibara teaches a power tool (¶0400 “FIG. 24 illustrates the cordless power tool 200 and the electrical cord adaptor 250”, ¶0403 “FIG. 13 is an exploded perspective view of the battery pack 100”),
comprising a first connecting port (¶0413 “Electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
a second connecting port (¶0413 “Electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
and a motor module (¶0390 “ battery pack 100 outputs AC electricity which substantially achieves the effective value of the commercial power source, through the terminal 110. In the AC power tool 300, an AC motor 303 is driven by AC electricity which is supplied from the battery pack 100”);
the power tool is characterized in that the power tool comprises: a first switching member having a first end, a second end, and a first control end (¶0420 “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the battery module according to the first embodiment… Nine (9) battery cells 120 are electrically interconnected in series and electrically connected with the module input/output portions 131 through an FET 129 for module charge and an FET 130 for module discharge “),
wherein the first end is electrically connected to the first connecting port, the second end is electrically connected to the motor module, and the first control end is controllable to conduct or cut off the first end and the second end (¶0404 “battery pack 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention houses three (3) battery modules 112; a main controller assembly 114”, ¶0413 “electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”);
a second switching member having a third end, a fourth end, and a second control end (¶0420 “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the battery module according to the first embodiment… Nine (9) battery cells 120 are electrically interconnected in series and electrically connected with the module input/output portions 131 through an FET 129 for module charge and an FET 130 for module discharge “),
wherein the third end is electrically connected to the second connecting port, the fourth end is electrically connected to the motor module, and the second control end is controllable to conduct or cut off the third end and the fourth end (¶0404 “battery pack 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention houses three (3) battery modules 112; a main controller assembly 114”, ¶0413 “electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”);
and a control device electrically connected to the first connecting port, the second connecting port, the first control end of the first switching member, and the second control end of the second switching member (¶0420 “[FIG. 16] battery cells 120 are electrically interconnected in series and electrically connected with the module input/output portions 131 through an FET 129 for module charge and an FET 130 for module discharge. The module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”),
wherein when the control device determines that the first connecting port is connected to a battery, the control device detects a first voltage inputted to the first connecting port (¶0420 “module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”)
and a second voltage inputted to the second connecting port (¶0420 “module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”);
when a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is smaller than a predetermined voltage difference (¶0559 “ At step S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120… have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value, then the process proceeds to step S211”),
the control device outputs a first control signal to the first control end and outputs a second control signal to the second control end, thereby building a conduction between the first end and the second end and building a conduction between the third end and the fourth end, allowing both a power of the battery connected to the first connecting port and a power of the battery connected to the second connecting port to supply to the motor module (¶0559 “proceeds to step S211 to allow each of the module controllers 122 to transmit to the main controller 134 an information signal indicating that the battery cells 120 have voltages which permit the charging”).
Regarding claim 2, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara further teaches a power tool wherein when the control device determines that only the first connecting port among the first connecting port and the second connecting port is connected to the battery (¶0413 “Electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
the control device outputs the first control signal to the first control end, thereby building the conduction between the first end and the second end, allowing the power of the battery connected to the first connecting port to supply alone to the motor module (¶0379 “FIG. 3 illustrates the exterior of the bottom of the cordless power tool 200. The cordless power tool 200 has a motor housing 201 which houses an AC motor adapted to be powered by the commercial power source; a switch 202 for control of the AC motor; a handle 203; and a battery pack retainer 204 for connection with the battery pack 100”).
Regarding claim 4, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 3. Sakakibara further teaches a power tool wherein when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage changes from greater than the predetermined voltage difference to less than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the first control signal to the first control end and outputs the second control signal to the second control end (¶0390 “AC power tool 300, an AC motor 303 is driven by AC electricity which is supplied from the battery pack 100 and which is then delivered from the terminal 100 of the battery pack 100 to the AC motor 303, through the outlet plug 301 and a switch 302”, ¶0555 “FIG. 27 illustrates in a flowchart, operations in the charge preparation mode of the battery pack 100”).
Sakakibara FIG. 27 has steps S209-S214 which illustrate the decision for connecting and disconnecting cells which are in the allowable voltage range using FETs as switches. Particularly S210 “Hold FET for module charge off” and S214 “turn on FET for module charge”. Step S209 is further detailed in ¶0559 “S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120, because they have not been fully charged, have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value”.
Regarding claim 5, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara further teaches a power tool wherein when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0559 “S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120, because they have not been fully charged, have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value”),
the control device does not output the first control signal and the second control signal, so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off (FIG. 27 if S209 is “NO” moves to S210 “Hold FET for Modules charge OFF”).
Regarding claim 9, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara further teaches a power tool wherein the control device determines that the first connecting port is connected to the battery when the control device detects that the first connecting port has the first voltage (¶0420 “module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”),
while the control device determines that the second connecting port is connected to the battery when the control device detects that the second connecting port has the second voltage (¶0413 “battery cells 120 is electrically connected at its one end with the lead plates 121 and connected at its other end with a module controller 122”).
Regarding claim 10, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara further teaches a power tool further comprising a first circuit board and a second circuit board, wherein the first connecting port and the first switching member are disposed on the first circuit board, and the second connecting port and the second switching member are disposed on the second circuit board (¶0420 “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the battery module… The module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”).
The battery cells 120 are duplicates of one another one is attached to each connecting port, thereby each battery module has FETs 129 and 130 on their respective circuit boards.
Regarding claim 12, Sakakibara teaches a method of controlling a power tool, wherein the power tool (¶0400 “FIG. 24 illustrates the cordless power tool 200 and the electrical cord adaptor 250”, ¶0403 “FIG. 13 is an exploded perspective view of the battery pack 100”)
comprises a first connecting port (¶0413 “Electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal oards.6”),
a second connecting port (¶0413 “Electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
a first switching member, a second switching member (¶0420 “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the battery module according to the first embodiment… Nine (9) battery cells 120 are electrically interconnected in series and electrically connected with the module input/output portions 131 through an FET 129 for module charge and an FET 130 for module discharge”, the power tool 200 contains a plurality of battery cells 120 which in turn have switching members 129 and 130),
a motor module (¶0390 “ battery pack 100 outputs AC electricity which substantially achieves the effective value of the commercial power source, through the terminal 110. In the AC power tool 300, an AC motor 303 is driven by AC electricity which is supplied from the battery pack 100”),
and a control device (¶0349 “a battery pack according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention is constructed to include: a main controller having discharge control circuitry; battery modules; and a transmit/receive device”, ¶0366 “a bi-direction between the main controller and each module controller, circuitry for transmitting and receiving a signal indicating that charging is disabled, in a direction from the main controller to each module controller”);
the first switching member has a first end, a second end, and a first control end (¶0420 “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the battery module according to the first embodiment… Nine (9) battery cells 120 are electrically interconnected in series and electrically connected with the module input/output portions 131 through an FET 129 for module charge and an FET 130 for module discharge”),
wherein the first end is electrically connected to the first connecting port, the second end is electrically connected to the motor module (¶0404 “battery pack 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention houses three (3) battery modules 112; a main controller assembly 114”, ¶0413 “electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
and the second switching member has a third end, a fourth end, and a second control end (¶0420 “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the battery module according to the first embodiment… Nine (9) battery cells 120 are electrically interconnected in series and electrically connected with the module input/output portions 131 through an FET 129 for module charge and an FET 130 for module discharge “);
the third end is electrically connected to the second connecting port, the fourth end is electrically connected to the motor module (¶0404 “battery pack 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention houses three (3) battery modules 112; a main controller assembly 114”, ¶0413 “electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
and the control device is electrically connected to the first connecting port, the second connecting port, the first control end of the first switching member, and the second control end of the second switching member (¶0349 “a battery pack according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention is constructed to include: a main controller having discharge control circuitry; battery modules; and a transmit/receive device”, ¶0366 “a bi-direction between the main controller and each module controller, circuitry for transmitting and receiving a signal indicating that charging is disabled, in a direction from the main controller to each module controller”);
the method comprises steps of taking following steps when the control device determines that the first connecting port is connected to a battery and the second connecting port is connected to a battery (¶0420 “module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”);
A1: detecting a first voltage inputted to the first connecting port and a second voltage inputted to the second connecting port through the control device (¶0420 “module controller 122 is electrically connected with the voltage monitor wires 123 for cell voltage detection and the temperature sensor 124 for cell temperature detection, and performs control using the FETs 129 and 130”);
A2: outputting a first control signal to the first control end and outputting a second control signal to the second control end through the control device when the control device determines that a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is smaller than a predetermined voltage difference (¶0559 “ At step S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120… have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value, then the process proceeds to step S211”),
thereby building a conduction between the first end and the second end and building a conduction between the third end and the fourth end, allowing both a power of the battery connected to the first connecting port and a power of the battery connected to the second connecting port to be supplied to the motor module (¶0559 “proceeds to step S211 to allow each of the module controllers 122 to transmit to the main controller 134 an information signal indicating that the battery cells 120 have voltages which permit the charging”).
Regarding claim 13, Sakakibara teaches the method of controlling a power tool as claimed in claim 12. Sakakibara further teaches a method of controlling a power tool further comprising following steps: outputting the first control signal to the first control end through the control device when the control device determines that only the first connecting port among the first connecting port and the second connecting port is connected to the battery (¶0413 “Electrical connection between the module controller 122 and the main control assembly 114, each battery module 112 is exposed to the outside only at its battery input/output terminal 113”),
thereby building the conduction between the first end and the second end, allowing the power of the battery connected to the first connecting port to supply alone to the motor module (¶0379 “FIG. 3 illustrates the exterior of the bottom of the cordless power tool 200. The cordless power tool 200 has a motor housing 201 which houses an AC motor adapted to be powered by the commercial power source; a switch 202 for control of the AC motor; a handle 203; and a battery pack retainer 204 for connection with the battery pack 100”).
Regarding claim 15, Sakakibara teaches the method of controlling a power tool as claimed in claim 12. Sakakibara further teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein step A2 further comprising a step of outputting the first control signal to the first control end and outputting the second control signal to the second control end when the control device determines that the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage changes from greater than the predetermined voltage difference to less than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0559 “S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120, because they have not been fully charged, have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value”).
Sakakibara FIG. 27 has steps S209-S214 which illustrate the decision for connecting and disconnecting cells which are in the allowable voltage range using FETs as switches. Particularly S210 “Hold FET for module charge off” and S214 “turn on FET for module charge”. Step S209 is further detailed in ¶2559 “S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120, because they have not been fully charged, have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value”.
Regarding claim 16, Sakakibara teaches the method of controlling a power tool as claimed in claim 12. Sakakibara further teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein step A2 further comprising a step of not outputting the first control signal to the first control end and not outputting the second control signal to the second control end through the control device when the control device determines that the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0559 “S209, if, however, each of the module controllers 122 determines that all the battery cells 120, because they have not been fully charged, have their voltages lower than the predetermined voltage, with the differences between the voltages of the battery cells 120 smaller than the predetermined value”),
so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off (FIG. 27 if S209 is “NO” moves to S210 “Hold FET for Modules charge OFF”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6-8, 11, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara modified by Nakano et al (US 20200127339 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara does not teach a power tool wherein when the first voltage is greater than the second voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the first control signal to the first control end, and does not output the second control signal to the second control end; when the second voltage is greater than the first voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the second control signal to the second control end, and does not output the first control signal to the first control end.
Nakano teaches a power tool wherein when the first voltage is greater than the second voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0133 “the predetermined threshold value (for example, 1 V or higher), the microcomputer 660 stops and prohibits operation of the motor 635, so that supply of power from the battery pack 100 to the load device (motor 635) is stopped or limited”),
the control device outputs the first control signal to the first control end, and does not output the second control signal to the second control end (¶0120 “voltage A of the upper cell unit 146 is lower than the voltage B of the lower cell unit 147, as indicated in mode No. 11, the determination result is determined as “non-connection/abnormality in cell set voltage balance (A<B)””);
when the second voltage is greater than the first voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the second control signal to the second control end, and does not output the first control signal to the first control end (¶0120 “if the voltage A of the upper cell unit 146 is higher than the voltage B of the lower cell unit 147, as indicated in mode No. 10, the determination result is determined as “non-connection/abnormality in cell set voltage balance (A>B)””).
The table of FIG. 17 as taught by Nakano demonstrates the different states that the power tool can operate in as described in ¶0118 “Therefore, first, it is classified whether the determination belongs to mode No. 1 to 8 or No. 9 to 11. Here, system detection absence (H) indicates that the battery pack 100 is in a state of being detached from the electrical apparatus main body or the external charging device”. States 9 thru 11 indicate an abnormality and disconnect the batteries from the motor, in which one or more batteries are disconnected from the motor.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the power tool as taught by Sakakibara wherein when the first voltage is greater than the second voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the first control signal to the first control end, and does not output the second control signal to the second control end; when the second voltage is greater than the first voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the second control signal to the second control end, and does not output the first control signal to the first control end, as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 6, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara does not teach a power tool further comprising a warning member electrically connected to the control device, wherein when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device controls the warning member to output a warning.
Nakano teaches a power tool further comprising a warning member electrically connected to the control device (¶0133 “A power tool 630 in FIG. 19(2) is configured to include a control unit (device side control unit) having a microcomputer 660. A microcomputer (MCU) 660 monitors a voltage, that is, a voltage between the positive electrode of the upper cell unit 146 and the negative electrode of the lower cell unit 147 supplied to a motor 635”),
wherein when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0133 “the predetermined threshold value (for example, 1 V or higher), the microcomputer 660 stops and prohibits operation of the motor 635, so that supply of power from the battery pack 100 to the load device (motor 635) is stopped or limited”),
the control device controls the warning member to output a warning (¶0133 “as an alarm indicating a discharging stop, a worker is notified of occurrence of an abnormality by causing an LED 665 to flicker”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the power tool as taught by Sakakibara to further comprise a warning member electrically connected to the control device wherein when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 7, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara further teaches a power tool further comprising a current detecting member electrically connected to the motor module and the control device (¶0438 “main controller 134 is powered by a power supply circuit 133 with battery backup function and is electrically connected with a voltage detector 137 for battery module voltage detection, a current detector 138 for charging/discharging current detection”).
Sakakibara does not teach a power tool further comprising a current detecting member electrically connected to the motor module and the control device wherein the current detecting member is adapted to detect a current inputted to the motor module; when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than a predetermined current, the control device does not output the first control signal and the second control signal, so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off.
Nakano teaches a power tool further comprising a current detecting member electrically connected to the motor module and the control device wherein the current detecting member is adapted to detect a current inputted to the motor module (¶0096 “ control unit 350 on the battery pack 100 side monitors an overcurrent and stops the motor 5 on the power tool main body 1A side, it is preferable that the control unit 60 on the power tool main body 1A side directly monitor an overcurrent using the current detection circuit 64”);
when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than a predetermined current (¶0117 “microcomputer determines a normality or an abnormality of the connection state of the battery pack 100 and the terminal connection state using the detection results in Steps 501 to 504 and performs operation in accordance with the determination result (Steps 505 and 506). FIG. 17 collectively shows the way of determination in Step 506 and a corresponding operation at that time”),
the control device does not output the first control signal and the second control signal, so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off (¶0118 “FIG. 17 is a table showing determination of the connection state of the battery pack 100 performed by the microcomputer of the control unit 350, a way of determining a normality or an abnormality of a terminal connection state”).
The table of FIG. 17 as taught by Nakano demonstrates the different states that the power tool can operate in as described in ¶0118 “Therefore, first, it is classified whether the determination belongs to mode No. 1 to 8 or No. 9 to 11. Here, system detection absence (H) indicates that the battery pack 100 is in a state of being detached from the electrical apparatus main body or the external charging device”. States 9 thru 11 indicate an abnormality and disconnect the batteries from the motor. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the power tool as taught by Sakakibara when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than a predetermined current the control device does not output the first control signal and the second control signal, so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 8, Sakakibara as modified by Nakano teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 7. Sakakibara as modified by Nakano does not teach a power tool wherein when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than the predetermined current, the control device controls the warning member to output a warning.
Nakano further teaches a power tool wherein when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than the predetermined current (¶0096 “ control unit 350 on the battery pack 100 side monitors an overcurrent and stops the motor 5 on the power tool main body 1A side, it is preferable that the control unit 60 on the power tool main body 1A side directly monitor an overcurrent using the current detection circuit 64”),
the control device controls the warning member to output a warning (¶0133 “as an alarm indicating a discharging stop, a worker is notified of occurrence of an abnormality by causing an LED 665 to flicker”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the power tool as taught by Sakakibara as modified by Nakano wherein when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than the predetermined current the control device controls the warning member to output a warning as further taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 11, Sakakibara teaches the power tool as claimed in claim 1. Sakakibara does not teach a power tool wherein the predetermined voltage difference is derived from a product of either the first voltage or the second voltage that has a higher voltage and a predetermined ratio; the predetermined ratio is 0.1-0.3 times.
Nakano teaches a power tool wherein the predetermined voltage difference is derived from a product of either the first voltage or the second voltage that has a higher voltage and a predetermined ratio (¶0075 “ terminal component 240 is preferable when it is desired to achieve a high function in the battery pack 100 of the present example, that is, the battery pack in the related art and to promote miniaturization in voltage ratio”).
Nakano does not explicitly disclose the predetermined voltage ratio is 0.1-0.3 times; however ¶0134 states “ in the example described above, an 18 V/36 V voltage switchable battery pack has been described. However, switchable voltages and voltage ratios are not limited thereto only, and other voltage ratios may be adopted”. As is stated in Nakano ¶0075, the goal of this design is to minimize the voltage ratio and it would be natural to adopt the predetermined ratio of 0.1-0.3 times the larger voltage to be adopted. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the power tool as taught by Sakakibara wherein the predetermined voltage difference is derived from a product of either the first voltage or the second voltage that has a higher voltage and a predetermined ratio; the predetermined ratio is 0.1-0.3 times as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 14, Sakakibara teaches the method of controlling a power tool as claimed in claim 12. Sakakibara does not teach a method of controlling a power tool wherein step A2 further comprising steps of outputting the first control signal to the first control end and not outputting the second control signal to the second control end when the control device determines that the first voltage is greater than the second voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference; outputting the second control signal to the second control end and not outputting the first control signal to the first control end when the control device determines that the second voltage is greater than the first voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference.
Nakano teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein step A2 further comprising steps of outputting the first control signal to the first control end and not outputting the second control signal to the second control end (¶0120 “voltage A of the upper cell unit 146 is lower than the voltage B of the lower cell unit 147, as indicated in mode No. 11, the determination result is determined as “non-connection/abnormality in cell set voltage balance (A<B)””)
when the control device determines that the first voltage is greater than the second voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0133 “the predetermined threshold value (for example, 1 V or higher), the microcomputer 660 stops and prohibits operation of the motor 635, so that supply of power from the battery pack 100 to the load device (motor 635) is stopped or limited”);
outputting the second control signal to the second control end and not outputting the first control signal to the first control end when the control device determines that the second voltage is greater than the first voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0120 “if the voltage A of the upper cell unit 146 is higher than the voltage B of the lower cell unit 147, as indicated in mode No. 10, the determination result is determined as “non-connection/abnormality in cell set voltage balance (A>B)””).
The table of FIG. 17 as taught by Nakano demonstrates the different states that the power tool can operate in as described in ¶0118 “Therefore, first, it is classified whether the determination belongs to mode No. 1 to 8 or No. 9 to 11. Here, system detection absence (H) indicates that the battery pack 100 is in a state of being detached from the electrical apparatus main body or the external charging device”. States 9 thru 11 indicate an abnormality and disconnect the batteries from the motor, in which one or more batteries are disconnected from the motor.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of controlling a power tool as taught by Sakakibara wherein when the first voltage is greater than the second voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the first control signal to the first control end, and does not output the second control signal to the second control end; when the second voltage is greater than the first voltage and the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference, the control device outputs the second control signal to the second control end, and does not output the first control signal to the first control end, as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 17, Sakakibara teaches the method of controlling a power tool as claimed in claim 12. Sakakibara does not teach a method of controlling a power tool wherein the power tool further comprises a warning member electrically connected to the control device; the control device controls the warning member to output a warning when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference.
Nakano teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein the power tool further comprises a warning member electrically connected to the control device (¶0133 “A power tool 630 in FIG. 19(2) is configured to include a control unit (device side control unit) having a microcomputer 660. A microcomputer (MCU) 660 monitors a voltage, that is, a voltage between the positive electrode of the upper cell unit 146 and the negative electrode of the lower cell unit 147 supplied to a motor 635”);
the control device controls the warning member to output a warning when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference (¶0133 “as an alarm indicating a discharging stop, a worker is notified of occurrence of an abnormality by causing an LED 665 to flicker”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of controlling a power tool as taught by Sakakibara to further comprise a warning member electrically connected to the control device wherein when the difference between the first voltage and the second voltage is greater than the predetermined voltage difference as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 18, Sakakibara teaches the method of controlling a power tool as claimed in claim 12. Sakakibara further teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein the power tool further comprises a current detecting member electrically connected to the motor module and the control device (¶0438 “main controller 134 is powered by a power supply circuit 133 with battery backup function and is electrically connected with a voltage detector 137 for battery module voltage detection, a current detector 138 for charging/discharging current detection”).
Sakakibara does not teach a method of controlling a power tool wherein the power tool further comprises a current detecting member electrically connected to the motor module and the control device; the current detecting member is adapted to detect a current inputted to the motor module;
the control method further comprising a step of not outputting the first control signal to the first control end and not outputting the second control signal to the second control end through the control end through the control device determines that the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than a predetermined current, so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off.
Nakano teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein the power tool further comprises a current detecting member electrically connected to the motor module and the control device (¶0096 “ control unit 350 on the battery pack 100 side monitors an overcurrent and stops the motor 5 on the power tool main body 1A side”);
the current detecting member is adapted to detect a current inputted to the motor module (¶0096 “ control unit 350 on the battery pack 100 side monitors an overcurrent and stops the motor 5 on the power tool main body 1A side, it is preferable that the control unit 60 on the power tool main body 1A side directly monitor an overcurrent using the current detection circuit 64”);
the control method further comprising a step of not outputting the first control signal to the first control end and not outputting the second control signal to the second control end through the control end through the control device determines that the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than a predetermined current (¶0117 “microcomputer determines a normality or an abnormality of the connection state of the battery pack 100 and the terminal connection state using the detection results in Steps 501 to 504 and performs operation in accordance with the determination result (Steps 505 and 506). FIG. 17 collectively shows the way of determination in Step 506 and a corresponding operation at that time”),
so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off (¶0118 “FIG. 17 is a table showing determination of the connection state of the battery pack 100 performed by the microcomputer of the control unit 350, a way of determining a normality or an abnormality of a terminal connection state”).
The table of FIG. 17 as taught by Nakano demonstrates the different states that the power tool can operate in as described in ¶0118 “Therefore, first, it is classified whether the determination belongs to mode No. 1 to 8 or No. 9 to 11. Here, system detection absence (H) indicates that the battery pack 100 is in a state of being detached from the electrical apparatus main body or the external charging device”. States 9 thru 11 indicate an abnormality and disconnect the batteries from the motor. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of controlling a power tool as taught by Sakakibara when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than a predetermined current the control device does not output the first control signal and the second control signal, so that both the first switching member and the second switching member switch off as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 19, Sakakibara as modified by Nakano teaches the method as claimed in claim 18. Sakakibara as modified by Nakano does not teach a method of controlling a power tool further comprising a step of outputting a warning signal through the control dev ice when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than the predetermined current.
Nakano further teaches a method of controlling a power tool further comprising a step of outputting a warning signal (¶0133 “as an alarm indicating a discharging stop, a worker is notified of occurrence of an abnormality by causing an LED 665 to flicker”)
through the control dev ice when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than the predetermined current (¶0096 “ control unit 350 on the battery pack 100 side monitors an overcurrent and stops the motor 5 on the power tool main body 1A side, it is preferable that the control unit 60 on the power tool main body 1A side directly monitor an overcurrent using the current detection circuit 64”),.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of controlling a power tool as taught by Sakakibara as modified by Nakano wherein when the current detected by the current detecting member is greater than the predetermined current the control device controls the warning member to output a warning as further taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Regarding claim 20, Sakakibara as modified by Nakano teaches the method as claimed in claim 19. Sakakibara as modified by Nakano does not teach a method of controlling a power tool wherein the predetermined voltage difference is derived from a product of either the first voltage or the second voltage that has a higher voltage and a predetermined ratio: the predetermined ratio is 0.1-0.3 times.
Nakano further teaches a method of controlling a power tool wherein the predetermined voltage difference is derived from a product of either the first voltage or the second voltage that has a higher voltage and a predetermined ratio (¶0075 “ terminal component 240 is preferable when it is desired to achieve a high function in the battery pack 100 of the present example, that is, the battery pack in the related art and to promote miniaturization in voltage ratio”).
Nakano does not explicitly disclose the predetermined voltage ratio is 0.1-0.3 times[KL2] ; however ¶0134 states “ in the example described above, an 18 V/36 V voltage switchable battery pack has been described. However, switchable voltages and voltage ratios are not limited thereto only, and other voltage ratios may be adopted”. As is stated in Nakano ¶0075, the goal of this design is to minimize the voltage ratio and it would be natural to adopt the predetermined ratio of 0.1-0.3 times the larger voltage to be adopted. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of controlling a power tool as taught by Sakakibara wherein the predetermined voltage difference is derived from a product of either the first voltage or the second voltage that has a higher voltage and a predetermined ratio; the predetermined ratio is 0.1-0.3 times[KL3] as taught by Nakano for the purpose of safely operating the power tool by preventing overheating from mismatched voltages of the batteries.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. Claim 18 contains the limitation “second switching member switch off” which should read “second switching member switches off.” Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0008] and [0009] should be combined. [0008] presents an incomplete thought “including following steps.” which is continued in [0009] “take following steps when the control device determines”; further both of these paragraphs contain grammatical errors of missing articles which are underlined.
[0022] contains grammatical errors. Further [0022] should begin with the figure that it is pointing to, for ease of reference to the numbered elements.
[0028] – [0036] refer to FIG 3 and describe the method of supplying power to the motor module therein for a single battery and for two batteries; however, FIG 3 is missing step labels which puts undue burden on the reader to connect the specification to the drawings. Please include step labels on the figure as well as indicating which step each sentence is corresponding to in the specification.
[0037] – [0039] refer to FIG 4 and describe the method of supplying power to the motor module therein for a single battery and for two batteries; however, FIG 4 is missing step labels which puts undue burden on the reader to connect the specification to the drawings. Please include step labels on the figure as well as indicating which step each sentence is corresponding to in the specification.
[0034] contains grammatical error “preventing the motor M from damaging due the failure of releasing energy of the back electromotive force”
[0040] contains grammatical errors. Further [0040] should begin with the figure that it is pointing to, for ease of reference to the numbered elements.
[0040]-[0044] refer to FIG 8 and describe the method of supplying power to the motor module therein for a single battery and for two batteries; however, FIG 8 is missing step labels which puts undue burden on the reader to connect the specification to the drawings. Please include step labels on the figure as well as indicating which step each sentence is corresponding to in the specification.
[0041] contains grammatical errors. Further [0041] should begin with the figure that it is pointing to, for ease of reference to the numbered elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description regarding FIGs 3, 4, 6, and 8 please amend to have step labels included in both the drawings and the specification for ease of reference and clarity. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Ishikawa et al (US 20180370371 A1) teaches a power supply system for an electric bicycle which has multiple battery units each with an onboard controller which is in communication with a main controller which drives the motor.
Shook et al (US 20120326670 A1) teaches a control scheme for use in a power tool which monitors the batteries voltages.
Yokoyama et al (US 20090237012 A1) teaches a wireless power tool which detects a number of cell assemblies and control means which control the switching elements as a way to stop the drive of the motor when the number of cell assemblies is smaller than a predetermined value.
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859