DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 7-8 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claim 1 have overcome 112(f) invocation previously set forth. The claim is no longer subject to 112(f) invocation for claim interpretation.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objections previously set forth. The objections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejections previously set forth. The 112(b) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonaeus (US 2022/0341615 A1) (“Lonaeus”), in view of Bonvini et al. (US 2023/0228437 A1), further in view of KARP et al. (US 2017/0192402 A1) (“Karp”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lonaeus teaches:
An energy-saving air conditioning monitoring and control system, wherein the system is equipped for one or many air conditioning apparatuses which work independently, in group, or in several various groups, the system comprising: (Lonaeus: Abstract “Systems and techniques are described for using retrofit control of a ductless mini-split system (DMSS) to improve functionality and use in relation to temperature monitoring within a property. In some implementations, data indicating a command is transmitted to a controller associated with a ductless mini-split system. The command causes the controller to configure an operation to be performed by the ductless mini-split system. Power output associated with the ductless mini-split system is monitored based on transmitting data indicating the command. A determination that the operation has been performed by the ductless mini-split system is made based on monitoring the power output. Data indicating that the operation has been performed by the ductless mini-split system is provided for output.”) (Lonaeus: [0022] “… The DMSS 120 can include one or more indoor units, such as indoor unit 120A, each of which includes a fan and functions as an evaporator unit. The DMSS 120 can also include an outdoor unit, such as outdoor unit 120B, which functions as a compressor/condenser. The indoor unit(s) and the outdoor unit can be linked and/or connected using a conduit that houses, for instance, a power cable, refrigerant tubing, suction tubing, a condensate drain, among others.”) (Lonaeus: [0068] “Device optimization settings may relate to configuration of the DMSS 120 based on usage parameters, such as energy consumption, probability of maintenance, or ambient temperature fluctuations. The server 180 can determine the optimization settings based on evaluating historical information specified in the aggregate data 408B. As examples, the optimization settings can include settings that reduce overall energy consumption by the DMSS 120 while maintaining core heating and cooling operations, the frequency of operation that reduces the likelihood that the DMSS 120 will require maintenance within a specified time period (e.g., six months, one year, five years), or the type of operation that reduces the magnitude of ambient temperature fluctuations within a property that may make the user feel uncomfortable.”) [The retrofit control of the ductless mini-split system (DMSS) that optimizes energy consumption reads on “[a]n energy-saving air conditioning monitoring and control system”. Any one or combination of the indoor and outdoor units of the ductless mini-split system (DMSS) reads on “one or many air conditioning apparatuses”.]
at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit is provided corresponding to an air conditioning apparatus of the one or many air conditioning apparatuses, for receiving an air conditioning control signal from a remote control operated by users; (Lonaeus: [0025] “The controller 130 is a device component configured to transmit commands to the DMSS 120 based on input data relating to the commands. The input data can include interactions with physical buttons by a user, command data received from other components (e.g., control unit 110, user device 170) that relates to commands to be provided to the DMSS 120, among others.”) (Lonaeus: [0032] “The user device 170 can be any type of computing device that is used or associated with a user in association with a property. For instance, the user device 170 can be one or more of a smartphone, wearable device, a tablet computing device, a laptop computing device, or a desktop computing device. The user device 170 can be used to allow a property owner to access, control, and/or configure the system 100 through a monitoring application. For example, the monitoring application can allow the property owner to perform various actions, such as transmitting access an interface on the user device 170 to provide a command to the DMSS 120 through use of the controller 130.”) (Lonaeus: [0065] “Additionally, or alternatively, the control unit 110 can also send aggregate data 408B to the server 180 for further analysis. The server 180 can using various process techniques to identify trends, patterns, and/or metrics associated with the aggregate data 408B. For instance, the server 180 can provide the aggregate data 408B to one or more learning models that are trained to predict DMSS usage patterns based on historical usage by a particular user or users of a set of similar properties (e.g., properties with similar square footage, properties located in the same geographic region, properties of the same property type). In some instances, the server 180 can use other types of statistical models to predict DMSS usage patterns and compute predictive analytics parameters based on the predicted DMSS usage patterns.”) [The command reads on “an air conditioning control signal”, The user device 170 reads on “a remote control”. The controller 130 reads on “at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit”. The controller 130 receiving the input data relating to the commands from the user device 170 reads on “at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit … receiving an air conditioning control signal from a remote control”.]
wherein the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit is configured to generate and transmit one or many air conditioning control signals to a corresponding air conditioning apparatus during operation of the air conditioning apparatus; (Lonaeus: [0026] “The controller 130 can also be configured to communicate with the control unit 110, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and/or the user device 170 over the network 105. For example, the controller 130 can provide commands to the DMSS 120 based on instructions received from the control unit 110, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and/or the user device 170 to provide remote control of the DMSS 120. In this way, the controller 130 permits retrofit control of the DMSS 120 by components that were not originally manufactured to be capable of communicating with the DMSS 120.”) [The controller 130 providing commands based on the instructions received from the control unit 110, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and the user device 170 reads on “… is configured to generate and transmit one or many air conditioning control signals …”.]
at least one measurement component is provided corresponding to said at least one air conditioning apparatus, for measuring an instantaneous power and an electric energy consumption of the air conditioning apparatus; (Lonaeus: [0028] “In some implementations, the energy measurement device 140 is an in-line energy meter that measures power consumption by plugging into a power cable of the DMSS 120.”) [The energy measurement device 140 reads on “at least one measurement component …”.]
at least one gateway for transceiving data bidirectionally with the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit and the at least one measurement component, for receiving at least the data of the air conditioning control signal from said remote control and the data of the instantaneous power and the electric energy consumption of said air conditioning apparatus; and (Lonaeus: Fig. 1) (Lonaeus: [0018] “The control unit 110 can be a computing device that controls aspects of monitoring operations performed by the components of the system 100. The control unit 110 can include a network module and a controller. The network module can be a wireless communication module configured to exchange wireless communications over the network 105. For example, the network module can be a wireless communication device configured to exchange communications over a short-range wireless network. The network module can also be configured to exchange communications over the network 105 using a wireless connection. For instance, the network module can enable the control unit 110 to exchange communications with the server 180 over the network 105. The wireless communication device can include one or more GSM modules, a radio modem, a cellular transmission module, or any type of module configured to exchange communications in one of the following formats: LTE, GSM or GPRS, CDMA, EDGE or EGPRS, EV-DO or EVDO, UMTS, IP, Wi-Fi, or cellular-based networks (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.).”) (Lonaeus: [0019] “The network module can also can be a wired communication module configured to exchange communications over the network 105 using a wired connection. For instance, the network module can be a modem, a network interface card, or another type of network interface device. The network module can be an Ethernet network card configured to enable the control unit 110 to communicate over a local area network and/or the Internet. The network module can also be a voiceband modem configured to enable an alarm panel to communicate over the telephone lines of Plain Old Telephone Systems (POTS). In some implementations, the alarm panel can be a broadband or cellular gateway where the network module can enable the control unit 110 to communicate over the network 105.”) (Lonaeus: [0020] “The control unit 110 can communicate with the controller 130, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, the user device 170 and the server 180 wirelessly transmit data generated from the components of the system 100 over the network 105. In some instances, the control unit 110 can periodically receive data activity reports from the controller 130, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, the user device 170 and the server 180. The data activity reports can include information related to the property, e.g., temperature data, activity data, movement data, device usage data, among others.”) [The control unit 110 including network module reads on “at least one gateway”. The exchanging communications reads on “transceiving data bidirectionally”. See the control unit 110 exchanging information bidirectionally with the controller 130, as illustrated in FIG. 1. See the control unit 110 receiving data from the user device 170 and the energy measurement device 140, as illustrated in FIG. 1.]
a server for transceiving data bidirectionally with said at least one gateway; (Lonaeus: FIG. 1 and [0018] as discussed above) [See the control unit 110 exchanging information bidirectionally with the server 180, as illustrated in FIG.1.]
wherein the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit or the at least one measurement component transmit or receive data with the at least one gateway directly or via intermediate nodes of the Mesh network architecture, (Lonaeus: FIG. 1 and [0019]-[0020] as discussed above) [See the controller 130 exchanging information bidirectionally with the control unit 110, as illustrated in FIG. 1.]
the at least one gateway performs processing at least a part of data transmitted from the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit or the at least one measurement component, and transmits the processed data to the server, and forwards the remaining data transmitted from the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit or the at least one measurement component which has not been processed to the server, (Lonaeus: [0048] “At step (6), the control unit 110 provides command confirmation data 208 to the user device 170. The control unit 110 determines whether the DMSS 120 successfully performed the command 204 based on the power consumption data 206 and generates command confirmation data 208. In the example shown in FIG. 2, the control unit 110 determines that the DMSS 120 successfully performed the command 204 based on the increased power consumption indicated by the power consumption data 206. At step (7), the user device 170 provides a notification 202B that the command was successfully executed by the DMSS 120. Additionally, or alternatively, information specified in the notification 202B can be provided to the server 180 for storage and/or logging.”) (Lonaeus: [0061] “FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a technique for monitoring analytic parameters associated with operation of a DMSS in a property. In this example, the control unit 110 obtains data collected from various devices in a property and stores the received data as monitoring log 112. The control unit 110 also aggregates the received data and provides aggregate data 408B to the server 180 for machine learning training. Using the technique shown in FIG. 4, the system can recursively evaluate generate data to improve aspects of DMSS operation, such as detecting reoccurring usage patterns associated with the DMSS 120, identifying opportunities for reducing energy consumption, identifying likelihoods of malfunctioning activity, or recommendations for adjusting use.”) [The notification reads on “the processed data”, and the aggregate data reads on “the remaining data … which has not been processed”.]
the server performs analysis and calculates based on at least data transmitted from the gateway for providing an air conditioning control information, and transmits the air conditioning control information to a corresponding control signal receiving and retransmitting unit via the at least one gateway, (Lonaeus: [0061] “FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a technique for monitoring analytic parameters associated with operation of a DMSS in a property. In this example, the control unit 110 obtains data collected from various devices in a property and stores the received data as monitoring log 112. The control unit 110 also aggregates the received data and provides aggregate data 408B to the server 180 for machine learning training. Using the technique shown in FIG. 4, the system can recursively evaluate generate data to improve aspects of DMSS operation, such as detecting reoccurring usage patterns associated with the DMSS 120, identifying opportunities for reducing energy consumption, identifying likelihoods of malfunctioning activity, or recommendations for adjusting use.”) (Lonaeus: [0065] “Additionally, or alternatively, the control unit 110 can also send aggregate data 408B to the server 180 for further analysis. The server 180 can using various process techniques to identify trends, patterns, and/or metrics associated with the aggregate data 408B. For instance, the server 180 can provide the aggregate data 408B to one or more learning models that are trained to predict DMSS usage patterns based on historical usage by a particular user or users of a set of similar properties (e.g., properties with similar square footage, properties located in the same geographic region, properties of the same property type). In some instances, the server 180 can use other types of statistical models to predict DMSS usage patterns and compute predictive analytics parameters based on the predicted DMSS usage patterns.”) (Lonaeus: [0067] “Automation settings can relate to configuration of the DMSS 120 by the server 180 based on evaluating prior usage and/or user preferences. For example, the server 180 can provide an instruction to the control unit 110 to initiate a cooling operation by the DMSS 120 every morning at 7:00 AM if the aggregate data 408B indicates that the user has previously manually lowered the setpoint temperature every morning around the same time.”) [Computing the predictive analysis parameters based on the patterns reads on “performs analysis and calculates …” Providing the instruction reads on “providing an air conditioning control information”.]
the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit relies on the air conditioning control information, transmitted from the server, to generate one or many air conditioning control signals to a corresponding air conditioning apparatus during operation of the air conditioning apparatus, (Lonaeus: [0070] “In some implementations, the process 500 is remotely performed by the server 180 based on data obtained from the control unit 110. In such implementations, the control unit 110 relays data collected by devices located inside the property 101 (e.g., controller 130, energy measurement device 140, temperature measurement device 150, user device 170), and the server 180 determines the command to provide to the DMSS 120 based on the obtained data.”) [The command from the server 180 to the DMSS 120 through the control unit 110 reads on the control unit 1110 “to generate and retransmit an air conditioning control signal”.]
wherein the one or many air conditioning control signals transmitted by the control signal receiving and retransmitting unit are … to achieve at least an energy-saving purpose. (Lonaeus: [0061] as discussed above) (Lonaeus: [0068] “Device optimization settings may relate to configuration of the DMSS 120 based on usage parameters, such as energy consumption, probability of maintenance, or ambient temperature fluctuations. The server 180 can determine the optimization settings based on evaluating historical information specified in the aggregate data 408B. As examples, the optimization settings can include settings that reduce overall energy consumption by the DMSS 120 while maintaining core heating and cooling operations, the frequency of operation that reduces the likelihood that the DMSS 120 will require maintenance within a specified time period (e.g., six months, one year, five years), or the type of operation that reduces the magnitude of ambient temperature fluctuations within a property that may make the user feel uncomfortable.”) [The identifying the opportunities for reducing energy consumption reads on “aiming to achieve at least an energy-saving purpose”.]
Lonaeus does not expressly teach: wherein said air conditioning apparatus of the one or many air conditioning apparatuses independently receives the air conditioning control signal from the remote control at an initial time, and operates according to said air conditioning control signal, …; wherein: the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit and the at least one measurement component are configured to perform the roles of network nodes according to Mesh network architecture, wherein the one or many air conditioning control signal transmitted by the control signal receiving and retransmitting unit are adjusted in comparison with the air conditioning control signal transmitted by the remote control to achieve at least an energy-saving purpose.
Bonvini teaches: wherein said air conditioning apparatus of the one or many air conditioning apparatuses independently receives the air conditioning control signal from the remote control at an initial time, and operates according to said air conditioning control signal, …; (Bonvini: Abstract “Techniques for instantiating energy saving setpoint adjustments are described. In an example, a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system is controlled via a thermostat during a first time period according to a first temperature setpoint schedule including one or more temperature setpoints and a first usage amount of the HVAC system is monitored during the first time period. After it is determined that the first usage amount of the HVAC system during the first time period has met a first predefined HVAC runtime threshold criterion, a second temperature setpoint schedule is generated with at least one of the one or more temperature setpoints being adjusted to decrease energy usage by the HVAC system compared to the first temperature setpoint schedule. The HVAC system is then controlled via the thermostat during a second time period according to the second temperature setpoint schedule.”) (Bonvini: [0022] “In many modern HVAC systems, the HVAC system can be controlled as a schedule of temperature setpoint events. For example, a user may select a schedule of temperatures (i.e., temperature setpoints) that the user desires the HVAC system to control the indoor temperature to be. Alternatively, the schedule of temperatures may be created for a user based on the preferences and habits of users to set temperature setpoints. Such a schedule of temperature setpoints may define temperatures at which the HVAC system controls the indoor temperature of the structure when the user is home, away, sleeping, or awake.”) (Bonvini: [0025] “While optimized temperature setpoint schedules may effectively reduce energy usage by an HVAC system, actually implementing the adjustments may be challenging. Approval from an authorized user associated with the HVAC system may be necessary before adjustments to a temperature setpoint schedule can be implemented and therefore reduce energy usage. However, authorized users may be reluctant to accept changes to their setpoint schedules. Accordingly, selecting the optimal time when a user is more likely to consent to the setpoint schedule adjustments may be a key factor in actually reducing energy usage. Many factors may contribute to a user being more likely to consent to schedule adjustments. For example, users may be more likely to consent to schedule adjustments after their associated HVAC system has been running in either a heating or cooling mode for some predefined period of time into a heating or cooling season. At this point, the users may have noticed that the HVAC system has started to run more frequently. This may also coincide with users receiving an energy bill, and so the cost of running the HVAC system is more likely to be front-of-mind. Each of these factors may increase the likelihood that a user will accept a proposed setpoint schedule adjustment in order to decrease energy usage by their associated HVAC system.”) (Bonvini: [0032] “In some embodiments, smart thermostats 160 may connect via network 130 to mobile device 140 or hub device 150. For example, smart thermostats 160 may receive heating or cooling instructions from mobile device 140 associated with an authorized user of smart thermostats 160. …”) [The smart thermostat receiving heating or cooling instructions from the mobile device of the user, and in turn, operating the HVAC reads on “the said air conditioning apparatus … independently receives the air conditioning control signal from the remote control …”. The predefined period of time or prior to the time when the user accepts the proposed setpoint schedule adjustment reads on “an initial time”.]
wherein the one or many air conditioning control signal transmitted by the control signal receiving and retransmitting unit are adjusted in comparison with the air conditioning control signal transmitted by the remote control to achieve at least an energy-saving purpose. (Bonvini: Abstract and [0025] as discussed above) (Bonvini: [0027] “Cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 can include one or more processors configured to perform various functions, such as monitor HVAC usage and manage the generation and modification of thermostat setpoint schedules, as further described in relation to FIG. 3. Cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 can include one or more physical servers running one or more processes. Cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 can also include one or more processes distributed across a cloud-based server system. In some embodiments, cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 is connected over network 130 to any or all of the other components of system 100. For instance, cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 may connect to weather data system 120 to receive current and forecast weather data. The data received from weather data system 120 can in turn be used by cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 to manage the generation and modification of thermostat setpoint schedules. In some embodiments, cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 includes weather data system 120 and/or is connected directly to weather data system 120. For example, weather data system 120 may be one or more processes configured to monitor the weather and/or generate weather forecasts based on atmospheric data. Cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 may also connect to mobile device 140 and personal computer 150 to send notifications about upcoming setpoint schedule changes and/or updates on current or expected energy consumption by an HVAC system. For example, after generating a modified setpoint schedule for a smart thermostat, cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 may send a notification to mobile device 140 associated with an authorized user of the smart thermostat indicating that an adjusted setpoint schedule is available for the smart thermostat. Cloud-based HVAC control server system 110 can also transmit the adjusted setpoint schedules, and/or instructions to adjust a setpoint schedule, to one or more smart thermostats 160.”) (Bonvini: [0044] “Campaign scheduler 313 may instantiate energy saving campaigns. An energy saving campaign may include a predefined time frame during which adjustments to a temperature setpoint schedule are made in order to decrease energy usage by an HVAC system. The adjustments may be made at any point during the predefined time frame based on one or more criteria. Energy saving campaigns may include a set of parameters upon which the setpoint schedule adjustments are based. The campaign parameters may define the maximum temperature setpoint adjustment that can be made to a setpoint schedule. Selecting the maximum temperature setpoint adjustment may include striking a balance between occupant comfort and energy savings. For example, an aggressive campaign may limit adjustments to 1 degree, 2.5 degrees, 5 degrees or more, at a time, while a mild campaign may limit adjustments to 2 degrees, 1 degree, 0.5 degrees or fewer, at a time. The adjustments may be made in either Fahrenheit or Celsius. Campaign parameters may define specific times throughout the day during which setpoint temperature adjustments may be made. The times may be selected based on those times during which occupants may be less likely to notice and/or mind a change in temperature. For example, an away campaign may cause adjustments to a setpoint schedule during the middle of the day while a sleep campaign may cause adjustments to a setpoint schedule at night.”) [The adjusted temperature setpoint schedules or the second temperature setpoint schedule to reduce energy usage reads on “… are adjusted … to achieve at least an energy-saving purpose”. Adjusted to decrease energy usage by the HVAC system compared to the first temperature setpoint schedule reads on “adjusted in comparison with the air conditioning control signal transmitted by the remote control …”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lonaeus and Bonvini before them, to modify the temperature setting of the temperature control system, to incorporate adjusting the temperature setpoints based on environment conditions to reduce energy usage.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do these modifications because it would allow for making adjustments to provide more comfortable and/or more energy efficient temperature settings. (Bonvini: [0001]-[0002])
Lonaeus and Bonvini do not expressly teach: wherein: the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit and the at least one measurement component are configured to perform the roles of network nodes according to Mesh network architecture.
Karp teaches:
wherein: the at least one control signal receiving and retransmitting unit and the at least one measurement component are configured to perform the roles of network nodes according to Mesh network architecture. (Karp: [0106] “According to embodiments, the smart devices combine to create a mesh network of spokesman and low-power nodes in the smart-home environment 30, where some of the smart devices are “spokesman” nodes and others are “low-powered” nodes. Some of the smart devices in the smart-home environment 30 are battery powered, while others have a regular and reliable power source, such as by connecting to wiring (e.g., to 120V line voltage wires) behind the walls 40 of the smart-home environment. The smart devices that have a regular and reliable power source are referred to as “spokesman” nodes. These nodes are equipped with the capability of using any wireless protocol or manner to facilitate bidirectional communication with any of a variety of other devices in the smart-home environment 30 as well as with the central server or cloud-computing system 64.”) (Karp: [0111] “Examples of spokesman nodes include smart thermostats 46, smart doorbells 52, smart wall switches 54, and smart wall plugs 56. These devices 46, 52, 54, and 56 are often located near and connected to a reliable power source, and therefore can include more power-consuming components, such as one or more communication chips capable of bidirectional communication in any variety of protocols.”) (Karp: [0527] “During a Rush Hour Rewards event, the smart plugs 1850 may deactivate all heavy load appliances. The smart plugs 1850 may send energy usage information to the smart devices 10A/10B and/or the central server 64 via cloud services 145.”) [The spokesman node reads on “the control signal receiving and retransmitting unit”. The smart plugs read on “the at least one measurement component”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp before them, to modify the data network of the temperature control system, to incorporate the mesh network of the smart devices in the data network.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do these modifications because it would allow for the data of low-powered nodes to communicate with central computing server or systems by travelling small distances node to node. (Karp: [0107])
Regarding claim 2, Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Karp further teaches:
wherein said control signal receiving and retransmitting unit provided in the form of a conditioning face mounting device, mounted to a mounting position at a suitable surface in the vicinity of the location receiving the air conditioning control signal from the remote control of the corresponding air conditioning apparatus. (Karp: [0091] “According to embodiments, the smart thermostats 46, the smart hazard detectors 50, the smart doorbells 52, the smart wall switches 54, the smart wall plugs 56, and other devices of the smart-home environment 30 are modular and can be incorporated into older and new houses. For example, the devices 10 are designed around a modular platform consisting of two basic components: a head unit and a back plate, which is also referred to as a docking station. Multiple configurations of the docking station are provided so as to be compatible with any home, such as older and newer homes. However, all of the docking stations include a standard head-connection arrangement, such that any head unit can be removably attached to any docking station. Thus, in some embodiments, the docking stations are interfaces that serve as physical connections to the structure and the voltage wiring of the homes, and the interchangeable head units contain all of the sensors 12, processors 28, user interfaces 14, the power supply 16, the network interface 18, and other functional components of the devices described above.”) (Karp: [0116] “… The localized-thermostat service robot 69 includes a temperature sensor, a processor, and wireless communication components configured such that control communications with the HVAC system, either directly or through a wall-mounted wirelessly communicating thermostat coupled to the HVAC system, are maintained and such that the temperature in the immediate vicinity of the occupant is maintained at their desired level. If the occupant then moves and settles into another location (e.g. to the living room couch to watch television), the localized-thermostat service robot 69 proceeds to move and park itself next to the couch and keep that particular immediate space at a comfortable temperature.”) [Any one of the smart thermostat 46 or other smart device 50, 52, 56, 69, etc. reads on “said control signal receiving and retransmitting unit”. The modular platform reads on “in the form of a conditioning face mounting device”. The wall reads on “a suitable surface in the vicinity of …”.]
The motivation to combine Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp teach all the claimed features of claims 1-2. Lonaeus further teaches:
wherein said conditioning face mounting device comprising: an air conditioning control signal receiver for receiving the air conditioning control signal from the remote control, an air conditioning control signal transmitter for retransmitting the air conditioning control signal to the corresponding air conditioning apparatus, a communication module for transceiving data bidirectional with network nodes of said Mesh network architecture and/or said at least one gateway. (Lonaeus: [0025] “The controller 130 is a device component configured to transmit commands to the DMSS 120 based on input data relating to the commands. The input data can include interactions with physical buttons by a user, command data received from other components (e.g., control unit 110, user device 170) that relates to commands to be provided to the DMSS 120, among others. In some implementations, the controller 130 is an infrared (IR) remote configured to provide IR commands to an IR receiving sensor of the DMSS 120 (e.g., an IR receiving sensor on the indoor unit 120A of the DMSS 120). The controller 130 can be programmed to operate as a replacement for a standard controller that is manufactured with the DMSS 120. For example, the controller 130 can emulate standard commands that are recognized by a command receiving element of the DMSS 120. The controller 130 can thereby provide commands to the DMSS 120 in a manner that does not require reconfiguration and/or adjustment of the DMSS 120.”) (Lonaeus: [0026] “The controller 130 can also be configured to communicate with the control unit 110, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and/or the user device 170 over the network 105. For example, the controller 130 can provide commands to the DMSS 120 based on instructions received from the control unit 110, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and/or the user device 170 to provide remote control of the DMSS 120. In this way, the controller 130 permits retrofit control of the DMSS 120 by components that were not originally manufactured to be capable of communicating with the DMSS 120. [Any of the controller 130, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and the user device 170 reads on “network nodes of … said at least one gateway”. The IR remote reads on “an air conditioning control signal transmitter”. The feature of the controller 130 that is configured to communicate with the control unit 110, the energy measurement device 140, the temperature measurement device 150, the sensors 160, and the user device 170 via network 105 reads on “a communication module”.]
Lonaeus and Bonvini do not expressly teach: wherein said conditioning face mounting device comprising: … a conditioning face mounting device base, a top cover assembled with the conditioning face mounting device base to form a housing containing components therein, a sensor unit for collecting at least the surrounding environment data.
Karp further teaches:
wherein said conditioning face mounting device comprising: … a conditioning face mounting device base, a top cover assembled with the conditioning face mounting device base to form a housing containing components therein, a sensor unit for collecting at least the surrounding environment data. (Karp: [0091] as discussed in claim 2) (Karp: [0476] “In one embodiment, data accumulated in the environment 30 may be used to discern that occupants are either leaving the environment 30 and/or are going to bed. For example, when a thermostat 10A is placed into “AWAY” mode, this may indicate that an occupant has left the environment 30. Additionally, when relatively little activity is detected via sensors of the thermostat 10A and/or detector 10B, this may indicate that occupants are in bed or have left the environment 30.”) (Karp: [0489] “In some embodiments, as discussed above, the smart devices 10A and/or 10B may include ambient light sensors and temperature sensors.”) [The back plate or the docking station reads on “a conditioning face mounting device base”. The head unit reads on “a top cover assembled with … to form a housing containing components therein”. Any one of the ambient light sensors and temperature sensors reads on “a sensor unit”.]
The motivation to combine Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonaeus, in view of Bonvini, further in view of Karp, further in view of Crimins et al. (US 2017/0363312 A1) (“Crimins”).
Regarding claim 4, Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 4.
Crimins teaches:
wherein said conditioning face mounting device having the conditioning face mounting device base coupled with magnet members so that the conditioning face mounting device base is attachable on a magnetic plate due to the magnetic attracting force, wherein the magnetic plate is fixed on said mounting position, thus the conditioning face mounting device is mounted to the mounting position in the manner that easily detachable. (Crimins: [0064] “According to some embodiments, the thermostat 102 includes a head unit 540 and a backplate (or wall dock) 542. Head unit 540 of thermostat 102 is slidably mountable onto back plate 542 and slidably detachable therefrom. According to some embodiments the connection of the head unit 540 to backplate 542 can be accomplished using magnets, bayonet, latches and catches, tabs, and/or ribs with matching indentations, or simply friction on mating portions of the head unit 540 and backplate 542.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lonaeus, Karp and Crimins before them, to modify the smart thermostat with the head unit and the back plate or docking station, to incorporate a connection using magnets to secure the head unit to the backplate or docking station.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do these modifications because it would allow for the head unit to be slidably mountable and detachable. (Crimins: [0064])
Regarding claim 5, Lonaeus, Bonvini, Karp and Crimins teach all the claimed features of claims 1-4. Lonaeus further teaches:
wherein the at least one measurement component is provided in the form of a compact measurement device, arranged at a suitable position for measuring the instantaneous power and the electric energy consumption of the corresponding air conditioning apparatus. (Lonaeus: [0027] “The energy measurement device 140 is a device component configured to measure or detect parameters relating to power consumption by the DMSS 120. The energy measurement device 140 can include one or more an ammeter, capacitance meter, a current clamp, a curve tracer, a Cos Phi meter, an electricity meter, a multimeter, an ohmmeter, an oscilloscope, among other types of electrical or electronic equipment. The energy measurement device 140 can detect any suitable measurement parameter, such as current, voltage, resistance, capacitance, or impedance, associated with operation of the DMSS 120.”) (Lonaeus: [0028] “In some implementations, the energy measurement device 140 is an in-line energy meter that measures power consumption by plugging into a power cable of the DMSS 120. For example, the in-line energy meter can be plugged into the power cable of the indoor unit 120A to determine, for instance, when the indoor unit 120A is turned on, when the indoor unit 120A is turned off, when the indoor unit 120A initiates or terminates a cooling operation, when the indoor unit 120A initiates or terminates a heating operation, when the indoor unit 120A transitions from a heating operation to a cooling operation, when the fan is run without actively heating or cooling, among other functions of the DMSS 120.”) [The energy measurement device 140 that is pluggable into the power cable reads on “a compact measurement device”, and being in-line by plugging in reads on “arranged at a suitable position”.]
Regarding claim 6, Lonaeus, Bonvini, Karp and Crimins teach all the claimed features of claims 1-5. Karp further teaches:
wherein the at least one measurement component in the form of the compact measurement device including a base portion, and a cover portion assembled with the base portion to form a housing containing components therein. (Karp: [0091] as discussed in claim 2) (Karp: [0527] “During a Rush Hour Rewards event, the smart plugs 1850 may deactivate all heavy load appliances. The smart plugs 1850 may send energy usage information to the smart devices 10A/10B and/or the central server 64 via cloud services 145. Further, information regarding the smart devices 10A/10B (e.g., temperature setpoint, operating mode (cooling, heating, “HOME”, “AWAY”, etc.), alarm state, etc.) may be displayed in an app tailored for the smart plugs 1850 on a mobile device and/or computer.”) [The smart plug that provides energy usage information reads on “the at least one measurement component”. The smart plug designed around the modular platform consisting of the head unit and the back plate or the docking station reads on “the at least one measurement component … including a base portion, and a cover portion … to form a housing …”.]
The motivation to combine Lonaeus, Bonvini and Karp as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116