Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has been entered. Applicants arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 USC 103 as amended have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues the art fails to teach or render obvious determining salt based on measured voltage, but instead compares calculated conductivity. In response, Feldman teaches the control unit is configured and operable to determine at least one of the electrical conductivity and the salt content of the liquid based on the liquid response to the induced relatively low-frequency electric (or electromagnetic) field (0024). Whether the salt directly or conductivity as an indication of salt level, the voltage is measured and compared, directly or as a calculated value, to a predetermined value which provides an indication of relative salinity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldman (US 2015/0226683).
With respect to claim 1, Feldman teaches a system for determining properties of liquids (abstract) including the salt content through induction (par. [0044]). Figure 2b shows an electromagnetic circuit comprising a toroidal, magnetic core which is a closed with a first and second side separated by an air gap (see also par. 0066). At par. [0067], Fieldman describes two coils winding around opposite sides of the core in Figure 2B. An electric voltage is applied across one coil using a power source (par. [0066]), and a second current is induced over the second coil to be measured using a voltage detection device (pars. [0066]-[0068]). At pars. [0065]-[0066], Fieldman describes liquid flowing through the core. Feldman teaches wherein the system may be connected to a PLC or other logic controller (par. [0104]). Par. [0025] describes an embodiment wherein “the control unit may be configured and operable to determine the electrical conductivity of the liquid based on one or more measurements of electrical signals (e.g. voltages and/or currents) induced at the measurement coil of the first sensor by the liquid response to the induced relatively low-frequency electric (or electromagnetic) field.” Fieldman teaches “the control unit is configured and operable to determine at least one of the electrical conductivity and the salt content of the liquid based on the liquid response to the induced relatively low-frequency electric (or electromagnetic) field” (0024).
Feldman teaches wherein the system capable of processing complex fluid and determining salt content of such. The system is capable of processing crude oil from an oil tank and would have thus been obvious to include as the pipe an inlet pipe passing the crude from a tank or other crude source through the system.
With respect to the PLC, Feldman teaches measuring the induced voltage across the second coil; the first voltage is known (0066). Feldman teaches that the measured values are indicative of a physical or chemical condition such as salinity and may be acted upon if high or low, i.e. above or below a threshold amount and thus is capable of controlling a water wash to dilute crude oil in the oil tank when a threshold amount is surpassed.
With respect to comparing the difference in the second and first voltages, rather than second voltage alone, the comparison of second voltage reading to a threshold amount for a given first voltage would produce the same result of comparing the difference to a threshold amount.
With respect to claim 2, the threshold amount of salt would be dependent can be selected by the operator.
With respect to claims 3, 4, and 5, at par. [0029] Feldman teaches wherein the system may determine that salt is below or above a threshold amount or is within an acceptable value.
With respect to claims 6-8 and 10, the threshold values would be set for a given process.
With respect to claim 9, the voltage source can be selected for a given system (par. [0067]).
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771