DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
All objections and 35 USC 112 rejections except one have been overcome.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 in response to Office Action 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reason:
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Applicant argues that primary prior art Newborough has no purpose or function in utilizing the first holding element of secondary prior art Atsushi (page 6 line fourth from last) because Newborough does not suggest using a garbage bag (page 7 line 7) and again said holding element would not serve any purpose (page 7 para 1). Examiner points out however this is merely a piecemeal argument since Atsushi teaches and motivates with reasoning why the first holding element would be added. Please see a detailed analysis in the rejection below.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Applicant argues that a POSITA would not consider adding the first holding element of Atsushi to Newborough (page 7 para 1). In other words, hindsight. Then states that Atsushi’s bag controls odor (page 7 para 1 line 5). Examiner disagrees with hindsight, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Also examiner points out citing controlling odor as a reason in the action. And as Applicant argues, the holding element is “for a garbage bag” which is merely intended use, fulfilled by the structure.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said inlet mouth is located is” should read “said inlet mouth is located in”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 23, “said first folding line” lacks antecedent basis. Parent claim 17 recites only “fold lines” (claim 1 line 6, recites “a first of said folding lines”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10-15, 17-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat 5193740 issued to Newborough (hereinafter “Newborough”) in view of JP 2001286517 by Atsushi (hereinafter “Atsushi”).
Regarding claim 1, Newborough teaches a waste container (Title, Fig 9, “container for used medical materials” wherein used materials means waste), comprising:
a foldable sheet provided with a plurality of folding lines, which, when folded to define the waste container (col 3, line 46, “FIG. 9 shows the container erectable from the blank” because the blank has folding lines), comprises:
a bottom (Figs 8-9, bottom is of panels 142,132,137a-b,138a-b);
side walls (Figs 8-9, 130,140,131,133), including first and second opposite side walls (Figs 8-9, a first sidewall is 130 and is opposite a second sidewall 140), said first side wall having an upper edge defined by a first of said folding lines (Figs 8-9, an upper edge first folding line of 130 is shown between 130 and 134);
a waste container inlet mouth (Figs 8-9, an inlet mouth is an opening of zone 121 like in Fig 7 which becomes an opening for used material into the container);
a lid having an edge defined by at least one of said folding lines (Figs 8-9, a lid is at least panel 134 with 141, shown with one edge defined by the first folding line); wherein
the waste container inlet mouth is configured and sized for introduction therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste into the waste container, the inlet mouth being defined through at least one of said side walls (Figs 8-9, said inlet mouth is shown through at least one sidewall 130, and is necessarily capable of introduction therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste),
But Newborough does not explicitly teach that a first holding element in a sidewall.
Atsushi, however, teaches a similar sheet-folded waste container comprising:
a first holding element defined solely by said material of one of said side walls and configured and positioned to releasably hold a garbage bag suspended therefrom in said waste container (Figs 1 & 3, a first holding element is first locking portion 25 that is shown releasably holding (on Fig 1, off Fig 3) and suspending a garbage/waste storage bag 2), said first holding element comprising an edge of a flange, slot or cut defined through the material of one of said side walls (Figs 1 & 3 show 25 as a protruding flange; Fig 2 shows 25 as a slot cut through with 24; wherein the holding element is shown solely defined by the material of one second sidewall 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one second sidewall 140 of Newborough to have a first holding element defined through and by its own material as taught by Atsushi in order to beneficially further protect the inside of the container from liquids, toxic chemicals, sharper objects and odor permeation by holding a bag.
The resultant combination yields the claimed invention via the first holding element of Atsushi that is solely of one sidewall placed proximal the edge between panels 140 and 141 of Newborough Figures 8-9 solely in its sidewall.
Regarding claim 4, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches the first holding element (Atsushi, Fig 1, 25) is arranged at a height above said bottom and equal to or greater than a height of a lower edge of the inlet mouth (Newborough, Figs 8-9, inlet mouth opening of zone 121; the combination places the element proximal the edge between panels 140 and 141, necessarily meaning and showing that the element is arranged at a height greater than an inlet mouth of 121 lower edge height). See details in the parent claim 1 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 5, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches the inlet mouth is defined through the first side wall (Newborough, Figs 8-9, mouth of 121 is defined through first sidewall 130), wherein said first holding element is defined in said second side wall (Atsushi, Fig 1, 25 defined by/in the material of one second sidewall 10), and a second holding element for holding the bag located on the first side wall (Newborough, Figs 8-9 (informed using labels of Fig 7), a second holding element that is for/capable of holding the bag is a hinged flange zone 121 on the first sidewall 130 hinged by edge hinge 123), said second holding element defined solely by said material of said first side wall (Newborough, Fig 8 shows the flange of zone 121 solely defined by the material of 130 (i.e. since it breaks away to form the opening of zone 121, the only attachment is the hinge 123 meaning the flange sole definition is directly only by 130)) and configured and positioned to hold the bag in said waste container, said second holding element comprising an edge of a flange, slot or cut defined through the material of said first side wall (Newborough, Figs 8-9, the flange of 121 is configured and positioned to/capable of holding the bag while the bag is in the container, by its body and edge). See details in the parent claim 1 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 6, Newborough further teaches the lid (Figs 8-9, the lid is at least panel 134 with 141) comprises two engageable flaps (Fig 9, 134 and 141 are shown as flaps that engage each other).
Regarding claim 7, Newborough further teaches the inlet mouth (Figs 8-9, opening mouth of 121) extends into and is part of at least one of the engageable flaps (Fig 9, opening mouth of 121 is shown extending into part of one engageable flap 134).
Regarding claim 8, Newborough further teaches the lid further comprises two reinforcing flaps arrangeable underneath the engageable flaps (Fig 8 shows reinforcing flap webs 135 and 136 are underneath the engageable flaps 134 and 141 when said flaps engage, Fig 9).
Regarding claim 10, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches the first holding element is defined on the second side wall (Atsushi, Fig 1, 25 defined by the material of one second sidewall 10) by at least one slot and a flange of said material extending from an edge of said one slot (Atsushi, Fig 1, 25 with 24, is shown as a flange 25 with a slot since 24 is a “locking hole”). See details in the parent claim 1 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 11, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches the first holding element is defined on a second side wall (Atsushi, Fig 1, 25 defined by/on the material of one second sidewall 10) by a projection that protrudes through an upper part of the second side wall (Atsushi, Fig 2, 25 is shown as a protruding flange through an upper part of the second sidewall) or is located on a lower edge of an opening located on the second side wall. See details in the parent claim 1 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 12, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches the first holding element (Atsushi, Fig 1, 25 defined by/on the material of one second sidewall 10) is defined by two or more edges of the foldable sheet that are in contact with or next to each other (Atsushi, Fig 2, 25 shown defined by its two edges shown next to each other (i.e. proximal each other)). See details in the parent claim 1 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 13, Newborough further teaches the side walls further include third and fourth side walls arranged opposite to each other (Fig 8, third and fourth sidewall 131 and 133 are opposite each other),
But Newborough does not explicitly teach stacking projections.
Atsushi, however, teaches a waste container further comprising first and second stacking projections that respectively extend from the third and fourth side walls (Fig 3, a first and a second projection extending from a third and a fourth wall are grip portions 8, wherein the projections allow/are capable of stacking containers because “when the containers 1 containing waste are stacked and stored, the container body 3 is not crushed and the storage bag 2 can be safely stored”, page 5, section 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the third and fourth sidewall of Newborough to have stacking projections as taught by Atsushi in order to beneficially increase ease of carrying the container with grip portion projections that also allow stable container stacking.
Regarding claim 14, Newborough further teaches the foldable sheet comprises a joining flap on one of the side walls to join together two of the side walls (Fig 8, a joining flap is 143 used to join two sidewalls 140 and 131 together, Fig 9).
Regarding claim 15, Newborough further teaches the bottom (Fig 8, bottom is of panels 142,132,137a-b,138a-b) comprises: a first sector provided with an oblique folding line defining a first joining zone; a second sector attached to the first sector in the first joining zone (Fig 8, a first sector is 132 with 137b to which a second sector being 142 is “glued” in a first joining zone of 132 defined by an oblique line of 137a (pointed to by label 137), col 7, lines 12-13); a third sector provided with an oblique folding line defining a second joining zone; and a fourth sector connected to the third sector in the second joining zone (Fig 8, a third sector is 138a with an oblique line of 138a (pointed to by label 138) that itself defines a second joining zone to which a fourth sector 138b is shown connected; or panel portion web 138a adhered to 138b via “the panels… secured to other of the panels with… an adhesive”, col 5, lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 17, Newborough teaches a waste container (Title, Fig 9, “container for used medical materials” wherein used materials means waste), comprising:
a foldable sheet of disposable sheet material provided with a plurality of fold lines, which sheet, when folded to define the waste container (col 3, line 46, “FIG. 9 shows the container erectable from the blank” because the blank has folding lines), comprises:
a container bottom (Figs 8-9, bottom is of panels 142,132,137a-b,138a-b);
at least first and second opposite side walls extending upward from the container bottom (Figs 8-9, a first sidewall is 130 and is opposite a second sidewall 140, extend upward from the bottom, Fig 9);
a waste container inlet mouth (Figs 8-9, an inlet mouth is an opening of zone 121 like in Fig 7 which becomes an opening for used material into the container);
a lid comprising the upper end of the waste container (Figs 8-9, a lid is at least upper end panel 134 with 141, shown defined by an upper edge first folding line of 130 shown between 130 and 134);
the waste container inlet mouth comprising an opening in the first side wall for introduction of waste into the waste container and supported bag, said opening being configured and having sufficient size to permit passage therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste and a garbage bag (Figs 8-9, said inlet mouth is shown through/in first sidewall 130, and is necessarily capable of introduction therethrough of paper, packaging, food waste and a garbage bag).
But Newborough does not explicitly teach that a holding element in a sidewall.
Atsushi, however, teaches a similar sheet-folded waste container comprising:
a holding element defined solely by the sheet material of the second side wall and configured and positioned to releasably engage and suspend a garbage bag therefrom in said waste container (Figs 1 & 3, a first holding element is first locking portion 25 that is shown releasably (on Fig 1, off Fig 3) holding and suspending a garbage/waste storage bag 2), said holding element comprising an edge of a slot defined in or a cut through the sheet material of the second side wall (Figs 1 & 3 show 25 as a protruding flange shown vertically spaced from and below lid 7; Fig 2 shows 25 as a slot cut through with 24; wherein the holding element is shown solely defined by the material of one second sidewall 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one second sidewall 140 of Newborough to have a first holding element defined through and by its own material as taught by Atsushi in order to beneficially further protect the inside of the container from liquids, toxic chemicals, sharper objects and odor permeation by holding a bag.
The resultant combination yields the claimed invention via the first holding element of Atsushi that is solely of one sidewall placed proximal the edge between panels 140 and 141 of Newborough Figures 8-9 solely in its sidewall.
Regarding claim 18, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches said holding element comprises an edge of a slot defined in (Atsushi, Fig 2 shows 25 as a slot cut through with 24 (i.e. edge also formed since slots have edges)) said second side wall, and wherein said slot has first and second ends from which respective fold lines extend in said sheet (Newborough, Fig 8, in this sheet, the holding element slot is placed (see combination result) in the fold line between 140 and 141 meaning the fold line is split into two fold lines) to third and fourth side walls, respectively, of said waste container (Newborough, Fig 9, when the lines are folded so the sidewalls form a container, the two fold lines extend: one to a third sidewall 131 and one to a fourth sidewall 133). See details in the parent claim 17 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 19, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches said holding element comprises two abutting edges configured to pinch the supported bag therebetween (Atsushi, Fig 2 shows 25 as a slot cut through with 24, thereby defining two abutting edges as shown, and necessarily configured to/capable of pinching the bag, Fig 1). See details in the parent claim 17 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 20, Newborough/Atsushi further teaches the first and second side walls are disposed opposite one another (Newborough, Figs 8-9, first sidewall 130 is opposite second sidewall 140), and wherein the holding element is located vertically spaced from and below said lid (Atsushi, Figs 1 & 3 & 5 show 25 as a protruding flange vertically spaced from and below lid 7). See details in the parent claim 17 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 21, Newborough further teaches said inlet mouth (Figs 8-9, inlet mouth opening of zone 121) resides primarily in a plane substantially perpendicular to said lid (Fig 9, the mouth is shown primarily residing in a plane (e.g. first sidewall) substantially perpendicular to the box’s lid).
Regarding claim 23, Newborough further teaches the inlet mouth is located (Figs 8-9, inlet mouth opening of zone 121) in said first side wall (130) and said lid (134) and overlaps said first fold line (Fig 9, first folding line of 130 shown between 130 and 134; said mouth shown in 130 and in 134 and overlaps said line).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat 5193740 issued to Newborough (hereinafter “Newborough”) in view of JP 2001286517 by Atsushi (hereinafter “Atsushi”) in view of US Pub 20050145687 by Conway (hereinafter “Conway”).
Regarding claim 16, Newborough further teaches the foldable sheet comprises a corrugated material with a plurality of channels parallel to each other (Fig 1, corrugated material shown fluted/with channels parallel to each other),
But Newborough/Atsushi does not explicitly teach a particular channel orientation within the sidewalls.
Conway, however, teaches a similarly foldable container comprising:
channels being arranged vertically or obliquely on the side walls when the bottom is disposed on a horizontal surface ([0008] “the flutes[/channels] of the corrugated material are typically arranged to extend vertically”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the fluting/channels direction of Newborough because Applicant has not disclosed that “vertically or obliquely” provides a specific advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves an explicit problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the rearrangement because the functions of forming a container of the sidewalls and being able to stack containers remains. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the channels arrangement to obtain the invention as claimed. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C.
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 22 (for Applicant’s mutually exclusive second embodiment Fig 7) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat 5193740 issued to Newborough (hereinafter “Newborough”; using a different embodiment than above) in view of JP 2001286517 by Atsushi (hereinafter “Atsushi”).
Regarding claim 1, Newborough teaches a waste container (Title, Fig 5, “container for used medical materials” wherein used materials means waste), comprising:
a foldable sheet provided with a plurality of folding lines, which, when folded to define the waste container (col 3, lines 39-41, “FIG. 5 shows a container erectable from the blank of FIG. 2 or the blanks of FIGS. 3 and 4” because the blank has folding lines), comprises:
a bottom (Fig 5, 60);
side walls (Fig 5, 52, 54, 56, 58), including first and second opposite side walls (Fig 5, a first sidewall is front 56 and is opposite a second sidewall rear 58), said first wall having an upper edge defined by a first of said folding lines (Fig 5, an upper edge first folding line of 56 is shown between a top 62 and 56);
a waste container inlet mouth (Fig 2, an inlet mouth is an opening of area 25; “25 whereby access to the interior of the container is possible”, col 4, lines 11-12 (i.e. for waste));
a lid having an edge defined by said first folding line (Fig 5, a lid is top wall 62, shown with one edge defined by the first folding line); wherein
the waste container inlet mouth is configured and sized for introduction therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste into the waste container, the inlet mouth being defined through at least one of said side walls (Figs 2 & 5, said inlet mouth is shown through at least one sidewall 24, and is necessarily capable of introduction therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste),
But Newborough does not explicitly teach that a first holding element in a sidewall.
Atsushi, however, teaches a similar sheet-folded waste container comprising:
a first holding element defined solely by said material of one of said side walls and configured and positioned to releasably hold a garbage bag suspended therefrom in said waste container (Figs 1 & 3, a first holding element is first locking portion 25 that is shown releasably holding (on Fig 1, off Fig 3) and suspending a garbage/waste storage bag 2), said first holding element comprising an edge of a flange, slot or cut defined through the material of one of said side walls (Figs 1 & 3 show 25 as a protruding flange; Fig 2 shows 25 as a slot cut through with 24; wherein the holding element is shown solely defined by the material of one second sidewall 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one second sidewall of Newborough to have a first holding element defined through and by its own material as taught by Atsushi in order to beneficially further protect the inside of the container from liquids, toxic chemicals, sharper objects and odor permeation by holding a bag.
The resultant combination yields the claimed invention via the first holding element of Atsushi placed in rear wall 58 – which is only rear panel 26 – and proximal the edge between 58 and lid/top wall 62 of Newborough Figures 2 & 5.
Regarding claim 9, Newborough further teaches the inlet mouth is located entirely in said first side wall and below said lid (Fig 2, waste inlet mouth opening of 25 is shown entirely through/in first side wall 56, Fig 5, and shown below the lid).
Regarding claim 17, Newborough teaches a waste container (Title, Fig 5, “container for used medical materials” wherein used materials means waste), comprising:
a foldable sheet of disposable sheet material provided with a plurality of fold lines, which sheet, when folded to define the waste container (col 3, lines 39-41, “FIG. 5 shows a container erectable from the blank of FIG. 2 or the blanks of FIGS. 3 and 4” because the blank has folding lines), comprises:
a container bottom (Fig 5, 60);
at least first and second opposite side walls extending upward from the container bottom (Fig 5, a first sidewall is front wall 56 and is opposite a second sidewall rear wall 58, extend upward from the bottom);
a waste container inlet mouth (Fig 2, an inlet mouth is an opening of area 25; “25 whereby access to the interior of the container is possible”, col 4, lines 11-12 (i.e. for waste));
a lid comprising the upper end of the waste container (Fig 5, a lid is top wall 62, shown with one edge defined by the first folding line);
the waste container inlet mouth comprising an opening in the first side wall for introduction of waste into the waste container and supported bag, said opening being configured and having sufficient size to permit passage therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste and a garbage bag (Figs 2 & 5, said inlet mouth is shown through at least one sidewall 24, and is necessarily capable of introduction therethrough of paper, packaging, food waste and a garbage bag).
But Newborough does not explicitly teach that a holding element in a sidewall.
Atsushi, however, teaches a similar sheet-folded waste container comprising:
a holding element defined solely by the sheet material of the second side wall and configured and positioned to releasably engage and suspend a garbage bag therefrom in said waste container (Figs 1 & 3, a first holding element is first locking portion 25 that is shown releasably (on Fig 1, off Fig 3) holding and suspending a garbage/waste storage bag 2), said holding element comprising an edge of a slot defined in or a cut through the sheet material of the second sidewall (Figs 1 & 3 show 25 as a protruding flange shown vertically spaced from and below lid 7; Fig 2 shows 25 as a slot cut through with 24; wherein the holding element is shown solely defined by the material of one second sidewall 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one second sidewall of Newborough to have a first holding element defined through and by its own material as taught by Atsushi in order to beneficially further protect the inside of the container from liquids, toxic chemicals, sharper objects and odor permeation by holding a bag.
The resultant combination yields the claimed invention via the holding element of Atsushi placed in rear wall 58 – which is only rear panel 26 – and proximal the edge between 58 and lid/top wall 62 of Newborough Figures 2 & 5.
Regarding claim 22, Newborough further teaches the inlet mouth is located entirely in said first side wall and does not overlap any of said fold lines (Fig 2, waste inlet mouth opening of 25 is entirely through/in first side wall 56, Fig 5, and does not overlap a folding line it abuts with panel 40’, nor overlaps any remaining folding lines, Fig 2).
Therefore hereinabove all claims are rejected. In addition and in the alternative, examiner finds a relevant prior art. Please see this prior art in the additional immediately applicable rejection analysis below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 17 and 23 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by WO 0026097 by Bar-Noy (hereinafter “Bar-Noy”).
Regarding claim 1, Bar-Noy teaches a waste container (page 5 para 4 lines last two, Fig 1, container for “waste” shown), comprising:
a foldable sheet provided with a plurality of folding lines, which, when folded to define the waste container (Abstract, Figs 1-3, shows folding lines 5, “folds in different ways from a flat state to a container state adapted for conveniently carrying, storing and packaging objects or refuse”; page 7 line 2 “made from one scored sheet made of cardboard”), comprises:
a bottom (see examiner annotated Bar-Noy Figure 1, hereinafter “EAFB1”; EAFB1, bottom 11);
side walls (EAFB1, sidewalls), including first and second opposite side walls (EAFB1, first and second sidewalls are shown opposite one another), said first side wall having an upper edge defined by a first of said folding lines (EAFB1, an upper edge of first sidewall is shown defined by a first folding line of folding lines 5);
a waste container inlet mouth (EAFB1, an inlet mouth is an opening 2 “to introduce contents through the opening shown as 2 in Figure 1”);
a lid having an edge defined by at least one of said folding lines (EAFB1, lid shown having an edge defined by/being the first folding line);
a first holding element defined solely by said material of one of said side walls and configured and positioned to releasably hold a garbage bag suspended therefrom in said waste container (EAFB1, holding element is shown defined solely of sheet material of second sidewall releasably suspending a bag 9 in the container), said first holding element comprising an edge of a flange, slot or cut defined through the material of one of said side walls (EAFB1, holding element is shown as an edge of a flange/slot through said sidewall’s material); wherein
the waste container inlet mouth is configured and sized for introduction therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste into the waste container, the inlet mouth being defined through at least one of said side walls (EAFB1, inlet mouth 2 is shown through the first sidewall)
Regarding claim 17, Bar-Noy teaches a waste container (page 5 para 4 lines last two, Fig 1, container for “waste” shown), comprising:
a foldable sheet of disposable sheet material provided with a plurality of fold lines, which sheet, when folded to define the waste container (Abstract, Figs 1-3, shows folding lines 5, “folds in different ways from a flat state to a container state adapted for conveniently carrying, storing and packaging objects or refuse”; page 7 line 2 “made from one scored sheet made of cardboard”), comprises:
a container bottom (EAFB1, bottom 11);
at least first and second opposite side walls extending upward from the container bottom (EAFB1, first and second sidewalls are shown opposite one another, and extend upward from the bottom);
a waste container inlet mouth (EAFB1, an inlet mouth is an opening 2 “to introduce contents through the opening shown as 2 in Figure 1”);
a lid comprising the upper end of the waste container (EAFB1, lid shown at an upper end of the container);
a holding element defined solely by the sheet material of the second side wall and configured and positioned to releasably engage and suspend a garbage bag therefrom in said waste container (EAFB1, holding element is shown defined solely of sheet material of second sidewall releasably suspending a bag 9 in the container), said holding element comprising an edge of a slot defined in or a cut through the sheet material of the second side wall (EAFB1, holding element is shown as an edge of a slot through said sidewall’s material);
the waste container inlet mouth comprising an opening in the first side wall for introduction of waste into the waste container and supported bag, said opening being configured and having sufficient size to permit passage therethrough of paper, packaging and food waste and a garbage bag (EAFB1, inlet mouth 2 is shown through the first sidewall).
Regarding claim 23, Bar-Noy further teaches the inlet mouth is located in said first side wall and said lid and overlaps said first fold line (EAFB1, inlet mouth is shown in the first sidewall and in the lid and overlapping the first fold line).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
AT 504229 - slots in a wall hold a bag (Fig 14)
KR 200473023 - slots in a wall hold a bag (Figs 2-3)
KR 20120006635 - inlet mouth in wall (Fig 2)
US 4974746 - slots in a wall hold a bag (Figs 22 & 26)
US 5058763 - slots in a wall hold a bag (Fig 17)
US 6659407 - slots in a wall hold a bag (Fig 1)
US 7398913 - slots in a wall hold a bag (Figs 1-5)
/ERIC C BALDRIGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3733