DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 5 and 12 are cancelled. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 13-16 are new. Claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (JP 2016103317) in view of Minami (US PG Pub. 20190211994).
Regarding claim 1, Seki discloses a lighting device (laser combining optical device 100A of figs. 6 and 8) comprising:
a first light source unit (LD 20a of figs. 6 and 8) including a plurality of laser elements (laser composite optical device 100 comprises several multi-emitter laser diodes 20a; abstract and also illustrated in fig. 13) having optical axes arranged in parallel and in a matrix (laser diodes are arranged in the z-axis direction), the plurality of laser elements (more clearly illustrated in fig. 13) of the first light source unit emitting a first light flux in a first direction (shown in fig. 6);
a second light source unit (LD 20b of figs. 6 and 8 and also illustrated in fig. 13) including a plurality of laser elements (laser composite optical device 100 comprises several multi-emitter laser diodes 20b; abstract) having optical axes arranged in parallel and in a matrix (matrix (laser diodes are arranged in the z-axis direction), the second light source unit being arranged to emit a second light flux in the first direction and to be spaced apart from the first light source unit by a first distance in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (pg. 3 4th para.; multi-emitter LD 20a and the multi-emitter LD 20b is arranged at the interval D1); and
an optical path shift optical system (reflecting element 50 of figs. 6 and 8) including
a first reflecting surface (reflection surface 50a of figs. 6 and 8) that reflects the second light flux emitted from the second light source unit (20b) toward the first light flux (20a), and
a second reflecting surface (reflection surface 50b of figs. 6 and 8) that is parallel to the first reflecting surface (shown in fig. 6) and reflects the second light flux reflected by the first reflecting surface to be parallel to the first light flux at a second distance (distance D2 of figs. 6 and 8) shorter than the first distance (the first distance D1 of figs. 6 and 8) (illustrated in fig. figs. 6 and 8).
wherein the first light source unit (shown in fig. 6 and each of laser elements 20a shown in fig. 6 and each of laser element 20 are clearly illustrated in fig. 13 demonstrating each of 20a and 20b comprising a plurality of laser emitters) includes a first collimating lens array (illustrated in fig. 2(b)) having a plurality of first collimating lenses respectively provided for the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit (pg. 5 8th para. a shape composed of a plurality of lenses corresponding to each light emitting point (FIG. 2(b))), the plurality of first collimating lenses being arranged and integrated at a same arrangement pitch as an arrangement pitch of the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit (illustrated in fig. 2(b)), and
wherein the second light source unit (shown in fig. 6 and each of laser elements 20b shown in fig. 6 and each of laser element 20 are clearly illustrated in fig. 13 demonstrating each of 20a and 20b comprising a plurality of laser emitters) includes a second collimating lens array (illustrated in fig. 2(b)) having a plurality of first collimating lenses respectively provided for the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit (pg. 5 8th para. a shape composed of a plurality of lenses corresponding to each light emitting point (FIG. 2(b))), the plurality of first collimating lenses being arranged and integrated at a same arrangement pitch as an arrangement pitch of the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit (illustrated in fig. 2(b)).
Seki fails to teach the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction.
Minami discloses an optical system that includes a plurality of lenses and a plurality of light sources (semiconductor laser device 10 of fig. 1) for a projection apparatus (illustrated in fig. 22) the plurality of laser elements (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4) of the first light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser optical device of Seki with the round lasers of Minami in order to take advantage of uniform intensity distribution that round lasers provide.
Seki as modified by Minami fails to explicitly teach wherein an end of the first reflecting surface farthest from the first light source unit in the first direction is located at a position overlapping the second light source unit in the second direction; however, Seki discloses on page 3 last paragraph, “…the distance D2 between the laser light 222b transmitted through the reflecting element 50 and the laser light 222a reflected by the reflecting element 50 is smaller than the distance D1 between the multi-emitters LD20a and 20b…and pg. 4 1st para., regardless of the size of each component constituting the laser module, it is possible to collect a plurality of laser beams in a small range and increase the output of the laser module.” As a result, the location of the reflecting surface having overlap with the second light source will cause the distance D2 between the first and second light emissions to become closer; therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source of Seki, reducing the distance between the emissions of the first and second laser light sources in order to increase the output of the laser module.
Regarding claim 2, Seki discloses wherein the optical path shift optical system (50) is a prism (pg. 3 6th para.; the reflecting element 50 has a shape obtained by extending a parallelogram in a direction perpendicular to the drawing sheet. The reflection element 50 includes total reflection surfaces 50a and 50b that are parallel to each other. The laser light is totally reflected at the total reflection surfaces 50a and 50b) having a parallelogram shape (illustrated in fig. 6), and
the prism includes the first reflecting surface (50a), the second reflecting surface (50b), a first transmission surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) through which the second light flux emitted from the second light source unit passes (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below), and a second transmission surface parallel to the first transmission surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) and through which the second light flux reflected by the second reflecting surface passes (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 4, Seki discloses wherein each of the plurality of laser elements of each of the first (20a) and second (20b) light source units is a semiconductor laser element (abstract; optical device 100 comprises several multi-emitter laser diodes 20a, 20b of fig. 6 and further each of 20a and 20b are clearly illustrated in fig. 13 as multi-emitter laser diode 20).
Regarding claim 13, Seki as modified by Minami fails to explicitly teach wherein the end of the second reflecting surface farthest from the second light source unit in the first direction is located at a position overlapping the first light source unit in the second direction; however, Seki discloses on page 3 last paragraph, “…the distance D2 between the laser light 222b transmitted through the reflecting element 50 and the laser light 222a reflected by the reflecting element 50 is smaller than the distance D1 between the multi-emitters LD20a and 20b…and pg. 4 1st para., regardless of the size of each component constituting the laser module, it is possible to collect a plurality of laser beams in a small range and increase the output of the laser module.” Therefore, the location of the reflecting surface having overlap with the second light source will cause the distance D2 between the first and second light emissions to become closer; and based on the teaching in Seki, reducing the distance between the emissions of the first and second laser light sources would increase the output of the laser module.
Regarding claim 14, Seki as modified by Minami discloses an illumination device comprising: first and second laser light sources (multi-emitter laser diodes 20a and 20b of figs. 6 and 8).
Seki fails to teach wherein the second light source unit includes the plurality of laser elements of the second light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction.
Minami discloses wherein the light source unit (semiconductor laser devices (light sources) 10 of fig. 1) includes the plurality of laser elements (illustrated in fig. 1) of the light source unit (light source device 1 of fig. 1) being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser optical device of Seki with the round lasers of Minami in order to take advantage of uniform intensity distribution that round lasers provide.
Regarding claim 15, Seki as modified by Minami discloses an illumination device comprising: first and second laser light sources (multi-emitter laser diodes 20a and 20b of figs. 6 and 8).
Seki fails to teach the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction and the plurality of first collimating lenses being circular and arranged concentrically with the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit.
Minami discloses an optical system that includes a plurality of lenses and a plurality of light sources (semiconductor laser device 10 of fig. 1) for a projection apparatus (illustrated in fig. 22) the plurality of laser elements (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4) of the first light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction (illustrated in fig. 1) and the plurality of first collimating lenses (collimating lenses 320 of fig. 8) being circular (para. 0054; multiple circular collimate lenses 320) and arranged concentrically with the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit (illustrated in fig. 3), the collimating lenses being non-integrated (illustrated in fig. 320; each of collimating lenses are non-integrated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser optical device of Seki with the round lasers of Minami in order to take advantage of uniform intensity distribution that round lasers provide.
Regarding claim 16, Seki as modified by Minami discloses an illumination device comprising: first and second laser light sources (multi-emitter laser diodes 20a and 20b of figs. 6 and 8).
Seki fails to teach the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction and the plurality of first collimating lenses being circular and arranged concentrically with the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit.
Minami discloses an optical system that includes a plurality of lenses and a plurality of light sources (semiconductor laser device 10 of fig. 1) for a projection apparatus (illustrated in fig. 22) the plurality of laser elements (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4) of the first light source unit being circular when viewed in a direction opposite to the first direction (illustrated in fig. 1) and the plurality of first collimating lenses (collimating lenses 320 of fig. 8) being circular (para. 0054; multiple circular collimate lenses 320) and arranged concentrically with the plurality of laser elements of the first light source unit (illustrated in fig. 3), the collimating lenses being non-integrated (illustrated in fig. 320; each of collimating lenses are non-integrated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser optical device of Seki with the round lasers of Minami in order to take advantage of uniform intensity distribution that round lasers provide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (JP 2016103317) and Minami (US PG Pub. 20190211994) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao (CN 106292145 A).
Regarding claim 3, Seki as modified by Minami discloses an illumination device comprising: first and second laser light sources (multi-emitter laser diodes 20a and 20b of figs. 6 and 8).
Seki as modified by Minami fails to teach wherein the optical path shift optical system includes a first mirror including the first reflecting surface and a second mirror including the second reflecting surface.
Gao discloses an illumination system for a projector comprising a laser array (pg. 5 7th para.; laser light source group 101, 102, ... 10N, laser array consisting of the laser source comprises: a laser unit and a corresponding collimating lens) wherein the optical path shift optical system includes a first mirror (first reflector A01 of fig. 2) including the first reflecting surface and a second mirror (second reflector A02 of fig. 2) including the second reflecting surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to replace the prism of Seki and Minami with the mirrors of Gao in order to reduce the cost of the illumination system.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (JP 2016103317) and Minami (US PG Pub. 20190211994) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yan et al. (US PG Pub. 20200301265).
Regarding claim 6, Seki as modified by Minami discloses an illumination device comprising: first and second laser light sources (multi-emitter laser diodes 20a and 20b of figs. 6 and 8).
Seki as modified by Minami fails to teach further comprising: a heat transfer plate including a first heat transfer surface to which the first and second light source units are attached and a second heat transfer surface opposite to the first heat transfer surface; and a cooling device attached to the second heat transfer surface of the heat transfer plate.
Yan discloses a laser projection device comprising first (blue laser assembly 120 of fig. 5B) and second laser light (green laser assembly 130 of fig. 5B) arrays further comprising: a heat transfer plate (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 5B below) including a first heat transfer surface to which the first (120) and second light source (130) units are attached (the first and second light sources are attached to the housing 102 of fig. 5B) and a second heat transfer surface opposite to the first heat transfer surface (heat conduction block 603 of fig. 6D); and a cooling device (third fan 606 is an air intake fan for the heat dissipation fins 601 and is a blower fan) attached to the second heat transfer surface of the heat transfer plate (illustrated in fig. 6D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify illumination device of Seki and Minami with the cooling system of Yan in order to provide an efficient cooling system for a laser projection device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The subject matter of claim 7 that was found to be allowable because the cooling device includes a first cooling device arranged to face the first light source unit with the heat transfer plate interposed between the cooling device and the first cooling device, and a second cooling device arranged to face the second light source unit with the heat transfer plate interposed between the cooling device and the second cooling device.
Claims 8-11 are allowable as being dependent on claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 30 September 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882