DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/16/2025 has been entered and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new rejection has been made over YUN (US 20180242406 A1) in view of Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1). A full rejection can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 11, 13, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUN (US 20180242406 A1) in view of Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YUN (US 20180242406 A1) teaches a cooktop appliance (Figure 1), comprising:
a cooktop plate defining an upper cooking surface (Paragraphs 56-57, cooking plate 102 is provided on the top of the main body to place the cookware C);
a capacitance grid mounted to the cooktop plate (Paragraphs 165-172, capacitance detector 131 is connected to each electrode pair arranged don top of each induction heating coil; Paragraph 76, plurality of induction heating coils are divided into groups and form a grid);
a plurality of burners (Paragraphs 57-58, cooking plate 102 may comprise instruction marks for the location of the induction heating coils), each burner of the plurality of burners comprising an electric heating element mounted below the cooktop plate (Figure 4 Paragraph 72, plurality of induction heating coils L is arranged underneath the cooking plate 102 in a predetermined pattern); and
a controller in operatively coupled to the capacitance grid (Paragraph 235, capacitance detection circuit 133 send data about the capacitance value to the cookware detection controller 135) and the plurality of burners, the controller being configured to direct a cooking operation (Paragraph 236, cookware detection controller 135 cooperate with the driver 150 to selectively drive the induction heating coil to heat the cookware C) comprising
receiving one or more capacitance signals from the capacitance grid (Paragraph 235, capacitance detection circuit 133 send data about the capacitance value to the cookware detection controller 135),
detecting a capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals (Paragraph 240, determined whether the cookware received capacitance value which exceeds a predetermined threshold),
detecting an AC signal to one of the plurality of burners above a set threshold (Paragraph 159, main processor 112 may determine whether an error in the cooking apparatus occurs based on determining whether the driving current applied to the induction heating coil is beyond a normal range),
identifying an engaged burner as an active burner at the one of the plurality of burners based on the detected capacitance increase (Paragraphs 231-232 and Paragraphs 245-246, identifying the induction heating coil corresponding to an area in which the cookware is placed), and
directing a responsive action on the cooktop based on identifying the engaged burner (Paragraphs 231-232 and 247, cookware detection controller 135 control a driving current to be applied to at least one induction heating coil related to an electrode group form which a capacitance value is detected).
YUN fails to teach:
identifying an engaged burner based as an active burner at the one of the plurality of burners based on detecting the AC signal to one of the plurality of burners above the set threshold
Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1) teaches a cooking system for tracking a cooking device, wherein:
identifying an engaged burner based as an active burner at the one of the plurality of burners based on detecting the AC signal to one of the plurality of burners above the set threshold (Paragraph 236, measurement sensor 307 comprises a current sensor that detects current supplied to one or more induction coils wherein the current sensor may transmit an indication of the detected current to the processor 58 of the heat source system such as to detect which induction coils are generating a magnetic field and further determine the presence of the cooking device system)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with Jenkins and used a current sensor that detects current supplied to one or more induction coils. This would have been done such as to detect the presence of the cooking device system by detecting which induction coils are generating a magnetic field (Jenkins Paragraph 236).
While Jenkins does not explicitly teach detecting the current to be above a set threshold, Paragraph 159 of Yun teaches of determining whether an error in the cooking apparatus occurs based on determining whether the driving current applied to the induction heating coil is beyond a normal range. Thus, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the indication of the detected current be based off comparing the current to a set range such as to determine which induction coils are generating a magnetic field as doing so if a well-known method in the art of determining criteria based off current readings.
Regarding claim 3, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 1, wherein
the detected capacitance increase comprises a gradual increase (Paragraphs 231-232 and 247, cookware detection controller 135 control a driving current to be applied to at least one induction heating coil related to an electrode group form which a capacitance value is detected; capacitance detected would gradually increase as the coils being sequentially activated and detected get closer to the actual location of the cookware) having multiple discrete rises in the capacitance value (Paragraphs 233-234, switching devices are turned on and off from which a capacitance value is detected which indicates having multiple discrete rises in the detected capacitance value) over a predetermined period of time (Paragraph 256, capacitance detection circuit 133 sequentially turns on the electrode groups for a period of time).
Regarding claim 5, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 1, wherein:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting an AC signal to the engaged burner above a set threshold, wherein determining the active burner is further based on the detected AC signal (Paragraph 16, re-determination process that determines whether the cookware is placed on the cooking plate is based on at least the magnitude of the current in at least induction heating current; Paragraph 248-249, magnitude of the current in the induction heating coil when the cookware is placed may be smaller than that in the induction heating coil L while the cookware is not placed thereon; using a threshold by comparing whether the induction coil is sufficiently less than a heating coil wherein a cookware is not placed thereon).
Jenkins further teaches:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting an AC signal to the engaged burner, wherein determining the active burner is further based on the detected AC signal (Paragraph 236, measurement sensor 307 comprises a current sensor that detects current supplied to one or more induction coils wherein the current sensor may transmit an indication of the detected current to the processor 58 of the heat source system such as to detect which induction coils are generating a magnetic field and further determine the presence of the cooking device system)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 1, wherein
identifying the engaged burner comprises detecting a utensil placement on the engaged burner (Paragraph 164, identify the induction heating coil L corresponding to the position where the cookware C is placed).
Regarding claim 8, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 7, wherein
the detected capacitance increase comprises an increased capacitance remaining constant over a predetermined period of time (Paragraph 256, capacitance detection circuit 133 sequentially turns on the electrode groups for a period of time; Paragraph 172-175, cookware detection controller 135 may determine whether the cookware is placed on the cooking plate based on whether the capacitance exceeds a predetermined threshold; the detected capacitance would remain increased for the predetermined period of time which the respective electrode group is turned on).
Regarding claim 11, YUN (US 20180242406 A1) teaches a method of operating a cooktop appliance comprising a cooktop plate defining an upper cooking surface (Paragraphs 56-57, cooking plate 102 is provided on the top of the main body to place the cookware C), a capacitance grid mounted to the cooktop plate (Paragraphs 165-172, capacitance detector 131 is connected to each electrode pair arranged don top of each induction heating coil; Paragraph 76, plurality of induction heating coils are divided into groups and form a grid), a plurality of burners (Paragraphs 57-58, cooking plate 102 may comprise instruction marks for the location of the induction heating coils), each burner of the plurality of burners comprising an electric heating element mounted below the cooktop plate (Figure 4 Paragraph 72, plurality of induction heating coils L is arranged underneath the cooking plate 102 in a predetermined pattern), the method comprising:
receiving one or more capacitance signals from the capacitance grid (Paragraph 235, capacitance detection circuit 133 send data about the capacitance value to the cookware detection controller 135);
detecting a capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals (Paragraph 240, determined whether the cookware received capacitance value which exceeds a predetermined threshold);
detecting an AC signal to one of the plurality of burners above a set threshold (Paragraph 159, main processor 112 may determine whether an error in the cooking apparatus occurs based on determining whether the driving current applied to the induction heating coil is beyond a normal range),
identifying an engaged burner as an active burner at the one of the plurality of burners based on the detected capacitance increase (Paragraphs 231-232 and Paragraphs 245-246, identifying the induction heating coil corresponding to an area in which the cookware is placed), and
directing a responsive action on the cooktop based on identifying the engaged burner (Paragraphs 231-232 and 247, cookware detection controller 135 control a driving current to be applied to at least one induction heating coil related to an electrode group form which a capacitance value is detected).
YUN fails to teach:
identifying an engaged burner as an active burner at the one of the plurality of burners based on detecting the AC signal to one of the plurality of burners above the set threshold
Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1) teaches a cooking system for tracking a cooking device, wherein:
identifying an engaged burner as an active burner at the one of the plurality of burners based on detecting the AC signal to one of the plurality of burners above the set threshold (Paragraph 236, measurement sensor 307 comprises a current sensor that detects current supplied to one or more induction coils wherein the current sensor may transmit an indication of the detected current to the processor 58 of the heat source system such as to detect which induction coils are generating a magnetic field and further determine the presence of the cooking device system)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with Jenkins and used a current sensor that detects current supplied to one or more induction coils. This would have been done such as to detect the presence of the cooking device system by detecting which induction coils are generating a magnetic field (Jenkins Paragraph 236).
While Jenkins does not explicitly teach detecting the current to be above a set threshold, Paragraph 159 of Yun teaches of determining whether an error in the cooking apparatus occurs based on determining whether the driving current applied to the induction heating coil is beyond a normal range. Thus, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the indication of the detected current be based off comparing the current to a set range such as to determine which induction coils are generating a magnetic field as doing so if a well-known method in the art of determining criteria based off current readings.
Regarding claim 13, YUN as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
the detected capacitance increase comprises a gradual increase (Paragraphs 231-232 and 247, cookware detection controller 135 control a driving current to be applied to at least one induction heating coil related to an electrode group form which a capacitance value is detected; capacitance detected would gradually increase as the coils being sequentially activated and detected get closer to the actual location of the cookware) having multiple discrete rises in the capacitance value (Paragraphs 233-234, switching devices are turned on and off from which a capacitance value is detected which indicates having multiple discrete rises in the detected capacitance value) over a predetermined period of time (Paragraph 256, capacitance detection circuit 133 sequentially turns on the electrode groups for a period of time).
Regarding claim 15, YUN as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting an AC signal to the engaged burner above a set threshold, wherein determining the active burner is further based on the detected AC signal (Paragraph 16, re-determination process that determines whether the cookware is placed on the cooking plate is based on at least the magnitude of the current in at least induction heating current; Paragraph 248-249, magnitude of the current in the induction heating coil when the cookware is placed may be smaller than that in the induction heating coil L while the cookware is not placed thereon; using a threshold by comparing whether the induction coil is sufficiently less than a heating coil wherein a cookware is not placed thereon).
Jenkins further teaches:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting an AC signal to the engaged burner, wherein determining the active burner is further based on the detected AC signal (Paragraph 236, measurement sensor 307 comprises a current sensor that detects current supplied to one or more induction coils wherein the current sensor may transmit an indication of the detected current to the processor 58 of the heat source system such as to detect which induction coils are generating a magnetic field and further determine the presence of the cooking device system)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, YUN as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
identifying the engaged burner comprises detecting a utensil placement on the engaged burner (Paragraph 164, identify the induction heating coil L corresponding to the position where the cookware C is placed).
Regarding claim 18, YUN as modified teaches the method of claim 17, wherein
the detected capacitance increase comprises an increased capacitance remaining constant over a predetermined period of time (Paragraph 256, capacitance detection circuit 133 sequentially turns on the electrode groups for a period of time; Paragraph 172-175, cookware detection controller 135 may determine whether the cookware is placed on the cooking plate based on whether the capacitance exceeds a predetermined threshold; the detected capacitance would remain increased for the predetermined period of time which the respective electrode group is turned on).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUN (US 20180242406 A1) in view of Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1) as applied to claim 3 and 13 above, and further in view of ACERO (EP 2034799 A1).
Regarding claim 4, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 3, wherein
the detected increase is at an active burner (Paragraph 203, first and second electrodes may be implemented in various known forms without being limited).
YUN fails to explicitly teach:
the detected increase is at a plurality of points along a predetermined outline surrounding the active burner
ACERO (EP 2034799 A1) teaches a hob with a sensor device for detecting cooking utensils, wherein:
the detected increase is at a plurality of points along a predetermined outline surrounding the active burner (Paragraph 25, induction heaters are essentially induction coils and are simultaneously used as sensor elements 12; Paragraphs 34-36, control unit 14 detected the overlap of a specific sensor element 12a with a cookware element the search program activates all sensor elements 12 contained in a predetermined radius such as to determine the cookware element)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with ACERO and detected the increase at a plurality of points surrounding the sensor element such as to determine the position of the cookware element. This would be done to determine the size, shape, and position of the cookware element with higher spatial resolution (ACERO Paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 14, YUN as modified teaches the method of claim 13, wherein
the detected increase is at an active burner (Paragraph 203, first and second electrodes may be implemented in various known forms without being limited).
YUN fails to explicitly teach:
the detected increase is at a plurality of points along a predetermined outline surrounding the active burner.
ACERO (EP 2034799 A1) teaches a hob with a sensor device for detecting cooking utensils, wherein:
the detected increase is at a plurality of points along a predetermined outline surrounding the active burner (Paragraph 25, induction heaters are essentially induction coils and are simultaneously used as sensor elements 12; Paragraphs 34-36, control unit 14 detected the overlap of a specific sensor element 12a with a cookware element the search program activates all sensor elements 12 contained in a predetermined radius such as to determine the cookware element)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with ACERO and detected the increase at a plurality of points surrounding the sensor element such as to determine the position of the cookware element. This would be done to determine the size, shape, and position of the cookware element with higher spatial resolution (ACERO Paragraph 34).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUN (US 20180242406 A1) in view of Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of KIM (US 20230389132 A1) and Neil (US 5608383 A).
Regarding claim 6, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 1, further comprising:
a control panel operatively coupled to the controller, wherein identifying the engaged burner comprises detecting a constant temperature (Paragraph 108, detector 104 detects the temperature of the cookware C placed on the cooking plate and deactivate the heating coil in response to the cookware being overheated),
YUN fails to explicitly teach:
detecting a constant temperature over a predetermined time threshold
and wherein directing a responsive action comprises directing an excess-time alarm at the control panel.
KIM (US 20230389132 A1) teaches a home appliance stove, wherein:
directing a responsive action comprises directing an excess-time alarm at the control panel (Paragraph 182, cooking appliance is inductively heated by the working coil and the coil is turned off when the cooking appliance is determined to be overheated; Paragraph 269, buzzer assembly for outputting an alarm when the cooking vessel is overheated).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with KIM and have the step of identifying the engaged burner also include an alarm to inform the user when the cooking appliance is overheating. This would be done to inform the user of the error (KIM Paragraph 206).
YUN modified with KIM fails to explicitly teach “detecting a constant temperature over a predetermined time threshold”, however Neil (US 5608383 A) teaches a cooking device comprising an automatic temperature alarm system in which an alarm is trigged when the apparatus has been heated and untouched for an excessive period of time (Neil Figure 3B Column 7-12). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with Neil and have the alarm only sound after a predetermined amount of time has passed wherein the constant temperature is above the predetermined time threshold. This would have been done such the user is notified and would avoid a situation wherein the cooking apparatus is forgotten and poses a safety risk (Neil Column 1 Lines 34-38).
Regarding claim 16, Yun as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
identifying the engaged burner comprises detecting a constant temperature (Paragraph 108, detector 104 detects the temperature of the cookware C placed on the cooking plate and deactivate the heating coil in response to the cookware being overheated)
YUN fails to explicitly teach:
detecting a constant temperature over a predetermined time threshold, and
wherein directing a responsive action comprises directing an excess-time alarm at a control panel of the cooktop appliance.
KIM (US 20230389132 A1) teaches a home appliance stove, wherein:
directing a responsive action comprises directing an excess-time alarm at a control panel of the cooktop appliance (Paragraph 182, cooking appliance is inductively heated by the working coil and the coil is turned off when the cooking appliance is determined to be overheated; Paragraph 269, buzzer assembly for outputting an alarm when the cooking vessel is overheated).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with KIM and have the step of identifying the engaged burner also include an alarm to inform the user when the cooking appliance is overheating. This would be done to inform the user of the error (KIM Paragraph 206).
YUN modified with KIM fails to explicitly teach “detecting a constant temperature over a predetermined time threshold”, however Neil (US 5608383 A) teaches a cooking device comprising an automatic temperature alarm system in which an alarm is trigged when the apparatus has been heated and untouched for an excessive period of time (Neil Figure 3B Column 7-12). It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with Neil and have the alarm only sound after a predetermined amount of time has passed wherein the constant temperature is above the predetermined time threshold. This would have been done such the user is notified and would avoid a situation wherein the cooking apparatus is forgotten and poses a safety risk (Neil Column 1 Lines 34-38).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUN (US 20180242406 A1) in view of Jenkins (US 20190125120 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of LEE (US 20230209667 A1).
Regarding claim 10, YUN as modified teaches the cooktop appliance of claim 1, wherein
the detected capacitance increase is a first detected capacitance increase (Paragraph 243, when the capacitance value exceeds only the first threshold the cookware detection circuit may perform the re-determination process), wherein the cooking operation further comprises detecting a second capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals, detecting an utensil based on the second detected capacitance increase, and wherein directing the responsive action is further based on detecting the utensil (Paragraph 243-244, re-determination includes having the cookware detection circuit 136 send a control signal to the driving assembly to drive at least one induction heating coil corresponding to a position at which the capacitance value is detected; Paragraphs 267-268, capacitance can be used to determine whether other cookware are placed on the cooking plate even while the redetermination process is being performed).
YUN fails to explicitly teach:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting a second capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals, detecting an offset utensil spaced apart from the engaged burner based on the second detected capacitance increase, and wherein directing the responsive action is further based on detecting the offset utensil.
LEE (US 20230209667 A1) teaches a cooking apparatus and method of controlling the same, wherein:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting a second capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals, detecting an offset utensil spaced apart from the engaged burner based on the second detected capacitance increase, and wherein directing the responsive action is further based on detecting the offset utensil (Paragraph 136, controller detects a change in capacitance upon a cooking device being placed on the cooking plate and determine a position P41 of the pot based on the change in capacitance; Paragraph 197, detection occurs even when the cooking vessel is placed in a region that does not correspond to an induction heating coil).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with LEE and have the capacitance detection means detect an offset cookware based on the change in capacitance upon a cooking device being placed on the cooking plate. This would have been done to identify the position of the pot as well as the size and area of the cooking vessel (LEE Paragraph 136).
Regarding claim 20, YUN as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein
the detected capacitance increase is a first detected capacitance increase (Paragraph 243, when the capacitance value exceeds only the first threshold the cookware detection circuit may perform the re-determination process), wherein the cooking operation further comprises detecting a second capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals, detecting an utensil based on the second detected capacitance increase, and wherein directing the responsive action is further based on detecting the utensil (Paragraph 243-244, cookware detection circuit 136 sends a control signal to the driving assembly to drive at least one induction heating coil corresponding to a position at which the capacitance value is detected; Paragraphs 267-268, capacitance can be used to determine whether other cookware are placed on the cooking plate even while the redetermination process is being performed).
YUN fails to explicitly teach:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting a second capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals, detecting an offset utensil spaced apart from the engaged burner based on the second detected capacitance increase, and wherein directing the responsive action is further based on detecting the offset utensil.
LEE (US 20230209667 A1) teaches a cooking apparatus and method of controlling the same, wherein:
the cooking operation further comprises detecting a second capacitance increase based on the capacitance signals, detecting an offset utensil spaced apart from the engaged burner based on the second detected capacitance increase, and wherein directing the responsive action is further based on detecting the offset utensil (Paragraph 136, controller detects a change in capacitance upon a cooking device being placed on the cooking plate and determine a position P41 of the pot based on the change in capacitance; Paragraph 197, detection occurs even when the cooking vessel is placed in a region that does not correspond to an induction heating coil).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YUN with LEE and have the capacitance detection means detect an offset cookware based on the change in capacitance upon a cooking device being placed on the cooking plate. This would have been done to identify the position of the pot as well as the size and area of the cooking vessel (LEE Paragraph 136).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761