DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Chen does not teach “in proximity to establish electric-field coupling between the first signal path and the second signal path” as recited in claim 1 and similar limitations in claims 9 and 15. Applicant asserts that Chen only discloses mutual magnetic field coupling between the inductors/transformer or magnetic coupling, not electric-field coupling.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. Chen’s invention is more directed toward mutual inductance and or magnetic coupling than electric field coupling. So, while Chen may or may not expressly discloses electric field coupling, a person with ordinary skill in the art would know there would be electric field coupling between the signal paths in Chen because of the closely arrangement between the first signal path and the second signal path and magnetic coupling and electric field coupling can coexist. In other words, since the signal paths are closely disposed to each other, their proximity would inherently create electric-field coupling between them. Accordingly, the examiner maintains Chen teaches “in proximity to establish electric-field coupling between the first signal path and the second signal path” as recited in claim 1 and similar limitations in claims 9 and 15
Applicant also argues that Chen does not teach “a first primary side winding, electrically connected [to] a primary side terminal,” a “second primary side winding, electrically connected to the primary side terminal,” and “a second side winding…located between the primary side winding and the second primary side winding” as claimed in claim 9. Applicant asserts that loops 312a, 312b, and 312c in Chen are sequentially connected portion of the same continuous coil 310, not separate windings each independently connected to a primary terminal.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is respectfully found not persuasive. As seen in FIG. 4B of the present invention, first winding 404, second winding 412 and third winding 417 are three loops, collectively forming a primary winding or a secondary winding. Each windings 404, 412 and 417 is connected to the terminal 420A or 420B. Similarly, loops 312a, 312b and 312c collectively form a primary winding, and each loop is connected to the primary winding terminal. Under this interpretation, which within broadest reasonable interpretation, the three loops of Chen meet the claimed “a first primary side winding, electrically connected [to] a primary side terminal,” a “second primary side winding, electrically connected to the primary side terminal” limitation. Loop 322c of the secondary winding is between loop 312a and loop 312c of the primary side winding. Accordingly, Chen also teaches “a second side winding…located between the primary side winding and the second primary side winding” as claimed. Therefore, the examiner maintains Chen anticipates “a first primary side winding, electrically connected [to] a primary side terminal,” a “second primary side winding, electrically connected to the primary side terminal,” and “a second side winding…located between the primary side winding and the second primary side winding” as claimed in claim 9.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/14/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14-19, 21, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2010/0001827 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chen et al., hereinafter referred to as “Chen,” teaches a transformer 300 (FIGs. 3-7) comprising:
a first signal path 310 in a first plane (layer of signal path 310);
a second signal path 320, in the first plane, that is offset in a diagonally direction (direction of dotted diagonal arrow, annotated FIG. 3) in relation to the first signal path, wherein the first signal path and the second signal path are in proximity to establish electric-field coupling between the first signal path and the second signal path,
a jumper C1 or C2 (FIG. 4 or FIG. 5, respectively), located in a second plane (layer of jumper C1, which is below first and second signal paths), connected to either the first signal path or the second signal path to prevent electrical contact between the first signal path and the second signal path (paras. [0032], [0033], [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path comprises one or more windings and the second signal path comprise one or more windings, and the transformer is formed in an integrated circuit or a printed circuit board.
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the jumper is connected to the first signal path or the second signal path with vias V1 or V2 that extend from the second plane to the first plane (paras. [0036] or [0037]).
With respect to claim 5, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path includes one or more input terminals 310i (annotated FIG. 3 above), and the second signal path includes one or more output terminals 310o (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 7, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path, the second signal path, or both comprise fractional turn windings 312a-312c and or 322a-322c (paras. [0033]).
With respect to claim 8, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path forms two or more square or rectangular shapes and the second signal path is of the same general shape as the first signal path (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 9, Chen teaches a transformer 300 (FIGs. 3-7) comprising:
a first primary side winding (e.g., winding 312a), electrically connected a primary side terminal 310 (annotated FIG. 3), located in a first layer (layer of winding 310) of a semiconductor device or printed circuit board 400;
a second primary side winding (e.g., winding 312c), electrically connected to the primary side terminal, located in the first layer;
a secondary side winding (e.g., winding 322c), electrically connected to a secondary side terminal 310o, located in the first layer,
wherein the secondary side winding is located between the first primary side winding and the second primary side winding such that the first primary side winding, second primary side winding, and the secondary side winding are diagonally offset (offset in dotted diagonal arrow direction) from one another and in proximity to establish for electric field coupling (paras. [0032], [0033], [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 10, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9 further comprising:
two or more vias V1 or V2 that connect to at least one of the windings and extend to a layer (layer of crossing segment C1 or C2) different than the first layer, and
one or more jumpers C1s and or C2s that connect to at least two of the two or more vias to route two or more windings to a different layer to prevent electrical connection between the windings which are in the first layer (paras. [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 14, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9 wherein the primary side winding, the secondary side winding, or both are fractional turn windings 322a-322c (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 15, Chen teaches a transformer structure 300 (FIGs. 3-7)comprising:
one or more primary side windings 310 forming a conductive path between two terminals 310i (annotated FIG. 3), the primary side windings in the shape of two or more squares, rectangles or combination of both;
one or more secondary side windings 320 having the same shape as the one or more primary side windings, but which are diagonally offset (offset in dotted diagonal arrow direction) from the one or more primary side winding and adjacent at least one of the one or more primary side windings to experience electric field coupling from the at least one of the one or more primary side windings (paras. [0032], [0033], [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 16, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 further comprising jumpers C1s and or C2s on a different layer (layer of C1 or C2) to prevent electrical contact between the primary side windings and the secondary side windings, and wherein the one or more primary side windings and the one or more secondary side windings are on a same layer, except for the jumpers which are on the different layer (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 17, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 16 further comprising, at overlap points (over lapping regions of the primary side windings and or secondary side windings) between the one or more primary side windings and/or the one or more secondary side windings, vias V1 and or V2 that extend to one of the jumpers C1 or C2 that is on the different layer (layer of C1 or C2) to prevent the conductive paths from touching at the overlap points (paras. [0035] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 18. Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 wherein the one or more primary side windings have one or more input terminals 610i, and the one or more secondary side windings have one or more output terminals 610o (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 19, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 wherein the one or more secondary side windings are interleaved with the between or more primary side windings (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 21, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path and the second signal path each form a closed loop having a same shape and a same length such that the first signal path and the second signal path each have a same inductance (paras. [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 23, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9 wherein the first primary side winding, the second primary side winding, and the secondary side winding each form a closed loop having a same shape and a same length such that each winding has a same inductance (paras. [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 25, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 wherein each of the one or more primary side windings and each of the one or more secondary side windings forms a closed loop having a same length such that each winding has a same inductance (paras. [0036] and [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Visser (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2003/0001709 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1. Chen does not expressly teach the first signal path comprises one or more windings connected in parallel and the second signal path comprises one or more windings connected in parallel, and the first signal path and second signal paths are in the shapes of squares or rectangles.
Visser teaches a transformer (FIG. 2), wherein the first signal path 210 comprises one or more windings 210a and 210b connected in parallel and the second signal path 220 comprises one or more windings 220a and 220b connected in parallel, and the first signal path and second signal paths are in the shapes of squares or rectangles (paras. [0025]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the parallel windings as taught by Visser to the transformer of Chen to improve coupling factor (para. [0022] and [0023]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2013/0267185 A1, hereinafter “Chen’185”).
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9. Chen does not expressly teach insulating material disposed on the first layer between the first primary side winding and the secondary side winding and between the secondary side winding and the second primary side winding to prevent electrical connection between the windings.
Chen’185 teaches a transformer (FIGs 2A and 2B) comprising insulating material 201 and or 202 on the first layer between the first primary side winding (inner or outer loop of primary winding 112) and the secondary side winding 114 and between the secondary side winding (the other of inner or outer loop of primary winding 112) and the second primary side winding to prevent electrical connection between the windings (para. [0026]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulating material as taught by Chen’185 to the transformer of Chen to protect the windings from foreign objects.
With respect to claim 12, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9. Chen does not expressly teach the transformer is configured as a step-up transformer or a step-down transformer.
Chen’185 teaches a transformer (FIGs 2A and 2B) configured as a step-up transformer or a step-down transformer (para. [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the step up or step down transformer as taught by Chen’185 to the transformer of Chen to provide the required output voltage to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 13, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9. Chen does not expressly teach comprising one or more amplifiers connected to the primary side terminal, the secondary side terminal, or both.
Chen’185 teaches a transformer (FIG. 1) comprising one or more amplifiers 131 or 120 connected to the primary side terminal, the secondary side terminal, or both (para. [0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the one or more amplifiers as taught by Chen’185 to the transformer of Chen to provide the required output signal to meet design requirements.
Claim 22, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2008/0284552 A1, hereinafter “Lim”).
With respect to claim 22, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1. Chen does not expressly teach the first signal path and the second signal path are separated by an insulating material disposed therebetween in the first plane to prevent electrical contact between the first signal path and the second signal path.
Lim teaches a transformer (Fig. 7a and 7b), wherein the first signal path 11 or P and the second signal path 12 or S are separated by an insulating material 3 disposed therebetween in the first plane to prevent electrical contact between the first signal path and the second signal path (para. [0107]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulating material between the first and second signal paths as taught by Lim to the transformer of Chen to protect the signal paths from foreign objects, such as dust and moisture.
With respect to claim 24, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9 further comprising a third primary side winding 312b electrically connected to the primary side terminal and located in the first layer, and a second secondary side winding 322b electrically connected to the secondary side terminal and located in the first layer (paras. [0033] and [0036]). Chen does not expressly teach the first primary side winding, the second primary side winding, and the third primary side winding alternate with the secondary side winding and the second secondary side winding in the first layer.
Lim teaches a transformer (Fig. 7a and 7b), wherein the first primary side winding (a turn of primary winding 11 or P), the second primary side winding (a turn of primary winding 11 or P), and the third primary side winding (a turn of primary winding 11 or P) alternate with the secondary side winding (a turn or secondary side winding 12 or S) and the second secondary side winding (a turn or secondary side winding 12 or S) in the first layer (para. [0107]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have alternatively arranged windings as taught by Lim to the transformer of Chen to provide the desired magnetic/electrical-field coupling between the windings to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 26, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15. Chen does not expressly teach the one or more primary side windings and the one or more secondary side windings are alternatingly arranged on a same layer such that each of the one or more secondary side windings is positioned adjacent to at least one of the one or more primary side windings on each side of the secondary side winding.
Lim teaches a transformer (Fig. 7a and 7b), wherein the one or more primary side windings 11 or P and the one or more secondary side windings 12 or S are alternatingly arranged on a same layer such that each of the one or more secondary side windings is positioned adjacent to at least one of the one or more primary side windings on each side of the secondary side winding (para. [0107]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have alternatively arranged windings as taught by Lim to the transformer of Chen to provide the desired magnetic/electrical-field coupling between the windings to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837