DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species XI, FIG. 5, claims 1-5 and 7-19 in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has not explained why there would be a serious burden to search and or examine the application in its entirety. This is not found persuasive because the examiner clearly explained, in page 3 of the Office action dated 10/27/2025, that “there is a serious search and/or examination burden…because at least the following reason(s) apply:.” Applicant elects the species if FIG. 5, therefore, there’s no need to withdraw the classification “Species XII” and Species “XIV.”
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2023, 05/05/2023 and 07/12/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first signal path, the second signal path, or both comprise fractional turn windings” as claimed in claim 7, the “a semiconductor device or printed circuit board” of claim 9, and the “insulating material on the first layer between the first primary side winding and the secondary side winding and between the secondary side winding and the second primary side winding to prevent electrical connection between the windings” as recited in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, it appears “a layer different then the first layer” should be -- a layer different than the first layer.
Regarding claim 18, it appears “the one more primary side winding” should be --the one more primary side windings-- and “the one more secondary side winding” --the one more primary side windings--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it’s not clear what’s intended by “insulating material on the first layer between the first primary side winding and the secondary side winding and between the secondary side winding and the second primary side winding to prevent electrical connection between the windings” as recited. Specifically, claim 9 requires the windings are located in the first layer. If the insulating material is on the first layer, as recited in claim 11, how can the insulating material prevent electrical connection between the windings?
Regarding claim 17, applicant should clarify if “a jumper” is the same as or different from one of the “jumpers” as recited in claim 16. Similarly, it’s not clear if “overlap points” in line 4 is the same as or different from “overlap points” as recited in line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2010/0001827 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chen et al., hereinafter referred to as “Chen,” teaches a transformer 300 (FIGs. 3-7) comprising:
a first signal path 310 in a first plane (layer of signal path 310);
a second signal path 320, in the first plane, that is offset in a diagonally direction (direction of dotted diagonal arrow, annotated FIG. 3) in relation to the first signal path, wherein the first signal path and the second signal path are in proximity to establish electric-field coupling between the first signal path and the second signal path,
a jumper C1 or C2 (FIG. 4 or FIG. 5, respectively), located in a second plane (layer of jumper C1, which is below first and second signal paths), connected to either the first signal path or the second signal path to prevent electrical contact between the first signal path and the second signal path (paras. [0032], [0033], [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path comprises one or more windings and the second signal path comprise one or more windings, and the transformer is formed in an integrated circuit or a printed circuit board.
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the jumper is connected to the first signal path or the second signal path with vias V1 or V2 that extend from the second plane to the first plane (paras. [0036] or [0037]).
With respect to claim 5, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path includes one or more input terminals 310i (annotated FIG. 3 above), and the second signal path includes one or more output terminals 310o (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 7, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path, the second signal path, or both comprise fractional turn windings 312a-312c and or 322a-322c (paras. [0033]).
With respect to claim 8, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1 wherein the first signal path forms two or more square or rectangular shapes and the second signal path is of the same general shape as the first signal path (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 9, Chen teaches a transformer 300 (FIGs. 3-7) comprising:
a first primary side winding (e.g., winding 312a), electrically connected a primary side terminal 310 (annotated FIG. 3), located in a first layer (layer of winding 310) of a semiconductor device or printed circuit board 400;
a second primary side winding (e.g., winding 312c), electrically connected to the primary side terminal, located in the first layer;
a secondary side winding (e.g., winding 322c), electrically connected to a secondary side terminal 310o, located in the first layer,
wherein the secondary side winding is located between the first primary side winding and the second primary side winding such that the first primary side winding, second primary side winding, and the secondary side winding are diagonally offset (offset in dotted diagonal arrow direction) from one another and in proximity to establish for electric field coupling (paras. [0032], [0033], [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 10, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9 further comprising:
two or more vias V1 or V2 that connect to at least one of the windings and extend to a layer (layer of crossing segment C1 or C2) different then (interpreted as “than”) the first layer, and
one or more jumpers C1s and or C2s that connect to at least two of the two or more vias to route two or more windings to a different layer to prevent electrical connection between the windings which are in the first layer (paras. [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 14, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9 wherein the primary side winding, the secondary side winding, or both are fractional turn windings 322a-322c (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 15, Chen teaches a transformer structure 300 (FIGs. 3-7)comprising:
one or more primary side windings 310 forming a conductive path between two terminals 310i (annotated FIG. 3), the primary side windings in the shape of two or more squares, rectangles or combination of both;
one or more secondary side windings 320 having the same shape as the one or more primary side windings, but which are diagonally offset (offset in dotted diagonal arrow direction) from the one or more primary side winding and adjacent at least one of the one or more primary side windings to experience electric field coupling from the at least one of the one or more primary side windings (paras. [0032], [0033], [0036] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 16, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 further comprising jumpers C1s and or C2s on a different layer (layer of C1 or C2) to prevent electrical contact between the primary side windings and the secondary side windings, and wherein the one or more primary side windings and the one or more secondary side windings are on a same layer, except for the jumpers which are on the different layer (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 17, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 16 further comprising, at overlap points (over lapping regions of the primary side windings and or secondary side windings) between the one or more primary side windings and/or the one or more secondary side windings, vias V1 and or V2 that extend to a jumper C1 or C2 that is a different layer (layer of C1 or C2) to prevent the conductive paths from touching at overlap points (paras. [0035] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 18. Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 wherein the one or more primary side winding has one or more input terminals 610i, and the secondary side winding has one or more output terminals 610o (para. [0033]).
With respect to claim 19, Chen teaches the transformer structure of claim 15 wherein the one or more secondary side windings are interleaved with the between or more primary side windings (para. [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Visser (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2003/0001709 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 1. Chen does not expressly teach the first signal path comprises one or more windings connected in parallel and the second signal path comprises one or more windings connected in parallel, and the first signal path and second signal paths are in the shapes of squares or rectangles.
Visser teaches a transformer (FIG. 2), wherein the first signal path 210 comprises one or more windings 210a and 210b connected in parallel and the second signal path 220 comprises one or more windings 220a and 220b connected in parallel, and the first signal path and second signal paths are in the shapes of squares or rectangles (paras. [0025]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the parallel windings as taught by Visser to the transformer of Chen to improve coupling factor (para. [0022] and [0023]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2013/0267185 A1, hereinafter “Chen’185”).
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9. Chen does not expressly teach insulating material on the first layer between the first primary side winding and the secondary side winding and between the secondary side winding and the second primary side winding to prevent electrical connection between the windings.
Best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Chen’185 teaches a transformer (FIGs 2A and 2B) comprising insulating material 201 and or 202 on the first layer between the first primary side winding (inner or outer loop of primary winding 112) and the secondary side winding 114 and between the secondary side winding (the other of inner or outer loop of primary winding 112) and the second primary side winding to prevent electrical connection between the windings (para. [0026]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulating material as taught by Chen’185 to the transformer of Chen to protect the windings from foreign objects.
With respect to claim 12, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9. Chen does not expressly teach the transformer is configured as a step-up transformer or a step-down transformer.
Chen’185 teaches a transformer (FIGs 2A and 2B) configured as a step-up transformer or a step-down transformer (para. [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the step up or step down transformer as taught by Chen’185 to the transformer of Chen to provide the required output voltage to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 13, Chen teaches the transformer of claim 9. Chen does not expressly teach comprising one or more amplifiers connected to the primary side terminal, the secondary side terminal, or both.
Chen’185 teaches a transformer (FIG. 1) comprising one or more amplifiers 131 or 120 connected to the primary side terminal, the secondary side terminal, or both (para. [0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the one or more amplifiers as taught by Chen’185 to the transformer of Chen to provide the required output signal to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837