DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02 January 2026. Applicant amended claims 1,4, and 7, canceled claims 2-3 and 5-6 and added claims 12-23. Claims 1,4, and 6-23 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1,4, and 7 Applicant asserts:
Therefore, Soar does not disclose that "the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a recreational rider when seated" and "a receiver positioned on a back surface of the helmet and configured to detect the magnetic field when the recreational rider is seated with the back surface of the helmet proximate to the seat back," as now recited in claim 1.
And further asserts:
Yoshida, which was cited for claim 2, does not cure the deficiencies of Soar.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1,4 and 7 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Soar and Yoshida to teach:
a receiver positioned on a back surface of the helmet ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10 of Soar. The secondary coils 6 for power …, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19) and configured to detect the magnetic field when the rider is seated with the back surface of the helmet proximate to the seat back ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10 of Soar. The secondary coils 6 for power and data ……, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19 such that the secondary coil 6 would be located as close to the seat back 3a as possible…. [0080]-[0081] The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat, for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier…Once an inductive connection is made between the primary and secondary coils, the rechargeable central or main power source such as main battery 14 would start to receive power).
wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated ([0047] Fig.6 of Yoshida the power receiving antenna 4 is located to be close to the power transmitting antenna 13 embedded in the head-rest 26 of the driver's seat)
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 4 Applicant asserts:
As discussed above in the discussion of claim 1, Soar and Yoshida do not disclose that the "charging pad is positioned in a headrest of a seat to align with a head portion of a recreational rider when seated" and "selectively supplying, by an in-helmet energy regulator, power to the battery and the at least one in-helmet component," as now recited in claim 4.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1,4 and 7 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Soar and Yoshida and Denis to teach:
selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, (Fig. 10 Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15 of Soar) power to the battery ([0107] The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal) and the at least one in-helmet component (Fig. 3 [0033][0035] of Denis).
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 7 Applicant asserts:
As discussed above in the discussion of claim 1, Soar and Yoshida do not disclose…. "an energy regulator connected to the internal battery and removably coupled to the external battery via the receiver and configured to determine a battery level of the internal battery and to selectively supply power to the internal battery and the component based on the battery level of the internal battery,"
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1,4 and 7 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Soar and Yoshida to teach:
and an energy regulator (Fig. 10 secondary coil 6, Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15 of Soar) connected to the battery and removably coupled to the external battery via the receiver and configured to determine a battery level of the internal battery ([0107] The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 of Soar ).
Venkatraman teaches an internal battery configured to provide energy to the component ([0018] Battery 38 of device 10 may be used to power device 10), the energy regulator (Power management circuitry 36) configured to selectively supply power to the internal battery and the component based on the battery level of the internal battery ([0019]-[0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10).
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner Notes
Claims 10 and 11 recites “a second condition” and “a third condition” which lacks antecedent basis. Specifically, a first or second condition is not previously claimed. Examiner will interpret “a first condition”, “a second condition” and “a third condition” as members of a group and not a serial or numerical limitation.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 18, and 20-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, and 20-22 recites “the battery“ which lack antecedence basis.
Examiner will examine/interpret as “the internal battery“ .
Claim 4 recites “charging, by the receiver of a wearable device” and should be a “wearable helmet device”.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 and similarly claim 22 recites “wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to prioritize charging the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level” which is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter. The specification recites:
[00177] The in-helmet energy regulator 1520 is configured to determine a battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530 and control a power distribution to charge, maintain, and supplement energy to the heated shield 1540, other components of the helmet 1510, and/or other components that are coupled to the helmet 1510 ( e.g., a heated garment) that need power.
[00178] For example, if the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 determines that the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530 is below a threshold level, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may use the external power source 1550 to charge the in-helmet battery 1530. If, however, the in helmet energy regulator 1520 determines that the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530 is above the threshold level, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may use the external power source 1550 to maintain the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530. Additionally or alternatively, depending on the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may supply energy directly from the external power source 1550 to the heated shield 1540, other components of the helmet 1510, and/or other components that are coupled to the helmet 1510. In some embodiments, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may supply energy directly from the external power source 1550 in response to detecting that the external power source 1530 is connected to the helmet 1510 regardless of the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530.
The specification above does not support prioritizing charging the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level.
Claim 23 is included in this rejection based on its dependence on claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,4,12-15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499).
As to claim 1, Soar disclose a system for wirelessly charging a wearable device (Fig. 1-4 and [0088] apparel is intended to include webbing, vests, body armor, backpacks, harnesses, coats, shorts, belts, pants, shorts, gloves, goggles, glasses, hats, helmets) the system comprising: a vehicle (Vehicle of Fig. 2-4, [0054]) with a seat having a charging pad configured to generate a magnetic field ([0084] Fig. 3-4 The inductive seat charging system according to the present invention may be designed into new seats or be retro-fitted onto existing vehicle seating. [0129] and Fig. 10 …coil 5 so as to inductively couple with the secondary coil 6 across magnetic flux 7), and a wearable helmet device ([0088] apparel is intended to include …, helmets) comprising:
a receiver positioned on a back surface of the helmet ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10 of Soar. The secondary coils 6 for power …, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19) and configured to detect the magnetic field when the rider is seated with the back surface of the helmet proximate to the seat back ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10. The secondary coils 6 for power and data ……, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19 such that the secondary coil 6 would be located as close to the seat back 3a as possible…. [0080]-[0081] The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat, for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier…Once an inductive connection is made between the primary and secondary coils, the rechargeable central or main power source such as main battery 14 would start to receive power).
at least one helmet component configured to use power (Fig. 10-11 elements 72,70,67,12 and 83), and an in-helmet energy regulator connected to the receiver (Fig. 10 Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15).
Soar does not disclose/teach wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated.
Yoshida teaches wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated ([0047] Fig.6 the power receiving antenna 4 is located to be close to the power transmitting antenna 13 embedded in the head-rest 26 of the driver's seat)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging pad of Soar to be positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated in order for the helmet power receiving antenna to receive the electromagnetic wave transmitted from the power transmitting antenna with minimal interference.
Soar in view of Yoshida does not disclose/teach an in-helmet battery positioned within the helmet, and the in-helmet energy regulator configured to selectively supply power to the in-helmet battery and the at least one helmet component.
Denis teaches an in-helmet battery ([0023] and Fig. 2 energy storage device 42 may be a rechargeable battery… integrated into the welding accessory 36) positioned within the helmet ([0013] [0023] and Fig.2 welding accessory (e.g., … a helmet,), an in-helmet energy regulator connected to the receiver ([0027] and Fig. 3 processing controller 51 and conditioning circuitry 53) and configured to selectively supply power to the in-helmet battery and the at least one helmet component (Fig. 3 [0033][0035] the energy harvesting device 52 may harvest energy from other electromagnetic fields…processing controller 51 and the conditioning circuitry 53 to store (e.g., via transmission of the energy to the energy storage device 42) the electrical energy from the energy harvesting device 52 and to regulate a voltage output that may be used to provide operational energy to the welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the helmet of Soar in view of Yoshida to include an in-helmet battery positioned within the helmet, and the in-helmet energy regulator configured to selectively supply power to the in-helmet battery and the at least one helmet component in order to provide operational energy to the helmet and charge the depleted battery.
Soar does not disclose/teach the vehicle is a recreational vehicle.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed use of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through to apply Soars system for wirelessly charging into a recreational vehicle as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
As to claim 4, Soar discloses a method for wirelessly charging a wearable device (Fig. 1-4 and [0088] apparel is intended to include webbing, vests, body armor, backpacks, harnesses, coats, shorts, belts, pants, shorts, gloves, goggles, glasses, hats, helmets), the method comprising: generating, by a charging pad of a vehicle a magnetic field ([0080] [0084] [0129] and Fig. 3-4. The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat, for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux ... The inductive seat charging system according to the present invention may be designed into new seats or be retro-fitted onto existing vehicle seating); detecting, by a receiver of a wearable helmet device, the magnetic field ([0088] apparel is intended to include …, helmets…[0080] ..generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier); and charging, by the receiver of a wearable device, a battery (14) of the wearable helmet device when the magnetic field is detected ([0081] Once an inductive connection is made between the primary and secondary coils, the rechargeable central or main power source such as main battery 14 would start to receive power) wherein at least one in-helmet component configured to use power (Fig. 10-11 elements 72,70,67,12 and 83).
Soar further discloses selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, (Fig. 10 Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15) power to the battery ([0107] The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
Soar does not disclose/teach wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated.
Yoshida teaches wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated ([0047] Fig.6 the power receiving antenna 4 is located to be close to the power transmitting antenna 13 embedded in the head-rest 26 of the driver's seat)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging pad of Soar to be positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated in order for the helmet power receiving antenna to receive the electromagnetic wave transmitted from the power transmitting antenna with minimal interference.
Soar in view of Yoshida does not disclose/teach selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power to the at least one in-helmet component.
Denis teaches selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power to the battery and the at least one in-helmet component (Fig. 3 [0033][0035] the energy harvesting device 52 may harvest energy from other electromagnetic fields…processing controller 51 and the conditioning circuitry 53 to store (e.g., via transmission of the energy to the energy storage device 42) the electrical energy from the energy harvesting device 52 and to regulate a voltage output that may be used to provide operational energy to the welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Soar in view of Yoshida to include selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power to the at least one in-helmet component in order to provide operational energy to the helmet and charge the depleted battery.
Soar does not disclose/teach the vehicle is a recreational vehicle
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed use of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through to apply Soars system for wirelessly charging into a recreational vehicle as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
As to claim 12, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to determine a battery level of the in-helmet battery ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 13, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to control power distribution based on the determined battery level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 14, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to charge the in-helmet battery using power from the receiver in response to determining the battery level is below a first threshold level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 15, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to charge the in-helmet battery at a first charging rate when the battery level is below the first threshold level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 18, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: determining, by the in-helmet energy regulator, a battery level of the battery ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 19, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: controlling, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power distribution based on the determined battery level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 20, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: charging the battery using power from the receiver in response to determining the battery level is below a first threshold level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal). .
As to claim 21, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising: charging the battery at a first charging rate when the battery level is below the first threshold level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
Claims 17 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499) in view of Venkatraman (US 20180351390).
As to claim 17, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the system of claim 13.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is further configured to supply power directly from the receiver to the at least one helmet component based on the determined battery level.
Venkatraman teaches wherein the regulator (Power management circuitry 36) is further configured to supply power directly from the receiver to the at least one component based on the determined battery level ([0019]-[0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the in-helmet energy regulator of Soar to be configured to supply power directly from the receiver to the at least one component based on the determined battery level in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
As to claim 23, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 19.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power directly from the receiver to the at least one in-helmet component based on the determined battery level.
Venkatraman teaches wherein supplying, by the energy regulator (Power management circuitry 36) power directly from the receiver to the at least one in-helmet component based on the determined battery level ([0019]-[0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the in-helmet energy regulator of Soar to supply power directly from the receiver to the at least one in-helmet component based on the determined battery level in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
Claims 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Venkatraman (US 20180351390).
As to claim 7, Soar discloses an energy management system comprising: an external source (Based on the specification ([0177] and claim 8), Examiner will interpret “an external battery “ as a “vehicle or power source). Fig. 10-11 and [0129], and [0132] A power source 2 from the vehicle provides power for a high power bridge driver 69 which provides power to primary coil 5); a charging pad configured to generate a magnetic field using the external source ([0084] Fig. 3-4 The inductive seat charging system according to the present invention may be designed into new seats or be retro-fitted onto existing vehicle seating. [0129] and Fig. 10 …coil 5 so as to inductively couple with the secondary coil 6 across magnetic flux 7), and
a wearable helmet device ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10… apparel is intended to include …helmets) including; a component configured to use power (Fig. 10-11 elements 72,70,67,12 and 83); a receiver positioned on a back surface of the helmet ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10 of Soar. The secondary coils 6 for power …, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19) and configured to detect the magnetic field when the rider is seated with the back surface of the helmet proximate to the seat back ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10. The secondary coils 6 for power and data ……, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19 such that the secondary coil 6 would be located as close to the seat back 3a as possible…. [0080]-[0081] The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat, for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier…Once an inductive connection is made between the primary and secondary coils, the rechargeable central or main power source such as main battery 14 would start to receive power); and an energy regulator (Fig. 10 secondary coil 6, Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15) connected to the battery and removably coupled to the external battery via the receiver and configured to determine a battery level of the internal battery ([0107] The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14).
Soar does not disclose/teach wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated.
Yoshida teaches wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated ([0047] Fig. 6 the power receiving antenna 4 is located to be close to the power transmitting antenna 13 embedded in the head-rest 26 of the driver's seat).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging pad of Soar to be positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated in order for the helmet power receiving antenna to receive the electromagnetic wave transmitted from the power transmitting antenna with minimal interference.
Soar in view of Yoshida does not disclose/teach an internal battery configured to provide energy to the component; the energy regulator configured to selectively supply power to the internal battery and the component based on the battery level of the internal battery.
Venkatraman teaches an internal battery configured to provide energy to the component ([0018] Battery 38 of device 10 may be used to power device 10), the energy regulator (Power management circuitry 36) configured to selectively supply power to the internal battery and the component based on the battery level of the internal battery ([0019]-[0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy management system of Soar in view of Yoshida to an internal battery and the wearable helmet device including a component configured to use power, the battery configured to provide energy to the component; the energy regulator configured to selectively supply power to the internal battery and the component based on the battery level of the internal battery in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman does not disclose/teach the vehicle is a recreational vehicle.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed use of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through to apply Soars system for wirelessly charging into a recreational vehicle as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman does not disclose/teach the external source of Soar is an external battery.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the external power source of Soar to be an external battery in order to use an old and well-known portable device that is used for portable energy storage.
As to claim 8, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman teaches the energy management system of claim 7, wherein the external battery is a vehicle and/or a portable battery bank (Fig. 10-11 and [0129], and [0132] of Soar A power source 2 from the vehicle provides power for a high power bridge driver 69 which provides power to primary coil 5).
As to claim 9, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman teaches the energy management system of claim 7, wherein the energy regulator is configured to charge the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a first condition ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Venkatraman (US 20180351390) in view of Cho (US 20210075244).
As to claim 10, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman teaches the energy management system of claim 7.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman does not disclose/teach wherein the energy regulator is configured to charge the internal battery to maintain the battery level of the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a second condition.
Cho teaches wherein the energy regulator is configured to charge the internal battery to maintain the battery level of the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a second condition ([0065] the level of the voltage of the battery or a level of the current provided to the battery may need to be maintained at a level within a certain range, and based on the detection result of the voltage and/or current of the battery, the level of the charging power supply V_TA may be increased or decreased).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy management system of Cho to be configured to charge the internal battery to maintain the battery level of the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a second condition in order to prevent overcharging or over discharging which leads to reduce longevity.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Venkatraman (US 20180351390) in view of Uan-Zo-li (US 20180278053).
As to claim 11, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the energy management system of claim 7.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach wherein the energy regulator is configured to supplement energy to the component in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery is satisfies a third condition.
Uan-Zo-li teaches wherein the energy regulator (Charger 102) is configured to supplement energy to the component in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery is satisfies a third condition ([0020] and Fig. 1B energy storage 106 supplements power to system load 104 to maintain the voltage being supplied to system load 104 above the minimum voltage level. This may occur when the voltage provided by battery 103 droops below a predetermined voltage level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy regulator of Soar to be configured to supplement energy to the component in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery is satisfies a third condition in order to prevent disruption of use.
Claims 16 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499) in view of Venkatraman (US 20180351390).
As to claim 16, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the system of claim 14.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to prioritize charging the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level.
Venkatraman teaches wherein the energy regulator is configured to prioritize charging the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one component when the battery level is below the first threshold level ([0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the in-helmet energy regulator of Soar to be configured to prioritize charging the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
As to claim 22, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 20.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach prioritizing charging the battery over powering the at least one in-helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level..
Venkatraman teaches prioritizing charging the battery over powering the at least one in-helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level. ([0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Soar to prioritizing charging the battery over powering the at least one in-helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859