DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 28 July 2026. Applicant amended claims 1,4, 7,16, 18, and 20-22. Claims 1,4, and 6-23 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/27/2026 and 7/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
In regards to the 112 rejection Applicant asserts:
Claims 16 and 22-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as allegedly failing to comply with the written description requirement for reciting "prioritizing". These claims have been amended to remove the "prioritizing" element. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the 112 rejections..
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and maintains the 112 first rejection for the reasons set forth below.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 4 and 7 Applicant asserts:
Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the § 103 rejections because the cited references do not teach or otherwise show all elements of independent claim 4 as they are combined….. As discussed above in the discussion of claim 1, the cited references do not disclose these claim elements.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1,4 and 7 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Soar and Yoshida and Denis to teach the claim language of claims 4 and 7 as specified below.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner Notes
Claims 10 and 11 recites “a second condition” and “a third condition” which lacks antecedent basis. Specifically, a first or second condition is not previously claimed. Examiner will interpret “a first condition”, “a second condition” and “a third condition” as members of a group and not a serial or numerical limitation.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to due to the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, energy directly to the external power source” and should be “supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, energy directly from the external power source”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,12-17 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the system comprising: a vehicle comprising an external power source and a seat having a charging pad configured to generate a magnetic field using the external power source.
wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is further configured to wirelessly connect to the external power source via the receiver and to supply energy directly from the external power source to the at least one helmet component in response to detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device regardless of a battery level of the in-helmet battery” which is not supported in the specification and therefore is new matter.
The specification states that the external power source is “12-voltage power from the vehicle or other power sources (e.g., a portable power bank)”
The specification does not support the external power source (i.e. 12-voltage power from the vehicle or other power sources (e.g., a portable power bank” is configured to wirelessly connect to the external power source via the receiver and to supply energy directly from the external power source to the at least one helmet component in response to detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device.
The specification supports the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to wirelessly connect to the external power source and receive external power directly from the external power source if the external power source is identified as the seat having a charging pad configured to generate a magnetic field using the external power source. The specification does not support the external power source (i.e. 12-voltage power from the vehicle or other power sources (e.g., a portable power bank”) has a wireless feature that directly provides power to the helmet.
Claims 16 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 and similarly claim 22 recites “wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is configured to charge the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level” which is not supported in the specification and is therefore new matter. The specification recites:
[00177] The in-helmet energy regulator 1520 is configured to determine a battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530 and control a power distribution to charge, maintain, and supplement energy to the heated shield 1540, other components of the helmet 1510, and/or other components that are coupled to the helmet 1510 ( e.g., a heated garment) that need power.
[00178] For example, if the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 determines that the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530 is below a threshold level, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may use the external power source 1550 to charge the in-helmet battery 1530. If, however, the in helmet energy regulator 1520 determines that the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530 is above the threshold level, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may use the external power source 1550 to maintain the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530. Additionally or alternatively, depending on the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may supply energy directly from the external power source 1550 to the heated shield 1540, other components of the helmet 1510, and/or other components that are coupled to the helmet 1510. In some embodiments, the in-helmet energy regulator 1520 may supply energy directly from the external power source 1550 in response to detecting that the external power source 1530 is connected to the helmet 1510 regardless of the battery level of the in-helmet battery 1530.
The specification above does not support charging the in-helmet battery over powering the at least one helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level.
Claims 12-17 and 23 are included in this rejection based on its dependence on claims 1 and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4,7-9 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499).
As to claim 4, Soar discloses a method for wirelessly charging a wearable device (Fig. 1-4 and [0088] apparel is intended to include webbing, vests, body armor, backpacks, harnesses, coats, shorts, belts, pants, shorts, gloves, goggles, glasses, hats, helmets), the method comprising: generating, by an external power source comprising a charging pad of a vehicle a magnetic field ([0080] [0084] [0129] and Fig. 3-4. The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat (external power source), for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux ... The inductive seat charging system according to the present invention may be designed into new seats or be retro-fitted onto existing vehicle seating); detecting, by a receiver of a wearable helmet device, the magnetic field ([0088] apparel is intended to include …, helmets…[0080] ..generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier); and charging, by the receiver of a wearable helmet device, a battery (14) of the wearable helmet device when the magnetic field is detected ([0081] Once an inductive connection is made between the primary and secondary coils, the rechargeable central or main power source such as main battery 14 would start to receive power) wherein at least one in-helmet component configured to use power (Fig. 10-11 elements 72,70,67,12 and 83).
Soar further discloses selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, (Fig. 10 Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15) power to the battery ([0107] The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal);
detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device ([0080] [0084] [0129] and Fig. 3-4. The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat (external power source), for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux…0080] ..generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier;
Soar does not disclose/teach wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated.
Yoshida teaches wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated ([0047] Fig.6 the power receiving antenna 4 is located to be close to the power transmitting antenna 13 embedded in the head-rest 26 of the driver's seat)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging pad of Soar to be positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated in order for the helmet power receiving antenna to receive the electromagnetic wave transmitted from the power transmitting antenna with minimal interference.
Soar in view of Yoshida does not disclose/teach the battery is an internal battery nor teaches selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power to the at least one in-helmet component.
Soar in view of Yoshida further does not disclose/teach supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, energy directly to the external power source via the receiver to supply energy directly from the external power source to the at least one helmet component in response to detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device regardless of a battery level of the internal battery.
Denis teaches the battery is an internal battery ([0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal)) and further teaches selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power to the battery and the at least one in-helmet component (Fig. 3 [0033][0035] the energy harvesting device 52 may harvest energy from other electromagnetic fields…processing controller 51 and the conditioning circuitry 53 to store (e.g., via transmission of the energy to the energy storage device 42) the electrical energy from the energy harvesting device 52 and to regulate a voltage output that may be used to provide operational energy to the welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Soar in view of Yoshida to include selectively supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power to the at least one in-helmet component in order to provide operational energy to the helmet and charge the depleted battery.
Denis further teaches supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator (conditioning circuitry 53 [0027]), energy directly to the external power source via the receiver to supply energy directly from the external power source to the at least one helmet component (welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem. welding accessories 36 is a helmet [0013]) in response to detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device. (Fig. 3 [0033][0035] the energy harvesting device 52 may harvest energy from other electromagnetic fields…… and the conditioning circuitry 53 to … regulate a voltage output that may be used to provide operational energy to the welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem).
Denis does not specifically teach the energy supplied directly from the external power source to the helmet component is supplied regardless of a battery level of the internal battery.
Since Denis teaches supplying power to the at least one helmet component and the internal battery through external power source and regulator (Fig. 3 [0033][0035]) Then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supply power to the at least one helmet component regardless of a battery level of the internal battery in order to prevent from depleting the battery for future use.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Soar in view of Yoshida to include supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, energy directly to the external power source via the receiver to supply energy directly from the external power source to the at least one helmet component in response to detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device regardless of a battery level of the internal battery, in order to provide operational energy to the helmet and helmet accessories and not deplete the battery.
Soar does not disclose/teach the vehicle is a recreational vehicle
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed use of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to apply Soars system for wirelessly charging into a recreational vehicle as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
As to claim 7, Soar discloses an energy management system comprising: an external source (Based on the specification ([0177] and claim 8), Examiner will interpret “an external battery “ as a “vehicle or power source”). Fig. 10-11 and [0129], and [0132] A power source 2 from the vehicle provides power for a high power bridge driver 69 which provides power to primary coil 5); a charging pad configured to generate a magnetic field using the external source ([0084] Fig. 3-4 The inductive seat charging system according to the present invention may be designed into new seats or be retro-fitted onto existing vehicle seating. [0129] and Fig. 10 …coil 5 so as to inductively couple with the secondary coil 6 across magnetic flux 7), and
a wearable helmet device ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10… apparel is intended to include …helmets) including; a component configured to use power (Fig. 10-11 elements 72,70,67,12 and 83); a receiver positioned on a back surface of the helmet ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10 of Soar. The secondary coils 6 for power …, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19) and configured to detect the magnetic field when the rider is seated with the back surface of the helmet proximate to the seat back ([0088] and Fig. 3 and 10. The secondary coils 6 for power and data ……, may be placed in and around the back of the soldier's apparel 19 such that the secondary coil 6 would be located as close to the seat back 3a as possible…. [0080]-[0081] The moment the soldier is sensed to be sitting in the seat, a primary charging inductive coil or coils 5 in the vehicles seat, for example in the seat back 3a, generate a magnetic flux and inductively connect to a secondary inductive coil or coils 6 located on the soldier…Once an inductive connection is made between the primary and secondary coils, the rechargeable central or main power source such as main battery 14 would start to receive power); and an energy regulator connected to the battery and removably coupled to the external source via the receiver (Fig. 10 secondary coil 6, Rectification circuit 16, sub-circuit 15)
Soar does not disclose/teach wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated.
Yoshida teaches wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated ([0047] Fig. 6 the power receiving antenna 4 is located to be close to the power transmitting antenna 13 embedded in the head-rest 26 of the driver's seat).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging pad of Soar to be positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a rider when seated in order for the helmet power receiving antenna to receive the electromagnetic wave transmitted from the power transmitting antenna with minimal interference.
Soar in view of Yoshida does not disclose/teach energy regulator configured to supply energy directly from the external source to the component in response to detecting that the external source is connected to the wearable helmet device, regardless of a battery level of the internal battery.
Denis further teaches the energy regulator (conditioning circuitry 53 [0027]), to supply energy directly from the external source to the component in response to detecting that the external source is connected to the wearable helmet device (welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem. welding accessories 36 is a helmet [0013]) Fig. 3 [0033][0035] the energy harvesting device 52 may harvest energy from other electromagnetic fields…… and the conditioning circuitry 53 to … regulate a voltage output that may be used to provide operational energy to the welding accessories 36 and/or other subsystem).
Denis does not specifically teach the energy supplied directly from the external power source to the helmet component is supplied regardless of a battery level of the internal battery.
Since Denis teaches supplying power to the at least one helmet component and the internal battery through external power source and regulator (Fig. 3 [0033][0035]) Then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supply power to the at least one helmet component regardless of a battery level of the internal battery in order to prevent from depleting the battery for future use.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy regulator of Soar in view of Yoshida to be configured to supply energy directly from the external source to the component in response to detecting that the external source is connected to the wearable helmet device, regardless of a battery level of the internal battery, in order to provide operational energy to the helmet and helmet accessories and not deplete the battery.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach the vehicle is a recreational vehicle.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed use of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, through to apply Soars system for wirelessly charging into a recreational vehicle as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Venkatraman does not disclose/teach the external source of Soar is an external battery.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the external power source of Soar to be an external battery in order to use an old and well-known portable device that is used for portable energy storage.
As to claim 8, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the energy management system of claim 7, wherein the external battery is a vehicle and/or a portable battery bank (Fig. 10-11 and [0129], and [0132] of Soar A power source 2 from the vehicle provides power for a high power bridge driver 69 which provides power to primary coil 5).
As to claim 9, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the energy management system of claim 7, wherein the energy regulator is configured to charge the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a first condition ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 18, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: determining, by the in-helmet energy regulator, a battery level of the internal battery ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 19, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: controlling, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power distribution based on the determined battery level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
As to claim 20, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: charging the internal battery using power from the receiver in response to determining the battery level is below a first threshold level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal). .
As to claim 21, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising: charging the internal battery at a first charging rate when the battery level is below the first threshold level ([0107] of Soar The battery charging circuit 15 monitors the charge required by the central battery 14 and charges it accordingly. [0013] [0023] and Fig. 2 of Denis teaches the battery is internal).
Claims 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499) in view of Venkatraman (US 20180351390).
As to claim 22, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 20.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach charging the internal battery over powering the at least one in-helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level..
Venkatraman teaches charging the battery over powering the at least one in-helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level. ([0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Soar to charging the internal battery over powering the at least one in-helmet component when the battery level is below the first threshold level in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
As to claim 23, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the method of claim 19.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach supplying, by the in-helmet energy regulator, power directly from the receiver to the at least one in-helmet component based on the determined battery level.
Venkatraman teaches wherein supplying, by the energy regulator (Power management circuitry 36) power directly from the receiver to the at least one in-helmet component based on the determined battery level ([0019]-[0020] and Fig. 1 if battery 38 is depleted, charging of battery 38 may be prioritized over powering internal components in device 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the in-helmet energy regulator of Soar to supply power directly from the receiver to the at least one in-helmet component based on the determined battery level in order to determine how to allocate power there is only a limited amount of available power.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499) in view of Cho (US 20210075244).
As to claim 10, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the energy management system of claim 7.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach wherein the energy regulator is configured to charge the internal battery to maintain the battery level of the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a second condition.
Cho teaches wherein the energy regulator is configured to charge the internal battery to maintain the battery level of the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a second condition ([0065] the level of the voltage of the battery or a level of the current provided to the battery may need to be maintained at a level within a certain range, and based on the detection result of the voltage and/or current of the battery, the level of the charging power supply V_TA may be increased or decreased).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy management system of Cho to be configured to charge the internal battery to maintain the battery level of the internal battery in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery satisfies a second condition in order to prevent overcharging or over discharging which leads to reduce longevity.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soar (US 20110018498) in view of Yoshida (US 20190267847) in view of Denis (US 20160181499) in view of Uan-Zo-li (US 20180278053).
As to claim 11, Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis teaches the energy management system of claim 7.
Soar in view of Yoshida in view of Denis does not disclose/teach wherein the energy regulator is configured to supplement energy to the component in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery is satisfies a third condition.
Uan-Zo-li teaches wherein the energy regulator (Charger 102) is configured to supplement energy to the component in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery is satisfies a third condition ([0020] and Fig. 1B energy storage 106 supplements power to system load 104 to maintain the voltage being supplied to system load 104 above the minimum voltage level. This may occur when the voltage provided by battery 103 droops below a predetermined voltage level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy regulator of Soar to be configured to supplement energy to the component in response to a determination that the battery level of the internal battery is satisfies a third condition in order to prevent disruption of use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 12-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112 rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, although the prior art discloses a system for wirelessly charging a wearable device, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“a recreational vehicle comprising an external power source and a seat having a charging pad configured to generate a magnetic field using the external power source, wherein the charging pad is positioned in a headrest of the seat to align with a head portion of a recreational rider when seated; and a wearable helmet device comprising: a receiver positioned on a back surface of the helmet and configured to detect the magnetic field when the recreational rider is seated with the back surface of the helmet proximate to the seat back, an in-helmet battery positioned within the helmet, at least one helmet component configured to use power, and an in-helmet energy regulator connected to the receiver and configured to selectively supply power to the in-helmet battery and the at least one helmet component, wherein the in-helmet energy regulator is further configured to wirelessly connect to the external power source via the receiver and to supply energy directly from the external power source to the at least one helmet component in response to detecting that the external power source is wirelessly connected to the wearable helmet device regardless of a battery level of the in-helmet battery.”
Dependent claims 12-17 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859