Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuels (2,665,869) in view of LoNigro (4,149,693).
As to claim 1, Samuels discloses a hanging apparatus (1, 2, 11, 12, 14; Fig. 1) comprising a hang bar (14) having a hanging zone to mount a hang clip (11, 12) and a mounting zone (see Fig. 1 below; the mounting zone comprises two arm members with each arm member attached to each end of the hang bar (14; Fig. 1)) having mounting apparatus deployed thereon to mount the hang bar on an upright bar (1, 2; the upright bar is considered equivalent to a toolbox since the toolbox is not positively claimed, and an outer facing surface of the upright bar is considered equivalent to a sidewall), the hang bar is configured to be spaced away from the sidewall of the toolbox to create a gap between the hang bar and the sidewall, and a hang clip (12) mounted on the hang bar in the hanging zone. The hang clip having a hook (11) deployed asymmetrically on an outer side of the hang clip, facing away from the sidewall of the toolbox. Samuels further discloses the cross section of the hanging zone of the hang bar is approximately matched with a cross section of an aperture (Fig. 2 or 7) of the hang clip to securely mount the hang clip on the hanging zone. Samuels also discloses the other claimed limitations except for the cross section of the hanging zone of the hang bar is matched with and is enclosed by a cross section of an aperture of the hang clip to securely mount the hang clip on the hanging zone as claimed. LoNigro discloses a hanging apparatus (10; Fig. 1) comprising a hang bar (18) having a hanging zone (20, 21) to mount a hang clip (36) and a mounting zone (22) having mounting apparatus (28-32) deployed thereon to mount the hang bar on a support surface (14) with the hang bar is spaced away from the support surface, and a hang clip (36) having an aperture (40). LoNigro further discloses the cross section of the hanging zone of the hang bar is matched with and is enclosed by a cross section of the aperture (40) of the hang clip to securely mount the hang clip on the hanging zone (Figs. 1 & 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of LoNigro to modify the hanging apparatus of Samuels so the hanging apparatus is constructed with the cross section of the hanging zone of the hang bar is matched with and is enclosed by the cross section of an aperture of the hang clip to securely mount the hang clip on the hanging zone as claimed for better securing the hang clip on the hang bar and to prevent the hang clip from accidentally falling off the hang bar and because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 2, Samuels discloses the hang bar is one of a flat hang bar (Fig. 1), a hang bar with bent arms (Fig. 1), a hang bar with S-curves, and a hang bar with a mid-section recess.
As to claim 5, Samuels discloses the hanging apparatus comprises a spacer used with the flat hang bar to create a gap between the flat hang bar and the support surface/the sidewall of the toolbox (Fig. 1 below discloses one of the two arm members is considered as a spacer as claimed).
As to claim 6, Samuels further discloses the hook of the hang clip is one of a flat hook, a finger hook, a J-shaped hook (Fig. 1), and an S-shaped hook.
As to claim 7, LoNigro further discloses the cross section of the hang bar and the cross section of the aperture of the hang clip have a rectangular shape (Fig. 3).
As to claim 8, see Fig. 3 of LoNigro.
As to claim 9, the hanging apparatus of Samuels as modified further fails to show the cross section of the hang bar and the cross section of the aperture of the hang clip comprise one of a J shape, a U shape, a square shape, a circular shape and a triangular shape in lieu of the rectangular shape as disclosed by LoNigro. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hanging apparatus of Samuels as modified so the hanging apparatus is constructed with the cross section of the hang bar and the cross section of the aperture of the hang clip comprise one of a J shape, a U shape, a square shape, a circular shape and a triangular shape instead of the rectangular shape because the selection of the specific shape for the cross section of the hang bar and the cross section of the aperture would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well.
As to claim 10, Samuels discloses the support surface (1, 2) is a vertically oriented wall. The hanging apparatus of Samuels as modified is capable to mount on the support surface is a vertically oriented wall of a toolbox.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 or 2 above, and further in view of The Official Notice. Samuels discloses the hanging apparatus as above and further discloses a weld/seam (19) formed between a body (18) of the hang clip (12) and the hook (11; Fig. 2 and column 2, lines 31-36). To the extent that the hanging apparatus of Samuels as modified further fails to show a seam in the hang clip to allow mounting the hang clip onto the mounting zone of the hang bar as claimed. The Official Notice is taken of an old and conventional practice of providing a device formed from two separate pieces and join together to form the device instead of the device formed from a single piece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of The Official Notice to modify the hanging apparatus of Samuels as modified so the hang clip comprises a seam to allow mounting the hang clip onto the mounting zone of the hang bar to facilitate mounting and because it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant indicates in the remarks that Samuels does not teach or suggest the hang clip encloses the hang bar, and that the cross section of the hanging zone and the hang clip aperture closely match is noted. This is persuasive. However, LoNigro teaches the hang clip (36; see above) encloses the hang bar (18), and that the cross section of the hanging zone and the hang clip aperture closely match (Fig. 3) as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of LoNigro to modify the hanging apparatus of Samuels so the hanging apparatus is constructed with the cross section of the hanging zone of the hang bar is matched with and is enclosed by the cross section of an aperture of the hang clip to securely mount the hang clip on the hanging zone and because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to LoNigro in the remarks such as LoNigro does not supply the teachings missing from Samuels are noted. They are not persuasive because LoNigro teaches the hang clip (36; see above) encloses the hang bar (18), and that the cross section of the hanging zone and the hang clip aperture closely match (Fig. 3) which are the missing from Samuels as indicated above. Applicant further argues that LoNigro design teaches away from the design of Samuels is noted, this is also not persuasive because LoNigro teaches the cross section of the hanging zone and the hang clip aperture closely match as claimed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736