DETAILED ACTION
Response filed on 5/11/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claims status
No claims are amended,
No new claims are added
Claims 1-28 are pending for examination.
Response to arguments
Re: 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection
Applicant’s response received on 5/11/2026 has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s arguments and examiner’s response to the arguments.
Applicant argues: “claim 1 expressly recites that "the first request" in "the first request includes at least one session ID") is the same request as "a first request" in "sending, to a second core network node, a first request so that a User Plane resource is released." Accordingly, the Examiner's interpretation is inconsistent with the claim language, because it equates "the first request" and "a first request" with different messages, namely, "session-related message" and "session request message," respectively. Therefore, Youn fails to teach or suggest that the session request message includes a session ID.”
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In [0157], Youn states, “[0157] The UE may send the allocated network slice identity and PDU session ID through a session-related message whenever it sends the session-related message.”. In the office action , examiner mentioned that “user plane resource release message is session related”, and thus the session ID as claimed in the application is disclosed by Youn.
Applicant argues: “in FIGS. 8-10, Youn at most discloses that the MM Function allocates the
PDU session ID after receiving the session request message, as shown in steps S802, S902, and S1004. See Youn, paragraphs [0164], [0177], and [0191]. This clearly indicates that the UE does not transmit the session request message including the PDU session ID. Namely, the PDU session ID is allocated for the first time in S802, and as such, the session request message transmitted in S801 cannot and does not include the PDU session ID. Therefore, Youn fails to teach or suggest that the session request message (allegedly corresponding to the claimed "first request") includes a session ID.
Furthermore, in FIGS. 8-10 and paragraphs [0163]-[0164], Youn discloses "[r]eferring to
FIG. 8, UE sends a session request message to an MMF (or AMF) (S 801)" and "[w]hen the MMF (or it may be a separate independent function) within a common CNI receives the session request message from the UE, it may directly allocate a PDU session ID (S 802)." In paragraph [0128], Youn further discloses that "when UE sends a session request message (e.g., a PDU session establishment request message) to a network for a service (i.e., in order to establish a PDU session)." These cited portions of Youn clearly shows that the session request message transmitted in FIGS. 8-10 of Youn is a request message for establishing a session, not for releasing a User Plane resource as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, the session request message is not "a first request so that a User Plane resource is released" as recited in claim 1”.
Examiner’s response: In the office action, examiner did not directly use Figs.8-10 in the rejection of the claim elements. Examiner merely stated “In Figs. 8-10, Youn shows that session related communications between the UE and SMF is happening through the MMF. The request to release PDU session and response is also received through the MMF”. This was just to show communication between SMF and MMF for session related message and not directly for rejection of claim elements. Examiner used [0157], [0135], [0379], [0331] of Youn and [0085] of Bharatia.
Applicant argues: “in paragraph [0157], Youn fails to teach or suggest that the session-related message is a message transmitted for releasing a resource”.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Message transmitted for releasing a resource is a session related message.
Applicant argues: “Youn cannot and does not teach or suggest that "the at least one session ID
corresponds to a first core network node different from the second core network node," because
the session request message (allegedly corresponding to the claimed "first request") does not
include the at least one session ID”.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The transmission of session ID is discussed above for rejection of the claim element.
35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is not withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al. (US 2017/0339609 A1), hereinafter “Youn” in view of Bharatia et al. (US 2017/0332226 A1), hereinafter “Bharatia”.
(Note: There is no change compared to the last office action and is duplicated here from the last office action)
Claims 1 and 15:
Regarding claim 1, Youn teaches, a method performed in a User Equipment (UE) ([Abstract]), the method comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) message (implied by disclosure in Youn: [0101], “The RRC layer controls a logical channel, a transport channel, and a physical channel in relation to a configuration, a re-configuration, and release of radio bearers.”, wherein the first request includes at least one session ID (implied by disclosure in Youn: [0157] “The UE may send the allocated network slice identity and PDU session ID through a session-related message whenever it sends the session-related message.”; user plane resource release message is session related), and
the at least one session ID corresponds to a first core network node (Youn: [0135] According to a conventional method, since the SMF manages a PDU session, a PDU session identity is allocated by the SMF, and it is used by UE and other network functions for session management (e.g., session modification and session termination); SMF of Youn may be considered as the first network node.).
Regarding the claim, sending, to a second core network node, a first request so that a User Plane resource is released, Youn teaches the following:
[0379], as disclosed above, “[0379] “At the set-up/modification/release of a PDU
session: the SMF interacts with RAN via MMF for setup, modification and release of radio and NG3 resources for the PDU session.” (see also Fig.10); and
[0331] “when the PDU session is released, the PDU session identity deallocation request/ response messages are exchanged between the MMF and the SMF.
In Figs. 8-10, Youn shows that session related communications between the UE and SMF is happening through the MMF. The request to release PDU session and response is also received through the MMF.
In the same field of endeavor, Bharatia teaches in [0085], “the user may initiate release of the session which is handled by the SM or the SM processes a session release request received from a peer.”. In Fig. 11, Bharatia discloses the request and response to PDU session release messages are sent from the UE to the SM.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Bharatia regarding request and release messages being handled by the SM and disclosure by Youn regarding PDU session related messages via MMF, and come up with the claimed invention motivated by separation of session management function (first core network node) and direct communication with the UE (MMF as the second core network node), the first core network node being different from the second core network node, by separate entities of the core network to simplify session management including PDU session establishment and release.
Claim 15 is a change in category with respect to claim 1. Presence of memory, processor and program instructions is implied. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 16:
Regarding claim 2, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the RRC message is received to release an access node resource (implied by discussion above in claim 1 and related to disclosure by Youn: [0101], “The RRC layer controls a logical channel, a transport channel, and a physical channel in relation to a configuration, a re-configuration, and release of radio bearers.”).
Claim 16 is a change in category with respect to claim 2. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 2.
Claims 3 and 17:
Regarding claim 3, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the User Plane resource is released by the first core network node (implied by disclosure in Youn: [0184] Furthermore, in addition to the example of FIG. 9, when the MMF (or AMF) receives a message that accepts the release of the PDU session from the SMF, the MMF may recognize the message and has to deallocate the PDU session ID allocated to a corresponding session”, and that the first core network node is the SMF, as discussed above in claim 1; see Fig. 9, steps 906 and 908 where the PDU session is released by SMF in combination of disclosure in [0379] “At the set-up/modification/release of a PDU session: the SMF interacts with RAN via MMF for setup, modification and release of radio and NG3 resources for the PDU session.”).
Claim 17 is a change in category with respect to claim 3. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 3.
Claims 4 and 18:
Regarding claim 4, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the first core network node is a session management function (SMF) (discussed above in claim 1 and based on disclosures in Youn).
Claim 18 is a change in category with respect to claim 4. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 19:
Regarding claim 5, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the second core network node is a mobility management node (discussed above in claim 1 and based on disclosures in Youn).
Claim 19 is a change in category with respect to claim 5. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6 and 20:
Regarding claim 6, combination of Youn and Bharatia discloses all the claim elements of this claim as discussed above in claim 1.
Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 1.
Claim 20 is a change in category with respect to claim 6. Presence of memory, processor and program instructions is implied. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 6.
Claims 7 and 21:
Regarding claim 7, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 6 (discussed above), further comprising: receiving, from the first core network node, a protocol data unit (PDU) session release command; and sending, to an access node, information including the PDU session release command (discussed above in claim 2).
Claim 21 is a change in category with respect to claim 7. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 7.
Claims 8 and 22:
Regarding claim 8, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 6 (discussed above), wherein the User Plane resource is released by the first core network node (discussed above in claim 3).
Claim 22 is a change in category with respect to claim 8. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 8.
Claims 9 and 23:
Regarding claim 9, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 6 (discussed above), wherein the first core network node is a session management function (SMF) (discussed above in claim 4).
Claim 23 is a change in category with respect to claim 9. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 9.
Claims 10 and 24:
Regarding claim 10, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 6 (discussed above), wherein the second core network node is a mobility management node (discussed above in claim 5)
Claim 24 is a change in category with respect to claim 10. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 10.
Claims 11 and 25:
Regarding claim 11, combination of Youn and Bharatia discloses all the claim elements of this claim as discussed above in claim 1.
Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 1.
Claim 25 is a change in category with respect to claim 11. Presence of memory, processor and program instructions is implied. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 11.
Claims 12 and 26:
Regarding claim 12, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 11 (discussed above), further comprising: sending, to the second core network node, a protocol data unit (PDU) session release command (discussed above that SMF releasing the release command in claim 2).
Claim 26 is a change in category with respect to claim 12. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 12.
Claims 13 and 27:
Regarding claim 13, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 11 (discussed above), wherein the first core network node is a session management function (SMF) (discussed above in claim 4).
Claim 27 is a change in category with respect to claim 13. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 13.
Claims 14 and 28:
Regarding claim 14, combination of Youn and Bharatia teaches the method according to Claim 11 (discussed above), wherein the second core network node is a mobility management node (discussed above in claim 4)..
Claim 28 is a change in category with respect to claim 14. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 14.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/INTEKHAAB A SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462