DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, and 10-11 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are currently examined herein.
Status of the Rejection
All claim objections, 35 U.S.C. § 101, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
New grounds of claim objection are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 are essentially maintained and modified only in response to Applicant’s amendments below.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, please amend “each of a plurality of objects-to-be-measured” to – each of [[a]] the plurality of objects-to-be-measured – (two places, lines 4 and 5); “in response to switching from the detailed display state is switched to the enlarged display state” to -- in response to switching from the detailed display state to the enlarged display state -- .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MultiNA (Microchip Electrophoresis System for DNA/RNA Analysis: Instruction Manual; 2013) in view of Gel Analyzer (GelAnalyzer 19.1, 2020). Gel Analyzer Video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a51iXjgpN5g, 2020) is used as an evidence reference for software functions for claims 1-11.
Regarding Claim 1, MutliNA teaches an electrophoresis system (MCE-202 MultNA electrophoresis system including electrophoresis instrument [pages 5 and 8] and associated computer, keyboard, and mouse [page 5 and Section Connection, page 269]) comprising: an electrophoresis apparatus (MCE-202 MultNA [page 8]) including a measurement unit (fluorescence detection system [Hardware, page 5]) configured to measure at least one object-to-be-measured separated by electrophoresis (a sample, such as DNA, is separated by the electrophoresis device, see for example gel image and corresponding electropherogram on page 63), a channel (channel provided in microfluidic chip [Channel Pattern Design, page 11]) including a separation channel (separation channel is in microfluidic chip [Channel Pattern Design, page 11]) for separating the at least one object-to-be-measured (as illustrated in No. 6 of the display on page 15, sample is separated using capillary electrophoresis);
an analysis apparatus (analysis apparatus includes CPU for control, a keyboard and mouse for operation, and a monitor for display, along with Software including Data Analysis Software [page 5 and Section Connection, page 269]) configured to analyze components of the at least one object-to-be-measured separated by electrophoresis (Data Analysis software analyzes each gel image by showing electropherogram and peak table [see data analysis viewer on page 63]), based on a measurement value of the at least one object-to-be-measured that is measured by the measurement unit (sequence is determined based on DNA peak height and sized by base pair length [page 63]); and
a display unit (a display [PC Requirement, page 5]) configured to display, in a result display area, a plurality of analysis result check displays including at least a gel image display showing a distribution of the components of the at least one object-to-be-measured analyzed by the analysis apparatus (as illustrated on page 63, DNA ladder is separated and shows a plurality of results including electropherogram and base pair length table for each sample [page 63]),
an operation unit (keyboard and mouse [9.4.1 Connection on page 269]) configured to accept an input operation by an operator (for example, keyboard and mouse can be used to navigate the MultiNA electrophoresis menus and software [for example, generally page 128]);
the analysis apparatus is configured to switch, in response to the operation unit accepting the input operation (inputs by the user are provided to interface with software [see for Example 3.8.1 Displaying Data, page 62]), between;
a detailed display state (detailed display state corresponds to MultiNA Viewer Window [page 125]) in which another analysis result check display (another result window can be the table listing the lengths of detected DNA [see MultiNA Viewer Window, page 125]) different from the gel image display is displayed in the result display area (both base pair length table and gel image are displayed in results area [page 125]), and the gel image display is displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a first ratio of the result display area (gel image and base pair table occupies a given ratio [page 125]); and
the gel image display includes a plurality of band patterns indicating sizes of the components of the object-to-be-measured (gel image in MultiNA Viewer Window shows the plurality of band patterns [page 125]);
the at least one object-to-be-measured comprises a plurality of objects-to-be-measured (as illustrated in display on page 63, multiple samples can be run);
the electrophoresis apparatus is configured to separate each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured (as illustrated in display on page 63, each sample is separated via electrophoresis);
the analysis apparatus is configured to display, in the result display area of the display unit, the gel image display in which a plurality of analysis results showing the distribution of the components of each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured are displayed side-by-side (as illustrated in display on page 63, gel image shows each sample separated in a side-by-side manner), and to display the gel image display such that the display can be changed by scrolling in an arrangement direction in a case where a width of the display area is insufficient for the gel image display (as illustrated in display on page 63, a horizontal scroll bar is provided underneath the gel image to scroll left and right).
MultiNA is silent on an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio, wherein
the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching the detailed display state to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state.
Gel Analyzer teaches a desktop app that analyzes electrophoretic separations (title of page 1), and an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio (as illustrated in the figure on page 2, gel image occupies a first ratio, and then, as evidenced at 6:35-6:45 of Gel Analyzer Video, which shows expanding the window of the gel image so it occupies a second ratio larger than the first ratio).
MutliNA and Gel Analyzer are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of software/display setups for electrophoresis analysis. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of MultiNA to provide an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio, as taught by Gel Analyzer, as gel information on the display can be adjusted and viewed based on the user’s needs (Gel Analyzer, Figure 2 on page 2).
Modified MultiNA is silent on the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching the detailed display state to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state.
However, MultiNA teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns (gel image can be zoomed in, which increases the interval between the gel bands [see Zooming of Gel Images, page 132]), which helps to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state (as seen in the zoomed image on the right of page 132, the increased intervals allows for easier resolution of the sample bands).
As zooming in on the gel image can be done at any time (either in the enlarged state of the detailed display state, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of modified MultiNA to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state when the detailed display state is switched to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state, as taught by MultiNA, as zooming in on a gel image allows for easier discernment of gel bands that are close together in separation (see MultiNA gel images on page 132]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 1.
MutltiNa teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to reduce or thin out a number of displayed numerical values corresponding to scales in the gel image display such that the numerical values are not overlapped with each other (gel image displays are shown in Zooming of [Gel Image] on page 132 have display y-axis scale in which the numbers do not overlap), and make a degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values different from each other, in the detailed state and the enlarged display state (gel image displays are shown in Zooming of [Gel Image] on page 132; as shown from the unzoomed gel image on the left and the zoomed in selection on the right, the label thinning on the y-axis is different upon enlarging the gel image).
Regarding Claim 3, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 2.
MutltiNa teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to display the numerical values in a common display size, in the detailed display state and the enlarged display state (as illustrated on page 132, numerical values for y-axis are the same for both the regular gel image and the enlarged gel image), and make the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values different from each other such that the number of displayed numerical values in the enlarged display state is larger than in the detailed display state (9 y-axis number labels are shown for the regular gel image and 12 y-axis number labels are shown for the enlarged gel image [page 132]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system of claim 2.
MultiNA teaches wherein the analysis apparatus is configured to set a display size in the arrangement direction (arrangement in this example is vertical [page 132]) of each of the plurality of analysis results to a common size in the detailed display state and the enlarged display state such that more analysis results are displayed in the enlarged display state than in the detailed display state (as shown in the unzoomed gel image [left] versus zoomed gel image [right], a common size for the axis is used and more analysis results are shown on the y-axis).
Regarding Claim 5, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 2.
MultiNA teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to display, in the gel image display, an indication indicating a reference value corresponding to the internal standard marker substance (upper marker and lower marker are represented in gel image display on page 132), in the detailed display state, regardless of the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values (upper marker and lower marker are present in the detailed display state [page 132]).
Modified MultiNA is silent on an indication indicating a reference value corresponding to the internal standard marker substance, in the enlarged state, regardless of the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values.
Gel Analyzer teaches an enlarged display, and, as evidenced by Gel Analyzer Video at the 4:52 timestamp, no numbers or markers are lost upon enlarging the gel image. Note that MultiNA teaches reference values can be displayed on the gel electropherogram (MultiNA, page 132).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of modified MultiNA to indicate a reference value corresponding to the internal standard marker substance, in the enlarged state, regardless of the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values, as taught by combined Gel Analyzer and MultiNA, as enlarging the gel image displays allows for more precise determination of DNA basepair lengths and allows for user preference (Gel Analyzer, page 2).
Regarding Claim 6, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 2.
MultiNA teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to, in a state where a bias in display intervals of the numerical values in the gel image display is reduced, make the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values different in the detailed display state and the enlarged display state (bias is reduced for zoomed in gel image on page 132, and the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values is different for the unzoomed versus zoomed gel images on page 132).
Regarding Claim 7, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 2.
MultiNA teaches wherein the electrophoresis apparatus is configured to separate, by electrophoresis, each of a reference sample that is the object-to-be-measured with known components and a sample-to-be-measured that is the object-to-be-measured with unknown components (as illustrated on gel images on page 132, upper marker [UM] and lower marker [LM] are separated with unknown DNA sample base pair lengths), and the analysis apparatus is configured to acquire the numerical values based on analysis of the components of the reference sample (y-axis is generated using the upper and lower markers in gel images on page 132), and make the degree of thinning of the number of displayed numerical values acquired based on the analysis of the components of the reference sample difference from each other, in the detailed display state and the enlarged display state (numerical thinning is different in unzoomed {left} versus zoomed {right} gel images [page 132]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 1.
MultiNA teaches wherein the analysis apparatus is configured to, in the detailed display state, display the plurality of analysis result check displays including a measurement waveform display showing time-series values of the measurement values (electropherogram for a given capillary electrophoresis sample with size is shown in MultiNA Viewer on page 125), a well position display showing a position of each of a plurality of wells in which each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured is placed (well grid illustrated in MultiNA Viewer on page 125), and the gel image display in which a plurality of analysis results showing a distribution of a component of each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured are displayed side-by-side, in the result display area of the display unit (electropherogram displays are shown side by side on the bottom of MultiNA Viewer on page 125).
MultiNA is silent on in the enlarged display state, enlarge and display only the gel image display among the plurality of analysis result check displays, in the result display area of the display unit, without displaying the measurement waveform display and the well position display.
Gel Analyzer teaches on in the enlarged display state, enlarge and display only the gel image display among the plurality of analysis result check displays, in the result display area of the display unit, without displaying the measurement waveform display and the well position display (gel image display can be maximized without displaying other panes, such as the measurement waveform electropherogram [page 2]; in addition evidence for an enlarged mode can be found at 4:52 in Gel Analyzer Video, which shows how to utilize the Gel Analyzer software).
Modified MultiNA and Gel Analyzer are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of software programs for electrophoresis analysis. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of modified MultiNA to in the enlarged display state, enlarge and display only the gel image display among the plurality of analysis result check displays, in the result display area of the display unit, without displaying the measurement waveform display and the well position display, as taught by Gel Analyzer, as information of the display can be adjusted and viewed based on the user’s needs, such as enlarging the gel image for more precise viewing (Gel Analyzer, Figure 2 on page 2).
Regarding Claim 9, modified MultiNA teaches the electrophoresis system according to claim 8.
MultiNA teaches the analysis apparatus is configured, in the detailed display state, display the plurality of analysis result check displays including the gel image display in which the plurality of analysis results are displayed side by side (electropherogram displays are shown side by side on the bottom of MultiNA Viewer on page 125), and the measurement waveform display corresponding to the one analysis result selected from among the plurality of analysis result selected from among the plurality of analysis results in the gel image display based on the operation received by the operation unit, in the result display area of the display unit (user can select which capillary electropherogram to view a given electropherogram waveform by selecting the capillary in the well grid as illustrated in MultiNA Viewer Window, and selected capillary electropherogram is shown on the display [page 125]).
Modified MultiNA is silent on and is configured to switch between the detailed display state and the enlarged display state, based on the operation received by the operation unit.
Gel Analyzer teaches to switch between the detailed display state and the enlarged display state, based on the operation received by the operation unit (user can switch to the enlarged display state by clicking the maximize icon on the gel image pane [page 2]; also shown at 4:52 in Gel Analyzer Video).
Modified MultiNA and Gel Analyzer are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of software programs for electrophoresis analysis. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of modified MultiNA to switch between the detailed display state and the enlarged display state, based on the operation received by the operation unit, as taught by Gel Analyzer, as information of the display can be adjusted and viewed based on the user’s needs (Gel Analyzer, Figure 2 on page 2).
Regarding Claim 10, MutliNA teaches an electrophoresis apparatus (MCE-202 MultNA electrophoresis system including electrophoresis instrument [pages 5 and 8]) including a measurement unit (fluorescence detection system [Hardware, page 5]) configured to measure at least one object-to-be-measured separated by electrophoresis (a sample, such as DNA, is separated by the electrophoresis device, see for example gel image and corresponding electropherogram on page 63), a channel (channel provided in microfluidic chip [Channel Pattern Design, page 11]) including a separation channel (separation channel is in microfluidic chip [Channel Pattern Design, page 11]) for separating the at least one object-to-be-measured (as illustrated in No. 6 of the display on page 15, sample is separated using capillary electrophoresis);
the electrophoresis apparatus is configured to switch, in response to the operation unit accepting an input operation (inputs by the user are provided to interface with software [see for Example 3.8.1 Displaying Data, page 62]), between;
a detailed display state (detailed display state corresponds to MultiNA Viewer Window [page 125]) in which another analysis result check display (another result window can be the table listing the lengths of detected DNA [see MultiNA Viewer Window, page 125]) different from the gel image display is displayed in the result display area (both base pair length table and gel image are displayed in results area [page 125]), and the gel image display is displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a first ratio of the result display area (gel image and base pair table occupies a given ratio [page 125]); and
the gel image display includes a plurality of band patterns indicating sizes of the components of the object-to-be-measured (get image in MultiNA Viewer Window shows the plurality of band patterns [page 125]);
the at least one object-to-be-measured comprises a plurality of objects-to-be-measured (as illustrated in display on page 63, multiple samples can be run);
the electrophoresis apparatus is configured to separate each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured (as illustrated in display on page 63, each sample is separated via electrophoresis);
the analysis apparatus is configured to display, in the result display area of the display unit, the gel image display in which a plurality of analysis results showing the distribution of the components of each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured are displayed side-by-side (as illustrated in display on page 63, gel image shows each sample separated in a side-by-side manner), and to display the gel image display such that the display can be changed by scrolling in an arrangement direction in a case where a width of the display area is insufficient for the gel image display (as illustrated in display on page 63, a horizontal scroll bar is provided underneath the gel image to scroll left and right).
MultiNA is silent on an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio, wherein
the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching from the detailed display state to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state.
Gel Analyzer is a desktop app that analyzes electrophoretic separations (title of page 1), and an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio (as illustrated in the figure on page 2, gel image occupies a first ratio, and then, as evidenced at 6:35-6:45 of Gel Analyzer Video, which shows expanding the window of the gel image so it occupies a second ratio larger than the first ratio).
MutliNA and Gel Analyzer are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of software/display setups for electrophoresis analysis. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of MultiNA to provide an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio, as taught by Gel Analyzer, as information of the display can be adjusted and viewed based on the user’s needs (Gel Analyzer, Figure 2 on page 2).
Modified MultiNA is silent on the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching the detailed display state to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state.
However, MultiNA teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns (gel image can be zoomed in, which increases the interval between the gel bands [see Zooming of Gel Images, page 132]), which helps to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state (as seen in the zoomed image on the right of page 132, the increased intervals allows for easier resolution of the sample bands).
As zooming in on the gel image can be done at any time (either in the enlarged state of the detailed display state, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis apparatus of modified MultiNA to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state when the detailed display state is switched to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state, as taught by MultiNA, as zooming in on a gel image allows for easier discernment of gel bands that are close together in separation (see MultiNA gel images on page 132]).
Regarding Claim 11, MutliNA teaches an electrophoresis analysis method (MCE-202 MultNA electrophoresis system for electrophoresis analysis [Section 3.8 Data Analysis, page 62]) comprising:
a step of analyzing a component of each of a plurality of objects-to-be-measured separated by electrophoresis (Data Analysis software analyzes each gel image by showing electropherogram and peak table [see data analysis viewer on page 63]), based on a measurement value obtained by measuring each of the plurality of object-to-be-measured separated by electrophoresis (sequence is determined based on DNA peak height and sized by base pair length [page 63]) in a channel including a separation channel for separating each of the plurality of object-to-be-measured (channel provided in microfluidic chip [Channel Pattern Design, page 11]); and
a step of switching, in response to an operation unit accepting an input operation (keyboard and mouse [9.4.1 Connection on page 269], which can be used to navigate the MultiNA electrophoresis menus and software [for example, generally page 128), between:
a detailed display state (detailed display state corresponds to MultiNA Viewer Window [page 125]) in which another analysis result check display (another result window can be the table listing the lengths of detected DNA [see MultiNA Viewer Window, page 125]) different from the gel image display is displayed in the result display area (both base pair length table and gel image are displayed in results area [page 125]), and the gel image display is displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a first ratio of the result display area (gel image and base pair table occupies a given ratio [page 125]), the gel image display showing a distribution of a component of the object-to-be-measured (as gel image display shows each sample separated including the distribution of fragments [page 125]); and
the gel image display includes a plurality of band patterns indicating sizes of the components of the object-to-be-measured (get image in MultiNA Viewer Window shows the plurality of band patterns [page 125]), and wherein
displaying, in the result display area of the display unit, the gel image display in which a plurality of analysis results showing the distribution of the components of each of the plurality of objects-to-be-measured are displayed side-by-side (as illustrated in display on page 63, gel image shows each sample separated in a side-by-side manner), and displaying the gel image display such that the display can be changed by scrolling in an arrangement direction in a case where a width of the display area is insufficient for the gel image display (as illustrated in display on page 63, a horizontal scroll bar is provided underneath the gel image to scroll left and right).
MultiNA is silent on an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio, wherein
the step of switching between the detailed display state and the enlarged display state includes increasing an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching from the detailed display state is switched to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state.
Gel Analyzer is a desktop app that analyzes electrophoretic separations (title of page 1), and an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio (as illustrated in the figure on page 2, gel image occupies a first ratio, and then, as evidenced at 6:35-6:45 of Gel Analyzer Video, which shows expanding the window of the gel image so it occupies a second ratio larger than the first ratio).
MutliNA and Gel Analyzer are considered analogous art to the claimed inventions because they are in the same field of software/display setups for electrophoresis analysis. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrophoresis analysis method of MultiNA to provide an enlarged display state in which the gel image display is enlarged and displayed in the result display area such that the gel image display occupies a second ratio of the result display area, the second ratio being larger than the first ratio, as taught by Gel Analyzer, as information of the display can be adjusted and viewed based on the user’s needs (Gel Analyzer, Figure 2 on page 2).
Modified MultiNA is silent on the step of switching between the detailed display state and the enlarged display state includes increasing an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching from the detailed display state is switched to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state.
However, MultiNA teaches the analysis apparatus is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns (gel image can be zoomed in, which increases the interval between the gel bands [see Zooming of Gel Images, page 132]), which helps to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state (as seen in the zoomed image on the right of page 132, the increased intervals allows for easier resolution of the sample bands).
As zooming in on the gel image can be done at any time (either in the enlarged state of the detailed display state, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrophoresis analysis method of modified MultiNA so that the electrophoresis is configured to increase an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the enlarged display state compared to an interval between the plurality of band patterns in the detailed display state in response to switching the detailed display state to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state, as taught by MultiNA, as zooming in on a gel image allows for easier discernment of gel bands that are close together in separation (see MultiNA gel images on page 132]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pgs. 10-13, filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections and amended claims have been fully considered.
Applicant’s Argument #1:
Applicant argues on pages 10-13 that independent claims 1, 10, and 11 have been amended to recite “in response to switching the detailed display state to the enlarged display state so as to resolve an overlap of the plurality of band patterns that occurred in the detailed display state”, which is different from the prior art of MultiNA as the user must perform a separate action to enlarge a sub-region. In addition, amended claim 1 now also recites “such that the display can be changed by scrolling in an arrangement direction in a case where a width of the display area is insufficient”. The dynamic scrolling mechanism, specifically triggered by the physical insufficiency of the display width during an automatic UI transition, is not taught by the prior art of record.
Examiner’s Response #1:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the primary of MultiNA must perform a separate action to enlarge a sub-region, however, independent claim 1 reads “the analysis apparatus is configured to switch, in response to the operation unit accepting the input operation…a detailed display state… and an enlarged display state”. Thus, a user inputting an operation into a keyboard to switch to the enlarged display state can occur after seeing the data reads on independent claim 1, such as selecting a region of the gel image to zoom. In addition, MultiNA teaches a horizontal scroll bar is provided underneath the gel image to scroll left and right, to allow for dynamic scrolling. Independent claims 10 and 11 recite similar amended limitations and are rejected similarly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795