DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10-13, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz et al (US 2019/0321599) in view of Bihlmaier et al (US 10,792,399).
Regarding claim 1, 2 and 5, Burkholz disclose an integrated catheter system comprising: a catheter adapter comprising a catheter 20 and an inlet 12, the catheter configured to be inserted into a patient's vasculature (¶38); a needle-free connector 30 comprising a first port (connected to 24), a second port positioned opposite the first port (fig 1A), and a side port (connected to 44) positioned between the first port and the second port (fig 1A), the second port comprising a valve member 38 (¶42); intermediate tubing 24 extending between the inlet of the catheter adapter and the first port of the needle-free connector (fig 1A); and extension tubing 44 extending from the side port of the needle-free connector (fig 1A),
While Burkholz substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose the needle-free connector comprises chlorhexidine, wherein the needle-free connector comprises a flow diverting feature, and wherein the flow diverting feature comprises a lead-in configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or second port.
Bihlmaier discloses a catheter system which includes antimicrobial inserts 211/212/213 (fig 2D, abstract) which elutes antimicrobial agents to provide antimicrobial protection to the device (Col.5 ll 46-51). Chlorhexidine diacetate and chlorhexidine gluconate as antimicrobial agents are specifically disclosed (Col.7 ll 48-50). Inserts 211/212/213, especially 211/213, comprise lead-ins configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or the second port (fig 2D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Burkholz such that it includes a flow diverting feature comprising chlorhexidine gluconate (or diacetate) in each of the first, second, and side ports, said flow diverting features comprising lead-ins configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or second port as taught by Bihlmaier to provide antimicrobial protection to the device and to help center inserted structures inserted into the ports.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the flow diverting feature comprises an insert or coating comprising the chlorhexidine (see combination in claim 1 and inserts 211/212/213).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the needle-free connector comprises a body defining a longitudinal axis extending between the first port and the second port, and wherein the side port extends from the body at an angle of 30-150 degrees relative to the longitudinal axis of the body (fig 1B; approximately 45/135 degrees).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the side port is in fluid communication with the body of the needle-free connector via an inlet, and wherein the inlet is offset from the longitudinal axis of the body of the needle-free connector (longitudinal axis is through center of lumen 41 in fig 1B, inlet to side port is slightly off said axis).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the lead-in comprises a frusto-conical surface (see combination in claim 1 and right side of 211 of Bihlmaier).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the chlorhexidine is configured to elute over a predetermined time period (Col.1 ll 59).
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 16, Burkholz discloses a catheter system comprising: a catheter adapter comprising a catheter 20 and an inlet 12, the catheter configured to be inserted into a patient's vasculature (¶38); and a needle-free connector 30 comprising a first port (connected to 24), a second port positioned opposite the first port (fig 1A), and a side port (connected to 44) positioned between the first port and the second port (fig 1A), the second port comprising a valve member 38
While Burkholz substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose the needle-free connector comprises chlorhexidine, wherein the needle-free connector comprises a flow diverting feature, and wherein the flow diverting feature comprises a lead-in configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or second port.
Bihlmaier discloses a catheter system which includes antimicrobial inserts 211/212/213 (fig 2D, abstract) which elutes antimicrobial agents to provide antimicrobial protection to the device (Col.5 ll 46-51). Chlorhexidine diacetate and chlorhexidine gluconate as antimicrobial agents are specifically disclosed (Col.7 ll 48-50). Inserts 211/212/213, especially 211/213, comprise lead-ins configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or the second port (fig 2D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Burkholz such that it includes a flow diverting feature comprising chlorhexidine gluconate (or diacetate) in each of the first, second, and side ports, said flow diverting features comprising lead-ins configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or second port as taught by Bihlmaier to provide antimicrobial protection to the device and to help center inserted structures inserted into the ports.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the flow diverting feature comprising an insert or coating comprising the chlorhexidine (see combination in claim 1 and inserts 211/212/213).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 14 and 15is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz et al (US 2019/0321599) in view of Bihlmaier et al (US 10,792,399) and Burkholz et al (US 2017/0120028, hereafter Burkholz ‘028)
Regarding claims 3, 4, 14 and 15, while Burkholz substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose the needle-free connector comprises a lube comprising the chlorhexidine nor a coating comprising the chlorhexidine.
Burkholz ‘028 discloses using chlorhexidine-eluting coating or lubricants within needle-free connector 102 (¶44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Burkholz such that the needle-free connector comprises a chlorhexidine coating or lubricant as taught by Burkholz ‘028 to provide an (additional, once modified by Bihlmaier) antimicrobial feature to the device, and which assists in decreasing the insertion force of an inserted device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Applicant argues Bihlmaier fails to teach “a flow diverting feature, where the flow diverting feature comprises a lead-in configured to guide movement of a probe through the first port and/or the second port”. Applicant argues the inserts are not placed nor configured to guide a probe into the first port or the second port. More specifically:
Applicant argues that a probe would hit one of the sides of the inserts and get stuck. The examiner is not persuaded as that would just suggest to a user to withdraw the probe and try to center said probe better. Further, Bihlmaier discloses sloped surfaces to assist in guiding/leading said probe towards the center of the lumen and the inserts.
Applicant argues that the inserts are not placed at an entrance or exit to the first port or the second port and thus cannot be lead-ins. The examiner believes such a view is narrower than broadest reasonable interpretation. The argument also lacks nexus with the claim language. Applicant requires “guide movement of a probe through the first and/or second port”, not “guide movement of a probe into the opening of the first and/or second port”. A lead-in can be located in any position to help guide the probe into another part of the device. For example, the inserts 211/213 are located before the junction (and thus lead-in to the junction) and insert 212 is located before the narrower section that leads to the catheter (and is thus a lead-in to said narrower section).
The examiner does want to clarify that he does not consider a lead-in as having to be directly at the beginning of the structure it is considered to lead into. So long as it guides a device as that device is being inserted (even if it has already been partially inserted such as in the case of Bihlmaier) it is considering as leading that device as it is being inserted (stressing the “in” at the start of inserted)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783