DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed on 4/21/2026.
Claims 1, 6 and 7 have been amended.
Claims 2-5 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 6-16 are currently pending with 13-15 withdrawn from consideration.
Please note that applicant erroneously indicated that claim 16 is withdrawn when in fact it has been considered and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the examiners interpretation of the claim is too broad. The examiner disagrees with the applicant's assertion. The examiner asserts the position that the basket silsesquixane structure reads on the claimed Y component as it is currently written since its a type of alkoxysilane (i.e. alkoxysilyl group). On page 9 applicant appears to be arguing the withdrawn method claims. These claims have not been considered. The core of the applicant's argument regarding claim 12 rests on the applicant's assertion that claim 1 is allowable, this argument is not persuasive for the reasons already presented above. .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170133713 A1, MAKINO et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 7. [abstract] A solid electrolyte, comprising:
[0083] a sulfide solid electrolyte particle; and
[0011] a hydrophobic compound on a surface of the sulfide solid electrolyte particle, wherein
[0108] the hydrophobic compound includes a fluoroalkyl group substituted with 3 to 13 fluorine groups. MAKINO [0108] discloses trifluoromethyl.
MAKINO [0312] synthesizes a silsesquioxane compound with a mixed solution of vinyl triethoxysilane and 2-(trifluoromethyl)ethyl trimethoxysilane where
the hydrophobic compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
(X)a - (Y)b - (Z)c
in Chemical Formula 1,
[0047] the X is HO-, called a hydroxy group wherein
R1, R2, R3, and R4 are each independently hydrogen, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group,
[0083] (Li2S) as Y is a metal oxide also meeting the limitations of claim 7,
[0312] the 2-(trifluoromethyl)ethyl as Z is -(CH2)d -(CF2)e -CF3, and
1 ≤ a ≤ 10, 0 ≤ b ≤ 3, 1 ≤ c ≤ 3, 1 ≤ d ≤ 6, and 0 ≤ e ≤ 5.
Regarding claim 6. MAKINO [0129] discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein “RN represents a hydrogen atom” which can be represented in Chemical Formula 1, when X is HO-, H2N-, or HS-.
Regarding claim 8. MAKINO [0011] discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein the hydrophobic compound covers a portion or the whole of the surface of the sulfide solid electrolyte particle. This limitation is met in the rejection of claim 1 just by being present.
Regarding claim 9. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein in table 3 MAKINO discloses the hydrophobic compound is included in an amount of about 4 parts by weight to about 8 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the sulfide solid electrolyte particle thus anticipating the range with sufficient specificity.
Regarding claim 10. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein
MAKINO [0084] discloses the sulfide solid electrolyte particle includes Li2S-P2S5.
Regarding claim 11. MAKINO [0085] discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sulfide solid electrolyte particle includes an argyrodite-type sulfide in the form of Li2S—Li3PO4—P2S5 which meets the definition of an argyrodite-type sulfide in the instant specification.
Regarding claim 16. MAKINO [0014] discloses an all-solid-state battery, comprising:
a positive electrode,
a negative electrode, and
a solid electrolyte layer between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein
the positive electrode or solid electrolyte layer includes the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170133713 A1, MAKINO et al.
Regarding claim 12. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1.
MAKINO does not explicitly disclose an average particle diameter (D50) of the sulfide solid electrolyte particles is about 0.5 µm to about 5.0 µm.
MAKINO [0092] discloses the “The volume-average particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte is not particularly limited, but is preferably 0.01 μm or larger and more preferably 0.1 μm or larger. The upper limit thereof is preferably 100 μm or smaller and more preferably 50 μm or smaller.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used an average particle diameter (D50) of the sulfide solid electrolyte particles from 0.5 µm to about 5.0 µm in the instantly claimed range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727