DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/9/2023 and 4/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 12/2/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170133713 A1, MAKINO et al.
Regarding claim 1. [abstract] A solid electrolyte, comprising:
[0083] a sulfide solid electrolyte particle; and
[0011] a hydrophobic compound on a surface of the sulfide solid electrolyte particle, wherein
[0108] the hydrophobic compound includes a fluoroalkyl group substituted with 3 to 13 fluorine groups. MAKINO [0108] discloses trifluoromethyl.
Regarding claims 2 and 3. The solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 2, wherein MAKINO [0109] discloses the functional group having at least one lone pair of electrons includes -OR1, -NR2R3, -SR4, or a combination thereof, in which R1, R2, R3, and R4 are each independently hydrogen or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group which is satisfied by any one of the amino groups disclosed in [0109]. These molecular structures also satisfy the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 4. The solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 2, wherein the functional group having at least one lone pair of electrons is in [0094] contact (in the form of a coating) with or bonded to the surface of [0077] the sulfide solid electrolyte particle.
Regarding claims 5 and 7. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein MAKINO [0312] synthesizes a silsesquioxane compound with a mixed solution of vinyl triethoxysilane and 2-(trifluoromethyl)ethyl trimethoxysilane where
the hydrophobic compound is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
(X)a - (Y)b - (Z)c
in Chemical Formula 1,
[0312] the trimethoxysilane as X is R1O-, wherein
R1, R2, R3, and R4 are each independently hydrogen, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group,
[0083] (Li2S) as Y is a metal oxide also meeting the limitations of claim 7,
[0312] the 2-(trifluoromethyl)ethyl as Z is -(CH2)d -(CF2)e -CF3, and
1 ≤ a ≤ 10, 0 ≤ b ≤ 3, 1 ≤ c ≤ 3, 1 ≤ d ≤ 6, and 0 ≤ e ≤ 5.
Regarding claim 6. MAKINO [0129] discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 5, wherein “RN represents a hydrogen atom” which can be represented in Chemical Formula 1, when X is HO-, H2N-, or HS-.
Regarding claim 8. MAKINO [0011] discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein the hydrophobic compound covers a portion or the whole of the surface of the sulfide solid electrolyte particle. This limitation is met in the rejection of claim 1 just by being present.
Regarding claim 9. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein in table 3 MAKINO discloses the hydrophobic compound is included in an amount of about 4 parts by weight to about 8 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the sulfide solid electrolyte particle thus anticipating the range with sufficient specificity.
Regarding claim 10. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein
MAKINO [0084] discloses the sulfide solid electrolyte particle includes Li2S-P2S5.
Regarding claim 11. MAKINO [0085] discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sulfide solid electrolyte particle includes an argyrodite-type sulfide in the form of Li2S—Li3PO4—P2S5 which meets the definition of an argyrodite-type sulfide in the instant specification.
Regarding claim 16. MAKINO [0014] discloses an all-solid-state battery, comprising:
a positive electrode,
a negative electrode, and
a solid electrolyte layer between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein
the positive electrode or solid electrolyte layer includes the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170133713 A1, MAKINO et al.
Regarding claim 12. MAKINO discloses the solid electrolyte as claimed in claim 1.
MAKINO does not explicitly disclose an average particle diameter (D50) of the sulfide solid electrolyte particles is about 0.5 µm to about 5.0 µm.
MAKINO [0092] discloses the “The volume-average particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte is not particularly limited, but is preferably 0.01 μm or larger and more preferably 0.1 μm or larger. The upper limit thereof is preferably 100 μm or smaller and more preferably 50 μm or smaller.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used an average particle diameter (D50) of the sulfide solid electrolyte particles from 0.5 µm to about 5.0 µm in the instantly claimed range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230163272 A1, Hwang et al.
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727