DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21, 29 and 34 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of additional teachings of Endriz.
The Examiner agrees that the analog circuitry of Endriz is not clearly taught to make use of a single current source in the manner demonstrated in the digital circuit of Endriz. The previous rejection is therefore withdrawn.
The Examiner notes that the art of Endriz is again being made use of below, in an updated manner, to reflect the obviousness of modifying the single current source type circuitry by making use of the analog circuit operation of Endriz.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eden et al. (US 2005/0169327) in view of Endriz (US 5515391).
With respect to claim 21, Eden teaches a system (fig.1b) comprising: a first semiconductor laser (fig.1b #130a) and a second semiconductor laser (fig.1b #130c); a heater (fig.1b #140b) positioned between the first semiconductor laser and the second semiconductor laser; current sources configured to supply a currents (fig.4 #416a-d, #454a-e, [0051-52]); and circuitry connecting the current sources to the first semiconductor laser and the heater (fig.4); wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser and the heater (as demonstrated in fig.3, also [0015]). Eden does not teach a current source configured to supply a current; and circuitry connecting the current source to the first semiconductor laser and the heater; wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser and the heater. Endriz teaches a similar laser array with balanced currents to control heating (fig.2, abstract) which includes a current source configured to supply a current (fig.2 #27); and circuitry connecting the current source to the first semiconductor laser and the heater (fig.2); wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser and the heater (col.2 line 53- col.3 line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the circuit of Eden to make use of a plurality of single shared current sources, each source with control to distribute the current between a laser and a heater, as demonstrated by Endriz as Eden has suggested alternate circuits are possible ([0053]) and the circuit of Endriz would simplify and reduce parts.
Eden, as modified by Endriz, does not teach a single current source with a divided output to supply the current to the laser and heater. Endriz further teaches analog circuit operation to distribute current to the laser and heater which regulates the sum of the currents to be constant (col.2 lines 62-64, col.4 lines 51-59) and additionally teaches the use of a single current source providing current to both the laser and heater as seen in fig.2’s digital implementation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to further adapt the system of Eden and Endriz to make use of the balanced analog operation type of Endriz, wherein the current to the laser and heater add to a constant total, while making use of a single current source providing the total current which is then divided in order to both divide and distribute current to the laser and heater of Eden to simply and reduce parts (by using the single current source to provide the total current being kept constant) while providing a balanced current and thereby a more balanced thermal response.
With respect to claim 22, Eden, as modified, teaches the heater is a first heater; the system comprises a second heater (fig.2 #140c); and the circuitry connects the current source to the second heater and is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater (Eden, as demonstrated in fig.3 and circuitry seen in fig.4). Eden does not specify the current is divided from the single source between the laser and heaters. Endriz as outlined above, demonstrates both balanced operation of distributing a constant total current value which is divided between a laser and heater (col.2 lines 62-64, col.4 lines 51-59) and use of a single current source to power the laser and heater. Therefore, it would have further been obvious to adapt the system of Eden, as modified by Endriz, to further have the current from the source divided and distributed between the laser and multiple heaters in order to further provide a balanced thermal input to the system.
With respect to claim 23, Eden, as modified, teaches the circuitry is configurable at a first time to distribute an equal amount of the current to each of the first semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater (note the claim states “configurable” not “configured”, “configurable” meaning “able to be configured”; the device of Eden is able to distribute currents of any ratio to the lasers/heaters by adjustment of the stated tables, [0046-49, 56], and by measured feedback [0043]).
With respect to claim 24, Eden, as modified, teaches the circuitry is configurable at a second time to divide a first half of the current to the first heater and a second half of the current to the second heater (note the claim states “configurable” not “configured”, “configurable” meaning “able to be configured”; the device of Eden is able to distribute currents of any ratio to the lasers/heaters by adjustment of the stated tables, [0046-49, 56], and by measured feedback [0043]).
With respect to claim 25, Eden, as modified, teaches the circuitry comprises a switch (Endriz, fig.2).
With respect to claim 26, Eden, as modified, teaches a substrate (fig.1b “semiconductor laser substrate”) including: the first semiconductor laser and the second semiconductor laser; and the heater.
With respect to claim 27, Eden, as modified, teaches the heater is a first heater; and the system comprises a second heater (fig.1b #140c) positioned between the first semiconductor laser and the second semiconductor laser.
With respect to claim 28, Eden, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including the current source is a first current source; the current is a first current; the circuitry is a first circuitry; the system further comprises: a second current source configured to supply a second current; and second circuitry connecting the second current source to the second semiconductor laser and the second heater; and the second circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably divide and distribute the second current between the second semiconductor laser and the second heater (see claim 22 rejection above, noting multiple sources with circuitry were used to replace the 1 source for every laser and another source for every heater shown in Eden, thereby providing plural sources, each source with control to distribute to the laser/heater).
With respect to claim 29, Eden teaches system comprising: a semiconductor laser (fig.1b #130a); a first heater (fig.1b #140a); a second heater (fig.1b #140b); current sources (fig.4 #416a-d, #454a-e) configured to supply currents; and circuitry connecting the current sources to the semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater (fig.4), wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater (as demonstrated in fig.3, also [0015]). Eden does not teach a current source configured to supply a current; and circuitry connecting the current source to the first semiconductor laser and the first and second heaters; wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably divide and distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser and the heater. Endriz teaches a similar laser array with balanced currents to control heating (fig.2, abstract) which includes a current source configured to supply a current (fig.2 #27); and circuitry connecting the current source to the first semiconductor laser and the heater (fig.2); wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser and the heater (col.2 line 53 – col.3 line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the circuit of Eden to make use of a plurality of single shared current sources, each source with control to distribute the current between a laser and the heaters, as similar operation has been demonstrated by Endriz, as Eden has suggested alternate circuits are possible ([0053]) and the circuit of Endriz would simplify and reduce parts.
Eden, as modified by Endriz, does not teach a single current source with a divided output to supply the current to the laser and heaters. Endriz further teaches analog circuit operation to distribute current to the laser and heater which regulates the sum of the currents to be constant (col.2 lines 62-64, col.4 lines 51-59) and additionally teaches the use of a single current source providing current to both the laser and heater as seen in fig.2’s digital implementation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to further adapt the system of Eden and Endriz to make use of the balanced analog operation type of Endriz, wherein the current to the laser and heaters add to a constant total, while making use of a single current source providing the total current which is then divided in order to both divide and distribute current to the laser and heaters of Eden to simply and reduce parts (by using the single current source to provide the total current being kept constant) while providing a balanced current and thereby a more balanced thermal response to the laser and surrounding heaters.
With respect to claim 30, Eden, as modified, teaches the circuitry is configurable at a first time to distribute an equal amount of the current to each of the semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater (note the claim states “configurable” not “configured”, “configurable” meaning “able to be configured”; the device of Eden is able to distribute currents of any ratio to the lasers/heaters by adjustment of the stated tables, [0046-49, 56], and by measured feedback [0043]).
With respect to claim 31, Eden, as modified, teaches the circuitry is configurable at a second time to divide a first half of the current to the first heater and a second half of the current to the second heater (note the claim states “configurable” not “configured”, “configurable” meaning “able to be configured”; the device of Eden is able to distribute currents of any ratio to the lasers/heaters by adjustment of the stated tables, [0046-49, 56], and by measured feedback [0043]).
With respect to claim 32, Eden, as modified, teaches the circuitry comprises a switch (Endriz, fig.2).
With respect to claim 33, Eden, as modified, teaches a substrate (fig.1b “semiconductor laser substrate”) including: the semiconductor laser; the first heater; and the second heater.
Claim(s) 34-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eden and Endriz in view of Treese et al. (US 2017/0033531).
With respect to claim 34, Eden teaches method of controlling a semiconductor laser (fig.1b #130a): operating the semiconductor laser in a plurality of operation modes, the plurality of operation modes including an off operation mode and an emission operation mode (demonstrated in fig.3, 0 off, 1 on); and dynamically distributing currents supplied by current sources (fig.4 #416a-d, #454a-e) between the semiconductor laser and one or more heaters (fig.1b #140b), wherein: the current is dynamically distributed between the semiconductor laser and the one or more heaters using circuitry connecting the current sources to the semiconductor laser and the one or more heaters (fig.4, as demonstrated in fig.3, also [0015]); and wherein the semiconductor laser is configured to emit light in the emission operation mode (fig.3 “1” indicates activated/selected which is turned on/emitting [0010]). Eden does not teach a current source configured to supply a current; and circuitry connecting the current source to the first semiconductor laser and the heater; wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the semiconductor laser and the heater. Endriz teaches a similar laser array with balanced currents to control heating (fig.2, abstract) which includes a current source configured to supply a current (fig.2 #27); and circuitry connecting the current source to the first semiconductor laser and the heater (fig.2); wherein: the circuitry is dynamically configurable to adjustably distribute the current between the first semiconductor laser and the heater (col.2 line 53 – col.3 line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the circuit of Eden to make use of a plurality of single shared current sources, each source with control to divide and distribute the current between a laser and one or more heaters, as similar operation has been demonstrated by Endriz, as Eden has suggested alternate circuits are possible ([0053]) and the circuit of Endriz would simplify and reduce parts.
Eden, as modified by Endriz, does not teach a single current source with a divided output to supply the current to the laser and one or more heaters. Endriz further teaches analog circuit operation to distribute current to the laser and heater which regulates the sum of the currents to be constant (col.2 lines 62-64, col.4 lines 51-59) and additionally teaches the use of a single current source providing current to both the laser and heater as seen in fig.2’s digital implementation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to further adapt the system of Eden and Endriz to make use of the balanced analog operation type of Endriz, wherein the current to the laser and heaters add to a constant total, while making use of a single current source providing the total current which is then divided in order to both divide and distribute current to the laser and heaters of Eden to simply and reduce parts (by using the single current source to provide the total current being kept constant) while providing a balanced current and thereby a more balanced thermal response to the laser and surrounding heaters.
Eden further does not specify a subthreshold operation mode. Treese teaches a related laser array (fig.2) with control of currents to balance heating ([0005,6, 18]) and further that the lasers can be driven at currents below threshold ([0016] and fig.3e demonstrating applied currents ranging from 0, off, to subthreshold, and finally to 1, emitting). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to make use of subthreshold operation in the lasers of Eden as demonstrated by Treese in order to further control the amount of heat produced in the system to achieve the desired balancing (Treese [0018], Eden [0041]).
With respect to claim 35, Eden, as modified, teaches the one or more heaters comprise a first heater and a second heater (fig.1b #140c). Eden further teaches adjustment of the current values to the lasers and heaters to control heating (fig.3, [0046-49, 53]) but does not specify the method comprises: at a first time, distributing, using the circuity, an equal amount of the current to each of the semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater. Endriz (col.4 lines 50-60) and Treese ([0005, 6, 18, 16], fig.3e) further teach various current values should be chosen to balance/compensate for heating across the array, thereby demonstrating the current values are result effective variables known to select a desired heating amount. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to at a first time, distribute, using the circuity, an equal amount of the current to each of the semiconductor laser, the first heater, and the second heater as a means of optimizing the supplied current to provide a desired level of heating across the array as desired by each of Eden, Endriz and Treese (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
With respect to claim 36, Eden, as modified, teaches the method outlined above, including adjustment of the current values to the lasers and heaters to control heating (fig.3, [0046-49, 53]) but does not teach at a second time, dividing, using the circuitry, a first half of the current to the first heater and a second half of the current to the second heater. Endriz (col.4 lines 50-60) and Treese ([0005, 6, 18, 16], fig.3e) further teach various current values should be chosen to balance/compensate for heating across the array, thereby demonstrating the current values are result effective variables known to select a desired heating amount. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to at a second time, dividing, using the circuitry, a first half of the current to the first heater and a second half of the current to the second heater as a means of optimizing the supplied current to provide a desired level of heating across the array as desired by each of Eden, Endriz and Treese (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
With respect to claim 37, Eden, as modified, teaches the method outlined above, including adjustment of the current values to the lasers and heaters to control heating (fig.3, [0046-49, 53]) but does not teach at a second time, unevenly dividing, using the circuitry, the current between the first heater and the second heater. Endriz (col.4 lines 50-60) and Treese ([0005, 6, 18, 16], fig.3e) further teach various current values should be chosen to balance/compensate for heating across the array, thereby demonstrating the current values are result effective variables known to select a desired heating amount. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to at a second time, unevenly dividing, using the circuitry, the current between the first heater and the second heater as a means of optimizing the supplied current to provide a desired level of heating across the array as desired by each of Eden, Endriz and Treese (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
With respect to claim 38, Eden, as modified, teaches transitioning the semiconductor laser from the off operation mode to the emission operation mode by decreasing a first portion of the current applied to the one or more heaters concurrent with an increase in a second portion of the current applied to the semiconductor laser (as seen in fig.3 when a laser goes from “0” to “1” associated heaters go from “.5” to “0”).
With respect to claim 39, Eden, as modified, teaches operating the semiconductor laser in the subthreshold operation mode includes driving the semiconductor laser with a first injection current (Treese, fig.3e); operating the semiconductor laser in the emission operation mode includes driving the semiconductor laser with a second injection current (inherent to operate device); and the first injection current is less the second injection current (subthreshold current inherently less than an emission, above threshold current).
With respect to claim 40, Eden, as modified, teaches the method outlined above, but does not teach the first injection current is between 10% and 50% of the second injection current. Treese further teaches an entire range of current values from 0, off, to subthreshold to 1, on, are used to drive the laser and control heating (fig.3e). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the method of Eden to make use of subthreshold currents between 10-50% of threshold currents as Treese has demonstrated such values are useful when balancing heating across the array (Treese, fig.3e, [0005, 6, 16, 18]) and would be a simple optimization of the result effective current variable known to affect the laser/array temperature (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the previously included pto892 form for a list of related art.
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828