DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2023, 07/14/2024, and 05/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a high-loss dielectric” as recited in claim 4, the “a second resonant coil structure, the second resonant coil structure comprising: a second plurality of conductors, including; a fifth conductor having a ninth end and a tenth end: a sixth conductor having an eleventh end and a twelfth end, a seventh conductor having a thirteenth end and a fourteenth end: an eighth conductor having a fifteenth end and a sixteenth end: and at least one second galvanic coupling conductor that galvanically couples the ninth end to the thirteenth end and galvanically couples the twelfth end to the sixteenth end, wherein the resonant coil structure and the second resonant coil structure” as claimed in claim 13, the “plurality of resonant coil structures of claim 13 are connected to one another in series” of claim 14, the ” the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures has a ring-shape and each resonant coil structure extends no more than partially around the ring” as recited in claim 15, the “wherein the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures extends more than 25% of the distance around the ring” as claimed in claim 16, the “the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures extends more than 50% of the distance around the ring” of claim 17, and the “at least one galvanic coupling conductor that comprises one or more vias, through-holes and/or slots plated or filled with one or more conductive materials” as recited in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: “though” in line 4 should be written as “through”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the originally filed specification does not disclose “a second resonant coil structure, the second resonant coil structure comprising: a second plurality of conductors, including; a fifth conductor having a ninth end and a tenth end: a sixth conductor having an eleventh end and a twelfth end, a seventh conductor having a thirteenth end and a fourteenth end: an eighth conductor having a fifteenth end and a sixteenth end: and at least one second galvanic coupling conductor that galvanically couples the ninth end to the thirteenth end and galvanically couples the twelfth end to the sixteenth end, wherein the resonant coil structure and the second resonant coil structure” as amended.
Claims 14-17 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 13.
Claims 16, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, it’s not clear what’s intended by “the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures extends more than 25% of the distance around the ring” as recited. Specifically, it’s not clear if 25% or more of the coil structures extend on the ring or 25% or more of the ring extend on the coil structures. Similar clarification needs to be made in claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, it’s not clear what’s intended by “at least one galvanic coupling conductor that comprises one or more vias, through-holes and/or slots plated or filled with one or more conductive materials” as claimed. Specifically, if the “galvanic” coupling is by “vias, through-holes and/or slots plated or filled with one or more conductive materials” would the coupling be considered “galvanic” since there would be a hole or holes in the insulating layer(s) between the plurality of conductors?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 18, 19, and 21-23 are rejected under U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sullivan (US PG Pub 20160005531A1), hereinafter Sullivan.
Regarding Claim 1, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure 800 (Fig. 8, paragraph [0087]) comprising:
a plurality of conductors (conductors 712(1)-(3) and 714(1)-(3) of multilayer conductor 700(1)), including:
first conductor (712(3)) having a first end (left end) and a second end (right end);
a second conductor (714(3)) having a third (left end) end and a fourth end (right end);
a third conductor (712(2)) having a fifth end (left end) and a sixth end (right end);
and a fourth conductor (714(2)) having a seventh end (left end) and an eighth end (right end); and
at least one galvanic coupling conductor (420 and 422) that galvanically couples
the first end to the fifth end and galvanically couples the fourth end to the eighth end.
That is coupling conductor 420 connects the left ends of the first and third conductors and coupling conductor 422 connects the right ends of the second and fourth conductors.
Regarding Claim 2, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure (800) of claim 1, further comprising a first insulating layer (410(3)), called dielectric layer in Sullivan) between the first conductor and the second conductor, a second insulating layer (407(2)) between the second conductor and the third conductor, and a third insulating layer (410(2)) between the third conductor and the fourth conductor (Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure (800) of claim 1 (Fig. 7-8), wherein the first conductor (712(3)), the second conductor (714(3)) the third conductor (712(2)) and/or the fourth conductor (714(2)) comprises a plurality of turns. (Paragraph [0085] notes multilayer conductor (700) “could be wound in a spiral shape”, which implies a plurality of turns)
Regarding Claim 4, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure (800; Fig 7-8; Paragraphs [0081; 0084-0085]) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of conductors further comprises a fifth conductor (712(1)) galvanically coupled to the at least one galvanic coupling conductor (420) having a ninth end (left end) aligned with the first end and a tenth end (right end) aligned with the second end (left ends), and the resonant coil structure further comprises a high-loss dielectric (407(1)) separating the first conductor from the fifth conductor,
wherein the plurality of conductors further comprises a sixth conductor (714(1)) at least one galvanically coupled to the galvanic coupling conductor (422) having an eleventh end (left end) aligned with the third end and a twelfth end (right end) aligned with the fourth end, and the resonant coil structure further comprises a high-loss dielectric (410(1)) separating the second conductor from the sixth conductor,
wherein the plurality of conductors further comprises a seventh conductor (712(1) of multilayer conductor 700(2)) galvanically coupled to the at least one galvanic coupling conductor (420) having a thirteenth end (left end) aligned with the fifth end and a fourteenth end (right end) aligned with the sixth end (right ends), and the resonant coil structure further comprises a high-loss dielectric (407(2)) separating the third conductor from the seventh conductor, and/or
wherein the plurality of conductors further comprises an eighth conductor (714(2)) galvanically coupled to the at least one galvanic coupling conductor (422) having a fifteenth end (left end) aligned with the seventh end and a sixteenth end aligned with the eighth end (left ends), and the resonant coil structure further comprises a high-loss dielectric (410(1)) separating the fourth conductor from the eighth conductor.
Regarding Claim 5, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure of claim 4, wherein a high-loss dielectric (407(1)-(3), 410(1)-(3)) comprised of a printed circuit board substrate (plastic, glass, air, etc.) (Paragraph [0081]).
The specification of the claimed invention discloses that “conductor layers may be separated by any electrically non-conductive material (dielectric material) or combination of materials, including but not limited to one or more of air, FR4, PLA, ABS, polyimide, PTFE, polypropylene, a mix of PTFE and supporting materials for ease of handling (e.g. Rogers Substrates, Gore Materials, or Taconic TLY materials), plastic, glass, alumina, ceramic, dielectric or ceramic layers”. Sullivan discloses “dielectric layers 410 each include, for example, plastic, paper, glass, oil, adhesive, ceramic material, and/or air” (the material elements in bold are to highlight which materials are listed in the claimed invention as well).
Regarding Claim 6, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure (800) of claim 1, wherein the at least one galvanic coupling conductor (420) galvanically couples each of the first end, the fourth end (left side ends), the fifth end and the eighth end (right side ends) to each other (Paragraph [0081; 0084-0085]; Fig. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 7, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure of claim 1, wherein the resonant structure is inductively coupled to an excitation conductor (3602) to inductively excite the plurality of conductors (Paragraph [0139]; Fig 36).
Regarding Claim 8, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure (800) of claim 1, wherein the at least one galvanic coupling conductor comprises a first galvanic coupling (420) conductor that galvanically couples the first end and the fifth end and a second galvanic coupling (422) conductor that galvanically couples the fourth end and the eighth end (Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding Claim 9, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure of claim 1, wherein any of the first to fourth conductors is formed in a conductor layer (see stacked C-shaped foil conductors) (Paragraph [0127-0129]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure of claim 1, wherein any of the first to fourth conductors comprises a foil (2902 and 2904) (Paragraph [0127-0129]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure of claim 1, wherein the conductor layer has a C-shaped edge-wound shape (C-shaped foil conductors) (Paragraph [0128]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure of claim 1, wherein the conductor layer has a barrel-wound shape (Fig. 22, Paragraph [0113]).
Both Fig. 22 and Paragraph [0113] describe “a device 2200 including a multilayer conductor 2201”, which is another embodiment of the resonant coil conductor (2900). It should be noted that Fig. 22 of Sullivan shows the same shape of coil conductor as Fig. 1J of the claimed invention. Sullivan describes the shape as tubular as opposed to barrel-shaped, but they are both cylindrical structures.
Regarding Claim 13, Sullivan teaches a plurality of resonant coil structures (800; Fig 7-8; Paragraphs [0081; 0084-0085]) comprising the resonant coil structure (700, there are two; Fig. 8) of claim 1 and a second resonant coil structure (700, there are two; Fig. 8) comprising:
a second resonant coil structure (700(2) has a plurality of conductor layers ((712 (1)-(3), 714 (1)-(3)) including:
a fifth conductor (712(3)) having a ninth end (left end) and a tenth end (right end);
a sixth conductor (714(3)) having an eleventh end (left end) and a twelfth end (right end);
a seventh conductor (712(2)) having a thirteenth end (left end) and a fourteenth end (right end);
an eighth conductor (714(2)) having a fifteenth end (left end) and a sixteenth end (right end); and
at least one second galvanic coupling conductor (420 and 422) that galvanically couples the ninth end to the thirteenth end (left ends) and galvanically couples the twelfth end to the sixteenth end (right ends),
wherein the resonant coil structure and the second resonant coil structure are connected to one another (Fig 7-8; Paragraphs [0081; 0084-0085]).
Regarding claim 18, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure of claim1, wherein the first, second, third and fourth conductors are inductively coupled to one another (para. [0087]).
Regarding Claim 19, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure of claim 1, wherein adjacent conductors of the first, second, third and fourth conductors are capacitively coupled to one another (Paragraph [0087], [0152]).
Regarding Claim 21, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure of claim 4, wherein the at least one galvanic coupling conductor galvanically couples each of the ninth end, the twelfth end, the thirteenth end and the sixteenth end to each other (Paragraph [0081-0085], Fig. 7-8).
Regarding Claim 22, Sullivan teaches a low frequency resonant structure (transmission line 800 which includes two instances of multilayer conductor 700) (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0084-0087])), comprising:
a plurality of stacked conductor layers (712 (1)-(3), 714 (1)-(3)) disposed around a center point (center axis 828, Paragraph [0087]) and inductively coupled to one another, successive conductors (e.g., conductors 714(3) and 714(3)) of the plurality of stacked conductor layers being capacitively coupled (Paragraph [0087,152], disclosed as electrically coupled) to one another though a respective dielectric layer (407), each of the plurality of stacked conductor layers having a first end (left end) and a second end (right end); and
a galvanic coupling conductor (first terminal (420) connects first conductor layers (712 (1)-(3)); second terminal (422) connects second conductor ends (714 (1)-(3)) from the right side) connected to first conductor layers of the plurality of stacked conductor layers at first ends (left side ends) of the first conductor layers (712 (1)-(3)) and second conductor layers (714 (1)-(3)) of the plurality of stacked conductor layers at second ends (right side ends) of the second conductor layers,
wherein the plurality of stacked conductor layers (712 (1)-(3), 714 (1)-(3)) form a closed current loop (Paragraph [0088] of Sullivan notes different integrated capacitance values among conductor layers which results in substantially equal current sharing, see also Paragraph [0083]) around the center point (center axis 828, Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding Claim 23, Sullivan teaches a resonant structure (800) (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0084-0087]), comprising:
a plurality of stacked conductor layers (712 (1)-(3), 714 (1)-(3)) disposed around a center point (center axis 828, Paragraph [0087]) and inductively coupled to one another, successive conductors (e.g., conductors 714(3) and 714(3)) of the plurality of stacked conductor layers being capacitively coupled (Paragraph [0152]) to one another through a respective dielectric layer (410), each of the plurality of stacked conductor layers having a first end (left end) and a second end (right end);
a first conductor (420) connecting first conductor layers of the plurality of stacked conductor layers at first ends (left ends) of the first conductor layers; and
a second conductor (422) connecting second conductor layers of the plurality of stacked conductor layers at second ends (right ends) of the second conductor layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-18, 20, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of O’Sullivan et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0076512 A1, hereinafter “O’Sullivan”).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan.
Regarding Claim 14, Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure of claim 13. Sullivan does not expressly teach the plurality of resonant coil structures of claim 13 are connected to one another in series.
O’Sullivan teaches a resonant coil structure (FIG. 3C), wherein the plurality of resonant coil structures 310a and 314a are connected to one another in series (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the series connection as taught by O’Sullivan to the resonant coil structure of Sullivan to increase inductance.
Regarding Claim 15, Sullivan in view of O’Sullivan teaches the plurality of resonant coil structures of claim 14, wherein the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures has a ring-shape (conductors 322a and 324a form a loop, which is interpreted as “ring-shape” as claimed since any loop shape is considered “ring” in this field of art) and each resonant coil structure extends no more than partially around the ring (O’Sullivan, para. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 16, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Sullivan in view of O’Sullivan teaches the plurality of resonant coil structures of claim 15. Sullivan in view of O’Sullivan does not teach the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures extends more than 25% of the distance around the ring. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to extend the coil structures to the ring as claimed to provide close proximity between the coil structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the extension as claimed to dispose the coils structures close together to save real estate.
Regarding Claim 17, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Sullivan teaches the plurality of resonant coil structures of claim 15. Sullivan in view of O’Sullivan does not expressly teach the series connection of the plurality of resonant coil structures extends more than 50% of the distance around the ring. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to extend the coil structures to the ring as claimed to provide close proximity between the coil structures. Furthermore, applicant states that 50% extension is optional. Therefore, the 50% extension as claimed has no criticality. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the extension as claimed to dispose the coils structures close together to save real estate.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Scholz (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2014/0375411 A1) .
Regarding Claim 20, Sullivan teaches the resonant coil structure of claim 1. Sullivan does not teach at least one galvanic coupling conductor that comprises one or more vias, through-holes and/or slots plated or filled with one or more conductive materials with regards to embodiment.
Scholz teaches a resonant coil structure 20 (Fig. 3), wherein the at least one galvanic coupling conductor that comprises one or more vias 8, through-holes and/or slots plated or filled with one or more conductive materials with regards to embodiment (paras. [0039] and [0049]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the via connection as taught by Scholz to the resonant coil structure of Sullivan to protect the connection between the conductor layers with the insulating layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Grossman et al. (US PG Pub 20060202907A1) discloses an antenna comprised of multiple conductive coil portion that are electrically coupled and are mutually arranged to provide an electrically resonant structure. Additionally, Masti et al. (US PG Pub 20180047496) discloses a current conductor structure that includes galvanic coupling in the device.
/AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837