Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US Patent No 20200187808).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a wearable electronic device (physiological sensing device 110, [0022]), comprising: a housing (the sensing device 110 may be formed on a flexible or shapable material, [0022], seen as the housing element); an electrode carrier attached to the housing and having a nonplanar surface (wherein the sensing device 110 flexible material is configured to hold and include the multiplicity of sensing electrodes 111, [0022], and by definition if the material is shapeable it is nonplanar); a set of electrodes including electrodes positioned at different locations on the nonplanar surface (see for example figs 3-8 for possible embodiments all showing the electrodes 111 on different locations); a sensor circuit (sensing device 110 creates a sensor circuit with sensor electrodes 111, [0022]); and a switching circuit (switch 960, [0045]) operable to electrically connect a number of different subsets of one or more electrodes in the set of electrodes to the sensor circuit (see fig 9, as well as [0046], explaining how the switch can select certain sensing electrodes creating different sensing subsets 11a-111c).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a processor in communication with the sensor circuit and the switching circuit (see signal processor 123 which is in communication with the sensor device 110 and switch 960, [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to: in a first mode, control the switching circuit to sequentially connect the number of different subsets of the one or more electrodes to the sensor circuit via the switching circuit (see in which multiple different electrode sensing groups are created with the sensing electrodes 111a-111d and their individual sequential response in comparison to the reference electrode 112, in which this is possible through the switch 960 which creates the different sensing groups of the sensing device 110, [0031]); conduct one or more measurements for each of the number of different subsets of the one or more electrodes connected to the sensor circuit; identify, at least partially in response to the one or more measurements for each of the number of different subsets of the one or more electrodes (see in which the sensing electrodes 111a-111d can sense a plurality of physiological signals for different positions corresponding to each sensing group or sensing subset, [0032]), a subset from the number of different subsets of the one or more electrodes for acquiring measurement of a biosignal (see from Yang, [0033], in which the signal processor 120 compares all the physiological signals from the different sensing groups 111a to 111d, in order to obtain the closest or strongest signal to the reference electrode 112 for acquiring a biosignal); in a second mode, control the switching circuit to connect the identified subset of the one or more electrodes to the sensor circuit, the one or more electrodes used for acquiring the measurement of the biosignal; and operate the sensor circuit to obtain the measurement of the biosignal while the identified subset of the one or more electrodes for acquiring the measurement of the biosignal is connected to the sensor circuit (see Yang, [0033], which discloses how once the strongest biosignal or physiological signal is obtained, then in communication with the signal processor 120, that particular sensing group 111a to 111d which the strongest signal came from, is used to automatically serve as the sensing subset for obtaining the continuous signal measurements).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 3, wherein: the number of different subsets includes a first subset of one or more active electrodes (see for example wherein the active sensing electrodes are the 111 electrodes, [0031], see as the first subset), and a second subset of one or more reference electrodes (see reference electrode 112, [0031], seen as the second subset); and an optimized biosignal corresponding to different pairs of an active electrode from the first subset of one or more active electrodes and a reference electrode from the second subset of one or more reference electrodes is generated by applying a respective weight to each active electrode of the first subset and each reference electrode of the second subset (see from Yang, [0033], in which the signal processing device 120 is comparing all of the first electrode sensing subsets 111a to 111d to the reference electrode subset 112, and analyzing how close in value each separate subset comes to the reference subset 112. This closeness value serves as a respective weight when determining which subset pair to use for sensing).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor circuit comprises a set of one or more reference electrodes disposed on an exterior surface of the housing (see [0032] in which the reference electrode 112 is found on the exterior of the flexible material housing as to be pressed against the treatment area).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the electrode carrier includes a flexible circuit substrate; or the electrode carrier includes an in-ear piece (wherein the sensing device 110 flexible material is configured to hold and include the multiplicity of sensing electrodes 111, [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electrode carrier is a wall of the housing (see Yang, in which the electrodes 111 are placed in the flexible material such that they are able to contact the skin on external side of the flexible body, [0022], thereby being found on the external wall of the housing).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more electrodes in the set of electrodes includes at least an active electrode or a reference electrode, the active electrode or the reference electrode disposed on the electrode carrier (see from figs 3-8 which show the active electrodes 111 and the reference electrode 112 disposed in the flexible material of the sensing device 110).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches a wearable electronic device (physiological sensing device 110, [0022]), comprising: a housing (the sensing device 110 may be formed on a flexible or shapable material, [0022], seen as the housing element); a set of active electrodes disposed in different regions of the housing (see for example figs 3-8 for possible embodiments all showing the active sensing electrodes 111 on different locations); a set of reference electrodes disposed in the different regions of the housing (see for example figs 3-8 for possible embodiments all showing the reference electrodes 112 on different locations); and a switching circuit (switch 960, [0045]) configured to: form one or more subsets of active electrodes each comprising at least one active electrode of the set of active electrodes, and form one or more subsets of reference electrodes each comprising at least one reference electrode of the set of reference electrodes (see fig 9, as well as [0046], explaining how the switch can select certain sensing electrodes creating different sensing subsets 11a-111c and how they interact with the subset of reference electrodes 112).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, further comprising: a processor (see signal processor 120 which is in communication with the sensor device 110 and switch 960, [0047]) configured to: identify a subset of the one or more subsets of active electrodes for sensing a biosignal; and identify a subset of the one or more subsets of reference electrodes for sensing the biosignal (see in which multiple different electrode sensing groups are created with the sensing electrodes 111a-111d and their individual sequential response in comparison to the reference electrode 112, as identified by the signal processor 120, [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein identifying the subset of the one or more subsets of active electrodes or the subset of the one or more subsets of reference electrodes comprises: selecting the at least one active electrode of the set of active electrodes based on an analysis of one or more of: impedances between a first electrode of the set of active electrodes and a second electrode of the set of reference electrodes, and physical distances between the first electrode and the second electrode (see from Yang in which the identifying of which active sensing electrodes 111 and reference electrode 112 to use for obtaining a biosignal is decided based on the position of the electrode pair in relation to each other, [0033], thereby teaching the distance between the first and second electrodes).
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein identifying the subset of the one or more subsets of active electrodes comprises: selecting the at least one active electrode of the set of active electrodes based on a contact area with a body of a user for each of the set of active electrodes (see from Yang, [0033], in which the signal processor 120 compares all the physiological signals from the different sensing groups 111a to 111d found on different areas of the body, in order to obtain the closest or strongest signal to the reference electrode 112 for acquiring a biosignal).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: control the switching circuit for acquiring measurements corresponding to the biosignal being sensed using the identified subset of the one or more subsets of active electrodes and the identified subset of the one or more subsets of reference electrodes (see Yang, [0033], which discloses how once the strongest biosignal or physiological signal is obtained, then in communication with the signal processor 120, the switch 960 activates so that particular sensing group 111a to 111d which the strongest signal came from, is used to automatically serve as the sensing subset for obtaining the continuous signal measurements).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein the biosignal is an electrical activity of a brain of a user (wherein the physiological signal provided may be an electroneurogram, [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein the housing comprises a first region and a second region, and the set of active electrodes is disposed in the first region and the set of reference electrodes is disposed in the second region (see for example the figs 3-8, in which the active sensing electrodes 111 are found on the outside of the device 110 and the reference electrode 112 is found on the middle of the device. Thereby creating a first region on the outside edge and a second region on the interior of the device).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein at least one electrode of the set of active electrodes has a ring shape, a circular shape, a dot shape, an oval shape, or a hybrid shape (see from the figs 3-8 in which the sensing electrodes 111 all comprise a circular configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US Patent No 20200187808) in view of Mohammadi (US Patent No 20190297408).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9.
Yang doesn’t teach wherein the wearable electronic device is a wireless earbud device or a wired headphone device.
However, Yang does state that the sensing device 110 may be placed in or around the head of the user, [0022], and the analogous sensing circuit components taught by Mohammadi do teach that signal sensing capabilities can be placed in an earbud device 10, [0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the wearable physiological device taught by Yang, with that of the earbud configuration taught by Mohammadi, as to have physiological sensing capabilities in a compact form which will be used in a daily environment as taught by Mohammadi, [0020].
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 9, wherein an electrode of the set of active electrodes is coupled with another electrode of the set of active electrodes, or an electrode of the set of reference electrodes is electrically coupled with another electrode of the set of reference electrodes, using a set of micro axial cables or a flex (see from Mohammadi in which the active electrodes 42, are all interconnected and formed on a flexible printed circuit 54 or flex, [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches an apparatus configured to measure a biosignal (physiological sensing device 110, [0022]), the apparatus comprising: a first component comprising a set of active electrodes disposed in different regions of a housing of the first component (see for example figs 3-8 for possible embodiments all showing the active sensing electrodes 111 on different locations, seen as the first component); a second component comprising a set of reference electrodes disposed in different regions of a housing of the second component (see for example figs 3-8 for possible embodiments all showing the reference electrodes 112 on different locations, seen as the second component); at least one switching circuit electrically coupled to the set of active electrodes and the set of reference electrodes (see in fig 9, the switch 960 in communication with all of the sensing 111 and reference electrodes 112, [0046]); and at least one processor configured to: form, using the at least one switching circuit, one or more subsets of active electrodes each comprising at least one active electrode of the set of active electrodes, and form, using the at least one switching circuit, one or more subsets of reference electrodes each comprising at least one reference electrode of the set of reference electrodes (see fig 9, as well as [0046], explaining how the switch can select certain sensing electrodes creating different sensing subsets 11a-111c and how they interact with the subset of reference electrodes 112).
Yang does not teach the first component configured to be worn on or in a first ear and a second component configured to be worn on or in a second ear.
However, the analogous sensing circuit components taught by Mohammadi do teach the first component configured to be worn on or in a first ear and a second component configured to be worn on or in a second ear (see from Mohommadi, [0031], in which a first component containing the active electrodes 42 can be placed in one ear, and a second component containing the reference electrode 52 may be placed in a different ear to take measurements between and establish a baseline for signal processing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the wearable physiological device taught by Yang, with that of the earbud configuration taught by Mohammadi containing a first and second component configuration, as to have physiological sensing capabilities in a compact form which will be used in a daily environment to help measure physiological signals as taught by Mohammadi, [0020].
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to, identify a subset of the one or more subsets of active electrodes or a subset of the one or more subsets of reference electrodes based on an analysis of one or more of: impedances between first electrodes of the set of active electrodes and second electrodes of the set of reference electrodes; and the biosignal is an electrical activity of a brain of a user (see from Yang, wherein the physiological signal provided may be an electroneurogram, [0024], in which the processor 120 is configured to determine the active subset so that particular sensing group 111a to 111d which the strongest signal came from, is used to automatically serve as the sensing subset for obtaining the continuous signal measurements, [0033]) .
Conclusion
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/KYLE M. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794