Claim 1-7 are pending.
Claim 1 is amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to section 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the rejection overlooks the specific technical integration recited in the claims, which transforms the alleged abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), and that the claims amount to significantly more than any abstract idea under Step 2B. However, the claims merely recite “a server computer having a memory”, “a mobile device associated with the first responder and connected with the server computer via a network”, “one or more sensors associated with the building”, and “a building identification affixed to or positioned proximate the building”. The claimed hardware components are generic, commercially available computer elements. Thus, the claims do no more than require generic computer elements to perform generic computer functions, rather than improve computer capabilities. See, for example, Appeal 2016-008230, Application 13/085,397. Similarly, each of the method steps of claim 1 is directed to a patent-ineligible abstract idea because such step is either: ( 1) "a fundamental economic practice long prevalent in our system of commerce," Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'!, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2356 (2014); Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2356, or (2) collecting, analyzing, and storing data, see, e.g., Elec. Power Grp. v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("a process of gathering and analyzing information of a specified content, then displaying the results" is "directed to an abstract idea"); Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, National Ass 'n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("collecting data, ... recognizing certain data within the collected data set, and ... storing that recognized data in a memory" is an abstract idea). Nothing in the claims or specification is seen to even "purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself' or "any other technology or technical field." Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2359. Applicant asserts other technological improvements including real time data provision and an augmented display which are not recited in the claims.
Applicant also asserts that the instant claims are analogous to Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016), where claims were eligible because they improved computer functionality (self-referential tables for data storage). Applicant again asserts technological improvements including real time data provision and an augmented display which are not recited in the claims. The whole of the improvement asserted by Applicant is directed to the type of data being shared, not any change in technology. Again, nothing in the claims or specification is seen to even "purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself' or "any other technology or technical field." Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2359. As such, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Applicant also alleges that the combination is unconventional, as evidenced by the lack of such features in the cited art. However, as noted in the art rejections, the additional elements are conventionally arranged and taught by cited art of record. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Section 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection has been updated as necessary to address the amended claims. Applicant argues that Kane teaches away from external placement, emphasizing indoor use near emergency exits or in "easily viewed spot[s]" inside rooms. However, Kane never limits such placement to “inside” or “indoor”. Kane also states, in paragraph [0119], “Since emergency exit information is required in all public buildings, the QR codes could be conveniently placed close to this exit information for easy location.” The “prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs, UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 692, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (“a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.”) (internal quotations omitted) (quoting DePuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009)). As Kane does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage exterior QR codes, Kane does not teach away from the claimed invention as alleged by Applicant. Further, the only limitation of the location in found in Applicant’s arguments, not in the disclosure by Kane.
Applicant asserts that Yohem is non-analogous art, as it concerns real estate sales, not emergency response or sensor-integrated situational awareness. That is incorrect. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). See MPEP § 2141.01(a). Here, Yohem reference is clearly from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, collecting and sharing building information through the use of QR codes. Applicant’s assertion of a requirement that the art be limited to emergency response is obviously incorrect as such a requirement is only part of the intended use recited in the preamble of the claim, not any limitation to the claimed system itself. Such an assertion is also dependent on a self-identification of a human user or human user intent, which is clearly indicative of the underlying abstract idea, not any limitation on the functionality of the claimed system. Applicant’s assertion that on outside QR code would render Kane unsatisfactory for its purpose is simply incorrect and unsupported by the disclosure of Kane.
Finally, Applicant again argues that cited art fails to teach real-time integration and augmented display. Again, such features are simply not in the claims. As such the arguments are not persuasive. In view of the foregoing, the arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1 recites “…receive and store building data about the building, the building data including a building identifier and a floorplan of the building; … sense one or more conditions of the building, …; …; and… receiving the building identifier … to access, based on the building identifier, the building data and the data representing the one or more conditions …. ”. Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “Building data collection and distribution”, which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity, including commercial interactions (including marketing or sales activities or behaviors; or business relations); or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). “Building data collection and distribution” is considered to be is a method of organizing human activity or mental process because the collection of data and displaying or sharing of that data has been regularly held by the courts to be either a regular business activity (e.g. firefighting or providing blueprints for construction) and mental processes (e.g. analyzing and sharing information) that are within the abstract-idea category. The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that similar claims involving organizing, collecting, analyzing, and processing data are directed to abstract concepts. See e.g., Electric Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[W]e have treated analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, as essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category."); In re TLI Communications LLC Patent Litig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims involving "classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner" were directed to abstract concept); Bozeman Financial LLC v. Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, 955 F.3d 971, 978 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (patent claiming a method for "receiving data from two financial records, storing that data, comparing that data, and displaying the results" was directed to abstract concept); Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat. Ass'n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (patent claims relating to "1) collecting data, 2) recognizing certain data within the collected data set, and 3) storing that recognized data in memory" were directed to abstract concept). As the instant claims are directed to similar limitations in the field of “Building data collection and distribution”, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional elements: a server computer having a memory configured to receive and store building data; a mobile device connected with the server computer via a network; one or more sensors associated with the building, the one or more sensors each being configured to transmit data representing the one or more conditions to the server computer for storage with the building data; a building identification affixed to or positioned proximate the building outside of the building, the building identification including a machine-readable code; and a client computer associated with the mobile device and configured to execute a client application, the client application receiving the building identifier from the mobile device to access, data from the server computer for transmission to the mobile device via the network. The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. The recitations of the additional elements amount to merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). "[T]he use of well-known computer components to collect, analyze, and present data . . . does not render these claims any less abstract." Bozeman Fin. LLC v. Fed. Reserve Bank of Atlanta, 955 F.3d 971, 979 (Fed. Cir. 2020). As the components recited in the claims are well-known computer components, the use of those components to perform their known function does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements, individually and in combination, recite are merely being used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. See for example, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The court looked at the character of the claim as a whole, but found the claim directed to the abstract idea of collecting and analyzing data even though the type of data collected was limited to data from an electric power grid. The claim was not patent-eligible, because it also failed to include an inventive concept under step two of the test. Importantly, the court noted that the claims did not relate to a new source or type of information, or a new algorithm for analyzing the information, which implied that such an improvement might have met the requirement of step two. As the additional elements relate to the use of the shelf sensors and a QR code near a building. Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-7 merely further limit the abstract idea and are thereby considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 further limits the abstract idea of “Building data collection and distribution” by introducing the element of one or more sensors include one or more of a temperature sensor, an air quality sensor, a smoke sensor, a humidity sensor, and a moisture sensor, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 2 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 3 further limits the abstract idea of “Building data collection and distribution” by introducing the element of the client application is further configured to receive user credentials from the first responder, and to authenticate the first responder to enable the access to the building data and the situational awareness data from the server computer, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 3 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 4 further limits the abstract idea of “Building data collection and distribution” by introducing the element of the communications network includes a secure wireless broadband link, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 4 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 5 further limits the abstract idea of “Building data collection and distribution” by introducing the element of the machine-readable code includes a barcode, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 5 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 6 further limits the abstract idea of “Building data collection and distribution” by introducing the element of the barcode is a two- dimensional matrix barcode. , which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 6 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claim 7 further limits the abstract idea of “Building data collection and distribution” by introducing the element of the building data includes a floorplan of the building, which does not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, dependent claim 7 is also non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-7 also do not integrated into a practical application. The dependent claims recite no new additional elements, other than narrowing the additional element already recited such as defining the type of senor and defining the communications network to be a secure wireless broadband link. As such, the recitations of additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application, but rather, the recitation of any recitations of additional elements amounts to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The dependent claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a computing system is merely being used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. That is, the claims provide no practical limits or improvements to any technology. Accordingly, dependent claims 2-7 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0119424 to Kane et al. in view of “Picor introduces QR codes to market commercial real estate” by Roger Yohem (retrieved from https://www.picor.com/picor-introduces-qr-codes-market-commercial-real-estate/).
With regards to claim 1, Kane et al. teaches
a server computer (paragraph [0053], “Like the STING system 11, the SWARM system 10 is based on a distributed software architecture comprising an administrative function, an information management function and an incident management function which are all server based applications and displayed on internet browser capable devices connected to the server.”) having a memory configured to receive and store building data about the building (paragraph [0060], “The database 24 stores all of the pertinent system and user data that the various applications would use from time to time in operation of the system. Information in the database 24 is accessible to the clients through the server 14 utilizing the SWARM Services software 20 in order to access and share information between and amongst users 18.”), the building data including a building identifier and a floorplan of the building (paragraph [0130], “Another embodiment of the system is to look at individual or overlaid floor plans corresponding to multiple floors. Users who are responding personnel (e.g., school security 18-4) show up with their transportation state and call sign on the icon, and users (e.g., school faculty members 18-2 or students 18-3) who have activated an alarm show up as a hazard icon with an exclamation point.”);
a mobile device associated with the first responder (paragraph [0014], “Availability of information, which includes location, environmental data and multiple individual reports about an emergency situation, can result in rapid communication to, for example, first responders, within a very low cost deployment model.”) and connected with the server computer via a network (paragraph [0076], “The systems configuration enables the second system (e.g., the STING system 11) to receive and display, for viewing on mobile clients by first responders, important information about persons associated with the first organization (e.g., specific students in a public school system) based on predetermined criteria or a decision made by a person in the first organization.”), the mobile device running a scanning application (paragraph [0119], “As another physical placement option, a very large QR code could be placed in an easily viewed spot that could be quickly scanned by the user 18 with the SWARM Alarm application 13 from any location in the room. Creation of QR codes is extremely inexpensive and the codes are easy to scale to add more locations or update as necessary.”);
one or more sensors associated with the building (paragraph [0017], “Generally, systems according to the invention may make use of embedded phone sensors (e.g., for temperature, altitude, and audio) and data from external sources (e.g., emergency weather reports) to automatically initiate an alert, or augment a manual alert, sent to members of one or more responding groups about life threatening incidents occurring in the presence of one or more persons”), each of the one or more sensors configured to sense one or more conditions of the building to generate situational awareness data (paragraph [0114], “Common sensors include microphones, video recorders, accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, barometers, light sensors and RF detectors. One embodiment incorporates gunshot detection capability, such as described in the '273 Patent “System and Method for Detecting and Analyzing Near Range Weapon Fire,” in which situation a gunshot detected by smartphone sensors results in an automated alarm signal 17.”), the one or more sensors each being configured to transmit data representing the one or more conditions to the server computer for storage with the building data (paragraph [0145], “Integration of the SWARM Mobile application 15 with the server-based Information Manager application 30 enables the users 18 to quickly collect and share information and quickly view information shared by other users. The information can be collected as a combination of text and photographs (referred to as photo notes) which are created using the text note button 110 and the photograph capture button 112 on the home page screen 52. Further, the server-based SWARM Information manager application 30 enables capture and integration into the SWARM system 10 of audio, video, accelerometer and other sensor data, also subject to constraints imposed to control storage and access to the application data.”);
a building identification affixed to or positioned proximate the building … (paragraph [0119], “Providing QR codes as an alternative to acquiring precision location information of school personnel on a real time basis. The codes can be utilized to store precise latitude and longitude information as well as other useful location information, e.g., room number, room name and floor number. Common QR code readers are available as open source software modules and can easily be embedded in the SWARM Alarm application 13. FIG. 9B illustrates a QR code reader screen 37 which allows the user 18 to take a picture of the QR code utilizing the SWARM alarm application 13 and immediately determine the precise location of the user 18. The position data then updated with the application 13 and the information is uploaded by the SWARM system 10 for use by responding personnel to assist with an emergency response.”), the building identification including a machine-readable code that represents the building identifier (paragraph [0119], “QR codes with this embedded location information can be placed in all rooms and key locations within any facility using the SWARM system 10. Since emergency exit information is required in all public buildings, the QR codes could be conveniently placed close to this exit information for easy location. As another physical placement option, a very large QR code could be placed in an easily viewed spot that could be quickly scanned by the user 18 with the SWARM Alarm application 13 from any location in the room.”), the machine-readable code being readable by the scanning application running on the mobile device to determine the building identifier (paragraph [0119], “Common QR code readers are available as open source software modules and can easily be embedded in the SWARM Alarm application 13. FIG. 9B illustrates a QR code reader screen 37 which allows the user 18 to take a picture of the QR code utilizing the SWARM alarm application 13 and immediately determine the precise location of the user 18.”); and
a client computer associated with the mobile device and configured to execute a client application (paragraph [0054], “The SWARM system 10 also comprises multiple applications which may run exclusively on clients logged into the server to provide distributed processing on a local level. This enhances performance for mobile users in particular. Exemplary client-based applications discussed herein are the SWARM Alarm application 13 and the SWARM Mobile application 15.”), the , the client application receiving the building identifier from the mobile device to access, based on the building identifier, the building data and the data representing the one or more conditions from the server computer for transmission to the mobile device via the network (paragraph [0012], “The systems also enable acquisition and display of proximity and directional awareness (e.g., locations within a building or a stadium, or distances and directions relative to other personnel) and provide rapid awareness of critical events such as the occurrence of a threat in a classroom.”; paragraph [0017], “Generally, systems according to the invention may make use of embedded phone sensors (e.g., for temperature, altitude, and audio) and data from external sources (e.g., emergency weather reports) to automatically initiate an alert, or augment a manual alert, sent to members of one or more responding groups about life threatening incidents occurring in the presence of one or more persons.”), but fails to explicitly teach a building identification affixed to or positioned proximate the building outside the building.
However Yohem teaches a building identification affixed to or positioned proximate the building outside the building (“At about 70 different buildings, QR codes have been posted on windows and entryways so interested parties can quickly access details about the property on demand.”, “can scan the QR codes and access the floor plans, fact sheets, sales literature, lease rates and other details about the property”).
This part of Yohem is applicable to the system of Kane et al. as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to building information systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the building information management and distribution system as disclosed by Kane et al. to include the exterior code locations as taught by Yohem. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kane et al. in order to provide info on demand, they can get it right there while they stand in front of the building, (see Yohem).
With regards to claims 2, Kane et al. teaches the one or more sensors include one or more of a temperature sensor, an air quality sensor, a smoke sensor, a humidity sensor, and a moisture sensor (paragraph [0015], “The information includes precise details of an event (e.g., location, visual/audio reports, sensor information such as temperature) and information as to which persons are in peril.”).
With regards to claims 3, Kane et al. teaches the client application is further configured to receive user credentials from the first responder, and to authenticate the first responder to enable the access to the building data and the situational awareness data from the server computer (paragraph [0071], “In order to improve security using this particular mobile device sharing technique, an option can be provided to authenticate the user upon first use of the mobile device. The SWARM System Administration application 26 can provide this function and the smart phones can also be deactivated from a particular user upon completion of an operation using the phone. For example, should a member of the organization purchase a new smart phone and redeploy any of the SWARM mobile applications 13 and 15, the SWARM server 14 will recognize the new phone and ask the user 18 to re-authenticate on the new device. If user authentication occurs on the new smart phone, the older device can be automatically deactivated by the SWARM System Administration application 26.”).
With regards to claims 4, Kane et al. teaches the communications network includes a secure wireless broadband link (paragraph [0058], “Each client 12 is linked to a server 14 in a network 16 comprising a rf communications tower 16 a and wireless data links 22.”).
With regards to claims 5, Kane et al. teaches the machine-readable code includes a barcode (paragraph [0119], “III. Providing QR codes as an alternative to acquiring precision location information of school personnel on a real time basis. The codes can be utilized to store precise latitude and longitude information as well as other useful location information, e.g., room number, room name and floor number. Common QR code readers are available as open source software modules and can easily be embedded in the SWARM Alarm application 13.”).
With regards to claims 6, Kane et al. teaches the barcode is a two-dimensional matrix barcode(paragraph [0119], “III. Providing QR codes as an alternative to acquiring precision location information of school personnel on a real time basis. The codes can be utilized to store precise latitude and longitude information as well as other useful location information, e.g., room number, room name and floor number. Common QR code readers are available as open source software modules and can easily be embedded in the SWARM Alarm application 13.”).
With regards to claims 7, Kane et al. teaches the building data includes a floorplan of the building (paragraph [0117], “I. Providing an electronic floor plan, blueprint or similar school building diagram on a mobile client screen which enables the user 18 to place an icon on the diagram on the mobile client device 12 to notate current location. The diagram is provided to responding personnel via the network to facilitate locating the user.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230047608 to Trösch discusses a building communication system for a building, a server device is provided which has a processor device and a storage device connected thereto, the storage device storing data sets in which display information for visitors is provided. An optical code is provided on the building, which optical code can be read by a mobile device of a visitor. In order to contact a resident of the building, the visitor scans the optical code with a mobile device.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130141587 to Petricoin, Jr. discusses a building security system includes means for detecting human motion. An imaging device scans for a visible code in response to the detection of human motion by the detecting means. A security device deciphers the scanned code, determines an authorization level associated with the deciphered code, and provides the human with a level of access to the building commensurate with the authorization level.
U.S. Patent No. 11671431 to Walker et al. discusses an emergency response system and property reporting system provide a unique property identifier accessible at a property outside of a building or other structure. A user scans the property identifier with a mobile computing device to identify the property. The mobile computing device transmits the property ID and user authentication data to the server to authenticate and authorize the user. The server provides the user with the requested property data if the server authorizes the access by the user. The server also notifies a property contact that a user has scanned the property identifier of the property.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626