DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the recitation of what the element B is not defined, while the meaning of W is recited with two different equivalents in claim 18. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for their dependency from claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11626235 B2].
Regarding claim 18, Kawamura discloses a magnetic device (e.g., component 100, column 3, lines 54-56, Fig. 1A-1D), comprising:
a body (e.g., 10, constituted by magnetic bodies 12, 14, column 3, lines 58-63, Fig. 1A); and
a conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40, column 4, lines 33-35), wherein the conductive wire comprises a coil (e.g., 40) and a first terminal part (e.g., 44b, column 4, lines 43-61, Fig. 2C), wherein the coil 40 is disposed in the body 10, wherein the first terminal part comprises a first portion (e.g., 46b, Fig. 2C) of a metal wire that is exposed from a bottom surface (e.g., 22, Fig. 2C) of the body 10,
a first electrode (e.g., 70b), disposed on the bottom surface 22 of the body 10 and electrically connected to the first terminal part 44b.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the width of the first portion of the metal wire is W and the thickness of the first portion of the metal wire is T, wherein a height from a bottom surface of the coil to a bottom surface of the body is D, and an inner diameter of the coil made of metal is r;
wherein the width of the first electrode is W and the length of the first electrode is L, wherein B x T>W x L x 5%, and r/2 ≥ 2 x B.
However, Kawamura discloses the top face 20 of body part 10 has a length per side of 3.8 mm. The bottom face 22 has a length per side of 4.1 mm, while the height is about 3.0 mm (column 4, lines 16-29). Electrode 70b has a thickness of about 0.2 mm.
Therefore, Kawamura will have the relationship, wherein B x T>W x L x 5%, and r/2 ≥ 2 x B, through proportional dimensioning of the coil parts and terminals as required. Assuming that B will be the width dimension of the first portion of the metal wire of coil 40 and W is the width of the first electrode 70b.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the relationship, wherein B x T>W x L x 5%, and r/2 ≥ 2 x B to provide the magnetic device with proper structural coil and terminal electrode dimension to achieve the desired inductance and reliable insulation in relation to the outer compact size of the magnetic device.
Regarding claim 19, Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein B x T > W x L x 30%, r/2 ≥ 2 x B, and D >1.5 x T.
However, Kawamura discloses the top face 20 of body part 10 has a length per side of 3.8 mm. The bottom face 22 has a length per side of 4.1 mm, while the height is about 3.0 mm (column 4, lines 16-29). Electrode 70b has a thickness of about 0.2 mm.
Therefore, Kawamura will have the relationship, wherein B x T > W x L x 30%, r/2 ≥ 2 x B, and D >1.5 x T, through proportional dimensioning of the coil parts and terminals as required. Assuming that B will be the width dimension of the first portion of the metal wire of coil 40 and W is the width of the first electrode 70b.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the relationship, wherein B x T > W x L x 30%, r/2 ≥ 2 x B, and D >1.5 x T to provide the magnetic device with proper structural coil and terminal electrode dimension to achieve the desired inductance and reliable insulation in relation to the outer compact size of the magnetic device.
Regarding claim 20, Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein B x T >W x Lx 50%, r/2 ≥ 2 x B, and D >1.5 x T.
However, Kawamura discloses the top face 20 of body part 10 has a length per side of 3.8 mm. The bottom face 22 has a length per side of 4.1 mm, while the height is about 3.0 mm (column 4, lines 16-29). Electrode 70b has a thickness of about 0.2 mm.
Therefore, Kawamura will have the relationship, wherein B x T > W x L x 50%, r/2 ≥ 2 x B, and D >1.5 x T, through proportional dimensioning of the coil parts and terminals as required. Assuming that B will be the width dimension of the first portion of the metal wire of coil 40 and W is the width of the first electrode 70b.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the relationship, wherein B x T > W x L x 50%, r/2 ≥ 2 x B, and D >1.5 x T to provide the magnetic device with proper structural coil and terminal electrode dimension to achieve the desired inductance and reliable insulation in relation to the outer compact size of the magnetic device.
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11626235 B2] in view of Tonogai et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11676755 B2].
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura discloses a magnetic device (e.g., component 100, column 3, lines 54-56, Fig. 1A-1D), comprising:
a body (e.g., 10, constituted by magnetic bodies 12, 14, column 3, lines 58-63, Fig. 1A); and
an insulated conductive wire (e.g., insulated wire of coil 40, column 4, lines 33-35), comprising a metal wire and an insulating layer encapsulating the metal wire (column 4, lines 29-40), wherein the insulated conductive wire comprises a first terminal part (e.g., 44b, column 4, lines 43-61, Fig. 2C) and at least one winding turn to form a coil (e.g., wound coil 40), wherein the at least one winding turn of the coil 40 is disposed in the body 10, wherein the first terminal part 44b of the insulated conductive wire comprises a first portion (e.g., 46b, column 4, lines 50-51, Fig. 2C) and a second portion (e.g., 48b, column 5, lines 8-10, Fig. 2C) with the second portion of the first terminal part being extending from the at least one winding turn of the coil 40 to an endpoint of the first portion (e.g., end point of 46b connected to 48b, see Fig. 2C) of the first terminal part 44b, wherein the first portion 46b of the first terminal part 44b comprises a first portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom portion of 46b, see Fig. 2C), wherein an outer surface of the first portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom portion of 46b) is exposed from the insulating layer (e.g., wire sheath) and the body 10 for forming a first electrode, wherein the second portion 48b of the first terminal part 44b comprises a second portion of the metal wire (e.g., portion of wire 48b from bottom turn of coil 40 extending to connect to first portion 46b), wherein the second portion 48b of the first terminal part 44b is disposed in the body 100.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for an outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses an outer surface (e.g., A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31 of coil 30, column 4, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the second portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom surface of 46b) and a bottom surface (e.g., 22) of the body 10 are substantially coplanar with a distance between the outer surface of the first portion of the metal wire (e.g., 46b) and the bottom surface 22 of the body 10 being less than 10µm (e.g., bottom surface of 46b angled by 10 degrees with respect to bottom face 22, column 5, lines 1-3, therefore, distance between them has less than 10µm).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura discloses wherein the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., 48b) being exposed from the insulated conductive wire (discussed in claim 1) has a convex curve (see Fig. 2C) relative to a vertical line passing through the endpoint of the first portion of the first terminal part 46b.
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura discloses wherein the magnetic device 100 is an inductor, wherein the body 10 comprises a magnetic body (e.g., magnetic body 12, 14), wherein the coil 40 is disposed in the magnetic body (column 3, lines 53-55).
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura discloses wherein (the) first electrode of the magnetic device 100 comprises a first metal layer (e.g., 70b, column 5, lines 39-67, Fig. 3A-3B) disposed on a bottom surface 22 of the body 10 and electrically connected to the first terminal part 44b of the conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40).
Regarding claim 6, Kawamura discloses wherein the first metal layer 70b is formed by electroplating (column 5, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion 48b of the metal wire is in contact with the body 10 (column 5, lines 37-38).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura discloses wherein the insulated conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40) is a flat wire (column 4, lines 38-40).
Regarding claim 9, Kawamura discloses wherein the conductive wire is a round wire (column 4, lines 40-41).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion 48b of the metal wire comprises a bottom surface of the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom surface of 48b as seen in Fig. 2C) extending from the bottom surface of the first portion 46b of the metal wire, wherein the bottom surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer (e.g., bottom surface of 48b at same level as the bottom surface of first portion 46b near endpoint portion of 46b exposed from the insulating layer for attachment to metal layer 70b).
Regarding claim 11, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion 48b of the metal wire comprises a bottom surface (e.g., bottom surface of 48b as seen in Fig. 2C) and a lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., side surface of 48b as seen in Fig. 2C), wherein the bottom surface of the second portion of the metal wire are exposed from the insulating layer (e.g., bottom surface of 48b at same level as the bottom surface of first portion 46b near endpoint portion of 46b exposed from the insulating layer for attachment to metal layer 70b).
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses lateral surface (e.g., lateral surface A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31, column, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the second portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., outer surface of second portion 48b) comprises a first lateral surface (e.g., side surface of 48b as shown in Fig. 2C) and a second lateral surface (e.g., other side surface of 48b which is opposite side of first lateral surface, Fig. 2C for reference) of the second portion 48b of the metal wire.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire are exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses lateral surfaces (e.g., lateral surfaces A2 on both sides of wire 31, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31, column, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lateral surfaces of the second portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the second portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Kawamura discloses wherein a second terminal part (e.g., 44a, column 4, lines 29-45, Fig. 2A) of the conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40) comprises a first portion (e.g., 46a) and a second portion (e.g., 48a) with the second portion of the second terminal part being extending from the at least one winding turn of the coil 40 (see Fig. 2A) to an endpoint of the first portion (e.g., end of 46a connected to 48a) of the second terminal part, wherein the first portion 46a of the second terminal part 44a comprises a third portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom portion of 46a contacting 70a), wherein an outer surface of the third portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer for forming a second electrode of the magnetic device, wherein the second portion 48a of the second terminal part 44a comprises a fourth portion of the metal wire (e.g., portion of 48a extending from top turn of coil 40 connecting to 46a), wherein the second portion 48a of the second terminal part 44a is disposed in the body 10.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for an outer surface of the fourth portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses an outer surface (e.g., A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a fourth portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 32 of coil 30, column 4, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an outer surface of the fourth portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the fourth portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Kawamura discloses wherein the second portion 48a of the second terminal part 44a comprises an outer surface that has a convex curve (see Fig. 2A) relative to a vertical line passing through the endpoint of the first portion (e.g., end of 46a that connects with 48a) of the second terminal part 44a.
Claim 15 is rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of claim 1 which is rejected above.
Claim 16 is rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of claim 4 which is rejected above.
Claim 17 is rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of claim 2 which is rejected above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892.
/J.S.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837