DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11626235 B2] in view of Tonogai et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11676755 B2].
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura discloses a magnetic device (e.g., component 100, column 3, lines 54-56, Fig. 1A-1D), comprising:
a body (e.g., 10, constituted by magnetic bodies 12, 14, column 3, lines 58-63, Fig. 1A); and
an insulated conductive wire (e.g., insulated wire of coil 40, column 4, lines 33-35), comprising a metal wire and an insulating layer encapsulating the metal wire (column 4, lines 29-40), wherein the insulated conductive wire comprises a first terminal part (e.g., 44b, column 4, lines 43-61, Fig. 2C) and at least one winding turn to form a coil (e.g., wound coil 40), wherein the at least one winding turn of the coil 40 is disposed in the body 10, wherein the first terminal part 44b of the insulated conductive wire comprises a first portion (e.g., 46b, column 4, lines 50-51, Fig. 2C) and a second portion (e.g., 48b, column 5, lines 8-10, Fig. 2C) with the second portion of the first terminal part being extending from the at least one winding turn of the coil 40 to an endpoint of the first portion (e.g., end point of 46b connected to 48b, see Fig. 2C) of the first terminal part 44b, wherein the first portion 46b of the first terminal part 44b comprises a first portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom portion of 46b, see Fig. 2C), wherein an outer surface of the first portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom portion of 46b) is exposed from the insulating layer (e.g., wire sheath) and the body 10 for forming a first electrode, wherein the second portion 48b of the first terminal part 44b comprises a second portion of the metal wire (e.g., portion of wire 48b from bottom turn of coil 40 extending to connect to first portion 46b), wherein the second portion 48b of the first terminal part 44b is disposed in the body 100.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for an outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses an outer surface (e.g., A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31 of coil 30, column 4, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the second portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura discloses wherein a bottom surface of the first portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom surface of 46b) and a bottom surface (e.g., 22) of the body 10 are substantially coplanar with a distance between the outer surface of the first portion of the metal wire (e.g., 46b) and the bottom surface 22 of the body 10 being less than 10µm (e.g., bottom surface of 46b angled by 10 degrees with respect to bottom face 22, column 5, lines 1-3, therefore, distance between them has less than 10µm).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura discloses wherein the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., 48b) being exposed from the insulated conductive wire (discussed in claim 1) has a convex curve (see Fig. 2C) relative to a vertical line passing through the endpoint of the first portion of the first terminal part 46b.
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura discloses wherein the magnetic device 100 is an inductor, wherein the body 10 comprises a magnetic body (e.g., magnetic body 12, 14), wherein the coil 40 is disposed in the magnetic body (column 3, lines 53-55).
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura discloses wherein (the) first electrode of the magnetic device 100 comprises a first metal layer (e.g., 70b, column 5, lines 39-67, Fig. 3A-3B) disposed on a bottom surface 22 of the body 10 and electrically connected to the first terminal part 44b of the conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40).
Regarding claim 6, Kawamura discloses wherein the first metal layer 70b is formed by electroplating (column 5, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion 48b of the metal wire is in contact with the body 10 (column 5, lines 37-38).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura discloses wherein the insulated conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40) is a flat wire (column 4, lines 38-40).
Regarding claim 9, Kawamura discloses wherein the conductive wire is a round wire (column 4, lines 40-41).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion 48b of the metal wire comprises a bottom surface of the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom surface of 48b as seen in Fig. 2C) extending from the bottom surface of the first portion 46b of the metal wire, wherein the bottom surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer (e.g., bottom surface of 48b at same level as the bottom surface of first portion 46b near endpoint portion of 46b exposed from the insulating layer for attachment to metal layer 70b).
Regarding claim 11, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion 48b of the metal wire comprises a bottom surface (e.g., bottom surface of 48b as seen in Fig. 2C) and a lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., side surface of 48b as seen in Fig. 2C), wherein the bottom surface of the second portion of the metal wire are exposed from the insulating layer (e.g., bottom surface of 48b at same level as the bottom surface of first portion 46b near endpoint portion of 46b exposed from the insulating layer for attachment to metal layer 70b).
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for the lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses lateral surface (e.g., lateral surface A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31, column, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the second portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Kawamura discloses wherein the outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire (e.g., outer surface of second portion 48b) comprises a first lateral surface (e.g., side surface of 48b as shown in Fig. 2C) and a second lateral surface (e.g., other side surface of 48b which is opposite side of first lateral surface, Fig. 2C for reference) of the second portion 48b of the metal wire.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface of the second portion of the metal wire are exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses lateral surfaces (e.g., lateral surfaces A2 on both sides of wire 31, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31, column, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lateral surfaces of the second portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the second portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Kawamura discloses wherein a second terminal part (e.g., 44a, column 4, lines 29-45, Fig. 2A) of the conductive wire (e.g., wire of coil 40) comprises a first portion (e.g., 46a) and a second portion (e.g., 48a) with the second portion of the second terminal part being extending from the at least one winding turn of the coil 40 (see Fig. 2A) to an endpoint of the first portion (e.g., end of 46a connected to 48a) of the second terminal part, wherein the first portion 46a of the second terminal part 44a comprises a third portion of the metal wire (e.g., bottom portion of 46a contacting 70a), wherein an outer surface of the third portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer for forming a second electrode of the magnetic device, wherein the second portion 48a of the second terminal part 44a comprises a fourth portion of the metal wire (e.g., portion of 48a extending from top turn of coil 40 connecting to 46a), wherein the second portion 48a of the second terminal part 44a is disposed in the body 10.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for an outer surface of the fourth portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses an outer surface (e.g., A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a fourth portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 32 of coil 30, column 4, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an outer surface of the fourth portion of the metal wire exposed from the insulating layer as taught by Tonogai to the fourth portion of the first terminal part of Kawamura to provide the end wire of the coil with substantial area for making contact with the external terminal to ensure electrical connection reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Kawamura discloses wherein the second portion 48a of the second terminal part 44a comprises an outer surface that has a convex curve (see Fig. 2A) relative to a vertical line passing through the endpoint of the first portion (e.g., end of 46a that connects with 48a) of the second terminal part 44a.
Claim 15 is rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of claim 1 which is rejected above.
Claim 16 is rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of claim 4 which is rejected above.
Claim 17 is rejected for reciting methods/steps derived from the structure of claim 2 which is rejected above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Reason for allowable subject matter:
Claim 18 recites, inter alia,
a coil first terminal comprises a first portion of coil metal wire exposed from a bottom surface of coil body, wherein the width of the first portion of the metal wire is B and the thickness of the first portion of the metal wire is T, wherein height from bottom surface of the coil to bottom surface of the body is D, and inner diameter of the coil made of metal is r;
a first electrode, disposed on the bottom surface of the body and electrically connected to the first terminal, wherein the width of the first electrode is W and the length of the first electrode is L, wherein B x T > W x L x 5%, and r/2 ≥ 2xB.
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitation, would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the "second portion of the first terminal part" of claim 1 of the present application is defined as "being extending from the at least one winding turn of the coil to an endpoint of the first portion of the first terminal part," and being "disposed in the body." According to Applicant, the secondary reference Tonogai does not teach that element.
According to the Applicant, FIG. 4 (reproduced above with an inset), Tonogai discloses that the end 31 of coil conductor 30 contacts the terminal electrode 21 along the y direction, a bent portion (as annotated in a square) of the end 31 of coil conductor 30 is embedded within the magnetic element body 12, and remains entirely covered by the insulating coating 33. Thus, Tonogai fails to disclose an embedded (disposed in the magnetic body 12) portion of the coil 30 that has an outer surface exposed from insulating layer.
The Examiner disagrees. The second portion of the first metal wire of Tonogai is not properly represented in Figure 4 with an inset as reproduced by the Applicant as shown above (see Fig. of Tonogai reproduced by the Applicant).
The primary reference Kawamura discloses a second portion 48b of the first terminal part 44b comprises a second portion of the metal wire. That is, the portion of wire 48b from bottom turn of coil 40 extends to connect to end point of first portion 46b of first terminal 44b. The second portion 48b of the first terminal part 44b is disposed in body 100 as well. See annotated Fig. 2C below.
Kawamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for an outer surface of the second portion of the metal wire is exposed from the insulating layer.
Tonogai discloses an outer surface (e.g., A2, column 4, lines 41-48, Fig. 5) of a second portion of metal wire (e.g., bent portion of end wire 31 of coil 30, column 4, lines 25-35) is exposed from an insulating layer (e.g., 33). See annotated Figures 4 and 5 below.
An enlarged cross-sectional view of the wire 31 as shown in annotated Fig. 5 of Tonogai below, shows portion A2 is an exposed surface of wire 31 from insulating layer 33 (see column 4, lines 32-45) just above external electrode 21.
Referring back to Fig. 4 above of the Examiner, pointing out where the bent portion has the outer surface of the second portion being exposed from insulating layer 33.
The reproduced Fig. 4 of Tonogai by the Applicant, includes an inset where the outer surface of the second portion being exposed from insulating layer 33 is not included. Therefore, not a representation of the Examiner’s claim rejection.
The Applicant further argue that, referring to FIG. 6, Tonogai discloses fabrication steps of the coil component 1. According to the Applicant, in the process of Tonogai, since the bent portion of the end 31 of coil conductor 30 is already situated inside the magnetic element body 12 rather than being exposed externally, it is physically impossible to use a laser to strip the insulating coating 33 from the bent portion of the end 31 of coil conductor 30 that has already been encapsulated within the magnetic element body 12.
The Examiner disagrees. Figure 6 flow chart does not detail the process in the manufacture of the embedded coil. A short description of the process is disclosed in the specification of the prior art Tonogai. In column 2, lines 45-59, discloses: a first step of embedding a coil conductor in a magnetic element body such that an end portion of the coil conductor is exposed from the magnetic body element; a third step of partially peeling the resin coating by laser beam irradiation until the end portion of the coil conductor is exposed.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11626235 B2] in view of Tonogai et al. [U.S. Patent No. 11676755 B2] stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837