DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Remarks
Claims 1 and 20 are amended.
Claim 13 is cancelled.
Claims 58-68 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 1-12 and 14-68 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15-16, 19-22, 36-37, 39-40, 52-53, and 55-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1).
Regarding claim 1, KIRSCHNING teaches a solar panel mount for electrically connecting an installed solar panel (see the see the holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12 for electrically connecting an installed photovoltaic module 3; see Figs. 1-9), the solar panel mount comprising:
a frame (see the holding element 1 & holding part 11) comprising a first support structure (see the holding element 1) comprising a retaining channel operable to receive and retain a first side of the solar panel (see the retaining channel which receive and retain the top side of the photovoltaic module 3), a second support structure (see the holding part 11) operable to receive and retain a second side of the solar panel (The holding part 11 has a capability of this function), and a panel rest (see the supporting structure 12) extending between the first and second support structures (see Fig. 5), the frame being operable to receive and support the solar panel in an installed position (The holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5);
an auto-connecting electrical contact system (see the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6, which provides auto electrical connection) comprising a mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) supported by the frame (see Fig. 5),
wherein the frame is configured to be supported about an installation surface (see the supporting structure 12) (see Fig. 5), and
wherein the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) is operable to electrically connect with a corresponding panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) of the solar panel in the installed position (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system is configured to facilitate multi-axis alignment of the mount electrical contact with the plug electrical contact (The connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6 has this function) (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches a conductive pathway (see the electric wire between the connecting element 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the mount electrical contact to an electrical power system (see the cable harness 10), thereby facilitating connection of the solar panel to the electrical power system (see Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 19, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) comprises an outer contact surface having one of a recess, flush or a protruding configuration (see the outer contact surface having a protruding configuration in the connecting element 6, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system comprises a mounting assembly (see the mounting assembly of the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6) operable to couple the mount electrical contact to one of the first or second support structure (The mounting assembly of the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6 has this function; see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 21, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches a solar panel mount system (see the solar panel mount system in Fig. 1) comprising the solar panel mount of claim 1 (see the see the holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12) (see the rejection of claim 1), and the solar panel supported in an installed position within the solar panel mount (The photovoltaic module 3 is supported in an installed position within the holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12; see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 22, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 21.
KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system (see the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6, which provides auto electrical connection) further comprises the panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) coupled to the solar panel (see Fig. 5), and wherein the panel electrical contact is electrically connected with the mount electrical contact (see the rejection of claim 1 and 21, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 36, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 21.
KIRSCHNING teaches an electrical power system comprising at least one of an electrical power grid, a battery, or a device powered by electricity (see the cable harness 10); and an conductive pathway (see the electric wire between the connecting element 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the mount electrical contact to the electrical power system (see Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 37, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 22.
KIRSCHNING teaches a conductive pathway (see the electric wire between the connecting element 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the panel electrical contact to a photovoltaic cell of the solar panel (see Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 39, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 22.
KIRSCHNING teaches one of the panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7, which comprises a recess) or the mount electrical contact comprises a recess and the other of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6, which comprises a protrusion shaped to engage with the recess) comprises a protrusion shaped to engage with the recess (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 40, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 22.
KIRSCHNING teaches a second panel electrical contact coupled to the solar panel; and a second mount electrical contact coupled to the solar panel mount, wherein the second panel electrical contact is electrically connected with the second mount electrical contact (see Figs. 1-9; One of the multiple connecting elements 7 corresponds to the claimed “a panel electrical contact”, another one of the multiple connecting elements 7 corresponds to the claimed “a second panel electrical contact”; One of the multiple connecting elements 6 corresponds to the claimed “a mount electrical contact”, another one of the multiple connecting elements 6 corresponds to the claimed “a second mount electrical contact”) (see Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 52, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 40.
KIRSCHNING teaches an electrical power system comprising at least one of an electrical power grid, a battery, or a device powered by electricity (see the cable harness 10); and a first conductive pathway (see the first electric wire between one of the multiple connecting elements 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the mount electrical contact to the electrical power system and a second conductive pathway (see second electric wire between another one of the multiple connecting elements 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the second mount electrical contact to the electrical power system (see the rejection of claim 40 and Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 53, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 40.
KIRSCHNING teaches a first conductive pathway (see the first electric wire between one of the multiple connecting elements 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the panel electrical contact to a photovoltaic cell of the solar panel (The photovoltaic module 3 necessarily has a photovoltaic cell) and a second conductive pathway (see second electric wire between another one of the multiple connecting elements 6 and the cable harness 10) electrically connecting the second panel electrical contact to the photovoltaic cell of the solar panel (The photovoltaic module 3 necessarily has a photovoltaic cell) (see the rejection of claims 40, 52 and Figs. 1-9) (see Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 55, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 40.
KIRSCHNING teaches one of the panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7, which comprises a recess) or the mount electrical contact comprises a recess and the other of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6, which comprises a protrusion shaped to engage with the recess) comprises a protrusion shaped to engage with the recess (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 56, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 40.
KIRSCHNING teaches one of the second panel electrical contact (see another one of the multiple connecting elements 7, which comprise a recess) or the second mount electrical contact comprises a recess and the other of the second panel electrical contact or the second mount electrical contact (see another one of the multiple connecting elements 6, which comprises a protrusion shaped to engage with the recess) comprises a protrusion shaped to engage with the recess (see the rejection of claims 40, 52 and Figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 57, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises: a plurality of panel electrical contacts (see the multiple connecting elements 7) coupled to the solar panel (see Figs. 1-7); and a plurality of mount electrical contacts (see the multiple connecting elements 6) coupled to the solar panel mount (see Figs. 1-7)), wherein the plurality of panel electrical contacts are each electrically connected with one of the plurality of mount electrical contacts (see Figs. 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of HANOKA (US 20080149170 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, and wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connector & the female connector as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the male housing) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the single electrical conductor pin) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises a surface configuration having a receptacle interface (The male housing comprises a surface configuration having a receptacle interface of the female connector) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the housing of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and biased to return to an undeformed state (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug is operable to form a seal with a housing of a connected receptacle (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function; see the rejection of claim 2 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Claims 2-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of SOS Engineering Inc. (11 Advantages of Spring Loaded Contacts).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, and wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, SOS Engineering Inc. discloses spring loaded contacts (see the fourth contact from the left in the picture), wherein the spring loaded contacts provide advantages of misalignment accommodation, consistent contact, high vibration tolerance. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the spring loaded contacts (the fourth contact from the left in the picture) in the device of KIRSCHNING as taught by SOS Engineering Inc., because the spring loaded contacts provide advantages of misalignment accommodation, consistent contact, high vibration tolerance, and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) comprising a housing (see the outer shell of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the inner plug electrical contact of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) supported by the housing of the plug (see the rejection of claim 2) operable to supply a biasing force configured to bias the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with a receptacle electrical contact within a receptacle (The spring has this function).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) encapsulated in the housing of the plug (see the rejection of claim 2), and wherein the spring is operable to supply a biasing force to the plug electrical contact, and to the housing of the plug (The spring has this function).
Claims 9-12, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of HANOKA (US 20080149170 A1) and NASKALI (US 20120142221 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a receptacle comprising a housing in support of a receptacle electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle comprising a receptacle electrical contact (see the receptacle with a receptacle electrical contact in the connecting element 7) (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connector & the female connector as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle (see the female connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the female housing in the female connector of HANOKA) in support of a receptacle electrical contact (see the receptacle electrical contact in the female connector of HANOKA) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Further regarding the claimed “wherein the receptacle electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, NASKALI discloses an apparatus comprising a battery with terminals and a battery receiving area with contacts (see Figs. 4, 7), wherein the terminals are female connector and the contacts are male connector (see Figs. 4, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the male connector with the female connector in the device of modified KIRSCHNING as taught by NASKALI, because the change in configuration of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches the receptacle electrical contact (see the receptacle electrical contact in the female connector of HANOKA) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA) comprises the mount electrical contact (see the female connector) (see the discussion above).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises an opening, an interior cavity, and a guiding surface comprising a plug interface (see the opening, the interior cavity, and the guiding surface comprising a plug interface; see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle is operable to form a seal with a housing of a connected plug (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The female housing of the female connector of HANOKA has the function).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the receptacle comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and biased to return to an undeformed state (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 17, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a seal disposed between the solar panel and the solar panel mount, the seal being configured to seal a panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact from the environment with the solar panel in the installed position”, KIRSCHNING teaches the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) and the panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connector & the female connector as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a seal disposed between the solar panel and the solar panel mount, the seal being configured to seal a panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact from the environment with the solar panel in the installed position (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The seal of the male connector & the female connector has the function) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 18, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a seal disposed around the mount electrical contact, the seal being operable to seal the mount electrical contact from the environment with the solar panel in the installed position”, KIRSCHNING teaches the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) and the panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connector & the female connector as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a seal disposed around the mount electrical contact, the seal being operable to seal the mount electrical contact from the environment with the solar panel in the installed position (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The seal disposed around the female connector has the function) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1) as applied to claim 22 above, further in view of SOS Engineering Inc. (11 Advantages of Spring Loaded Contacts).
Regarding claim 23, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 22.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact (The plug electrical contact in the male connector comprises the panel electrical contact, see Figs. 2-3), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, SOS Engineering Inc. discloses spring loaded contacts (see the fourth contact from the left in the picture), wherein the spring loaded contacts provide advantages of misalignment accommodation, consistent contact, high vibration tolerance. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the spring loaded contacts (the fourth contact from the left in the picture) in the device of KIRSCHNING as taught by SOS Engineering Inc., because the spring loaded contacts provide advantages of misalignment accommodation, consistent contact, high vibration tolerance, and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) comprising a housing (see the outer shell of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the inner plug electrical contact of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.).
Regarding claim 24, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 23.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring of the fourth contact from the left in the picture of SOS Engineering Inc.) supported by the housing of the plug (see the rejection of claim 2) to supply a biasing force that biases the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact within the receptacle (The spring has this function).
Claims 23, 25-28, 31-35, 38, 41-45, 47-51, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1) as applied to claim 22 above, further in view of HANOKA (US 20080149170 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 22.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact (The plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6 comprises the mount electrical contact, see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connector & the female connector as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the male housing) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the single electrical conductor pin) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact (The single electrical conductor pin comprises the panel electrical contact).
Regarding claim 25, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 23.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a receptacle (see the female connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the female housing in the female connector of HANOKA) in support of a receptacle electrical contact (see the receptacle electrical contact in the female connector of HANOKA) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA), and wherein the receptacle electrical contact comprises the other of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact (The receptacle electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact).
Regarding claim 26, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 25.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises an opening and an interior cavity defining a guiding surface (The female housing of the female connector in HANOKA has the opening and the interior cavity defining a guiding surface) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA); the housing of the plug comprises a surface configuration operable to be received within the opening (The male housing of the male connector of HANOKA has the surface configuration operable to be received within the opening of the female housing) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA), wherein the plug is operable to be guided within the interior cavity of the receptacle such that the plug electrical contact aligns and electrically connects with the receptacle electrical contact as the solar panel is moved into the installed position within the solar panel mount (see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The device has this function).
Regarding claim 27, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 26.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system is configured to facilitate multi-axis alignment in which the plug is guided by the guiding surface of the housing of the receptacle in two or more directions each corresponding to an axis (The male connector & the female connector of HANOKA has this function) (see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 28, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 23.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 31, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 28.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and to be biased to return to an undeformed state (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 32, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 25.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to apply a biasing force to bias the housing of the plug to the undeformed state and to bias the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact within the receptacle (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 33, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 25.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the elastic material of the housing of the plug provides a biasing force to bias the housing of the plug into contact with the housing of the receptacle, the biasing force being configured to be sufficient to form a seal between the plug and the receptacle (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 34, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 25.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 35, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 34.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the receptacle comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and biased to return to an undeformed state, and wherein the elastic material of the housing of the receptacle provides a biasing force to bias the housing of the receptacle to the undeformed state and to bias the guiding interior surface of the housing of the receptacle into contact with the housing of the plug, thereby forming a seal at an interface between the housing of the receptacle and the housing of the plug (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 38, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 22.
Regarding the claimed “a seal disposed between the solar panel and the solar panel mount, the seal being configured to seal the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact from the environment with the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical electrically connected to one another”, KIRSCHNING teaches the mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) and the panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connector & the female connector as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a seal disposed between the solar panel and the solar panel mount, the seal being configured to seal the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact from the environment with the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical electrically connected to one another (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The seal of the male connector & the female connector has the function) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 41, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 40.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a plug comprising a housing in support of a pair of plug electrical contacts comprising either: the panel electrical contact and the second panel electrical contact; or the mount electrical contact and the second mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug and a pair of plug electrical contacts (see the plug with the plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6 and the two connecting elements 6) comprising either: the panel electrical contact and the second panel electrical contact (see the two connecting elements 6) (see the rejection of claim 40 and Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connectors & the female connectors as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the male housing) in support of a pair of plug electrical contacts (see the two single electrical conductor pins in the two male connectors) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 42, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 41.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle (see the female connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the male housing) in support of a pair of receptacle electrical contacts (see the two receptacle electrical contacts in the two female connectors) (see the rejection of claim 41 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA) comprising the other of: the mount electrical contact and the second mount electrical contact (see the two female connectors) (see the rejection of claim 41 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 43, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 42.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises an opening and an interior cavity formed from a guiding interior surface (The female housing of the female connector in HANOKA has the opening and the interior cavity defining a guiding interior surface); the housing of the plug comprising a surface configuration operable to be received within the opening (The male housing of the male connector of HANOKA has the surface configuration operable to be received within the opening of the female housing) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA), wherein the plug is received within the receptacle upon the solar panel being moved into the installation position, and wherein the plug is guided within the interior cavity of the receptacle such that the pair of plug electrical contacts electrically connect with the pair of receptacle electrical contacts upon installing the solar panel within the solar panel mount (see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The device has this function).
Regarding claim 44, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 42.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the auto-connecting electrical contact system is configured to facilitate multi-axis alignment in which the plug is guided by the guiding surface of the housing of the receptacle in two or more directions each corresponding to an axis (The male connector & the female connector of HANOKA has this function) (see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 45, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 41.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 47, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 45.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and to be biased to return to an undeformed state (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 48, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 42.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to apply a biasing force to bias the housing of the plug to the undeformed state and to biases the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact within the receptacle (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 49, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 42.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to provide a biasing force to bias the housing of the plug to the undeformed state and to bias the pair of plug electrical contacts into electrical connection with the pair of receptacle electrical contacts within the receptacle (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 50, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 42.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 51, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 50.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the receptacle comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and to be biased to return to an undeformed state, and wherein the elastic material of the housing of the receptacle provides a biasing force to bias the housing of the receptacle to the undeformed state and to bias the guiding interior surface of the housing of the receptacle into contact with the housing of the plug, thereby forming a seal at an interface between the housing of the receptacle and the housing of the plug (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment and see Figs. 3-6 of HANOKA; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 54, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 40.
Regarding the claimed “a seal disposed between the solar panel and the solar panel mount, the seal being configured to seal the panel electrical contact, the second panel electrical contact, the mount electrical contact, and the second mount electrical contact from the environment with the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact electrically connected to one another, and with the second panel electrical contact and the second mount electrical contact electrically connected to one another”, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connectors & the female connectors as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a seal disposed between the solar panel and the solar panel mount, the seal being configured to seal the panel electrical contact, the second panel electrical contact, the mount electrical contact, and the second mount electrical contact from the environment with the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact electrically connected to one another, and with the second panel electrical contact and the second mount electrical contact electrically connected to one another (see Claim 10 of HANOKA, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The seal of the male connectors & the female connectors has the function) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038 A1) in view of ZHAO (CN 211700658 U, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claims 1, 21-22 on which claims 23, 25, 29 depends, see the rejections of claims 1, 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038 A1).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 23 on which claims 25, 29 depends, regarding the claimed “a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, ZHAO discloses an electrical connector assembly comprising a male head and a female head (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the male head has the spring ejector pins 102 and the housing block with the dovetail tenons 101 and the limit block 103, and the female head has the ejector pin seat 202 and the housing block with the vertical dovetail grooves 201 and the inclined groove 203. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male head and the female head described in Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male head of ZHAO) comprising a housing (see the housing block of the male head) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the spring ejector pins) (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 25 on which claim 29 depends, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle (see the female head of ZHAO) comprising a housing (see the housing block of the female head) in support of a receptacle electrical contact (see the ejector pin seat) (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO), wherein the receptacle electrical contact comprises the panel electrical contact (see Fig. 5 of KIRSCHNING and Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding claim 29, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 25.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring in the spring ejector pins) encapsulated in the housing of the plug (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO), and wherein the spring supplies a biasing force that biases the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact and biases the housing of the plug into contact with the guiding surface of the housing of the receptacle, thereby forming a seal at an interface between the housing of the receptacle and the housing of the plug (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038 A1) in view of ZHAO (CN 211700658 U, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claims 1, 21-22, 40 on which claims 41-42 depends, see the rejections of claims 1, 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038A1).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 41 on which claim 42 depends, regarding the claimed “wherein the auto-connecting electrical contact system further comprises a plug comprising a housing in support of a pair of plug electrical contacts comprising either: the panel electrical contact and the second panel electrical contact; or the mount electrical contact and the second mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a pair plug electrical contacts (see the plugs with the plug electrical contacts in the pair of the connecting element 6, see Figs. 8, 9) comprising either: the panel electrical contact and the second panel electrical contact (see the male connector and the second male connector) (see the rejection of claim 40 and Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, ZHAO discloses an electrical connector assembly comprising a male head and a female head (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the male head has the spring ejector pins 102 and the housing block with the dovetail tenons 101 and the limit block 103, and the female head has the ejector pin seat 202 and the housing block with the vertical dovetail grooves 201 and the inclined groove 203. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male heads and the female heads described in Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO for the connecting element 6 and the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male heads of ZHAO) comprising a housing (see the housing block of the male head) in support of a pair of plug electrical contacts (see the spring ejector pins in the pair of male heads in the pair of buses and plurality row of shingles) (see the discussion above and Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 42 on which claim 46 depends, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle (see the female heads of ZHAO) comprising a housing (see the housing block of the female head) in support of a pair of receptacle electrical contacts (see the ejector pin seat) (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO) comprising the other of: the mount electrical contact and the second mount electrical contact (see the female heads and the second female heads) (see the rejection of claim 41 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 46, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 42.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring in the spring ejector pins) encapsulated in the housing of the plug (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO), and wherein the spring supplies a biasing force that biases the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact and biases the housing of the plug into contact with the guiding surface of the housing of the receptacle, thereby forming a seal at an interface between the housing of the receptacle and the housing of the plug (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/30/2025 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the modified and/or new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728