Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,347,511 to Verhaverbeke.
In Reference to Claim 1
Verhaverbeke discloses a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: disposing the substrate in a drying chamber (Fig. 6, 890); and supplying a fluid into the drying chamber in which the substrate is disposed, wherein the supplying of the fluid into the drying chamber comprises: supplying, after the disposing of the substrate in the drying chamber (Col. 23, Line 20-25, supply a purge gas to the chamber, also listed as Step 860 in Fig. 8), a gas into the drying chamber; and supplying, after the supplying of the gas into the drying chamber, a supercritical fluid of the gas into the drying chamber (Fig. 8, Step 870, Col. 23, Line 26-30, the supercritical fluid comprising the same type of chemicals).
In Reference to Claim 8
Verhaverbeke discloses a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: wet-processing the substrate (Fig. 8, 810); and dry-processing the substrate wet-processed, wherein the dry-processing of the substrate comprises: disposing the substrate in a drying chamber (Fig. 8, 850); supplying, after the disposing of the substrate in the drying chamber, a gas into the drying chamber to increase a pressure in the drying chamber to a first pressure (Fig. 8, Step 860, Col. 23, Line 20-25, supply a purge gas to the chamber ; and supplying, after the supplying of the gas into the drying chamber, a supercritical fluid of the gas into the drying chamber after the pressure in the drying chamber reaches the first pressure (Fig. 8, Step 870, Col. 23, Line 26-30, the supercritical fluid comprising the same type of chemicals).
In Reference to Claim 9
Verhaverbeke discloses the supplying of the gas into the drying chamber comprises: supplying the gas, supplied from a gas tank of a gas supply unit (Fig. 7, 720), into the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claim 10
Verhaverbeke discloses the gas includes a CO2 gas (Col. 23, Line 45)
In Reference to Claim 11
Verhaverbeke discloses the supplying of the supercritical fluid into the drying chamber comprises: supplying the supercritical fluid, supplied from a supercritical fluid supply unit, into the drying chamber. (Fig. 8, Step 860)
In Reference to Claim 12
Verhaverbeke discloses the supplying of the supercritical fluid includes: receiving the gas from the gas tank; and converting the gas into the supercritical fluid. (Col. 23, Line 45-46)
In Reference to Claim 14
Verhaverbeke discloses heating (Fig. 5, 550) the gas supplied from the gas tank into the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claim 15
Verhaverbeke discloses the first pressure is selected from a range of from about 20 bar to about 80 bar. (Col. 23, Line 25, 1100 psi equal to 75 bar)
In Reference to Claim 16
Verhaverbeke discloses the wet-processing of the substrate comprises: disposing the substrate in a wet chamber (Fig. 8, 810); and supplying a wetting solution (Fig. 8, 820) onto the substrate disposed in the wet chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verhaverbeke in view of US Patent Publication 2011//0214694 to Toshima.
In Reference to Claim 13
Verhaverbeke discloses the purge gas will be exhausted as the supercritical fluid is provided.
Verhaverbeke does not teach converting the gas into the supercritical fluid.
Toshima teaches the supercritical fluid can be obtained by converting the gas into the supercritical fluid (Fig. 4, Step S106 and S107)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the method of Toshima into the method of Verhaverbeke. Doing so, would result in the supercritical fluid is directly converted from the purge gas as being taught by Toshima. Both inventions of Verhaverbeke and Toshima are in the same field of endeavor, Toshima teaches a simplified method with a predictable result of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument to Claim 1 and Claim 8 is true. However, they are based on the amended claims. The argument is moot in terms of the new ground of rejection.
The Argument to Claim 17 is persuasive. The rejection to Claim 17 has bene withdrawn.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 4/21/26