Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 7 line 7 to page 11 line 16, filed 1/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al. Refer to the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 12, 25, 29, 31, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al.
Referring to claim 1, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a method to be performed by a UE, the method comprising:
Transmitting (Figure 7 step 705, Figure 9 step 906), to a network entity (PGW-C) of a cellular network (Figure 1), an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO (PCO) and ePCO (not in reference; claim is in “at least one” form) during an initial attach procedure (Sections 0069, 0084, 0089, 0134, 0143, 0168, and 0177) ... Section 0084: “… when attaching to the EPC, a UE may include a UE Policy Container in a protocol configuration option (PCO) within the PDN connection establishment request. The MME may forward the message toward an SGW and in turn the SMF+PGW-C. The SMF+PGW-C may forward the UE Policy Container to the PCF over an N7 interface when interacting with the PCF. The PCF obtains the UE Policy from the unified data repository (UDR) 428 using an Nudr_DM_Query service.” Figure 7 Step 705: UE transmits to MME, a request for a UE policy from PCF; and Figure 9 Step 906: UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C.
Identifying (Figure 7 step 710, Figure 9 step 914), based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, … policy subscription information. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. Figure 7 Step 710: UE receives the UE policy from MME. Figure 9 Step 914: MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al do not disclose … transmitting, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; and identifying, based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, updated policy subscription information.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0137, 0138, 0218, 0222, 0225, 0226, 0263, and 0267 wherein UE transmits a registration request to PCF, wherein the registration request includes the locally stored PSI list. The PSI list is carried in a UE policy container and sent to the AMF; so, the UE policy container includes a list of stored PSI (claimed “the UE policy container comprising a PSIS”). Also in Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “identifying, based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; and identifying, based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, updated policy subscription information. One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate the policy set using PSIS to facilitate policy identification, and to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Cheng et al and Ding et al do not disclose … transmitting, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication and a UE policy request indication …
Shan et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, 0034, and 0036 during a UE Policy Provisioning Request procedure, UE indicates in the UE Policy Container to PCF the request for V2X policy provisioning (claimed “the UE policy container comprising … a UE policy request indication”). In response, PCF determines the UE/V2X Policy to UE for communication. Refer to Sections 0024-0493. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) and a UE policy request indication … One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate a request for UE policy to PCF, thereby informing PCF to determine a UE policy for UE.
Referring to claim 2, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the network entity is a PGW-C.
UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Referring to claim 5, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the … policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from a PCF. UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from a PCF.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from a PCF. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Referring to claim 7, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a method to be performed by a PGW-C entity of a cellular network (Figure 1), wherein the method comprises:
Identifying (Figure 7 step 705, Figure 9 step 906), from a UE in at least one of a PCO (PCO) and ePCO (not in reference; claim is in “at least one” form) during an initial attach procedure (Sections 0069, 0084, 0089, 0134, 0143, 0168, and 0177), an indication of a UE policy container… Section 0084: “… when attaching to the EPC, a UE may include a UE Policy Container in a protocol configuration option (PCO) within the PDN connection establishment request. The MME may forward the message toward an SGW and in turn the SMF+PGW-C. The SMF+PGW-C may forward the UE Policy Container to the PCF over an N7 interface when interacting with the PCF. The PCF obtains the UE Policy from the unified data repository (UDR) 428 using an Nudr_DM_Query service.” Figure 7 Step 705: UE transmits to MME, a request for a UE policy from PCF; and Figure 9 Step 906: UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C.
…
Identifying (by PGW-C), based on the UE policy container, … policy subscription information, identifying the … policy subscription information comprising forwarding the UE policy container to the at least one of the PCF (PCF) and PCRF (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form) and receiving the … policy subscription information from the at least one of the PCF and PCRF. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C.
Transmitting (Figure 7 step 710, Figure 9 step 914), to the UE, an indication of the … policy subscription information. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. Figure 7 Step 710: UE receives the UE policy from MME. Figure 9 Step 914: MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al do not disclose … identifying, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; establishing, based on the PSIS, a UE policy association with at least one of a PCF and a PCRF; identifying the updated policy subscription information comprising forwarding the UE policy container to the at least one of the PCF and PCRF and receiving the updated policy subscription information from the at least one of the PCF and PCRF; and transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the updated policy subscription information.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0137, 0138, 0218, 0222, 0225, 0226, 0263, and 0267 wherein UE transmits a registration request to PCF, wherein the registration request includes the locally stored PSI list. The PSI list is carried in a UE policy container and sent to the AMF; so, the UE policy container includes a list of stored PSI (claimed “the UE policy container comprising a PSIS”). Also in Sections 0114, 0134, 0137, 0138, 0143, 0148, 0170, 0174, 0199-0201, 0210, and 0213-0214 wherein UE carries a PSI list and PCF determines a corresponding user policy for each PSI. In establishing a user policy association for a PSI list of Figure 4, PCF can determine whether to update a URSP on the UE based on the PSI; the list of PSIs provided by UE for PCF carries PSI IDs for PCF to establish a corresponding user policy; a PSI that is not carried by UE, PCF considers that UE does not have a user policy corresponding to the PSI (claimed “establishing, based on the PSIS, a UE policy association with … a PCF”). Also in Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … identifying, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; establishing, based on the PSIS, a UE policy association with at least one of a PCF and a PCRF; identifying the updated policy subscription information comprising forwarding the UE policy container to the at least one of the PCF and PCRF and receiving the updated policy subscription information from the at least one of the PCF and PCRF; and transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the updated policy subscription information. One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate the policy set using PSIS to facilitate policy identification, in order for the PCF to established corresponding user policies for each PSI to facilitate user policy determination, and to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Cheng et al and Ding et al do not disclose … identifying, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication and a UE policy request indication …
Shan et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, 0034, and 0036 during a UE Policy Provisioning Request procedure, UE indicates in the UE Policy Container to PCF the request for V2X policy provisioning (claimed “the UE policy container comprising … a UE policy request indication”). In response, PCF determines the UE/V2X Policy to UE for communication. Refer to Sections 0024-0493. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … identifying, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form) and a UE policy request indication … One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate a request for UE policy to PCF, thereby informing PCF to determine a UE policy for UE.
Referring to claim 8, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the indication of the … UE policy container is transmitted in another PCO. Sections 0084, 0087, 0133, and 0167: when attaching to the EPC, UE include a UE Policy Container in a PCO. UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. MME transmits the UE policy in a PCO (claimed “another PCO”; the claim does not differentiate between a “PCO” and an “another PCO”) to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the indication of the updated UE policy container is transmitted in another PCO.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “the indication of the updated UE policy container is another PCO”; the updated UE policy subscription is different from the original UE policy subscription). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the indication of the updated UE policy container is transmitted in another PCO. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information in a PCO.
Referring to claim 12, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the at least one of the PCF and PCRF is a PCF and the … policy subscription information in based on information received by the PGW-C from the PCF. Figure 7 Step 705: UE transmits to MME, a request for a UE policy from PCF; and Figure 9 Step 906: UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. Figure 7 Step 710: UE receives the UE policy from MME. Figure 9 Step 914: MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the at least one of the PCF and PCRF is a PCF and the updated policy subscription information in based on information received by the PGW-C from the PCF.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one of the PCF and PCRF is a PCF and the updated policy subscription information in based on information received by the PGW-C from the PCF. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Referring to claim 25, Cheng et al and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the updated policy subscription information comprises a URSP.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0066, 0069, 0114, 0134, 0200, 0201, 0206, 0207, 0211, 0213, 0214, 0258, 0280, and 0302 where a policy control network element establishes a user policy for UE, and updates each URSP of the user policy. For each PSI of the user policy, the policy control network element updates the URSP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the updated policy subscription information comprises a URSP. One would have been motivated to do so since a URSP allows for selecting an optimal network slice for UE based on QoS and UE preference.
Referring to claim 29, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 1112) that stores instructions (code 1114/1116) for execution by one or more processors (processor 1104) of a UE, the one or more processors to configure the UE to, when the instructions are executed:
Transmit (Figure 7 step 705, Figure 9 step 906), to a network entity (PGW-C) of a cellular network (Figure 1), an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO (PCO) and ePCO (not in reference; claim is in “at least one” form) during an initial attach procedure (Sections 0069, 0084, 0089, 0134, 0143, 0168, and 0177) ... Section 0084: “… when attaching to the EPC, a UE may include a UE Policy Container in a protocol configuration option (PCO) within the PDN connection establishment request. The MME may forward the message toward an SGW and in turn the SMF+PGW-C. The SMF+PGW-C may forward the UE Policy Container to the PCF over an N7 interface when interacting with the PCF. The PCF obtains the UE Policy from the unified data repository (UDR) 428 using an Nudr_DM_Query service.” Figure 7 Step 705: UE transmits to MME, a request for a UE policy from PCF; and Figure 9 Step 906: UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C.
Identify (Figure 7 step 710, Figure 9 step 914), based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, … policy subscription information. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. Figure 7 Step 710: UE receives the UE policy from MME. Figure 9 Step 914: MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al do not disclose … transmit, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; and identify, based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, updated policy subscription information.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0137, 0138, 0218, 0222, 0225, 0226, 0263, and 0267 wherein UE transmits a registration request to PCF, wherein the registration request includes the locally stored PSI list. The PSI list is carried in a UE policy container and sent to the AMF; so, the UE policy container includes a list of stored PSI (claimed “the UE policy container comprising a PSIS”). Also in Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “identify, based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; and identifying, based on the transmission of the indication of the UE policy container, updated policy subscription information. One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate the policy set using PSIS to facilitate policy identification, and to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Cheng et al and Ding et al do not disclose … transmit, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication and a UE policy request indication …
Shan et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, 0034, and 0036 during a UE Policy Provisioning Request procedure, UE indicates in the UE Policy Container to PCF the request for V2X policy provisioning (claimed “the UE policy container comprising … a UE policy request indication”). In response, PCF determines the UE/V2X Policy to UE for communication. Refer to Sections 0024-0493. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting, to a network entity of a cellular network, an indication of a UE policy container in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) and a UE policy request indication … One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate a request for UE policy to PCF, thereby informing PCF to determine a UE policy for UE.
Referring to claim 31, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein:
The network entity is a PGW-C. UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. MME transmits the UE policy to UE.
The … policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from a PCF. UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al and Shan et al do not disclose … the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from a PCF.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from a PCF. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Referring to claim 34, Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 1212) that stores instructions (code 1214/1216/1218) for execution by one or more processors (processor 1204) of a PGW-C, the one or more processors to configure the PGW-C to, when the instructions are executed:
Identify (Figure 7 step 705, Figure 9 step 906), from a UE in at least one of a PCO (PCO) and ePCO (not in reference; claim is in “at least one” form) during an initial attach procedure (Sections 0069, 0084, 0089, 0134, 0143, 0168, and 0177), an indication of a UE policy container… Section 0084: “… when attaching to the EPC, a UE may include a UE Policy Container in a protocol configuration option (PCO) within the PDN connection establishment request. The MME may forward the message toward an SGW and in turn the SMF+PGW-C. The SMF+PGW-C may forward the UE Policy Container to the PCF over an N7 interface when interacting with the PCF. The PCF obtains the UE Policy from the unified data repository (UDR) 428 using an Nudr_DM_Query service.” Figure 7 Step 705: UE transmits to MME, a request for a UE policy from PCF; and Figure 9 Step 906: UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C.
…
Identify (by PGW-C), based on the UE policy container, … policy subscription information, identifying the … policy subscription information comprising forwarding the UE policy container to the at least one of the PCF (PCF) and PCRF (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form) and receiving the … policy subscription information from the at least one of the PCF and PCRF. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C.
Transmit (Figure 7 step 710, Figure 9 step 914), to the UE, an indication of the … policy subscription information. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. Figure 7 Step 710: UE receives the UE policy from MME. Figure 9 Step 914: MME transmits the UE policy to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al do not disclose … identify, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; establish, based on the PSIS, a UE policy association with at least one of a PCF and a PCRF; identify the updated policy subscription information comprising forwarding the UE policy container to the at least one of the PCF and PCRF and receiving the updated policy subscription information from the at least one of the PCF and PCRF; and transmit, to the UE, an indication of the updated policy subscription information.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0137, 0138, 0218, 0222, 0225, 0226, 0263, and 0267 wherein UE transmits a registration request to PCF, wherein the registration request includes the locally stored PSI list. The PSI list is carried in a UE policy container and sent to the AMF; so, the UE policy container includes a list of stored PSI (claimed “the UE policy container comprising a PSIS”). Also in Sections 0114, 0134, 0137, 0138, 0143, 0148, 0170, 0174, 0199-0201, 0210, and 0213-0214 wherein UE carries a PSI list and PCF determines a corresponding user policy for each PSI. In establishing a user policy association for a PSI list of Figure 4, PCF can determine whether to update a URSP on the UE based on the PSI; the list of PSIs provided by UE for PCF carries PSI IDs for PCF to establish a corresponding user policy; a PSI that is not carried by UE, PCF considers that UE does not have a user policy corresponding to the PSI (claimed “establish, based on the PSIS, a UE policy association with … a PCF”). Also in Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “updated policy subscription information”). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … identify, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS … ; establish, based on the PSIS, a UE policy association with at least one of a PCF and a PCRF; identify the updated policy subscription information comprising forwarding the UE policy container to the at least one of the PCF and PCRF and receiving the updated policy subscription information from the at least one of the PCF and PCRF; and transmit, to the UE, an indication of the updated policy subscription information. One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate the policy set using PSIS to facilitate policy identification, in order for the PCF to established corresponding user policies for each PSI to facilitate user policy determination, and to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information.
Cheng et al and Ding et al do not disclose … identify, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication and a UE policy request indication …
Shan et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, 0034, and 0036 during a UE Policy Provisioning Request procedure, UE indicates in the UE Policy Container to PCF the request for V2X policy provisioning (claimed “the UE policy container comprising … a UE policy request indication”). In response, PCF determines the UE/V2X Policy to UE for communication. Refer to Sections 0024-0493. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … identify, from a UE in at least one of a PCO and ePCO during an initial attach procedure, an indication of a UE policy container, the UE policy container comprising a PSIS and at least one of a UE policy support indication (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form) and a UE policy request indication … One would have been motivated to do so to so that the UE policy container can indicate a request for UE policy to PCF, thereby informing PCF to determine a UE policy for UE.
Referring to claim 35, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Claims 4, 10, 11, 30, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20160255540 to Kweon et al.
Referring to claim 4, Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the updated policy subscription information is received during at least one of an attach accept and PDN connectivity accept.
Kweon et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein UE transmits an attach request 501/503 to MME. Sections 0063-0065 and 0123: MME transmits an attach accept to UE, wherein the attach accept message includes PCO indicating whether the GW determined as the mobility anchor of UE supports the IP session persistence, an APN, a GUTI, a PDN type, a TAI list, etc. (claimed “wherein the updated policy subscription information is received during … an attach accept”). The “PCO indicating whether the GW determined as the mobility anchor of UE supports the IP session persistence, an APN, a GUTI, a PDN type, a TAI list, etc.” reads on the claimed “updated policy subscription information” since the parameters are PCO parameters that are transmitted to UE for initial attachment. Refer to Sections 0031-0151. Also, Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE. Kweon et al also disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein UE transmits a PDN connectivity request 603 comprising PCO to MME. Sections 0069-0071, 0089, 0098, 0107, 0119, and 0123: MME transmits a PDN connectivity accept message to UE, wherein the PDN connectivity accept message includes PCO indicating an address selection policy for an IP address allocated by a GW, a modified address selection policy, etc. (claimed “wherein the updated policy subscription information is received during … PDN connectivity accept”). The “PCO indicating an address selection policy for an IP address allocated by a GW, a modified address selection policy, etc.” reads on the claimed “updated policy subscription information” since the parameters are PCO parameters that are transmitted to UE for initial attachment, wherein the address selection policy can be updated as disclosed in Sections 0130 and 0143. Refer to Sections 0031-0151. Also, Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the updated policy subscription information is received during at least one of an attach accept and PDN connectivity accept. One would have been motivated to do so since an attach accept is sent in response to an attach request for updated policy information to keep UE updated with policy information, and since a PDN connectivity accept is sent in response to a PDN connectivity request for updated policy information to keep UE updated with policy information.
Referring to claim 10, Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose further comprising transmitting the indication of the updated policy subscription information in an attach accept transmission.
Kweon et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein UE transmits an attach request 501/503 to MME. Sections 0063-0065 and 0123: MME transmits an attach accept to UE, wherein the attach accept message includes PCO indicating whether the GW determined as the mobility anchor of UE supports the IP session persistence, an APN, a GUTI, a PDN type, a TAI list, etc. (claimed “transmitting the indication of the updated policy subscription information in an attach accept transmission”). The “PCO indicating whether the GW determined as the mobility anchor of UE supports the IP session persistence, an APN, a GUTI, a PDN type, a TAI list, etc.” reads on the claimed “updated policy subscription information” since the parameters are PCO parameters that are transmitted to UE for initial attachment. Refer to Sections 0031-0151. Also, Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising transmitting the indication of the updated policy subscription information in an attach accept transmission. One would have been motivated to do so since an attach accept is sent in response to an attach request for updated policy information to keep UE updated with policy information.
Referring to claim 11, Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose further comprising transmitting the indication of the updated policy subscription information in a PDN connectivity accept transmission.
Kweon et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein UE transmits a PDN connectivity request 603 comprising PCO to MME. Sections 0069-0071, 0089, 0098, 0107, 0119, and 0123: MME transmits a PDN connectivity accept message to UE, wherein the PDN connectivity accept message includes PCO indicating an address selection policy for an IP address allocated by a GW, a modified address selection policy, etc. (claimed “further comprising transmitting the indication of the updated policy subscription information in a PDN connectivity accept transmission”). The “PCO indicating an address selection policy for an IP address allocated by a GW, a modified address selection policy, etc.” reads on the claimed “updated policy subscription information” since the parameters are PCO parameters that are transmitted to UE for initial attachment, wherein the address selection policy can be updated as disclosed in Sections 0130 and 0143. Refer to Sections 0031-0151. Also, Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising transmitting the indication of the updated policy subscription information in a PDN connectivity accept transmission. One would have been motivated to do so since a PDN connectivity accept is sent in response to a PDN connectivity request for updated policy information to keep UE updated with policy information.
Referring to claim 30, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Referring to claim 36, Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the one or more processors further configure the PGW-C to, when the instructions are executed, transmit the indication of the updated policy subscription information in an attach accept transmission.
Kweon et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein UE transmits an attach request 501/503 to MME. Sections 0063-0065 and 0123: MME transmits an attach accept to UE, wherein the attach accept message includes PCO indicating whether the GW determined as the mobility anchor of UE supports the IP session persistence, an APN, a GUTI, a PDN type, a TAI list, etc. (claimed “transmit the indication of the updated policy subscription information in an attach accept transmission”). The “PCO indicating whether the GW determined as the mobility anchor of UE supports the IP session persistence, an APN, a GUTI, a PDN type, a TAI list, etc.” reads on the claimed “updated policy subscription information” since the parameters are PCO parameters that are transmitted to UE for initial attachment. Refer to Sections 0031-0151. Also, Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157 wherein PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors further configure the PGW-C to, when the instructions are executed, transmit the indication of the updated policy subscription information in an attach accept transmission. One would have been motivated to do so since an attach accept is sent in response to an attach request for updated policy information to keep UE updated with policy information.
Claims 6, 13, and 32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20160156479 to Baek et al.
Referring to claim 6, Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the network entity from a PCRF.
Baek et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0058, 0074, 0082, 0087, and 0106 wherein MME transmits a policy establish request for UE to P-GW and then P-GW forwards the policy establish request to PCRF. In step 328 of Figure 3, step 432 of Figure 4, and step 532 of Figure 5: PCRF 510 generates a PCC rule for providing data service to UE or updates an existing PCC rule for UE, based on the information acquired from a policy establish request. PCRF then forwards the updated PCC rule to P-GW. Refer to Sections 0027-0135. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the network entity from a PCRF. One would have been motivated to do so to update network policies and charging rules for UE, thereby ensuring users receive correct charges.
Referring to claim 13, Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the at least one of the PCF and PCRF is a PCRF and the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from the PCRF.
Baek et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0058, 0074, 0082, 0087, and 0106 wherein MME transmits a policy establish request for UE to P-GW and then P-GW forwards the policy establish request to PCRF. In step 328 of Figure 3, step 432 of Figure 4, and step 532 of Figure 5: PCRF 510 generates a PCC rule for providing data service to UE or updates an existing PCC rule for UE, based on the information acquired from a policy establish request. PCRF then forwards the updated PCC rule to P-GW. Refer to Sections 0027-0135. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one of the PCF and PCRF is a PCRF and the updated policy subscription information is based on information received by the PGW-C from the PCRF. One would have been motivated to do so to update network policies and charging rules for UE, thereby ensuring users receive correct charges.
Referring to claim 32, refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20210251022 to Korhonen et al.
Cheng et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the indication of the … UE policy container is transmitted in another PCO. Sections 0084, 0087, 0133, and 0167: when attaching to the EPC, UE include a UE Policy Container in a PCO. UE sends a request for a UE policy to MME. MME then forwards the request with the UE policy container from UE to PGW-C. PGW-C forwards the UE Policy Container to PCF and then PCF obtains the UE policy from UDR. PCF forwards the obtained UE policy to PGW-C and then PGW-C forwards the UE policy to MME. MME transmits the UE policy in a PCO (claimed “another PCO”; the claim does not differentiate between a “PCO” and an “another PCO”) to UE. Refer to Sections 0036-0200.
Cheng et al and Shan et al do not disclose wherein the indication of the updated UE policy container is transmitted in another PCO.
Ding et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0114, 0121-0128, and 0134-0157: PCF updates UE policy subscription and transmits the updated UE policy subscription to AMF. AMF then transmits the updated UE policy subscription to UE (claimed “the indication of the updated UE policy container is another PCO”; the updated UE policy subscription is different from the original UE policy subscription). Specifically in Section 0143: “… The H-PCF obtains policy subscription related information from a UDR, where the information includes a PSI and corresponding policy content stored in the UDR, and previously stored information such as the OS ID and an ANDSP capability indication; performs a corresponding policy decision; and determines whether to update a UE policy stored on the UE.” Refer to Sections 0053-0324. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the indication of the updated UE policy container is transmitted in another PCO. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that UE is provided with updated policy subscription information in a PCO.
Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not wherein the indication of the updated UE policy container is transmitted in another ePCO.
Korhonen et al disclose in Figures 1-3 and Sections 0010, 0019, 0020, 0023, 0024, and 0027 wherein UE issues a PDN connectivity request to attach to the network, wherein the PDN connectivity request includes a PCO or ePCO. The (e)PCOs provide a list of empty configuration parameters which requests the network to provide configuration information. The network then returns configuration parameters within (e)PCOs to UE with the requested parameters. Refer to Sections 0018-0032. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the indication of the updated UE policy container is transmitted in another ePCO. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to request for policy configuration information using a PCO or ePCO, wherein the ePCO is similar to a PCO but allows a larger payload and transport filter rules (Section 0010).
Claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al in U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240049101 to Zhang.
Referring to claim 26, Cheng et al, Ding et al, Shan et al do not disclose wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on a latest list of PSISs retrieved from a UDR in response to the PSIS transmitted by the UE.
Zhang discloses in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0039, 0044, 0067, and 0075 wherein after receiving the PSI reported by UE, PCF obtains a latest PSI corresponding to UE from UDR (claimed “latest list of PSISs retrieved from a UDR in response to the PSIS transmitted by the UE”). PCF then compares the PSI obtained from the UDR with the PSI reported by UE, uses a URSP corresponding to the UE stored in the UDR as a latest URSP if the PSI obtained from the UDR is different from the PSI reported by the UE, and delivers a corresponding PSI stored in the UDR as an updated PSI to the UE, so that the UE performs route selection policy update (claimed “wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on a latest list of PSISs retrieved from a UDR …”). Refer to Sections 0026-0184. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the updated policy subscription information is based on a latest list of PSISs retrieved from a UDR in response to the PSIS transmitted by the UE. One would have been motivated to do so to update a policy subscription based on the latest PSI, thereby ensuring the policy is updated according to the most recent PSI.
Referring to claim 33, refer to the rejection of claim 26.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al in U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20180159824 to Youtz et al.
Cheng et al, Ding et al, and Shan et al do not disclose further comprising using, by the UE, the updated policy subscription information to derive an APN for establishing data connectivity in
the cellular network.
Youtz et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0017, 0021, 0023, 0027, 0028, 0061, 0065, 0084, 0086, 0089, 0091, 0093, 0096, 0098-0100, 0106, 0108, 0110 wherein when UE attaches to the network: UE receives the PCO message from the network, retrieves the APN table from the received PCO message, selects an APN from the retrieved APN table (claimed “using, by the UE, the updated policy subscription information to derive an APN”), and connects to PDN associated with the selected APN via the network using the selected APN (claimed “to derive an APN for establishing data connectivity in the cellular network”). The PCO can include an updated APN table (claimed “updated policy subscription information”). Refer to Sections 0015-0119. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising using, by the UE, the updated policy subscription information to derive an APN for establishing data connectivity in the cellular network. One would have been motivated to do so to use the updated policy to determine an APN to connect to the network, thereby allowing UE to use the updated policy to determine an optimal APN.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20200404107 to Cheng et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220191765 to Ding et al in U.S. Publication No. 20220053449 to Shan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240049101 to Zhang, and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10708836 to Buyukdura et al.
Cheng et al, Ding et al, Shan et al, and Zhang do not disclose wherein using the updated policy subscription information to derive the APN comprises identifying, by the UE, a DNN specified in a URSP rule included in the updated policy subscription information and deriving, by the UE, the APN from the identified DNN.
Buyukdura et al disclose in Figures 1-9, Column 7 line 66 to Column 8 line 10, Column 8 lines 37-48, and Column 10 lines 25-42 wherein UE determines the URSP rules in a policy, then UE identifies a DNN using the URSP rules, and then UE looks up a corresponding APN that is one to one mapped to the identified DNN. Refer to Column 2 line 10 to Column 21 line 32. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein using the updated policy subscription information to derive the APN comprises identifying, by the UE, a DNN specified in a URSP rule included in the updated policy subscription information and deriving, by the UE, the APN from the identified DNN. One would have been motivated to do so that UE can determine the APN from DNN to specify an network for UE connection based on a URSP in the updated policy, thereby allowing UE to use the updated policy to determine an optimal APN/DNN.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230138033 to Rajadurai et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0059-0064 wherein UE sends an attach request to the network including PCO and the network responds with an attach complete message; the PCF is also configured to update the UE policy. Refer to Sections 0037-0128.
U.S. Publication No. 20220104115 to Jeong et al disclose in Figures 1-8 wherein UE sends an attach request or PDN connectivity request to the network including PCO/ePCO and the network responds with an attach complete message or PDN connectivity response including PCO/ePCO. Refer to Sections 0032-0163.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
January 19, 2026