DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/18/2025.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 12/18/2025 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
In response to Applicant’s amendments filed 12/18/2025, the Examiner withdraws the objections to claims 1, 9, and 17 for minor informalities.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 8-13, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claims 1, 9, and 17 to include a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency, the first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mao (WO 2020142996 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 8-13, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding the use of the Chen, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Chen lacks any structure corresponding to at least one window and Chen teaches slowing down the heat rate in its modified section, contradictory to Ou’s teachings.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ou discloses distinct heating regions relative to a window. A heating sheet is arranged in an accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) comprising a first through hole (Fig. 6: #121), relating to the window of the claimed invention. One of the screens (Fig. 3: #51), defined by the heating sheet, is exposed through the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121). The structure corresponding to the at least one window required by the claim is already taught by Ou.
Additionally, Ou teaches adjusting heating performance by using multiple electrodes leads on a heating mesh to control the timing of delivery [0016]. This relates to how power is delivered, not the spatial distribution of heat across the heating mesh. Chen teaches heating behavior altered by the size of a grid. Chen is not only tied to slowing down overall heating, but teaches modifying grid sizes between different heating regions in order to control heating rates and temperature distribution [0042]. Ou and Chen can be combined because Ou already discloses a heating sheet having multiple heating regions and Chen teaches how to alter to heating behavior of those regions by adjusting grid size. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply Chen’s grid size technique to Ou’s multiple heating regions in order to promote even heat distribution and better vaporization [0002].
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), and further in view of Chen (CN 215075501 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation) and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220104550 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Ou, directed to a rapid heating sheet and atomization assembly, teaches (i) a heating sheet including a bracket (Fig. 5: #1), comprising a base portion (Fig. 6: #11) and a sleeve (Fig. 6: #2) that is connected to the bracket (Fig. 6: #1). The sleeve comprises a through hole (Fig 5: #21) that communicates with a first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) of an accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122, [0033]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the sleeve has a cavity and at least one window in communication with the cavity.
Ou further teaches (ii) wherein the heating sheet is arranged in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) and provided with the bracket (Fig. 5: #1, [0032]). (iii) The accommodating cavity comprises outer cotton wrapping (Fig. 6: #3) in the shape of a tube and is coated on the outside of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5, [0032]). The accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #121) is provided with the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) so that the tobacco oil soaked in the outer cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #3) can enter the rapid sheet (Fig. 5: #5) to be heated and atomized [0033].
(iv) The heating sheet is split into two electric heating screens (Fig. 3: #51). Figure 6 illustrates wherein the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) exposes a part of one of the electric heating screens, and the second heating screen is within the pipe body part (Fig. 6: #12) in the heating sheet. Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Ou is silent to:
Wherein a single grid area of the first grid is smaller than a single grid area of the second grid
Wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency
The first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated
In regards to i., Chen, directed to an atomizing component with uniform heating, teaches (i) a heating unit (Fig. 3: #20) comprising a first heating part (Fig. 3: #21) and a second heating part (Fig. 3: #22). The size of the grid in the second heating part (Fig. 3: #22) is smaller than the size of the grid in the first heating part (Fig. 3: #21). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine this with the grids of Ou to promote uniform temperature distribution and reduce risks like carbon deposition and burning of cotton [0002]. Although Ou uses grids with the same area to speed up heating time faster and shorten heating burst time, Ou emphasizes its main goal of uniform aerosol generation, similar to the outcome of the difference of grid size contributing to uniform atomization in Chen [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of Ou to wherein a single grid area of the first grid is smaller than a single grid area because both Ou and Chen and directed to heating grids with a goal of providing uniform aerosol generating. Chen teaches a first and second heating part wherein the size of the grid in the first heating part is larger than the size of the grid in the second heating part to reach uniform atomization [0042] and this merely involves applying a sizing method to a heating grid of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii. and iii., Mao, directed to an atomization sheet, teaches (ii) first and second woven meshes having different pore densities to create a more uniform heat distribution [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that altering pore density would mean more metal per unit area and create a higher electrical resistance, resulting in a greater amount of heat supplied per heating unit area. Since the densities of the first and second woven meshes differ, they would also have a different amount of heat supplied per heating unit area. (iii) The pore density of the first woven mesh is smaller than the second [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a smaller pore density means more metal per unit area, resulting in a higher heating efficiency, which can be combined with the mesh window structure of Ou to improve the vaporization of liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit of Ou.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second grids of modified Ou to wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency and the first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated because both Ou and Mao are directed to improving heat distribution in heating sheets for efficient vaporization. Mao teaches first and second meshes of different densities to create a more uniform heat distribution [0069] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 2, Ou teaches wherein (i) the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 5: #52) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2). (iii) The electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) form around a circumferential direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2).
Ou further teaches wherein (iv) each of the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) connect with adjacent heating wires to form a diamond-like shape, wherein the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises electric heating wire (Fig. 6: #51) that is formed into a tubular structure [0039]. Modified Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein a circumferential grid width of the first grid is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the second grid
Chen teaches wherein the grid width of the second heating part (Fig. 3: #21) is smaller than the grid width of the first heating part (Fig. 3: #21) to ensure that heat follows a uniform atomization effect due to heat conduction and radiation [0068].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of Ou to a circumferential grid width of the first grid is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the second grid because both Ou and Chen and directed to heating grids with a goal of providing uniform aerosol generating. Chen teaches a first and second heating part wherein the width of the grids in the second heating part is smaller than the width of the grid in the first heating part to reach uniform atomization [0042] and this merely involves applying a sizing method to a heating grid of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 212279898 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 3, Ou teaches wherein the (i) first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) extends in a longitudinal direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). (ii) The assembly includes an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #3) that is meant to be inserted in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #121), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the liquid guiding unit comprises a main liquid guiding part that is located in the cavity. (iii) A first electrode lead (Fig. 2: #52) is electrically connected to a positive pole of a power supply and a second electrode lead (Fig. 2: #53) is electrically connected to a negative pole of the power supply [0037].
Ou further teaches wherein (iv) the electrode leads are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh of the heating sheet at equal intervals [0038] and are flushed with the upper edge of the electric heating wire mesh (Fig. 5: #51, [0037]) to create notches at the top of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) in contact with an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #4).
(v) The electrode leads are passed through a base (Fig. 6: #11), holding the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121), relating to the cutting slot of the claimed invention. Although the location of the electrode leads relative to the first through hole is not specified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position them at any location around the circumferential direction of the sleeve to optimize the component layout in a symmetrical structure. Modified Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Modified Ou is silent to:
A cutting part that stretches into the cutting slot
Li, directed to an electronic atomizing device, teaches a second absorbent member (Fig. 7: #16) that includes a pair of extensions at two circumferential ends and are fitted to each other [0057], relating to the cutting part of the claimed invention. The pair of extensions may be inserted into an opening of a first absorbent member (Fig. 7: #12).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the liquid guiding unit of Ou to a cutting part that stretches into the cutting slot because both Ou and Li are directed to using heating elements made of wire mesh material to generate aerosol. Li teaches an absorbent member of an atomization assembly with a pair of extensions meant to fit into an opening of another absorbent member to be easy to hold by hand or mechanical clamps [0058] and this merely involves applying a known slot technique to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 5, Ou teaches notches (Fig. 5: “N”) at the top of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) that are placed circumferentially relative to the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2) in contact with an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #4). Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein the cutting part is aligned in the circumferential direction of the sleeve
A circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net.
Li teaches (i) wherein the second absorbent member (Fig. 7: #16) is aligned with a circumferential direction of at the first liquid absorbing piece (Fig. 7: #12). (ii) Figure 4 illustrates the comparison between the amount of mesh in contact with both sides of the leads (Fig. 4: “L”) and the remaining portion of the mesh heating element (Fig. 4: #13) not welded to the conductive wires in a circumferential direction.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating notch and cutting part of modified Ou to align in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and a circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net because both Ou and Li are directed to using heating elements made of wire mesh material in to generate aerosol. Li teaches leads that create notches at the top of a heating element that are aligned with a sleeve in a circumferential direction of the assembly to make assembly more user-friendly [0005] and this merely involves applying a known positioning technique to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 6, Ou teaches (i) a first electrode lead (Fig. 6: #52) that is flushed to the upper edge of an electrical wire heating mesh (Fig. 6: #51), creating two heating notches [0038]. Figure 6 shows wherein when the first electrode lead is placed in a tube body portion of the heating element (Fig. 6: #12), positioned away from the slot of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #12) in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). (ii) It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably conclude that the position of the first electrode lead is less than 90 degrees relative to the slot of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) based on the figure, which is a significant amount of overlap in the angle range of 30° to 90° in the claimed invention and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), and Li (CN 212279898 U), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, further in view of Xiao (CN 113475781 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 4, Ou teaches (i) electrode leads (Fig. 6: #53 and 54) located on both sides of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) that create notches when flushed with the upper edge of the electric heating wire mesh (Fig. 6: #51, [0038]), facing an open slot of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) in a circumferential direction relative to the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). Modified Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
A circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is larger than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net.
Xiao, directed to an atomizer and electronic atomizing device, teaches a (i) a first frame (Fig. 6: #35) and a second frame (Fig. 6: #37) on opposite ends of a first conductive thread (Fig. 6: #31). A space (Fig. 6: "S") of the thread next to the frames is larger than the spaces away from the frames in the rest of the thread.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating notch and net of modified Ou to wherein a circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is larger than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net because both Ou and Xiao are directed to heating elements comprising a heating wire to generate aerosol. Xiao teaches a first and second frame on opposite ends of a conductive thread with a larger width of thread closer to the frames than in the remaining regions of the thread to help with the problem of complex manufacturing and processing technology of traditional atomizers [0004] and this merely involves applying a known grid width to a similar heating element ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Fernando (CN 109475192 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20240191838 A1).
With regard to Claim 7, Ou teaches wherein (i) a heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 6: #52, #53, and #54) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2, [0014]).
Ou further teaches wherein (iii) the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) extend out vertically and curve around the circumferential direction of the sleeve. (iv) Each of the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) connect with adjacent heating wires to form diamond-like shapes. Modified Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
An axial grid length of the heating net gradually increases from an end close to the base to an end away from the base
Fernando, directed to a fluid permeable heater assembly, teaches a mesh (Fig. 4: #32) having one or more sections with an increased mesh density, referred to as a second mesh density (Fig. 4: #46) in which gaps between the threads decrease in size [0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating sheet of Ou to include the mesh of Fernando in a longitudinal direction resting on the base to increase the stability of the mesh while handling [0089].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of modified Ou to gradually increase from an end close to the base to an end away from the base in an axial grid length because both Ou and Fernando are directed to heating elements comprising mesh to generate aerosol in an aerosol generating device. Fernando teaches a mesh having a second mesh density in which gaps between the threads decrease in size to increase the stability of the mesh while handling [0089] and this merely involves applying a known mesh size to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kerr (US 20200329763 A1).
With regard to Claim 8, Ou teaches wherein (i) a heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 6: #52) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). (iii) The electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) extend vertically while extending around the circumferential direction of the sleeve. Modified Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein a wire diameter of each of the multiple heating wires of the heating net gradually decreases from an end close to the base to an end away from the base
Kerr, directed to a method and apparatus for an aerosol generating device, teaches a mesh that may exhibit varying dimensions, for example a decreasing diameter, through the thickness of the mesh such that the mesh exhibits a larger diameter on one side of the mesh, relative to a smaller diameter on the opposite side of the mesh [0030]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rapid sheet of Ou to include the decreasing diameter limitations of Kerr in a longitudinal direction resting on the base to assist in determining a size of atomized droplets produced by the aerosol generating device [0029].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of modified Ou to include wherein the wire diameter of the multiple heating wires gradually decreases form an end close to the base to an end away from the base because both Ou and Kerr and directed to aerosol generation devices using a mesh to control liquid release. Kerr teaches a mesh with varying diameters on opposite sides to assist in determining a size of atomized droplets produced by the aerosol generating device [0029] and this merely involves applying a known sizing technique to a mesh of a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220104550 A1), further in view of Zhao (US 20200214361 A1).
With regard to Claim 9, Ou teaches (i) an atomizing assembly comprising: a heating sheet including a bracket (Fig. 5: #1), comprising a base portion (Fig. 6: #11) and a sleeve (Fig. 6: #2) that is connected to the bracket (Fig. 6: #1). The sleeve comprises a through hole (Fig 5: #21) that communicates with a first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) of an accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122, [0033]),
Ou further teaches (ii) wherein the heating sheet is arranged in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) and provided with the bracket (Fig. 5: #1, [0032]). (iii) The accommodating cavity comprises outer cotton wrapping (Fig. 6: #3) in the shape of a tube and is coated on the outside of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5, [0032]), meeting the claim limitation of a liquid guiding unit disposed in the cavity and covering an outside of the heating net. The accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #121) is provided with the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) so that the tobacco oil soaked in the outer cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #3) can enter the rapid sheet (Fig. 5: #5) to be heated and atomized [0033].
(iv) The heating sheet is split into two electric heating screens (Fig. 3: #51). Figure 6 illustrates wherein the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) exposes a part of one of the electric heating screens, and the second heating screen is within the rest of the part of the pipe body part (Fig. 6: #12) in the heating sheet. Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Ou is silent to:
A liquid storage cavity
Wherein a single grid area of the first grid is smaller than a single grid area of the second grid
Wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency
The first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated
In regards to i., Zhao, directed to an atomizing core, teaches an atomizing core with liquid storage chambers [0033], meeting the claim limitation of a liquid storage cavity.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of modified Ou to include a liquid storage cavity because both Ou and Zhao and directed to a heat generating sheet for generating aerosol. Zhao teaches liquid storage chambers to contain liquid that is conveyed to a heating element [0003] and this merely involves the use of a known feature to improve a similar heating device in the same way.
In regards to ii., Chen, directed to an atomizing component with uniform heating, teaches a heating unit (Fig. 3: #20) comprising a first heating part (Fig. 3: #21) and a second heating part (Fig. 3: #22). The size of the grid in the second heating part (Fig. 3: #22) is smaller than the size of the grid in the first heating part (Fig. 3: #21). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine this with the grids of Ou to promote uniform temperature distribution and reduce risks like carbon deposition and burning of cotton [0002]. Although Ou uses grids with the same area to speed up heating time faster and shorten heating burst time, Ou emphasizes its main goal of uniform aerosol generation, similar to the outcome of the difference of grid size contributing to uniform atomization in Chen [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of Ou to wherein a single grid area of the first grid is smaller than a single grid area because both Ou and Chen and directed to heating grids with a goal of providing uniform aerosol generating. Chen teaches a first and second heating part wherein the size of the grid in the first heating part is larger than the size of the grid in the second heating part to reach uniform atomization [0042] and this merely involves applying a sizing method to a heating grid of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to iii. and iv., Mao, directed to an atomization sheet, teaches (iii) first and second woven meshes having different pore densities to create a more uniform heat distribution [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that altering pore density would mean more metal per unit area and create a higher electrical resistance, resulting in a greater amount of heat supplied per heating unit area. Since the densities of the first and second woven meshes differ, they would also have a different amount of heat supplied per heating unit area. (iv) The pore density of the first woven mesh is smaller than the second [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a smaller pore density means more metal per unit area, resulting in a higher heating efficiency, which can be combined with the mesh window structure of Ou to improve the vaporization of liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit of Ou.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second grids of modified Ou to wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency and the first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated because both Ou and Mao are directed to improving heat distribution in heating sheets for efficient vaporization. Mao teaches first and second meshes of different densities to create a more uniform heat distribution [0069] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 10, Ou teaches wherein (i) the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 5: #52) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2). (iii) The electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) form around a circumferential direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2). (iv) Each of the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) connect with adjacent heating wires to form diamond-like shapes. Modified Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein a circumferential grid width of the first grid is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the second grid
Chen teaches wherein the grid width of the second heating part (Fig. 3: #21) is smaller than the grid width of the first heating part (Fig. 3: #21) to ensure that heat is equal to a uniform atomization effect due to heat conduction and radiation [0068].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of Ou to a circumferential grid width of the first grid is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the second grid because both Ou and Chen and directed to heating grids with a goal of providing uniform aerosol generating. Chen teaches a first and second heating part wherein the width of the grids in the second heating part is smaller than the width of the grid in the first heating part to reach uniform atomization [0042] and this merely involves applying a sizing method to a heating grid of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), and Zhao (US 20200214361 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Li (CN 212279898 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 11, Ou teaches wherein the (i) first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) extends in a longitudinal direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). (ii) The assembly includes an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #3) that is meant to be inserted in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #121), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the liquid guiding unit comprises a main liquid guiding part that is located in the cavity. (iii) A first electrode lead (Fig. 2: #52) is electrically connected to a positive pole of a power supply and a second electrode lead (Fig. 2: #53) is electrically connected to a negative pole of the power supply [0037].
Ou further teaches wherein (iv) the electrode leads are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh of the heating sheet at equal intervals [0038] and are flushed with the upper edge of the electric heating wire mesh (Fig. 5: #51, [0037]) to create notches at the top of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) in contact with an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #4).
(v) The electrode leads are passed through a base (Fig. 6: #11), holding the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121), relating to the cutting part of the claimed invention. Although the location of the electrode leads relative to the first through hole is not specified, one of ordinary skill in the art would know to position them at any location around the circumferential direction of the sleeve to optimize the component layout in a symmetrical structure, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the heating notch and the cutting part are aligned, staggered, or opposite to each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve. Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Ou is silent to:
A cutting part that stretches into the cutting slot
Li, directed to an electronic atomizing device, teaches a second absorbent member (Fig. 7: #16) that includes a pair of extensions at two circumferential ends and are fitted to each other [0057]. The pair of extensions may be inserted into an opening of a first absorbent member (Fig. 7: #12).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the liquid guiding unit of Ou to a cutting part that stretches into the cutting slot because both Ou and Li are directed to using heating elements made of wire mesh material in to generate aerosol. Li teaches an absorbent member of an atomization assembly with a pair of extensions meant to fit into an opening of another absorbent member to be easy to hold by hand or mechanical clamps [0058] and this merely involves applying a known slot technique to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 13, Ou teaches notches (Fig. 5: “N”) at the top of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) that are placed circumferentially relative to the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2) in contact with an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #4). Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein the cutting part is aligned in the circumferential direction of the sleeve
A circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net.
Li teaches (i) wherein the second absorbent member (Fig. 7: #16) is aligned with a circumferential direction of at the first liquid absorbing piece (Fig. 7: #12). (ii) Figure 4 illustrates the comparison between the amount of mesh in contact with both sides of the leads (Fig. 4: “L”) and the remaining portion of the mesh heating element (Fig. 4: #13) not welded to the conductive wires in a circumferential direction, meeting the claim limitation of wherein a circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating notch and cutting part of modified Ou to align in the circumferential direction of the sleeve and a circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net because both Ou and Li are directed to using heating elements made of wire mesh material in to generate aerosol. Li teaches leads that create notches at the top of a heating element that are aligned with a sleeve in a circumferential direction of the assembly to make assembly more user-friendly [0005] and this merely involves applying a known positioning technique to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 14, Ou teaches (i) a first electrode lead (Fig. 6: #52) that is flushed to the upper edge of an electrical wire heating mesh (Fig. 6: #51), creating two heating notches [0038]. Figure 6 shows wherein when the first electrode lead is placed in a tube body portion of the heating element (Fig. 6: #12), the first electrode is positioned away from the slot of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #12) in a circumferential direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the heating notch and the cutting part are staggered in the circumferential direction of the sleeve. (ii) It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably conclude that the position of the first electrode lead is less than 90 degrees relative to the slot of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) based on the figure, which is a significant amount of overlap in the angle range of 30° to 90° in the claimed invention and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), Zhao (US 20200214361 A1), and Li (CN 212279898 U), as applied to claims 9 and 11 above, further in view of Xiao (CN 113475781, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 12, Ou teaches (i) electrode leads (Fig. 6: #53 and 54) located on both sides of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) that create upper notches when flushed with the upper edge of the electric heating wire mesh (Fig. 6: #51, [0038]) located facing an open slot of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) in a circumferential direction relative to the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). Modified Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
A circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is larger than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net.
Xiao, directed to an atomizer and electronic atomizing device, teaches a (i) a first frame (Fig. 6: #35) and a second frame (Fig. 6: #37) on opposite ends of a first conductive thread (Fig. 6: #31). A space (Fig. 6: "S") of the thread next to the frames is larger than the spaces away from the frames in the rest of the thread, meeting the claim limitation of a circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is larger than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating notch and net of modified Ou to wherein a circumferential grid width of a region of the heating net located on two sides of the heating notch is larger than a circumferential grid width of the remaining regions of the heating net because both Ou and Xiao are directed to heating elements comprising a heating wire to generate aerosol. Xiao teaches a first and second frame on opposite ends of a conductive thread with a larger width of thread closer to the frames than in the remaining regions of the thread to help with the problem of complex manufacturing and processing technology of traditional atomizers [0004] and this merely involves applying a known grid width to a similar heating element ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), and Zhao (US 20200214361 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Fernando (CN 109475192 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20240191838 A1).
With regard to Claim 15, Ou teaches wherein (i) a heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 6: #52, #53, and #54) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2, [0014]).
Ou further teaches wherein (iii) the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) curve around the direction of the sleeve. (iv) Each of the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) connect with adjacent heating wires to form a diamond like shape, Modified Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
An axial grid length of the heating net gradually increases from an end close to the base to an end away from the base
Fernando, directed to a fluid permeable heater assembly, teaches a mesh (Fig. 4: #32) having one or more sections with an increased mesh density, referred to as a second mesh density (Fig. 4: #46) in which gaps between the threads decrease in size [0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating sheet of Ou to include the mesh of Fernando in a longitudinal direction resting on the base to achieve the increase of grid length, which would meet the claim limitation of an axial grid length of the heating net gradually increases from an end close to the base to an end away from the base.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of modified Ou to gradually increase from an end close to the base to an end away from the base in an axial grid length because both Ou and Fernando are directed to heating elements comprising mesh to generate aerosol in an aerosol generating device. Fernando teaches a mesh having a second mesh density in which gaps between the threads decrease in size to increase the stability of the mesh while handling [0089] and this merely involves applying a known mesh size to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Chen (CN 215075501 U), Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), and Zhao (US 20200214361 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Kerr (US 20200329763 A1).
With regard to Claim 16, Ou teaches wherein (i) a heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 6: #52) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). (iii) The electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) spiral around the circumferential direction of the sleeve. Modified Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein a wire diameter of each of the multiple heating wires of the heating net gradually decreases from an end close to the base to an end away from the base
Kerr, directed to a method and apparatus for an aerosol generating device, teaches a mesh that may exhibit varying dimensions, for example a decreasing diameter, through the thickness of the mesh such that the mesh exhibits a larger diameter on one side of the mesh, relative to a smaller diameter on the opposite side of the mesh [0030]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rapid sheet of Ou to include the decreasing diameter limitations of Kerr in a longitudinal direction resting on the base.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of modified Ou to include wherein the wire diameter of the multiple heating wires gradually decreases form an end close to the base to an end away from the base because both Ou and Kerr and directed to aerosol generation devices using a mesh to control liquid release. Kerr teaches a mesh with varying diameters on opposite sides to assist in determining a size of atomized droplets produced by the aerosol generating device [0029] and this merely involves applying a known sizing technique to a mesh of a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), and further in view of Fernando (CN 109475192 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20240191838 A1), Chen (CN 215075501 U), hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220104550 A1).
With regard to Claim 17, Ou teaches (i) an electronic atomizing device with an atomizing assembly comprising: a heating sheet including a bracket (Fig. 5: #1), comprising a base portion (Fig. 6: #11) and a sleeve (Fig. 6: #2) that is connected to the bracket (Fig. 6: #1). The sleeve comprises a through hole (Fig 5: #21) that communicates with a first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) of an accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122, [0033]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the sleeve has a cavity and at least one window in communication with the cavity.
Ou further teaches (ii) wherein the heating sheet is arranged in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) and provided with the bracket (Fig. 5: #1, [0032]). (iii) The accommodating cavity comprises outer cotton wrapping (Fig. 6: #3) in the shape of a tube and is coated on the outside of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5, [0032]), meeting the claim limitation of a liquid guiding unit disposed in the cavity and covering an outside of the heating net. The accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #121) is provided with the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) so that the tobacco oil soaked in the outer cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #3) can enter the rapid sheet (Fig. 5: #5) to be heated and atomized [0033].
(iv) The heating sheet is split into two electric heating screens (Fig. 3: #51). Figure 6 illustrates wherein the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) exposes a part of one of the electric heating screens, and the second heating screen is within the rest of the part of the pipe body part (Fig. 6: #12) in the heating sheet. Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Ou is silent to:
A power supply component
A vaporizer electrically connected to the power supply component; the vaporizer comprising: a liquid storage cavity
Wherein a single grid area of the first grid is smaller than a single grid area of the second grid
Wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency
The first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated
In regards to i. and ii., Fernando, directed to a heater assembly, teaches (i) an aerosol generating system comprising a power supply [0114]. (ii) The aerosol generating system comprises a cartridge containing a liquid storage portion and a heater assembly [0112] that is connected to an electrical power source through electric circuitry [0081].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic vaporization device of Ou to comprise a power supply component and a vaporizer electrically connected the power supply component, the vaporizer comprising a liquid storage cavity because both Ou and Fernando are directed to heating elements made of mesh grid material used to generate aerosol. Fernando teaches a power supply connected to a heater assembly, comprising a liquid storage portion to convey liquid aerosol forming substrate towards the heating element [0062] and this merely involves the use of known atomizing features to improve similar heating devices in the same way.
In regards to iii., Chen, directed to an atomizing component with uniform heating, teaches a heating unit (Fig. 3: #20) comprising a first heating part (Fig. 3: #21) and a second heating part (Fig. 3: #22). The size of the grid in the second heating part (Fig. 3: #22) is smaller than the size of the grid in the first heating part (Fig. 3: #21). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine this with the grids of Ou to promote uniform temperature distribution and reduce risks like carbon deposition and burning of cotton [0002]. Although Ou uses grids with the same area to speed up heating time faster and shorten heating burst time, Ou emphasizes its goal of uniform aerosol generation, similar to the outcome of the difference of grid size contributing to uniform atomization in Chen [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of Ou to wherein a single grid area of the first grid is smaller than a single grid area because both Ou and Chen and directed to heating grids with a goal of providing uniform aerosol generating. Chen teaches a first and second heating part wherein the size of the grid in the first heating part is larger than the size of the grid in the second heating part to reach uniform atomization [0042] and this merely involves applying a sizing method to a heating grid of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to iv. and v., Mao, directed to an atomization sheet, teaches (iv) first and second woven meshes having different pore densities to create a more uniform heat distribution [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that altering pore density would mean more metal per unit area and create a higher electrical resistance, resulting in a greater amount of heat supplied per heating unit area. Since the densities of the first and second woven meshes differ, they would also have a different amount of heat supplied per heating unit area. (v) The pore density of the first woven mesh is smaller than the second [0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a smaller pore density means more metal per unit area, resulting in a higher heating efficiency, which can be combined with the mesh window structure of Ou to improve the vaporization of liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit of Ou.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second grids of modified Ou to wherein the single grid area of the first grid is configured to produce a first heating efficiency and the single grid area of the second end is configured to produce a second heating efficiency and the first heating efficiency being greater than the second heating efficiency such that the vaporization liquid that enters the liquid guiding unit through the at least one window is effectively vaporized while the heating net is not overheated because both Ou and Mao are directed to improving heat distribution in heating sheets for efficient vaporization. Mao teaches first and second meshes of different densities to create a more uniform heat distribution [0069] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 18, Ou teaches wherein (i) the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 5: #52) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2). (iii) The electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) form around a round direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2).
Ou further teaches wherein (iv) each of the electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) connect with adjacent heating wires to form a diamond like shape wherein the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises electric heating wire (Fig. 6: #51) that is formed into a tubular structure [0039]. Modified Ou teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Ou is silent to:
Wherein a circumferential grid width of the first grid is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the second grid
Chen teaches wherein the grid width of the second heating part (Fig. 3: #21) is smaller than the grid width of the first heating part (Fig. 3: #21) to ensure that heat is equal to a uniform atomization effect due to heat conduction and radiation [0068].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating net of Ou to a circumferential grid width of the first grid is smaller than a circumferential grid width of the second grid because both Ou and Chen and directed to heating grids with a goal of providing uniform aerosol generating. Chen teaches a first and second heating part wherein the width of the grids in the second heating part is smaller than the width of the grid in the first heating part to reach uniform atomization [0042] and this merely involves applying a sizing method to a heating grid of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 20, Ou teaches wherein (i) the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) comprises a plurality of wires and a plurality of electrode leads [0035]. (ii) The electrode leads (Fig. 5: #52) are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh at equal intervals [0038] and extend along an axial direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2). (iii) The electric heating wires (Fig. 5: #51) of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) form around a round direction of the sleeve (Fig. 5: #2).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN 214483265 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Fernando (CN 109475192 A), Chen (CN 215075501 U), and Mao (WO 2020142996 A1), as applied to claim 17, further in view of Li (CN 212279898 U, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 19, Ou teaches wherein the (i) first through hole (Fig. 6: #121) of the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #122) extends in a longitudinal direction of the sleeve (Fig. 6: #2). (ii) The assembly includes an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #3) that is meant to be inserted in the accommodating cavity (Fig. 6: #121), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the liquid guiding unit comprises a main liquid guiding part that is located in the cavity. (iii) A first electrode lead (Fig. 2: #52) is electrically connected to a positive pole of a power supply and a second electrode lead (Fig. 2: #53) is electrically connected to a negative pole of the power supply [0037].
Ou further teaches wherein (iv) the electrode leads are distributed on the electric heating wire mesh of the heating sheet at equal intervals [0038] and are flushed with the upper edge of the electric heating wire mesh (Fig. 5: #51, [0037]) to create notches at the top of the heating sheet (Fig. 5: #5) in contact with an inner cotton wrapping (Fig. 5: #4).
(v) The electrode leads are passed through a base (Fig. 6: #11), holding the first through hole (Fig. 6: #121), relating to the cutting part of the claimed invention. Although the location of the electrode leads relative to the first through hole is not specified, one of ordinary skill in the art would know to position them at any location around the circumferential direction of the sleeve to optimize the component layout in a symmetrical structure, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the heating notch and the cutting part are aligned, staggered, or opposite to each other in the circumferential direction of the sleeve. Ou teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Ou is silent to:
A cutting part that stretches into the cutting slot
Li, directed to an electronic atomizing device, teaches a second absorbent member (Fig. 7: #16) that includes a pair of extensions at two circumferential ends and are fitted to each other [0057]. The pair of extensions may be inserted into an opening of a first absorbent member (Fig. 7: #12).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the liquid guiding unit of Ou to a cutting part that stretches into the cutting slot because both Ou and Li are directed to using heating elements made of wire mesh material in to generate aerosol. Li teaches an absorbent member of an atomization assembly with a pair of extensions meant to fit into an opening of another absorbent member to be easy to hold by hand or mechanical clamps [0058] and this merely involves applying a known slot technique to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755