DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13 and 15-19 are pending. Claims 2, 6, 10 and 14 are canceled. Claims 16-19 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13 and 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20250159698, Luo hereinafter) in view of Ye et al. (US 20250175997, Ye hereinafter, cited on the PTO-892 dated 06/17/2025) and further in view of Pan et al. (US 20240172235, Pan hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Luo discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a second UE, a request for inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0104]-[0109], in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is used to request coordination information (e.g., a coordination resource set, and/or other coordination information) from another UE (e.g., denoted as UE-A). The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission.); and
receiving, from the second UE, the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0161], in step S103, first coordination information is acquired. The first coordination information may be a response of UE-A to the first coordination request. For example, one or more SL transmissions are received.),
wherein the request is transmitted based on first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI is 2nd-stage SCI carried on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and includes a field indicating that the first SCI is used to request the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0067]-[0069], [0104]-[0109], [0336], [0343] and abstract, in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission. The SCI transmission (or the SCI reception) corresponds to an SCI format (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format or a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format), or an SCI format combination (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format and a corresponding 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format). an “SL transmission” may include one or more of the following: A PSSCH transmission. A PSCCH transmission and a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. A PSCCH transmission or a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. Wherein a field in the SCI indicates that the SCI is used to carry inter-UE coordination information, or indicates that the SCI is used to carry a coordination request.).
Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE.
However Ye discloses wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE (see at least paragraph [0041], a first triggering condition is knowledge of the existence of a UE-A capable of sending inter-UE coordination message. Thus, the first triggering condition is that UE-B knows of a UE-A capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. UE-B may be configured to use one of a plurality of alternative methods for determining that a UE-A is capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. In a first alternative method, which is applicable in unicast communications, the UE-B determines via a PC5-RRC communication that UE-A is capable of sending inter-UE coordination information.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement triggering conditions, as taught by Ye, into the invention of Luo in order to enhance data transmission reliability (see Ye, paragraph [0043]).
Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a medium access control (MACI control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition.
However Pan discloses wherein at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition (see at least paragraphs [0114]-[0115], MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
As to claim 3: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the method of claim 17. Luo further discloses wherein the second SCI includes a field indicating that the second SCI is used to provide the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0336], the first coordination SCI format includes an “SCI format identifier” field (e.g., the SCI format identifier field may be the first field in the first coordination SCI format). If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for a coordination request, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination request. If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for coordination information, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination information.).
As to claim 4: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the method of claim 1. Luo further discloses wherein a bit size for the field is one bit (see at least paragraph [0340], bit size ‘0’ of a payload of the first coordination SCI format used for the coordination request .).
As to claim 5: Luo discloses a method performed by a second user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, a request for inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0104]-[0109], in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is used to request coordination information (e.g., a coordination resource set, and/or other coordination information) from another UE (e.g., denoted as UE-A). The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission.); and
transmitting, to the first UE, the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0161], in step S103, first coordination information is acquired. The first coordination information may be a response of UE-A to the first coordination request. For example, one or more SL transmissions are received.),
wherein the request is transmitted based on first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI is 2nd-stage SCI carried on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and includes a field indicating that the first SCI is used to request the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0067]-[0069], [0104]-[0109], [0336], [0343] and abstract, in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission. The SCI transmission (or the SCI reception) corresponds to an SCI format (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format or a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format), or an SCI format combination (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format and a corresponding 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format). an “SL transmission” may include one or more of the following: A PSSCH transmission. A PSCCH transmission and a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. A PSCCH transmission or a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. Wherein a field in the SCI indicates that the SCI is used to carry inter-UE coordination information, or indicates that the SCI is used to carry a coordination request.).
Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE.
However Ye discloses wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE (see at least paragraph [0041], a first triggering condition is knowledge of the existence of a UE-A capable of sending inter-UE coordination message. Thus, the first triggering condition is that UE-B knows of a UE-A capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. UE-B may be configured to use one of a plurality of alternative methods for determining that a UE-A is capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. In a first alternative method, which is applicable in unicast communications, the UE-B determines via a PC5-RRC communication that UE-A is capable of sending inter-UE coordination information.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement triggering conditions, as taught by Ye, into the invention of Luo in order to enhance data transmission reliability (see Ye, paragraph [0043]).
Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a medium access control (MACI control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition.
However Pan discloses wherein at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition (see at least paragraphs [0114]-[0115], MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
As to claim 7: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the method of claim 18. Luo further discloses wherein the second SCI includes a field indicating that the second SCI is used to provide the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0336], the first coordination SCI format includes an “SCI format identifier” field (e.g., the SCI format identifier field may be the first field in the first coordination SCI format). If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for a coordination request, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination request. If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for coordination information, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination information.).
As to claim 8: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the method of claim 5. Luo further discloses wherein a bit size for the field is one bit see at least paragraph [0340], bit size ‘0’ of a payload of the first coordination SCI format used for the coordination request .).
As to claim 9: Luo discloses a first user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the first UE comprising: a transceiver (see at least paragraph [0091], UE includes a transceiver); and a controller (see at least paragraph [0382], controller) configured to: transmit, to a second UE, a request for inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0104]-[0109], in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is used to request coordination information (e.g., a coordination resource set, and/or other coordination information) from another UE (e.g., denoted as UE-A). The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission.), and
receive, from the second UE, the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0161], in step S103, first coordination information is acquired. The first coordination information may be a response of UE-A to the first coordination request. For example, one or more SL transmissions are received.),
wherein the request is transmitted based on first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI is 2nd-stage SCI carried on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and includes a field indicating that the first SCI is used to request the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0067]-[0069], [0104]-[0109], [0336], [0343] and abstract, in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission. The SCI transmission (or the SCI reception) corresponds to an SCI format (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format or a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format), or an SCI format combination (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format and a corresponding 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format). an “SL transmission” may include one or more of the following: A PSSCH transmission. A PSCCH transmission and a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. A PSCCH transmission or a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. Wherein a field in the SCI indicates that the SCI is used to carry inter-UE coordination information, or indicates that the SCI is used to carry a coordination request.).
Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE.
However Ye discloses wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE (see at least paragraph [0041], a first triggering condition is knowledge of the existence of a UE-A capable of sending inter-UE coordination message. Thus, the first triggering condition is that UE-B knows of a UE-A capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. UE-B may be configured to use one of a plurality of alternative methods for determining that a UE-A is capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. In a first alternative method, which is applicable in unicast communications, the UE-B determines via a PC5-RRC communication that UE-A is capable of sending inter-UE coordination information.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement triggering conditions, as taught by Ye, into the invention of Luo in order to enhance data transmission reliability (see Ye, paragraph [0043]).
Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a medium access control (MACI control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition.
However Pan discloses wherein at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition (see at least paragraphs [0114]-[0115], MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
As to claim 11: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the first UE of claim 19. Luo further discloses wherein the second SCI includes a field indicating that the second SCI is used to provide the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0336], the first coordination SCI format includes an “SCI format identifier” field (e.g., the SCI format identifier field may be the first field in the first coordination SCI format). If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for a coordination request, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination request. If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for coordination information, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination information.).
As to claim 12: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the first UE of claim 9. Luo further discloses wherein a bit size for the field is one bit see at least paragraph [0340], bit size ‘0’ of a payload of the first coordination SCI format used for the coordination request .).
As to claim 13: Luo discloses a second user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the second UE comprising: a transceiver (see at least paragraph [0091], UE includes a transceiver); and a controller (see at least paragraph [0382], controller) configured to:
receive, from a first UE, a request for inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0104]-[0109], in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is used to request coordination information (e.g., a coordination resource set, and/or other coordination information) from another UE (e.g., denoted as UE-A). The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission.), and
transmit, to the first UE, the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0161], in step S103, first coordination information is acquired. The first coordination information may be a response of UE-A to the first coordination request. For example, one or more SL transmissions are received.),
wherein the request is transmitted based on first sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the first SCI is 2nd-stage SCI carried on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and includes a field indicating that the first SCI is used to request the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0067]-[0069], [0104]-[0109], [0336], [0343] and abstract, in step S101, a first coordination request is transmitted. The first coordination request is carried in an SL transmission. The SCI transmission (or the SCI reception) corresponds to an SCI format (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format or a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format), or an SCI format combination (e.g., a 1.sup.st-stage SCI format and a corresponding 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format). an “SL transmission” may include one or more of the following: A PSSCH transmission. A PSCCH transmission and a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. A PSCCH transmission or a corresponding (or associated) PSSCH transmission thereof. Wherein a field in the SCI indicates that the SCI is used to carry inter-UE coordination information, or indicates that the SCI is used to carry a coordination request.).
Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE.
However Ye discloses wherein the request is triggered based on a condition among a plurality of conditions, wherein the plurality of conditions includes: an implementation of the first UE (see at least paragraph [0041], a first triggering condition is knowledge of the existence of a UE-A capable of sending inter-UE coordination message. Thus, the first triggering condition is that UE-B knows of a UE-A capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. UE-B may be configured to use one of a plurality of alternative methods for determining that a UE-A is capable of participating in inter-UE coordination. In a first alternative method, which is applicable in unicast communications, the UE-B determines via a PC5-RRC communication that UE-A is capable of sending inter-UE coordination information.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement triggering conditions, as taught by Ye, into the invention of Luo in order to enhance data transmission reliability (see Ye, paragraph [0043]).
Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a medium access control (MACI control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition.
However Pan discloses wherein at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), based on a predetermined condition (see at least paragraphs [0114]-[0115], MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
As to claim 15: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the second UE of claim 16. Luo further discloses wherein: the second SCI includes a field indicating that the second SCI is used to provide the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraphs [0336], the first coordination SCI format includes an “SCI format identifier” field (e.g., the SCI format identifier field may be the first field in the first coordination SCI format). If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for a coordination request, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination request. If the SCI format identifier field indicates that the first coordination SCI format is used for coordination information, then the remaining fields of the first coordination SCI format are used to indicate the first coordination information.).
As to claim 16: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the second UE of claim 13. Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is equal to or greater than a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information.
However Pan discloses wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is equal to or greater than a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraph [0115], SCI (e.g., second stage SCI) and/or MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is small (e.g., less than a predetermined threshold). MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when the payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE or SCI based on predetermined threshold, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
.
As to claim 17: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the method of claim 1. Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is great than or equal to a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information.
However Pan discloses wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is great than or equal to a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraph [0115], SCI (e.g., second stage SCI) and/or MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is small (e.g., less than a predetermined threshold). MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when the payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE or SCI based on predetermined threshold, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
As to claim 18: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the method of claim 5. Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is equal to or greater than a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information.
However Pan discloses wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is equal to or greater than a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information(see at least paragraph [0115], SCI (e.g., second stage SCI) and/or MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is small (e.g., less than a predetermined threshold). MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when the payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE or SCI based on predetermined threshold, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
As to claim 19: Luo, Ye and Pan disclose the first UE of claim 9. Luo and Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is equal to or greater than a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information.
However Pan discloses wherein the predetermined condition is associated with an amount of the inter-UE coordination information, wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is equal to or greater than a threshold, the MAC CE is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information, and wherein, in case that the amount of the inter-UE coordination information is less than the threshold, the second SCI is used for providing the inter-UE coordination information (see at least paragraph [0115], SCI (e.g., second stage SCI) and/or MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when a payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is small (e.g., less than a predetermined threshold). MAC CE may be used to carry an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information when the payload size of an inter-UE coordination request or inter-UE coordination information is large (e.g., larger than a predetermined threshold).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement MAC CE or SCI based on predetermined threshold, as taught by Pan, into the invention of Luo and Ye in order to enable power saving as well as enhancing reliability and reducing latency (see Pan, paragraph [0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khoryaev et al.( US 20250287399) discloses Transmission Of Inter-UE Coordination Feedback For V2X Sidelink Communication With Collision Avoidance.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464