Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 07/28/2026 has been entered.
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 8, and 19 are amended.
Claims 4-7 and 20 are as previously presented
Claims 2-3 are canceled.
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/28/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The bias element in claims 2 and 19, with the purpose being to bias the steam wand in a direction towards the home position, which is defined in the specification as a torsion spring (1007, [0046]).
The engaging feature of claim 20, with the purpose being to operatively associate pivoting movement of the steam want with the dampener, which is defined in the specification as the gear teeth (1101) of the gear section ([0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claims are dependent on a canceled claim and there is no claim two or claim 3 for the claims to refer to. In the interest of compact prosecution, examiner will treat the claims as if they depended on claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassia et al. (US Publication 2016/0235243) hereafter referred to as Grassia, in view of Salice (US Publication 2005/0071954).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6, Grassia teaches a milk frothing apparatus for use in an espresso making machine having a steam wand (Grassia [0001]; Figures 19A & B; 1910) where the steam wand rotates around an axis (Figure 19A, 1920) and is biased via a torsion spring (Figure 19A, 1926) which biases the steam wand to a lower configuration ([0218]), a pair of gears (Figure 19A, 1922 and 1924) of which one (1924) is an arcuate gear that is pivots in unison or co-rotates with the steam wand around the pivot axis, and the other (1922) is a pinion gear paired to the arcuate gear.
Grassia does not teach a damping assembly to resist pivotable motion of the steam wand about the pivot axis.
Salice teaches a rotary damper (Salice [0025]) which dampens the closure movements of doors to prevent a push effect when they abut or slam against the end stops in the closed position when rotated (Salice [0002]).
Given that the steam wand of Grassia rotates, and rotary dampers reduce the speed of rotation to prevent slamming, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Grassia to include the rotary damper of Salice in order to reduce the speed of rotation of the steam wand and prevent the steam wand slamming into the base.
The combination of Grassia and Salice does not teach the location of the rotary damper. As the rotary damper of Salice must rotate around an axis of rotation in order to properly function and there are two axes of rotation in the device of Grassia, one for each gear (1922 and 1924), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try and locate the rotary damper of Salice on either one of the gears to achieve the predictable results of allowing the damping of the movement of the steam wand.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Grassia teaches a switch (Figure 19A, 1928) that is actuated when the steam wand is pivoted into a specified position (Figure 19A).
Regarding claim 19, Grassia teaches a milk frothing apparatus (Figure 19A, 1900) for making frothed milk, comprising a main body (1900), a steam wand (1910) pivotably moveable relative the main body ([0218]), a torsion spring (1926) to bias the steam wand to a lower position ([0218]), a pair of gears (Figure 19A, 1922 and 1924) of which one (1924) is an arcuate gear that is pivots in unison or co-rotates with the steam wand around the pivot axis, and the other (1922) is a pinion gear paired to the arcuate gear.
Grassia however does not teach a dampener.
Salice teaches a rotary damper (Figure 1) which dampens the closure movements of doors to prevent a push effect when they abut or slam against the end stops in the closed position (Salice [0002]).
Given that the steam wand of Grassia rotates, and rotary dampers reduce the speed of rotation, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Grassia to include the rotary damper of Salice in order to reduce the speed of rotation of the steam wand and prevent the steam wand slamming into the base.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassia as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Volonte et al. (US Publication 2012/0073449) hereafter referred to as Volonte.
The modified device of Grassia teaches all of the limitations of claim 19, an engaging feature to operatively associate pivoting movement of the steam wand with the dampener (Grassia 1922 and 1924) but does not teach a pivoting bracket.
Volonte teaches a milk frothing wand which contains a bracket (Volonte 6 and 7) which mounts the steam wand (2) to the main body (4) and has a shaft (5) that allows for rotation around the shaft defining an axis of rotation.
It is known in the art of joints and connections that there are two predicable methods to attach an axle to a housing which are either utilizing a bracket or a direct connection to a wall surface and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try either available method of attaching the axle, via a bracket or directly to the housing, to achieve the predictable result of allowing pivoting of the steam wand and the associated movement of the damper.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Salice is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, dampers for doors to reduce the speed of the door are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem of dampening assemblies for steam wands to reduce rotationally velocity to prevent slamming and breaking.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., damping over the whole rotation of the meshed gear assembly) are not recited in the rejected claim and a dampener that works on only a portion of the rotation still acts on the rotation of a meshed gear assembly. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the motivation to combine Salice and Grassia is already taught by Grassia alone, Grassia does not teach preventing the steam wand from slamming into the base.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination would render the drive gear inoperable for its intended purpose, applicant has given reasoning as to why the damper would make the device less effective, but not why it would make the device inoperable as such the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ariaka (US Publication 2004/0035652) teaches a rotary damper with a gear built in to the design. However, it teaches the use of raising and lowering an ashtray rather than the rotational resistance required for the rotary damper.
Albert et al. (US Patent 5372061) teaches a pivoting steam wand, but does not teach the use of the arcuate and pinion gears.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.M./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761