DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on January 27, 2026 with respect to the objections of claim 24, the objection to the specification, and the 112 rejection(s) of claims 24 and 32 and the arguments for the remaining claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new ground(s) of rejection have been made in view of applicant’s amendments as can be further seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, 13-14, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0235486 A1 to Larkin, and further in view of Peine et al. (hereinafter Peine – Using WO 2021/126163 A1, with citations to the corresponding US Publication No. US 2023/0010350 A1), US 2021/0259792 A1 to Hares et al. (hereinafter “Hares”), and US 2020/0330174 A1 to Bertram.
Regarding claim 1, Larkin teaches:
A surgical robotic system (para 0106), comprising
a computing unit/coordination system architecture for receiving user generated movement data and for generating control signals in response thereto (see fig. 22A and para 0250-0252),
and a robotic subsystem (see fig. 21A, 2104 and para [0246]) having:
a motor unit/actuator assembly having a plurality of motor elements associated therewith (see fig. 24B – 2420 and 2426, and para [0266]),
each of the plurality of motor elements independently movable relative to each other in a linear or translational motion position (see fig. 23 and para [0262]), and
a robotic unit (see fig. 17B) having:
a camera subassembly/image capture component (see fig. 17b, 1756 and para [0201] – “ In an illustrative use, parallel motion mechanism 1752 heaves and sways image capture component 1756 up and to the side…..”) including:
a camera support element/rigid guide tube (see fig. 17B, 1742 and para [0201] – “In addition, an independently teleoperated endoscopic imaging system 1750 runs through and emerges at the distal end of guide tube 1742.”),
a first interface element (of the many interface elements) coupled to a proximal end of the instrument and the camera support element/rigid guide tube (see fig. 24A & 24B- 2410, fig. 25A, and fig. 17B – 1740a and 1740b, para [0201]- first sentence, para [0265] – “In the illustrative embodiment shown, transmission mechanism 2404 includes six interface disks 2410. One or more disks 2410 are associated with a DOF for instrument 240….. ”, para [0266] – “FIG. 24B is a perspective view of a portion of an actuator assembly 2420 that mates with and actuates components in surgical instrument 2402. Actuator disks 2422 are arranged to mate with interface disks 2410.”)
an articulating joint/pitch-only wrist mechanism (see fig. 17B, 1754 and para [0201]- “In some aspects imaging system 1750 also includes…..a pitch-only wrist mechanism 1754 at the distal end of the parallel motion mechanism 1752”, and para [0267] – first three sentences), coupled to a proximal end of the camera support element/rigid guide tube (see fig. 17B, 1754 and 1742/1742a),
and
a camera assembly coupled to the articulating joint/wrist mechanism (see fig. 17B, 1754 and 1756, and para [0201] – “ In an illustrative use, parallel motion mechanism 1752 heaves and sways image capture component 1756 up and to the side.”),
the camera assembly movable relative to the camera support element along a yaw direction and a pitch direction (see para [0199],
and
a plurality of robot arm subassemblies (see annotated fig. 17B below and para [0201] – “Each instrument 1740a, 1740b is a 6 DOF instrument, as described above, and includes a parallel motion mechanism 1744a, 1744b, as described above, with wrists 1746a, 1746b and end effectors 1748a, 1748b attached.”),
But does not disclose wherein the camera subassembly support element is coupled through the first interface element to a first motor element of plurality of motor elements, a first robot arm subassembly of the plurality of robot arm subassemblies is coupled through a second interface element to a second motor element of the plurality of motor elements to the motor unit, and a second robot arm subassembly of the plurality of robot arm subassemblies is coupled through a third interface element to a third motor element of the plurality of motor elements the motor unit when actuated moves one of the camera subassembly and the robot arm subassemblies in a selected direction,
and does not explicitly disclose wherein the computer unit is further for:
sending a first signal, of the control signals, to cause the camera subassembly to move in a selected direction in response to the control signals,
sending a second signal, of the control signals, to cause the first robot arm subassembly to move to a first depth relative to a trocar, and
sending a third signal, of the control signals, to cause the second robot arm subassembly to move to a second depth relative to the trocar, that is different than the first depth,
wherein the plurality of motor elements move independently of each other to allow for independent translational movement of the camera subassembly, the first robot arm subassembly, and the second robot arm subassembly within a body cavity,
and wherein after moving the camera assembly through an insertion point of the body cavity, the computing unit is configured to cause the camera assembly to move so that camera elements of the camera assembly are facing towards the insertion point.
However Hares, who is in the same field of endeavor, teaches a control system for a surgical robotic system (see abstract). The system (fig. 5) teaches wherein:
the camera/endoscope (which can be included at the distal end of one of the surgical robotic arms) is coupled through the first interface element to a first motor element of plurality of motor elements (see fig. 5 – 503, para [0037], para [0046], para [0048], para [0055]-[0057], and para [0060]),
a first robot arm subassembly of the plurality of robot arm subassemblies is coupled through a second interface element (among the plurality of interface elements) to a second motor element of the plurality of motor elements to the motor unit (see fig. 5, 504, para [0037], para [0046], para [0048], para [0055]-[0057], and para [0060]), and a second robot arm subassembly of the plurality of robot arm subassemblies is coupled through a third interface element to a third motor element of the plurality of motor elements the motor unit when actuated moves one of the camera subassembly and the robot arm subassemblies in a selected direction (see fig. 5, 505, para [0037], para [0046], para [0048], para [0050], para [0055], and para [0060]), does not explicitly disclose wherein the computer unit is further for:
sending a first signal, of the control signals, to cause the camera subassembly to move in a selected direction in response to the control signals,
sending a second signal, of the control signals, to cause the first robot arm subassembly to move to a first depth relative to a trocar, and
sending a third signal, of the control signals, to cause the second robot arm subassembly to move to a second depth relative to the trocar, that is different than the first depth,
wherein the plurality of motor elements move independently of each other to allow for independent translational movement of the camera subassembly, the first robot arm subassembly, and the second robot arm subassembly within a body cavity,
and wherein after moving the camera assembly through an insertion point of the body cavity, the computing unit is configured to cause the camera assembly to move so that camera elements of the camera assembly are facing towards the insertion point.
However, Peine, who is in the same field of endeavor, teaches a robotic surgical system (see abstract and fig. 1). The system (fig. 1A) teaches wherein the computing unit/computer device sends a plurality of signals to the robotic arms/robotic arm assembly and the endoscope/camera (see para [0044], para [0111]- last sentence, para [0123]- last sentence, and para [0128]) in order to command the arm(s) and/or the imaging device/endoscope to vary in depth during insertion, and wherein the camera/endoscope or imaging device can move in a roll, pitch, and yaw motion of the endoscope/imaging device (see para [0128] and para [0165]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the robotic arms move at a depth relative to a trocar.
However, Betram teaches inserting a plurality of medical instrument relative to a trocar (see fig. 7 and para [0001]- “Through the trocar, a variety of surgical instruments and tools can be introduced into the abdominal cavity.” )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Larkin with the teachings of both Hares and Peine to arrive at the claimed invention. Such modification would improve the system by improving surgical precision, ultimately improving surgical outcomes.
Regarding claim 4, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the camera elements of the camera assembly/imaging system comprise a first camera element having a first light source associated therewith, and a second camera element having a second light source associated therewith (see annotated fig. 18C – 1854a and 1854b, and para [0209]).
Regarding claim 5, Larkin as modified teaches the surgical robotic system of claim 1, wherein the first robot arm subassembly comprises a first axially extending support member/rigid guide tube (see annotated fig. 17B - 1744a, 1744b, and 1742/1742a), and wherein the robotic arms contain first, second, and third interface elements (See Lark, fig. 24A & 24B - 2410, fig. 25A, and Hares, para [0046] – each instrument contains interface elements, since the robotic arms connected to the robotic controllers each contain robotic instruments at the distal end of the robotic device), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second interface element coupled to one end of the first axially extending support member and a first robot arm coupled to an opposed end of the first axially extending support member, and the second robot arm subassembly comprises a second axially extending support member, the third interface element coupled to one end of the second axially extending support member and the second robot arm coupled to an opposed end of the second axially extending support member.
However, Bertram teaches wherein a plurality of robotic arms contain a plurality of axially extending support member/links for each robotic arm (see annotated fig. 5- 514 below and para [0032] – “he positioning linkages 504 include robotic manipulators 506 that are similar to the robotic manipulators 306 described in FIG. 4, whereas the positioning linkage 504′ includes a robotic manipulator 506′ configured to support the imaging device 501. In addition, the positioning linkages 504,504′ may each include a series of links 514 coupled via rotational joints 516. ”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified system of Lark with the teachings of Bertram to arrive at the claimed invention. Such modification would improve the system by improving surgical safety and precision when controlling the robotic arms, ultimately improving surgical outcomes.
Regarding claim 6, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 5, wherein the second and third
interface elements/plurality of interface elements (See Larkin, fig. 24A & 24B - 2410, fig. 25A, “In the illustrative embodiment shown, transmission mechanism 2404 includes six interface disks 2410. One or more disks 2410 are associated with a DOF for instrument 240”) of the robot arm subassemblies (containing the instrument) is configured for engaging with different ones of the plurality of motor elements of the motor unit (see fig. 23, and para [0260]).
Regarding claim 7, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 5, wherein the first interface element (See Hares - of the plurality of interface elements – see fig. 5, para [0046], and para [0055]) of the camera subassembly/endoscope imaging system (See Hares - para [0008] and para [0037]) is coupled to --a motor element (the motor element(s) being the motors located in the joints of each of the robotic arms) that is coupled to the second or third interface element (interface elements in the second and/or third robotic arm controllers) of one of the robot arm subassemblies (See Hares - fig. 5, para [0044], para [0046], and para [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 5, wherein the motor unit includes a plurality of motor elements (See Larkin – figs. 24A & 24B – reference number 2426 and para [0266]), and wherein the first interface element of the camera subassembly (where the first interface connected to the first robotic arm can include an endoscope – See para [0008] and para [0037], and para [0064]) and the second and third interface elements of one of the robot arm subassemblies (See Hares – fig. 5, 503 and 505, para [0046] ) are coupled to different ones of the plurality of motor elements (wherein the different ones of motor elements being the different joint motors in each robotic arm – See Hares, para [0044], para [0046], para [0055]-[0057], and para [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 5, wherein each of the -first and second robot arms have an end effector region (See Larkin - fig. 17B, 1748a-1748b, para [0201]),
and wherein the camera assembly/imaging system (See Larkin - fig. 10, 1014) and the first and second robot arms (containing the instruments 1008a-1008b and end effectors 1012a-1012b) can be sized and configured to be inserted into the body cavity of a patient through an insertion point (through the cannula and into the body - See Larkin, fig. 10 and para [0171]), and wherein the computing unit/coordination system in response to the user generated control signals generates the control signals which are received by the first and second robot arms (containing the end effectors) and the camera assembly/imaging system (See Larkin - para [0250]-[0251]) for:
actuating each of the first and second robot arms (containing the end effectors) and the camera assembly/imaging system can enter into an insertion point (through the cannula and into the body) and that can be oriented in different directions within the surgical site (See Larkin - fig. 10, para [0139], para [0171], and para [0209]),
actuating each of the first and second robot arms (containing the end effectors) so as to reverse direction such that the end effector region is facing towards the insertion point (through the cannula and into the body, and the end effector region can be oriented in different directions depending on the movements of the surgeon’s input mechanisms – See Larkin, para [0139], para [0171], and para [0209]),
and moving the camera assembly in a selected direction such that the camera elements are facing towards the insertion point (after insertion through the cannula and into the body). The camera assembly/imaging system can be moved forwards or backwards towards the distal or proximal direction ( See Larkin - para [0139], para [0171], and para [0209]).
Regarding claim 10, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 5, wherein -each of the first and second robot arms has a respective end effector region (See Larkin - fig. 17B, 1748a-1748b, para [0201]), and wherein the camera assembly/imaging system (See Larkin, fig. 10 - 1014) and the first and second robot arms (containing the instruments 1008a-1008b and end effectors 1012a-1012b) are sized and configured to be inserted into the body cavity of a patient through an insertion point (through the cannula and into the body - See Larkin - fig. 10 and para [0171]), and wherein the computing unit/coordination system in response to the user generated control signals for:
orienting the robot arms (which contain the instruments, parallel motion mechanisms wrist, and end effectors-see fig. 16A and para [0187], first two sentences), such that they face in a first direction that is transverse or orthogonal to an axis of the support member/rigid guide tube, and actuating each of the first and second robot arms so as to reverse direction such that the respective end effector region are facing in a second direction that is substantially opposite the first direction (See Larkin - figs. 2A-2B, reference numbers 7 and 15b, annotated fig. 13, para [0049]-[0050], para [0145]-[0146], and para [0177]),
but does not disclose wherein the first and second robot arms are connected to first and second axially extending support members.
However, Bertram teaches wherein a plurality of robotic arms contain a plurality of axially extending support member/links for each robotic arm (see annotated fig. 5- 514 below and para [0032] – “he positioning linkages 504 include robotic manipulators 506 that are similar to the robotic manipulators 306 described in FIG. 4, whereas the positioning linkage 504′ includes a robotic manipulator 506′ configured to support the imaging device 501. In addition, the positioning linkages 504,504′ may each include a series of links 514 coupled via rotational joints 516. ”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified system of Larkin with the teachings of Bertram to arrive at the claimed invention. Such modification would improve the system by providing proper connection and support for each robotic arm while improving surgical precision, ultimately improving surgical outcomes.
Regarding claim 11, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 5, wherein each of the first and second robot arms has a respective end effector region (See Larkin - fig. 17B, 1748a-1748b, para [0201]), and wherein the camera assembly/imaging system (see fig. 10, 1014) and the first and second robot arms (containing the instruments 1008a-1008b and end effectors 1012a-1012b) can be sized and configured to be inserted into a cavity of a patient through the insertion point (through the cannula and into the body - See Larkin, fig. 10 and para [0171]), and wherein the computing unit/coordination system in response to the user generated control signals for:
orienting the robot arms (which contain the instruments, parallel motion mechanisms wrist, and end effectors- See Larkin, fig. 16A and para [0187] - first two sentences), such that they face in a first direction, and actuating each of the first and second robot arms so as to reverse direction such that the respective end effector regions are facing in a second direction that is substantially opposite the first direction (look at figs. 2A-2B, reference numbers 7 and 15b, annotated fig. 13, para [0049]-[0050], para [0145]-[0146], and para [0177]).
Regarding claim 13, Larkin teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 12, and wherein the computing unit/coordination system -is further for, in response to the user generated movement data, generating the control signals which are received by the first and second robot arms (containing the end effectors) and the camera assembly/imaging system (para [0250] - [0251]) for rotating the camera assembly in a pitch direction such that the camera elements (illumination sources on the camera/imaging system) are facing towards the insertion point (see fig. 9A-914, fig. 17-17A-1722, para [0047], para [0250]-0251], para [0146], para [0168], and para [0201]).
Regarding claim 14, Larkin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 12, wherein the computing unit/coordination system is further for, in response to the user generated movement data control signals which are received by the first and second robot arms (containing the end effectors) and the camera assembly/imaging system (Larkin, para [0250]-[0251]) in a yaw direction such that the camera elements/illumination elements are facing towards the insertion point (See Larkin, fig. 9A-914, fig. 17-17A-1722, fig. 17, para 0047, para 0146, para 0158, and para 0199).
Regarding claim 33, Larin as modified teaches:
The surgical robotic system of claim 1, further comprising:
a robot support subsystem having a support stanchion/patient side support system (see fig. 21A, para [0244], and para [0246], lines 1-5 ),
the support stanchion/patient side support system includes a base portion (see figs. 21B-21C, 2150 and para [0247]), a support beam/link having a first end coupled to the base (see fig. 21B, 2150 and 2152, and para [0247]), an opposed second end/manipulator platform coupled to a proximal one of a plurality of adjustment elements/links (see fig. 21A-21C, 2166 and para [0247]: “Manipulator platform 2170 is supported and coupled to link 2166 by a prismatic joint 2172 and a rotational joint 2174.”)
wherein the plurality of adjustment elements/links are arranged and disposed to form pivot/rotatable joints between adjacent ones of the plurality of adjustment elements (see figs. 21B-21C, 2162, 2164, 2166, 2168, and para [0247]) and between the proximal one adjustment element/link and the support beam/link (see figs. 21B-21C, 2158, 2160, 2152, and para [0247]).
Claims 15-16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0235486 A1 to Larkin, and further in view of Peine et al. (hereinafter Peine – Using WO 2021/126163 A1, with citations to the corresponding US Publication No. us 2023/0010350 A1), and US 2020/0330174 A1 to Bertram.
Regarding claim 15, Larkin teaches:
A method for moving a robotic unit in vivo (claim 11), wherein the robotic unit includes:
a camera subassembly/endoscopic image capturing device and a plurality of robot arm subassemblies (See Larkin - annotated fig. 17B below and para [0201]),
having a camera assembly coupled to a camera axially extending support member/guide tube (fig. 17B-1756, 1742a, and para [0201], lines 1-14),
a first robot arm subassembly having a first robot arm coupled to a first robot arm axially extending support member/rigid guide tube (see annotated fig. 17B below),
and a second robot arm subassembly having a second robot arm axially extending support member/rigid guide tube (see annotated fig. 17B below),
wherein when inserted in a cavity of a patient through an insertion point (See Larkin - fig. 2B, 15A-15C, para [0144]-[0146]), the camera assembly/image capturing device and the first and second robot arms can be controlled for:
actuating at least one joint of each of the robot arms to reverse direction such that an end effector region of each of the first and second robot arms is facing towards the insertion point (See Larkin, fig. 18E, fig. 19J, para [0211]-[0212], and para [0214], para [0230]), and moving the camera assembly in a selected direction such that the camera elements (LEDs/Illumination elements) are facing towards the insertion point (see annotated fig. 19J below, 1972 and 1978, para [0230], and para [0232]),
but does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the camera assembly and the first and second robot arms can be controlled for:
causing the first robot arm subassembly to move to a first depth relative to a trocar;
causing the second robot arm subassembly to move to a second depth relative to the trocar, that is different than the first depth;
independently actuating at least one joint of each of the robot arms, while at the first and second depths, to reverse direction such that an end effector region of each of the first and second robot arms is facing towards the insertion point, and
independently moving the camera assembly in a selected yaw direction, a pitch direction, or a roll direction such that the camera elements are facing towards the insertion point.
However, Peine, who is in the same field of endeavor, teaches a robotic surgical system (see abstract and fig. 1). The system (fig. 1A) teaches wherein the computing unit/computer device sends a plurality of signals to the robotic arms/robotic arm assembly and the endoscope/camera (see para [0044], para [0111]- last sentence, para [0123]- last sentence, and para [0128]) in order to independently command the arm(s) and/or the imaging device/endoscope to vary in depth during insertion, and wherein the camera/endoscope or imaging device and the robotic arms can move in a roll, pitch, and yaw motion of the endoscope/imaging device (see para [0128], para [0130], and para [0165]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the robotic arms move at a depth relative to a trocar.
However, Betram teaches inserting a plurality of medical instrument relative to a trocar (see fig. 7 and para [0001]- “Through the trocar, a variety of surgical instruments and tools can be introduced into the abdominal cavity.” )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Larkin with the teachings of both Peine and Betram to arrive at the claimed invention. Such modification would improve the system by improving surgical precision, ultimately improving surgical outcomes.
Regarding claim 16, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 15, further comprising actuating the motor unit so as to move the camera assembly/imaging capturing component relative to the insertion site in a linear direction (See Larkin, annotated fig. 17- 1722 below and para [0199]).
Regarding claim 21, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 15, wherein moving the camera assembly/imaging system (containing an imaging component - para [0250]-[0251]), comprises rotating the camera assembly in a pitch direction such that the camera elements (illumination sources on the camera/imaging system) are facing towards the insertion point (see fig. 9A-914, fig. 17-17A-1722, para [0047], para [0146], para [0168], and para [0201]).
Regarding claim 22, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 15, wherein moving the camera assembly comprises rotating the camera assembly/imaging system (Larkin, para [0250]- [0251]) in a yaw direction such that the camera elements/illumination elements are facing towards the insertion point (See fig. 9A-914, fig. 17-17A-1722, fig. 17, para [0047], para [0146], para [0158], and para [0199]).
Claims 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larkin in view of Peine.
Regarding claim 24, Larkin teaches:
A method for moving a robotic unit in vivo (fig. 2B, 15a-15c, 16, and para [0144]), containing a camera subassembly/endoscopic image capturing device and a plurality of robot arm subassemblies (see annotated fig. 17B below and para [0201]),
having a camera assembly coupled to a camera support member/guide tube (fig. 17B-1756, 1742a, and para [0201], lines 1-14),
a first robot arm subassembly having a first robot arm coupled to a first robot arm axially extending support member/rigid guide tube (see annotated fig. 17B below),
and a second robot arm subassembly having a second robot arm axially extending support member/rigid guide tube (see annotated fig. 17B below),
wherein when inserted in a cavity of a patient through an insertion point (see fig. 2B, 15A-15C, para [0144] - [0146]), the camera assembly/image capturing device and the first and second robot arms can be controlled for:
actuating at least one joint (wrist portions) on each of the first and second robot arms to reverse direction such that each an end-effector region of each of the first and second robot arms is facing in a direction that is orthogonal to an insertion axis (see fig. 2B, annotated fig. 13, fig. 16, and fig. 17B below, para [0144], para [0177], lines 1-6, and para [0186] - [0187]). The robotic arms are pivoted about the joints to allow them to move orthogonal to the insertion point and the rigid guide tube during surgery. Furthermore, Larkin teaches actuating at least one joint of the camera assembly/ endoscopic imaging system (containing the image capturing component) to move the camera assembly/endoscopic imaging system in a selected direction such that the camera elements (illumination elements on the capturing component (as seen in annotated fig. 18C below) are facing in a direction towards the insertion axis (see annotated fig. 19J below and para [0230]),
But does not explicitly teach wherein the camera assembly is moveable relative to the camera support member along a yaw, pitch, and roll direction.
However, Peine, who is in the same field of endeavor, teaches a robotic surgical system (see abstract and fig. 1). The system (fig. 1A) teaches wherein the computing unit/computer device sends a plurality of signals to the robotic arms/robotic arm assembly and the endoscope/camera (see para [0044], para [0111]- last sentence, para [0123]- last sentence, and para [0128]) in order to command the arm(s) and/or the imaging device/endoscope to vary in depth during insertion, and wherein the camera/endoscope or imaging device can move in a roll, pitch, and yaw motion of the endoscope/imaging device (see para [0128] and para [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Larkin with the teachings of Peine to arrive at the claimed invention. Such modification would improve the system by improving surgical precision, ultimately improving surgical outcomes.
Regarding claim 25, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 24, wherein the robotic unit is connected to a motor unit (figs. 24A-24B, fig. 25A, para 0265, lines 1-12, para 0266, and para 0267, first two sentences),
further comprising actuating the motor unit so as to move the robotic unit or the camera assembly/imaging system (containing an imaging component) relative to the insertion site (see annotated fig. 16 below and para 0185: “In some aspects the actuators for a particular instrument are themselves mounted on a single linear actuator that moves instrument body 1614 longitudinally as shown within channel 1604a.”).
Regarding claim 26, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 25, wherein the motor unit includes a plurality of motor elements (see annotated fig. 24B below, fig. 25A-2504, para 0265, lines 1-12, para 0266, and para 0267, first two sentences), and wherein each of the interface elements of the first and second robot arm subassemblies/robotic arms is configured for engaging with different ones of the plurality of motor elements of the motor unit (see fig. 24A, 2410, annotated fig. 24B below, para 0265, lines 1-12, para 0266, first three sentences, and para 0267, first two sentences).
Regarding claim 27, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 25, wherein the motor unit includes a plurality of motor elements (see annotated fig. 24B below, fig. 25A-2504, para 0265, lines 1-12, para 0266, and para 0267, first two sentences), and wherein the interface element of the camera subassembly/imaging system (containing the imaging component) is coupled to the same motor element as the interface element of one of the first and second robot arm subassemblies/robot arms (containing instruments and end effectors - see para 0254-0255, para 0259-0260).
Regarding claim 28, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 25, wherein the motor unit includes a plurality of motor elements (see annotated fig. 24B below, fig. 25A-2504, para 0265, lines 1-12, para 0266, and para 0267, first two sentences), wherein the interface element of the camera subassembly/imaging system (containing an imaging component) and the interface element of one of the first and second robot arm subassemblies are coupled to different ones of the plurality of motor elements/servomotors that interface with different transmission mechanisms (see fig. 26A and para 0270).
Regarding claim 29, Larkin as modified teaches:
The method of claim 24, further comprising, a camera assembly/imaging capturing component that is configured to move in various positions (including pitch and yaw degrees of freedom (DOFs)) (para 0199), and, prior to moving the camera assembly towards the insertion point (i.e. prior to retracting the camera assembly/imaging component), rotating the camera support member/guide tube so that the camera assembly is disposed above the camera support member/guide tube (see fig. 9, 904 and 914, and para 0166-0168), and
one or more camera elements of the camera assembly (such as the illumination sources) are facing away from the reverse facing direction (see fig. 9A- 914, fig. 18C, 1854a-1854b, 1856, and 1858, and para 0209).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oginski et al. (US 2015/0112141 A1) teaches a rotational device for rotating an endoscope during a surgical procedure (see abstract and para [0004]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792