DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed on August 24, 2026, which has been entered. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 14, 20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatsukami et al (US 2012/0002363 A1, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tatsukami et al teaches (see Figs. 3) a case device, comprising: a main housing (case device 21) comprising a charging opening (power connector hole 211), the charging opening extending longitudinally with a first length in a longitudinal direction (a diameter of the power connector hole 211 in a longitudinal direction); a rechargeable battery (battery 420, Figs. 8 & 9) arranged within the main housing (opening 212 of a battery housing formed in a bottom surface of the casing 21, see para. 0087); a charging port (power connector 481, Fig. 37) electrically connected to the rechargeable battery to allow for recharging of the rechargeable battery (the power connector is electrically connected to the battery via circuitry, for recharging the battery); and a first circuit board (main circuit board 460) in the main housing, wherein the charging port is electrically connected to the first circuit board (see Fig. 37), wherein the case device comprises a clamping device (supporter 482) attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to press the charging port towards the first circuit board (“the supporter 482 includes a base portion 482a in contact with an upper face 481g (see FIG. 41) of the connector 481” (para. 0137), thus, the supporter 482 will press the connector towards the circuit board 460, see Figs. 37-41 and paras. 0133-0141. Furthermore, as shown in Figs. 38 & 39, Tatsukami shows that the supporter 482 includes pushing portions 482d and 482e which are formed at positions sandwiching the opening 481b of the connector 481 (see para. 0137). This sandwiching results in the supporter 482 applying a pushing or pressing force on the connector 481 towards the circuit board 460).
Regarding claim 4, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, wherein the charging port comprises a first port side (the side that is opposite upper face 481g, which faces the circuit board 460) facing the first circuit board, and wherein the charging port comprises a second port side (upper face 481g) opposite the first port side, and wherein the clamping device (supporter 482) extends over the second port side (supporter base portion 482a extends over power connector upper face 481g) and exerts a clamping force (when screw 490 is tightened, the supporter 482 exerts a clamping force on onto the power connector 481) onto the second port side (upper face 481g) towards the first port side (the side that is opposite upper face 481g, which faces the circuit board 460; see Figs. 37-44 and paras. 0133-0139).
Regarding claim 5, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit board (main circuit board 460) comprises an attachment interface for connecting the first circuit board to the main housing (as shown in Fig. 36 and described in para. 0132, main circuit board 460 is installed in the bottom surface covering 219, thus, an attachment interface is necessarily present).
Regarding claim 7, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, further comprising a second circuit board (circuit board 431g, see Fig. 17 and para. 0099) in the main housing (case device 21).
Regarding claim 8, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 7, wherein the second circuit board (431g) is separate from the first circuit board (460) (see Figs. 17 and 37).
Regarding claim 13, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit board extends longitudinally with a second length in the longitudinal direction, wherein the second length is larger than the first length (see the relative sizes of the power connector 481 and the main circuit board 460 in Fig. 37).
Regarding claim 14, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 13, wherein the second length is more than one and a half times larger than the first length (see the relative sizes of the power connector 481 and the main circuit board 460 in Fig. 37).
Regarding claim 20, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, wherein the charging port (power connector 481) is accessible by a user of the case device (case device 21) via the charging opening (power connector hole 211).
Regarding claim 22, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, wherein the clamping device (supporter 482) comprises a first hook (hook portion 482h) and a second hook (fixing portion 482g, mislabeled in Fig. 40 (482h is duplicated), but described in para. 0137).
Regarding claim 23, Tatsukami et al teaches the case device according to claim 1, wherein the clamping device (supporter 482) is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port (power connector 481) by undergoing deformation (since base portion 482a is in contact with upper face 481g of the power connector 481, the supporter will necessarily undergo deformation to some extent when the supporter is tightened down, see para. 0137.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Suto (US 6,582,240 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lo et al teaches: A case device (100, Figs. 1-5), comprising: a main housing (6) comprising a charging opening (63), the charging opening extending longitudinally with a first length in a longitudinal direction (see Figs. 1 & 4); a rechargeable battery arranged (4) within the main housing; a charging port (55) electrically connected to the rechargeable battery to allow for recharging of the rechargeable battery (see para. 0037); and a first circuit board (5) in the main housing, wherein the charging port is electrically connected to the first circuit board (see Figs. 3 & 4, and para. 0037).
Lo et al does not specifically teach: wherein the case device comprises a clamping device attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to press the charging port towards the first circuit board.
Suto teaches a connector attaching structure including a USB connector port (44), a first circuit board (control board 130), a clamping device (reinforcing member 134) attached (via attaching portions 134A and 134 B) to the first circuit board (130), the clamping device (134) configured to press the charging port (44) towards the first circuit board (since “the reinforcing member 134 is kept in contact with a top surface and both side surfaces of the pipe member 44a of the USB connector 44” (see col. 6, lines 37-40), tightening of the screw 136 will cause the reinforcing member 134 to press the connector 44 towards the circuit board 130, see Figs. 8-11 and col. 5, line 54 – column 7, line 35. In addition, “a pressing force is applied to the reinforcing member 134 from the liquid crystal monitor 68 by way of the spring portion 134C, serving as an aid to fix the reinforcing member 134” (see col. 7, line 22-25). Since the spring portion 134C applies a pressing force to the reinforcing member 134, and the reinforcing member is in contact with the USB connector 44, the reinforcing member 134 will press the USB connector 44 towards the circuit board 130).
In view of Suto’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al, wherein the case device comprises a clamping device attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to press the charging port towards the first circuit board, in order to reinforce the connector jack and enhance durability against insertion and extraction and prying of a plug (see col. 7, lines 26-35, of Suto).
Regarding claim 4, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the charging port (55) comprises a first port side facing the first circuit board (see Fig. 3), and wherein the charging port comprises a second port side opposite the first port side (see Fig. 3), and wherein the clamping device extends over the second port side and exerts a clamping force onto the second port side towards the first port side (the combination of Suto’s clamping device 134 with the charging connector 55 of Lo et al, would result in the clamping device 134 exerting a clamping force between the charging port 55 and the circuit board 5).
Regarding claim 5, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit board comprises an attachment interface for connecting the first circuit board to the main housing (as shown in Figs. 3-5, circuit board 5 is connected between earbud holder 1 and bracket 3 using fixing components 91, then connected to main housing 6. Thus, the attachment interface connects the circuit board 5 to the main housing via the bracket 3. Also see para. 0035-0038).
Regarding claim 7, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 1, further comprising a second circuit board (52 or 54) in the main housing (6) (see Fig. 3 and para. 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 8, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 7, wherein the second circuit board (52 or 54) is separate from the first circuit board (5) (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 7, wherein the rechargeable battery (5) is attached to the second circuit board (as shown in Figs. 3-5, the battery 5 is attached to the circuit board 52 or 54 electrically and mechanically between bracket 3 and holder 1).
Regarding claim 10, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 7, further comprising a third circuit board (the other of 52 or 54), wherein the first circuit board (5) is electrically connected to the second circuit board (52 or 54) by the third circuit board (the other of 52 or 54), and wherein the third circuit board is a flexible circuit board (52 and 54 are both flexible circuit boards, see para. 0036-0037).
Regarding claims 11 and 12: The teachings of Lo et al as modified by Suto have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Suto does not specifically teach: (re claim 11) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with a glass transition temperature below 130°C, and (re claim 12) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with an ignition temperature above 550°C.
However, it is noted that applicant’s specification states that the main housing may be formed of a PC/ABS polymer material having the claimed glass transition temperatures and ignition temperatures (see para. 0075).
Prior to the effective filing date, PC/ABS polymer materials were well known to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Suto, (re claim 11) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with a glass transition temperature below 130°C, and (re claim 12) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with an ignition temperature above 550°C, in order to provide a main housing having the desired properties. Furthermore, the desired glass transition temperature and ignition temperature of the material for the main housing can be determined through routine experimentation for the intended use.
Regarding claim 13, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit board (5) extends longitudinally with a second length in the longitudinal direction (see Figs. 3 & 4), wherein the second length is larger than the first length (as shown in Figs. 3 & 4, the circuit board 5 extends a second length that is larger than the length of the charging connector 55).
Regarding claim 14, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 13, wherein the second length is more than one and a half times larger than the first length (as shown in Figs. 3 & 4, the circuit board 5 extends a second length that is more than one and a half times larger than the length of the charging connector 55).
Regarding claim 19, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the main housing (6) is configured to store one or more hearing devices (earbuds), and wherein the rechargeable battery is configured to charge the one or more hearing devices stored by the case device (see para. 0035).
Regarding claim 20, Lo et al as modified by Suto teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the charging port (55) is accessible by a user of the case device via the charging opening (63) (see Fig. 1 and para. 0039).
Claim(s) 2, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Suto (US 7,641,501 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 9,620,844 B2).
The teachings of Lo et al as modified by Suto have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Suto does not specifically teach: (re claim 2) wherein the clamping device comprises a snap-fit connector configured to attach to the first circuit board; (re claim 22) wherein the clamping device comprises a first hook and a second hook; (re claim 23) wherein the clamping device is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation.
Kim et al teaches (see Figs. 1 and 4A-5C) a device including a circuit board (hardware board 400 & printed circuit board 410), a charging port (connector joint 200) electrically connected to the circuit board and a clamping device (bracket 100) attached to the circuit board, the clamping device configured to press the charging port towards the circuit board (see Figs. 1, 4A & 4B, col. 5, lines 7–61); (re claim 2) wherein the clamping device (100) is attached to the first circuit board (400 & 410) by a snap-fit connector (the boss holes 124A & 124B, extraction holes 125A & 125B and catching portions 123A & 123B form a snap-fit connector to engage with bosses 300; see Fig. 5A and col. 6, line 38 – col. 7, line 67), and wherein the snap-fit connector is part of the clamping device (see Fig. 5A); (re claim 22) wherein the clamping device comprises a first hook and a second hook (catching portions 123A & 123B for first and second hoods, see Fig. 5A and col. 6, line 38 – col. 7, line 67); (re claim 23) wherein the clamping device is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation (the bracket can be formed of a resilient material, which, when hook-coupled to bosses 300, will result in exerting a clamping force and pressing force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation; see Figs. 1, 4A & 4B and col. 5, lines 53-61).
In view of Kim et al’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Suto, (re claim 2) wherein the clamping device comprises a snap-fit connector configured to attach to the first circuit board; (re claim 22) wherein the clamping device comprises a first hook and a second hook; (re claim 23) wherein the clamping device is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation; since this would provide a simple method of assembly and the hook-coupling can provide effects such as strength (see col. 7, line 64 – col. 8, line 2).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Suto (US 7,641,501 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hideyo (JP 2011-103258 A).
The teachings of Lo et al as modified by Suto have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Suto does not specifically teach: (re claim 15) a thermally insulating material insulating the charging port from the rechargeable battery; (re claim 16) wherein the thermally insulating material forms a thermal chamber with the first circuit board and the main housing, and wherein the charging port is arranged within the thermal chamber.
Hideyo teaches a case (2A & 2B, see Figs. 6 & 7) device including a thermally insulating material (insulating holder 3) insulating a charging port (power connector 5) from a rechargeable battery (batteries 1); wherein the thermally insulating material (insulating holder 3) forms a thermal chamber with a first circuit board (circuit board 4) and the main housing (2A & 2B), and wherein the charging port is arranged within the thermal chamber (see Figs. 6 & 7, which show the insulating holder 3 creates a thermal chamber with case 2A & 2B that includes power connector 5 and circuit board 4).
In view of Hideyo’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Suto, (re claim 15) a thermally insulating material insulating the charging port from the rechargeable battery; (re claim 16) wherein the thermally insulating material forms a thermal chamber with the first circuit board and the main housing, and wherein the charging port is arranged within the thermal chamber, since this would help to prevent excessive temperatures from reaching sensitive components.
Regarding claim 17, the teachings of Lo et al as modified by Suto and Hideyo have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Suto and Hideyo does not specifically teach: wherein the thermally insulating material has a thickness that is anywhere from 1mm to 5mm.
However, Hideyo shows that the thermally insulating material (insulating holder 3 has a thickness. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular thickness can be varied based on the overall shape/size of the case device, as well as the design parameters in order to achieve the desired performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Suto and Hideyo, wherein the thermally insulating material has a thickness that is anywhere from 1mm to 5mm, in order to provide an effective insulating material for the desired performance. Furthermore, the particular thickness can be determined through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 18, the teachings of Lo et al as modified by Suto and Hideyo have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Suto and Hideyo does not specifically teach: wherein the thermally insulating material comprises ceramic fibers.
However, thermally insulating material comprising ceramic fibers was well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Suto and Hideyo, wherein the thermally insulating material comprises ceramic fibers, in order to provide the insulating material with the desired strength and performance.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Suto (US 6,582,240 B2) and Schulz et al (US 6,672,901 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Lo et al teaches: A case device (100, Figs. 1-5), comprising: a main housing (6) comprising a charging opening (63), the charging opening extending longitudinally with a first length in a longitudinal direction (see Figs. 1 & 4); a rechargeable battery arranged (4) within the main housing; a charging port (55) electrically connected to the rechargeable battery to allow for recharging of the rechargeable battery (see para. 0037); and a first circuit board (5) in the main housing, wherein the charging port is electrically connected to the first circuit board (see Figs. 3 & 4, and para. 0037).
Lo et al does not specifically teach: wherein the case device comprises a clamping device attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to press the charging port towards the first circuit board.
Suto teaches a connector attaching structure including a USB connector port (44), a first circuit board (control board 130), a clamping device (reinforcing member 134) attached (via attaching portions 134A and 134 B) to the first circuit board (130), the clamping device (134) configured to press the charging port (44) towards the first circuit board (since “the reinforcing member 134 is kept in contact with a top surface and both side surfaces of the pipe member 44a of the USB connector 44” (see col. 6, lines 37-40), tightening of the screw 136 will cause the reinforcing member 134 to press the connector 44 towards the circuit board 130, see Figs. 8-11 and col. 5, line 54 – column 7, line 35. In addition, “a pressing force is applied to the reinforcing member 134 from the liquid crystal monitor 68 by way of the spring portion 134C, serving as an aid to fix the reinforcing member 134” (see col. 7, line 22-25). Since the spring portion 134C applies a pressing force to the reinforcing member 134, and the reinforcing member is in contact with the USB connector 44, the reinforcing member 134 will press the USB connector 44 towards the circuit board 130).
In view of Suto’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al, wherein the case device comprises a clamping device attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to press the charging port towards the first circuit board, in order to reinforce the connector jack and enhance durability against insertion and extraction and prying of a plug (see col. 7, lines 26-35, of Suto).
Lo et al as modified by Suto does not specifically teach wherein the clamping device comprises a snap-fit connector configured to attach to the first circuit board; and wherein the first circuit board comprises an attachment through-going hole, and wherein the snap-fit connector of the clamping device is configured for being inserted through the attachment through-going hole.
Schulz et al teaches a metallic package (1), the metallic package comprises snap-fit connectors (8) configured to attach to a circuit board (3), where the circuit board comprises an attachment through-going hole (31), and wherein the snap-fit connector (8) of the clamping device is configured for being inserted through the attachment through-going hole (31) (see Figs. 1-3, 4, and col. 4, lines 21-56).
In view of the teachings of Schulz et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Suto, wherein the clamping device comprises a snap-fit connector configured to attach to the first circuit board; and wherein the first circuit board comprises an attachment through-going hole, and wherein the snap-fit connector of the clamping device is configured for being inserted through the attachment through-going hole; since this would simplify the mounting of the clamping device. While Suto shows the use of a screw to fix the clamping device on the circuit board, Suto states that a fixing method is not mattered so far as the reinforcing member can be fixed to the board (see col. 6, lines 50-52). Schulz et al shows that the use of snap-fit connectors in a through hole of a circuit board was an old and well-known method for mounting a package on the circuit board. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that a snap-fit connector is an alternative fixing method to the use of a screw and has the advantage of simplified manufacturing by removing the need to install the screw.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 21 are allowed over the prior art of record, for the reasons stated in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tatsukami does not disclose or suggest the clamping device is configured to press the charging port towards the first circuit board because the supporter 482 of Tatsukami grips the connector 481 by applying a gripping force in a lateral direction that is parallel to a plane of the circuit board 460 and does not press the connector 481 towards the circuit board 460 (see pages 8-11 of the remarks). This is not persuasive because, while Tatsukami does teach the supporter clamping the right and left edges of the front face 481a of the connector, Tatsukami also teaches “the supporter 482 includes a base portion 482a in contact with an upper face 481g (see FIG. 41) of the connector 481” (para. 0137). Since the base portion 482a is in contact with the upper face 481g of the connector 481, the supporter 482 will press the connector towards the circuit board 460, see Figs. 37-41 and paras. 0133-0141). Furthermore, as shown in Figs. 38 & 39, Tatsukami shows that the supporter 482 includes pushing portions 482d and 482e which are formed at positions sandwiching the opening 481b of the connector 481 (see para. 0137). This sandwiching results in the supporter 482 applying a pushing or pressing force on the connector 481 towards the circuit board 460.
Applicant also argues that the supporter 482 holds the connector 481 away from the bottom flange 482 by a gap that appears to be larger than a thickness of the circuit board 460 (see page 11 of the remarks). This is not persuasive for several reasons. First, nowhere does Tatsukami state that the connector 481 is held above the circuit board 460. In contrast, Tatsukami states that the connector 481 is “on” the circuit board 460, “the side face of the main circuit board 460 on which the power connector 481 is provided” (see para. 0136) and “the supporter 482 supports the connector 481 after the connector 481 is placed at a predetermined position on the first face of the main circuit board” (see para. 0139). Second, Tatsukami does not state that the drawings are to scale. Thus, it cannot be assumed that Tasukami shows a gap larger than a thickness of the circuit board when this is not stated.
Applicant argues that the connector 44 of Suto is secured to the circuit board by soldering 45; and the reinforcing member 134 of Suto defines a space to contain the connector 44 passively and is not disclosed as applying a force to press the connector 44 towards the circuit board 130 (see pages 12-14 of the remarks). These arguments are also not persuasive. First, it is noted that applicant’s charging port 30 comprises protrusions 33 that are soldered to the circuit board 20 (see para. 0076 of the specification). Thus, soldering does not prohibit the clamping device from applying a pressing force. Second, Suto states “the reinforcing member 134 is kept in contact with a top surface and both side surfaces of the pipe member 44a of the USB connector 44” (see Fig. 10 and col. 6, lines 37-40), tightening of the screw 136 will cause the reinforcing member 134 to press the connector 44 towards the circuit board 130, see Figs. 8-11 and col. 5, line 54 – column 7, line 35. In addition, “a pressing force is applied to the reinforcing member 134 from the liquid crystal monitor 68 by way of the spring portion 134C, serving as an aid to fix the reinforcing member 134” (see Fig. 11 and col. 7, line 22-25). Since the spring portion 134C applies a pressing force to the reinforcing member 134, and the reinforcing member is in contact with the USB connector 44, the reinforcing member 134 will press the USB connector 44 towards the circuit board 130.
For these reasons, the arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED FUREMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859