DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 25-28 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton (US 4,665,707) in view of in view of Oh et al. (US 2012/0079835) and further in view of Hollingsworth et al. (US 2018/0106509 A1).
In regard to claim 21, Hamilton teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a housing comprising a first duct (12) defining a first flow path (13) and a second duct (see the duct wherein removal fan 24 is positioned) defining a second flow path (see fig. 1; col. 4, line 22-28);
a thermoelectric device (heat pump 30: a solid-state type operating under the principle known as the Peltier effect) disposed within the housing (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 15-17);
a first plurality of fins (heat sink 32) coupled to the thermoelectric device (30) and positioned within the first duct (12), wherein the first plurality of fins (heat sink 32) extends into the first flow path and is configured to receive a first air flow directed through the first duct (air flow directed using fan 26) and transfer thermal energy between the thermoelectric device (30) and the first air flow to generate a conditioned air flow (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 5-27);
a second plurality of fins (heat sink 28) coupled to the thermoelectric device (30) and positioned within the second duct, wherein the second plurality of fins (heat sink 28) extends into the second flow path and is configured to receive a second air flow directed through the second duct (air flow directed using fan 24) and transfer thermal energy between the thermoelectric device (30) and the second air flow (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 5-27);
a controller (control unit 15; fig. 2) electrically coupled to the thermoelectric device, wherein the controller is configured to adjust supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device (30) to adjust a parameter of the conditioned air flow (see fig. 2; col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 31).
Hamilton teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a heat sink, but does not explicitly teach the heat sink comprises a plurality of fins.
However, Oh teaches an air conditioning system comprising a heat exchanger core (30) includes heat exchanger fins (32), heat dissipation fins (33), wherein the heat exchanger fins 32 are mounted on one surface of a thermoelectric device (31), which abuts an auxiliary air duct [43] (see ¶ 0039; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat sink of Hamilton with a plurality of fins, in view of the teachings of Oh, in order to provide to provide an increased surface area for heat transfer and reduced thermal resistance.
Hamilton teaches a controller (control unit 15) electrically coupled to the thermoelectric device, wherein the controller is configured to adjust supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device (30) to adjust a parameter of the conditioned air flow (col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 31) and teaches a battery (72, Fig. 2), but fails to teach a solar panel configured to generate electrical energy and the battery (72) configured to receive the electrical energy from the solar panel and to store the electrical energy, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery (72) to the thermoelectric device (30), and further fail to teach in response to a determination that the solar panel is unable to generate sufficient electrical energy to maintain a battery level of the battery above a threshold value, the controller is configured to direct a flow of external electrical energy from an external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery.
However, Hollingsworth teaches a solar powered portable refrigeration unit comprising an electrical controller that controls solar cells, batteries and a petroleum powered generator (power grid) for providing energy to the refrigeration unit where an inverter is used converting DC voltage from the battery to an AC voltage (¶ 0013), wherein a solar panel (301, 303) configured to generate electrical energy and the battery (311) configured to receive the electrical energy from the solar panel and to store the electrical energy, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery (311) to a refrigeration unit (fig. 3; ¶ 0027), and in response to a determination that the solar panel (301, 303) is unable to generate sufficient electrical energy to maintain a battery level of the battery (311) above a threshold value, the controller is configured to direct a flow of external electrical energy from an external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery (see fig. 3; ¶ 0027-0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Hamilton by providing a solar panel configured to generate electrical energy and deliver electrical energy to the battery, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery to the thermoelectric device, in view of the teachings of Hollingsworth, for the purpose of reducing reliance on an electrical grid and cut electricity costs by utilizing renewable energy and decreasing its carbon footprint and to further modify Hamilton by implementing an external utility power grid and configuring the controller to direct a flow of external electrical energy from the external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery, in view of the teachings of Hollingsworth, for the purpose of providing power to the system during insufficient sunlight or energy stored in the battery and allowing for extra flexibility to the system by providing power even after the battery is empty from lack of sunlight.
In regard to claim 23, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the battery is configured to store an amount of the electrical energy sufficient to operate the thermoelectric device for a predetermined time period without generation of additional electrical energy by the solar panel (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027-0028).
In regard to claim 25, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the HVAC system is configured to operate as a stand-alone unit using the electrical energy stored in the battery without supply of external electrical energy from the external utility power grid (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027-0028).
In regard to claim 26, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the solar panel comprises a solar array having a plurality of solar panels (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027; fig. 3).
In regard to claim 27, Hamilton teaches the HVAC system of claim 21, comprising a sensor (38) configured to generate feedback indicative of the parameter of the conditioned air flow, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device based on the feedback (see Hamilton col. 6, line 1-31).
In regard to claim 28, Hamilton teaches the HVAC system of claim 21, wherein the HVAC system is configured to generate the conditioned air flow (36) without use of a refrigerant (see Hamilton fig. 1). Hamilton system does not use a refrigerant. Hamilton teaches an HVAC system that uses a thermoelectric device.
In regard to claim 41, Hamilton teaches the HVAC system of claim 21, wherein the thermoelectric device (30) comprises a first heat exchange surface (see the annotated figure below) coupled to the first plurality of fins (32, as modified above) and a second heat exchange surface (see the annotated figure below) coupled to the second plurality of fins (28, as modified above), and wherein the thermoelectric device (30) is configured to generate a temperature differential between the first heat exchange surface and the second heat exchange surface using the supply of the electrical energy (see the annotated fig. 1; col. 5, line 15-17).
Claim(s) 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton, Oh and Hollingsworth as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of House et al. (US 2010/0324741).
In regard to claim 29, Hamilton teaches the HVAC system of claim 21, wherein Hamilton teaches a housing comprising a first duct defining a first flow path and a second duct defining a second flow path for air flow (see fig. 1; see identifications relative to claim 21), but does not explicitly teach the housing comprises a third duct forming a third flow path, wherein the third duct is fluidly coupled to the first duct and is configured to receive a return air flow from a building and to direct a portion of the return air flow into the first flow path and across the first plurality of fins.
However, House teaches an air handling unit to control a building temperature, wherein the unit comprising air duct system to distribute air to and from a building through a supply air duct (140) and air is returned from the building through return air duct (120) and passes through a heat exchanger (134, 136) for heating (see ¶ 0026; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air handling system of Hamilton to comprise a return air duct to receive a return air flow, in view of the teachings of House, in order to bring air that has been warmed or cooled back in the building back to HVAC system to balance the airflow in the system so that it can be heated or cooled again.
Claim(s) 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton, Oh and Hollingsworth as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Thomas et al. (US 2018/0031285 A1).
In regard to claim 42, Hamilton teaches a thermoelectric device (30), but does not explicitly teach the thermoelectric device comprises a plurality of thermoelectric devices disposed in a cascaded arrangement configured to increase the temperature differential between the first heat exchange surface and the second heat exchange surface.
However, Thomas teaches a thermoelectric heat pump system for cooling and/or heating wherein the system comprises a plurality of thermoelectric modules (TECH-1 and TECH-2) in a cascaded arrangement (¶ 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric device of Hamilton with a plurality of thermoelectric devices disposed in a cascaded arrangement, in view of the teachings of Thomas, in order to achieve a greater temperature difference for heat exchange.
Claim(s) 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton, Oh and Hollingsworth as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Riley et al. (US 6481635 B2).
In regard to claim 43, Hamilton teaches a housing comprising a first duct (12) defining a first flow path (13) and a second duct (see the duct wherein removal fan 24 is positioned) defining a second flow path (see fig. 1; col. 4, line 22-28), but does not explicitly teach that the housing comprises a first set of louvers disposed at a first end of the first duct and a second set of louvers disposed at a second end of the second duct, wherein the first set of louvers is configured to adjust a flow rate of the first air flow through the first duct, and the second set of louvers is configured to adjust a flow rate of the second air flow through the second duct.
However, Riley teaches an HVAC system (10) comprising a supply duct (22) return duct (34) have a connecting duct (40) which includes a set of louvers or adjustable vents (42), louvers (44) located near an exhaust region (46) of the return duct (34) and another set of louvers (48) optimally being located near the entrance (50) of the supply duct (22) (col. 4, lines 34-42; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Hamilton by providing set of louvers in the first duct and second ducts, in view of the teachings of Riley, in order to control the volume of airflow in the ducts ensuring even distribution, to increase or decrease airflow as needed and reduce energy waste leading to lower heating and cooling cost, and also to minimize noise from airflow turbulence, making the system operate more quietly.
Claim(s) 44-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton (US 4,665,707) in view of in view of Oh et al. (US 2012/0079835) in view of Hollingsworth et al. (US 2018/0106509 A1) and further in view of Riley et al. (US 6481635 B2).
In regard to claim 44, Hamilton teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a housing comprising a first duct (12) defining a first flow path (13) and a second duct (see the duct wherein removal fan 24 is positioned) defining a second flow path (see fig. 1; col. 4, line 22-28);
a thermoelectric device (heat pump 30: a solid-state type operating under the principle known as the Peltier effect) disposed within the housing (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 15-17);
a first plurality of fins (heat sink 32) coupled to the thermoelectric device (30) and positioned within the first duct (12), wherein the first plurality of fins (heat sink 32) extends into the first flow path and is configured to receive a first air flow directed through the first duct (air flow directed using fan 26) and transfer thermal energy between the thermoelectric device (30) and the first air flow to generate a conditioned air flow (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 5-27);
a second plurality of fins (heat sink 28) coupled to the thermoelectric device (30) and positioned within the second duct, wherein the second plurality of fins (heat sink 28) extends into the second flow path and is configured to receive a second air flow directed through the second duct (air flow directed using fan 24) and transfer thermal energy between the thermoelectric device (30) and the second air flow (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 5-27);
a controller (control unit 15; fig. 2) electrically coupled to the thermoelectric device, wherein the controller is configured to adjust supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device (30) to adjust a parameter of the conditioned air flow (see fig. 2; col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 31).
Hamilton teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a heat sink, but does not explicitly teach the heat sink comprises a plurality of fins.
However, Oh teaches an air conditioning system comprising a heat exchanger core (30) includes heat exchanger fins (32), heat dissipation fins (33), wherein the heat exchanger fins 32 are mounted on one surface of a thermoelectric device (31), which abuts an auxiliary air duct [43] (see ¶ 0039; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat sink of Hamilton with a plurality of fins, in view of the teachings of Oh, in order to provide to provide an increased surface area for heat transfer and reduced thermal resistance.
Hamilton teaches a controller (control unit 15) electrically coupled to the thermoelectric device, wherein the controller is configured to adjust supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device (30) to adjust a parameter of the conditioned air flow (col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 31) and teaches a battery (72, Fig. 2), but fails to teach a solar panel configured to generate electrical energy and the battery (72) configured to receive the electrical energy from the solar panel and to store the electrical energy, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery (72) to the thermoelectric device (30), and further fail to teach in response to a determination that the solar panel is unable to generate sufficient electrical energy to maintain a battery level of the battery above a threshold value, the controller is configured to direct a flow of external electrical energy from an external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery.
However, Hollingsworth teaches a solar powered portable refrigeration unit comprising an electrical controller that controls solar cells, batteries and a petroleum powered generator (power grid) for providing energy to the refrigeration unit where an inverter is used converting DC voltage from the battery to an AC voltage (¶ 0013), wherein a solar panel (301, 303) configured to generate electrical energy and the battery (311) configured to receive the electrical energy from the solar panel and to store the electrical energy, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery (311) to a refrigeration unit (fig. 3; ¶ 0027), and in response to a determination that the solar panel (301, 303) is unable to generate sufficient electrical energy to maintain a battery level of the battery (311) above a threshold value, the controller is configured to direct a flow of external electrical energy from an external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery (see fig. 3; ¶ 0027-0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Hamilton by providing a solar panel configured to generate electrical energy and deliver electrical energy to the battery, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery to the thermoelectric device, in view of the teachings of Hollingsworth, for the purpose of reducing reliance on an electrical grid and cut electricity costs by utilizing renewable energy and decreasing its carbon footprint and to further modify Hamilton by implementing an external utility power grid and configuring the controller to direct a flow of external electrical energy from the external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery, in view of the teachings of Hollingsworth, for the purpose of providing power to the system during insufficient sunlight or energy stored in the battery and allowing for extra flexibility to the system by providing power even after the battery is empty from lack of sunlight.
Hamilton teaches a housing comprising a first duct (12) defining a first flow path (13) and a second duct (see the duct wherein removal fan 24 is positioned) defining a second flow path (see fig. 1; col. 4, line 22-28), but does not explicitly teach that the housing comprises a first set of louvers disposed at a first end of the first duct and a second set of louvers disposed at a second end of the second duct,
However, Riley teaches an HVAC system (10) comprising a supply duct (22) return duct (34) have a connecting duct (40) which includes a set of louvers or adjustable vents (42), louvers (44) located near an exhaust region (46) of the return duct (34) and another set of louvers (48) optimally being located near the entrance (50) of the supply duct (22) (col. 4, lines 34-42; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Hamilton by providing set of louvers in the first duct and second ducts, in view of the teachings of Riley, in order to control the volume of airflow in the ducts ensuring even distribution, to increase or decrease airflow as needed and reduce energy waste leading to lower heating and cooling cost, and also to minimize noise from airflow turbulence, making the system operate more quietly.
In regard to claim 45, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the battery is configured to store an amount of the electrical energy sufficient to operate the thermoelectric device for a predetermined time period without generation of additional electrical energy by the solar panel (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027-0028), but does not explicitly teach the battery is a lithium battery or a lithium polymer battery. However, official notice is taken that lithium batteries were notoriously well-known and commonly used in the art at the time of the invention as a type of rechargeable battery, particularly in solar power storage systems, due to their high energy density, rechargeability, and long cycle life. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to modify the modified battery of Hamilton with a lithium battery, in order to obtain the known benefits of lithium batteries, including higher efficiency and reliability for storing and delivering solar power.
In regard to claim 46, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the HVAC system is configured to operate as a stand-alone unit using the electrical energy stored in the battery without supply of external electrical energy from the external utility power grid (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027-0028).
In regard to claim 47, Hamilton teaches HVAC system of claim 46, comprising a sensor (38) configured to generate feedback indicative of the parameter of the conditioned air flow, wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a carbon dioxide sensor, a flowrate sensor, or a combination thereof, and the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device based on the feedback (see Hamilton col. 6, line 1-31).
In regard to claim 48, Hamilton teaches HVAC system of claim 44, wherein Hamilton in view of Riley teaches the first set of louvers (48) disposed at the first end of the first duct is disposed upstream from the thermoelectric device (e.g., cooling coils 28, and/or a set of heating coils 30) relative to a direction of the first air flow (58) through the first duct (22), and the second set of louvers (44) disposed at the second end of the second duct (34) is disposed upstream from the thermoelectric device relative to a direction of the second air flow through the second duct (34) (col. 4, lines 34-42; fig. 1).
Claim(s) 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton (US 4,665,707) in view of in view of Oh et al. (US 2012/0079835) in view of Hollingsworth et al. (US 2018/0106509 A1) and further in view of House et al. (US 2010/0324741).
In regard to claim 49, Hamilton teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a housing comprising a first duct (12) defining a first flow path (13) and a second duct (see the duct wherein removal fan 24 is positioned) defining a second flow path (see fig. 1; col. 4, line 22-28);
a thermoelectric device (heat pump 30: a solid-state type operating under the principle known as the Peltier effect) disposed within the housing (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 15-17);
a first plurality of fins (heat sink 32) coupled to the thermoelectric device (30) and positioned within the first duct (12), wherein the first plurality of fins (heat sink 32) extends into the first flow path and is configured to receive a first air flow directed through the first duct (air flow directed using fan 26) and transfer thermal energy between the thermoelectric device (30) and the first air flow to generate a conditioned air flow (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 5-27);
a second plurality of fins (heat sink 28) coupled to the thermoelectric device (30) and positioned within the second duct, wherein the second plurality of fins (heat sink 28) extends into the second flow path and is configured to receive a second air flow directed through the second duct (air flow directed using fan 24) and transfer thermal energy between the thermoelectric device (30) and the second air flow (see fig. 1; col. 5, line 5-27);
a controller (control unit 15; fig. 2) electrically coupled to the thermoelectric device, wherein the controller is configured to adjust supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device (30) to adjust a parameter of the conditioned air flow (see fig. 2; col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 31).
Hamilton teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a heat sink, but does not explicitly teach the heat sink comprises a plurality of fins.
However, Oh teaches an air conditioning system comprising a heat exchanger core (30) includes heat exchanger fins (32), heat dissipation fins (33), wherein the heat exchanger fins 32 are mounted on one surface of a thermoelectric device (31), which abuts an auxiliary air duct [43] (see ¶ 0039; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heat sink of Hamilton with a plurality of fins, in view of the teachings of Oh, in order to provide to provide an increased surface area for heat transfer and reduced thermal resistance.
Hamilton teaches a controller (control unit 15) electrically coupled to the thermoelectric device, wherein the controller is configured to adjust supply of the electrical energy to the thermoelectric device (30) to adjust a parameter of the conditioned air flow (col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 31) and teaches a battery (72, Fig. 2), but fails to teach a solar panel configured to generate electrical energy and the battery (72) configured to receive the electrical energy from the solar panel and to store the electrical energy, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery (72) to the thermoelectric device (30), and further fail to teach in response to a determination that the solar panel is unable to generate sufficient electrical energy to maintain a battery level of the battery above a threshold value, the controller is configured to direct a flow of external electrical energy from an external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery.
However, Hollingsworth teaches a solar powered portable refrigeration unit comprising an electrical controller that controls solar cells, batteries and a petroleum powered generator (power grid) for providing energy to the refrigeration unit where an inverter is used converting DC voltage from the battery to an AC voltage (¶ 0013), wherein a solar panel (301, 303) configured to generate electrical energy and the battery (311) configured to receive the electrical energy from the solar panel and to store the electrical energy, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery (311) to a refrigeration unit (fig. 3; ¶ 0027), and in response to a determination that the solar panel (301, 303) is unable to generate sufficient electrical energy to maintain a battery level of the battery (311) above a threshold value, the controller is configured to direct a flow of external electrical energy from an external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery (see fig. 3; ¶ 0027-0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Hamilton by providing a solar panel configured to generate electrical energy and deliver electrical energy to the battery, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the supply of the electrical energy from the battery to the thermoelectric device, in view of the teachings of Hollingsworth, for the purpose of reducing reliance on an electrical grid and cut electricity costs by utilizing renewable energy and decreasing its carbon footprint and to further modify Hamilton by implementing an external utility power grid and configuring the controller to direct a flow of external electrical energy from the external utility power grid to the battery to charge the battery, in view of the teachings of Hollingsworth, for the purpose of providing power to the system during insufficient sunlight or energy stored in the battery and allowing for extra flexibility to the system by providing power even after the battery is empty from lack of sunlight.
Hamilton teaches a housing comprising a first duct defining a first flow path and a second duct defining a second flow path for air flow (see fig. 1; see identifications relative to claim 21), but does not explicitly teach the housing comprises a third duct forming a third flow path, wherein the third duct is fluidly coupled to the first duct and is configured to receive a return air flow from a building and to direct a portion of the return air flow into the first flow path and across the first plurality of fins.
However, House teaches an air handling unit to control a building temperature, wherein the unit comprising air duct system to distribute air to and from a building through a supply air duct (140) and air is returned from the building through return air duct (120) and passes through a heat exchanger (134, 136) for heating (see ¶ 0026; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the air handling system of Hamilton to comprise a return air duct to receive a return air flow, in view of the teachings of House, in order to bring air that has been warmed or cooled back in the building back to HVAC system to balance the airflow in the system so that it can be heated or cooled again.
In regard to claim 50, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the battery is configured to store an amount of the electrical energy sufficient to operate the thermoelectric device for a predetermined time period without generation of additional electrical energy by the solar panel (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027-0028).
In regard to claim 51, Hamilton, as modified by Hollingsworth, teaches the solar panel comprises a solar array having a plurality of solar panels (see Hollingsworth ¶ 0027; fig. 3).
In regard to claim 52, Hamilton teaches the HVAC system of claim 21, wherein the thermoelectric device (30) comprises a first heat exchange surface (see the annotated figure above) coupled to the first plurality of fins (32, as modified above) and a second heat exchange surface (see the annotated figure above) coupled to the second plurality of fins (28, as modified above), wherein the first plurality of fins extends from the first heat exchange to a first exterior wall of the of the first duct (the modified first fins would automatically extends towards wall of the of the first duct 12), the second plurality of fins extends from the second heat exchange surface to a second exterior wall of the second duct (the modified second fins would automatically extends towards wall of the of the second duct), and wherein the thermoelectric device (30) is configured to generate a temperature differential between the first heat exchange surface and the second heat exchange surface using the supply of the electrical energy (see the annotated fig. 1; col. 5, line 15-17).
Claim(s) 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton, Oh, Hollingsworth and House as applied to claim 52 above, and further in view of Thomas et al. (US 2018/0031285 A1).
In regard to claim 53, Hamilton teaches a thermoelectric device (30), but does not explicitly teach the thermoelectric device comprises a plurality of thermoelectric devices disposed in a cascaded arrangement configured to increase the temperature differential between the first heat exchange surface and the second heat exchange surface.
However, Thomas teaches a thermoelectric heat pump system for cooling and/or heating wherein the system comprises a plurality of thermoelectric modules (TECH-1 and TECH-2) in a cascaded arrangement (¶ 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermoelectric device of Hamilton with a plurality of thermoelectric devices disposed in a cascaded arrangement, in view of the teachings of Thomas, in order to achieve a greater temperature difference for heat exchange.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection (in view of Hollingsworth).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763