CTNF 18/095,604 CTNF 85477 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The office acknowledges the receipt of applicants’ response to the restriction requirement dated 03/19/2026. Elected Species PNG media_image1.png 254 1002 media_image1.png Greyscale A search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As no claims where specifically drawn to applicants’ elected species in independent form, no claims have been indicated as allowable. Claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of the elected species would be allowable. Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species. Examinable Species The examinable species is represented by Pt. 11 (page 9): PNG media_image2.png 214 368 media_image2.png Greyscale Pt 11 reads on claims 1-9, 13-17, 20. Claims 10-12 and 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration in this office action as not reading on the examinable species. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 3 recites a first compound, second compound, a third compound , and a fourth compound. The first compound is represented by Formula 1- there are no 112 issues associated with the first compound. The second compound includes at least one pi- electron-deficient nitrogen- containing C1-C60 cyclic group, a third compound including a group represented by Formula 3. A third compound including a group represented by Formula 3. A fourth compound which emits delayed fluorescence, or a combination thereof, and the first compound, the second compound, the third compound, and the fourth compound are different from each other: The fourth compound which emits delayed fluorescence, or a combination thereof, and the first compound, the second compound, the third compound, and the fourth compound are different from each other: The office notes that second compound is only limited by electron-deficient nitrogen-containing C1-C60 cyclic group in claim 3. Claim 4 defines a subset represented by pyridine group, a pyrimidine group, a pyrazine group, a pyridazine group, a triazine group. While the specification provides a written description for the subset the scope of claim 3 presented in claim 4, there is not clear written description to show that applicant at the filing date of the invention was full possession of the entire scope of the second compound. The office notes that the third compound is only limited by Formula 3 PNG media_image3.png 422 776 media_image3.png Greyscale Formula 3 is presented as substituent group wherein the specification fails to provide a written description which encompasses the full scope of Formula 3 as presented in claim 3. What is the scope for what Formula 3 can be attached? The office notes that that the fourth compound is only limited by the designation as emits delayed fluorescence. The specification provide no written description of the type of chemicals or working examples which shows that applicant was in fully possession of the forth compound commensurate in scope as presented in claim 3. Written description requires a description of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. While there are examples in the Specification, this does not support the full scope of the claim 3. By having claim 3 written in such fashion, the scope for a combination of generic materials would extend beyond the material requirements supported in the Specification. Therefore, claims 3 and dependent claims 4-5 were rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 7-9, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Li (US 2019/0248820 A1) . Regarding Claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-17 , Li teaches an OLED comprising an anode 11, a hole transporting layer 13, a light emitting layer 15, an electron transporting layer 17, and a cathode 19 which are sequentially deposited and formed (paragraph 152). The light emitting layer comprises the tetradentate cyclometalated platinum complex (paragraph 25). The platinum complex can be represented by Pt. 11 (page 9): PNG media_image2.png 214 368 media_image2.png Greyscale Pt. 11 reads on applicants’ Formular 1 wherein A2 = carbazole, L1 and L2 = direct bond, X2 = C, L3= direct bond, R2 = H; A3= phenyl; X3 = C, L3 = -O-; A4 = phenyl; X4 = N, R2-R4 = H; R11 and R12 = H; M = Pt (per claims 1-2, 8, 13-17). Regarding Claim 7 , Li teaches the device of claim1 which can be used in a full color display (paragraph 18) including smart phones, televisions and digital cameras (paragraph 79) (per claim 7). Regarding Claim 9 , In PT.11 a bond between X ₄ (N) and M is a coordinate bond, and a bond between X ₂ (C) and M and a bond between X ₃ (C) and M are each a covalent bond (per claim 9). Regarding Claim 20 , Li teaches that the device can emit light in a range of about 400 nm to about 700 nm (paragraph 26) (per claim 20) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2019/0248820 A1 in view of Seki (US 2013/0105785) . Regarding Claim 6 , Li teaches the OLED of claim 1 but fails to mention an apparatus. Seki teaches an image display apparatus including an organic light-emitting device and a thin-film transistor (TFT) device wherein the anode or a cathode of the organic light-emitting device is connected to a drain electrode or a source electrode of the TFT device. The thin-film transistor device serves as a device configured to apply an electrical current to the organic light-emitting device (paragraph 52). The organic light-emitting device also contains a color filter (paragraph 50). As both Li and Seki teaches organic light-emitting devices and Seki teaches an organic light-emitting device configured in an electronic apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the organic light-emitting device of Li in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Seki which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 6). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GREGORY D CLARK whose telephone number is (571)270-7087. The examiner can normally be reached on 8AM-4PM M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Chriss can be reached on 571-272-7783. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/095,604 Page 2 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/095,604 Page 3 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/095,604 Page 4 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/095,604 Page 5 Art Unit: 1786 Application/Control Number: 18/095,604 Page 7 Art Unit: 1786